Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 26, 2010
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 599 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
556
Mixed:
34
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EvanPApr 1, 2010
Definitely better than the average Dreamworks picture. It's great story telling at its finest. The visuals were phenomenal and the characters were memorable. All wrapped together with an incredibale score. I haven't been this Definitely better than the average Dreamworks picture. It's great story telling at its finest. The visuals were phenomenal and the characters were memorable. All wrapped together with an incredibale score. I haven't been this involved in a movie in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricCApr 3, 2010
What an awesome movie!!! If you ever dreamed of what it would be like to be a Dragon fighter... or be a viking... or be a Dragon.... then you have to see this film. And if not... if you've ever caught yourself wishing they still knew What an awesome movie!!! If you ever dreamed of what it would be like to be a Dragon fighter... or be a viking... or be a Dragon.... then you have to see this film. And if not... if you've ever caught yourself wishing they still knew how to make good movies...then you have to see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesHApr 5, 2010
DreamWorks Animation is on a roll. Kung Fu Panda was my favorite animated movie last year, and now "How to Train Your Dragon". This is probably the best looking computer animated movie I've ever seen. Really excellent 3D as well. My DreamWorks Animation is on a roll. Kung Fu Panda was my favorite animated movie last year, and now "How to Train Your Dragon". This is probably the best looking computer animated movie I've ever seen. Really excellent 3D as well. My only small criticism is that the theme of the movie is similar to Kung Fu Panda (and many other animated movies). The protaganist doesn't fit in with the rest of society and comes out on top at the end. I hope they change the theme and do something original and creative for their next feature then they will be on par with Pixar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanApr 5, 2010
Loved it. Best film I've seen in 3D. I was charmed from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Mar 27, 2010
Simply put: "How to Train Your Dragon" is a spectacular, heart-warming thrill ride. This movie rocked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorD.Mar 27, 2010
Absolutely Incredible. Emotional and awe-inspiring the first fly scene gave me goosebumps.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ThomasHApr 2, 2010
Superb, best film I've seen for a good few years, excellent story, emotional and brilliant. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewRApr 4, 2010
Absolutely amazing! Some of the best visuals from a CGI movie! It is perfect for kids and adults and offers something for everyone. Go see this movie before it is too late!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickJApr 4, 2010
Charming. A simple plot, but done in a way that was so amusing that it worked. I enjoyed watching Toothless in action, from flying to simply running around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronW.Mar 26, 2010
Truely amazing, this movie is the first good non-Pixar CGI animated film since Kung Fu Panda (which also got a 73). It is a true marvel, and the main dragon, Toothless, really tops it off with his cute/action packed nature. It is a charmer, Truely amazing, this movie is the first good non-Pixar CGI animated film since Kung Fu Panda (which also got a 73). It is a true marvel, and the main dragon, Toothless, really tops it off with his cute/action packed nature. It is a charmer, yet also filled with tons of action and an in-depth story that truely is not something to be missed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Mar 26, 2010
This was totally awesome. The title is the only weak part of it. If you think that this is just some run of the mill coming of age story, it's not. It's got depth, emotion, tension, and realistic voice acting. The effects are This was totally awesome. The title is the only weak part of it. If you think that this is just some run of the mill coming of age story, it's not. It's got depth, emotion, tension, and realistic voice acting. The effects are breathtaking, but it's clear from the start that that's not why they made this movie. Two thumbs WAY up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Mar 27, 2010
How do you tell a story that doesn't get overwhelmed by special effects and video game-inspired action sequences, especially in a hyper-commercialized movie culture climate where the studios who finance these spectacle-driven films have How do you tell a story that doesn't get overwhelmed by special effects and video game-inspired action sequences, especially in a hyper-commercialized movie culture climate where the studios who finance these spectacle-driven films have such comtempt for moviegoers? Narrative is on life support, but The Wachowski Brothers were pushing it when they literally filmed a video game with the 2008 mega-flop "Speed Racer", so maybe narrative isn't completely dead, and the audience, not completely braindead. The moviegoing public obviously thinks that "Avatar" is the gold standard, the template for melding technology with story, but the "Dances with Wolves" ripoff, arguably, lacks a truly compelling protagonist. Not only is Jake upstaged by the Na'vi natives, but the fake fauna and flora, as well. While "How to Train Your Dragon" is heavy on action and employs the artistically bankrupt(and cheesy) 3D process, the filmmaker knows how to tell a stirring action-adventure story(which just happens to be animated), while remaining commercially viable. The moviegoer has somebody to root for. Hiccup(Jay Baruchel) is the classic square peg: an intellectual, who in some cruel circumstance of fate, lives with the great unwashed in the most unlikeliest of settings. "How to Train Your Dragon" is something akin to "Lucas and the Vikings". (A moment of silence for the late Corey Haim.) Through empirical observation and having an innate aversion towards killing, the scrawny Viking aces the dragon training program with his brains, not brawn. He sees the world from a different perspective, which the film then literalizes when Hiccup and Astrid(America Ferrera) take flight on Toothless' back, where the two children share the same point-of-view as their people's sworn enemy. Looking down on the hamlet from the sky, the children undergo a rite of passage more profound than their daily lessons in warfare. Both boy and girl, especially the boy, realize that they've surpassed their parents. Stoick the Vast(Gerard Butler), Hiccup's father, doesn't have all the answers. With more subtlety, "How to Train Your Dragon" echoes the Kevin Costner film too, as the Viking and the dragon find a common ground despite their shared history of violence. Since the film has drama, humor, and most importantly, a humaneness, the culminating action doesn't whizz across the screen with the usual disconnect to our emotive senses. Like "E.T.", heck, like even Corey Haim, nobody wants to see the dragon, or the boy, die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachM.Mar 28, 2010
This movie seems different than most dreamworks movies. The plot is very simple, and not much happens. But for some reason, this is perfectly okay, and it fits the movie. The movie is so fun and pretty to look at that it doesn't need to This movie seems different than most dreamworks movies. The plot is very simple, and not much happens. But for some reason, this is perfectly okay, and it fits the movie. The movie is so fun and pretty to look at that it doesn't need to be really deep and complex. This just seems like an interesting side-project for dreamworks, and it's a great movie for kids and adults. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickAMar 30, 2010
I liked this movie a lot. Had every thing I like in a movie. Action, emotion, very good story line, great acting (animation inspired), voiced to perfection. I must say from the title I was not expecting much. What a surprisingly excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonWApr 1, 2010
Just ignore all the negative New York reviews - what a surprise! - It's wonderful, great storytelling, visuals and message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWApr 2, 2010
This movie blew me away... somebody has been watching Pixar's movies and taking very close note.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthanRApr 3, 2010
From the first time I saw the previews for this movie, I thought it would be good. I expected it to be a funny movie with dragons (which are awesome) with a decent plot to boot. When I first saw it however, I was blown away by it's near From the first time I saw the previews for this movie, I thought it would be good. I expected it to be a funny movie with dragons (which are awesome) with a decent plot to boot. When I first saw it however, I was blown away by it's near perfect blend of humor and story. The plot, which is fantastic, if not amazingly original or groundbreaking, comes first and foremost, with the humor working it's way in naturally. This is not one of the latest shrek movies with dragons by any extent, it's a movie with a great story with a comedic flair, not see how many laughs we can get in an hour and a half. The flight scenes are breathtaking and have just the right amount of action, the coming-of-age, fitting in story is touching, and the excellent humor is worked in so that it feels completely natural and not spamed. I've honestly been searching for something to complain about in this movie, but after two viewings my only solid complaint is that I wish I could spend more time in this breathtaking world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchRApr 5, 2010
A simple film with a simple story. Every little piece is done perfectly creating a powerful film worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennaF.Mar 26, 2010
Adorable, emotional, and fun to look at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneA.Mar 27, 2010
My vote for Film of The Year so far.... I really enjoyed it. Makes me want to buy a 3D TV in time for its Blu-Ray release! A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieCMar 28, 2010
Perfect! Beautiful animation, great story, characterization and dialogue, good choice of actors for the voices, just overall a great film. Don't wait, see it now in 3D!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdityaU.Mar 28, 2010
Great movie, graphic is top-notch, i very like a scene when Hiccup fly alongside Astrid
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobN.Mar 29, 2010
How to Train your Dragon was a great, interesting movie. If you're looking for a family friendly movie, this is a movie to watch. This movie also includes the thrilling scenes people want to watch. The creatures in this movie are very How to Train your Dragon was a great, interesting movie. If you're looking for a family friendly movie, this is a movie to watch. This movie also includes the thrilling scenes people want to watch. The creatures in this movie are very interesting. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
OrenK.Mar 29, 2010
this is a very good movie. Is it not like all the other movies that dreamworks has made in the past years. The 3d is also very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanBMar 31, 2010
Fantastic movie. Kids loved it. Wife loved it. I loved it. If taking a family of five to the movies wasn't so expensive, we'd have gone a second time. I can't believe some of the professional critics are scoring it so low. It Fantastic movie. Kids loved it. Wife loved it. I loved it. If taking a family of five to the movies wasn't so expensive, we'd have gone a second time. I can't believe some of the professional critics are scoring it so low. It was a great movie. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
ArkonBladeOct 26, 2010
i love some of theese CGI kids films . i shouldnt eveen call it that it should be referd to as a family film because like shrek people of all ages can enjoy theese films . its a fun little story about a viking town who fight dragons and ai love some of theese CGI kids films . i shouldnt eveen call it that it should be referd to as a family film because like shrek people of all ages can enjoy theese films . its a fun little story about a viking town who fight dragons and a young kid names hic up who want to be a dragon slayer but doesnt have the build or stomach for it . its very well voice acted i thought the guy who did hic up did a great job . he was very funny and fit the charicter perfect . the action and camera shots where amazing i wached this with my neices and nephews and they where just wowed by it as was i . great film probubly best of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AJackson729Feb 19, 2011
A solid movie that both adults and kids should enjoy. It's no Pixar film, but the plot is entertaining, albeit predictable.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
RazvOct 2, 2010
Probably the best animated movie i've seen yet. With a simple but very witty storyline, greatly designed characters, amazing graphics, this movie has it all. I think it's a big must-see for everyone.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
GathGamerSep 3, 2010
Great flick ever animated so far 2010. I do say that i didn't watch it in 3D, but hey, it still counts! Well done Dream-works, may continue to out stand your fellow fans!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nunchuksNov 16, 2010
Although this is a kid's movie i can guarantee that almost anyone who see it will just fall in love with it. Good overall cast, very likable characters and a story that really draws you in. I really wish i had a dragon now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews