How to Train Your Dragon

How to Train Your Dragon Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 578 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set in the mythical world of burly Vikings and wild dragons, and based on the book by Cressida Cowell, the action comedy tells the story of Hiccup, a Viking teenager who doesn’t exactly fit in with his tribe's longstanding tradition of heroic dragon slayers. Hiccup's world is turned upsideSet in the mythical world of burly Vikings and wild dragons, and based on the book by Cressida Cowell, the action comedy tells the story of Hiccup, a Viking teenager who doesn’t exactly fit in with his tribe's longstanding tradition of heroic dragon slayers. Hiccup's world is turned upside down when he encounters a dragon that challenges he and his fellow Vikings to see the world from an entirely different point of view. [Dreamworks Animation] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Rouses you in conventional ways, but it's also the rare animated film that uses 3-D for its breathtaking spatial and emotional possibilities.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Who would have thought a fire-breathing monster could be one of the most adorable on-screen critters since Babe?
  3. While almost entirely family-friendly, the film deserves its PG rating: One plot point near the very end would have totally freaked my tender childhood sensibilities.
  4. It’s a corny, old fashioned boy-dog love story, as adorable as anything Walt Disney ever signed off on.
  5. 75
    Works enough miracles of 3-D animation to charm your socks off.
  6. Has two or three booming and intense action sequences that may leave the littlest audience members more quaking than charmed. But the notion of having a pet dragon - just like a pet whale, or a pet lion - is a scenario that should appeal to children of all ages.
  7. 50
    You could say the 3-D animated kidpic How To Train Your Dragon is "Avatar" for simpletons. But that title is already taken, by "Avatar."

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 120
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    I like movies done by DreamWorks Animation, but none seemed to reach the emotional tone of Pixar movies, until this fantastic movie came. HadI like movies done by DreamWorks Animation, but none seemed to reach the emotional tone of Pixar movies, until this fantastic movie came. Had "Toy Story 3" not been released in the same year, this movie would've definitely been my pick for best animated movie of the year. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    I can't believe I haven't watched this earlier. Well, now I've seen it three times in about 3 months. I might even say it's my favoriteI can't believe I haven't watched this earlier. Well, now I've seen it three times in about 3 months. I might even say it's my favorite animated movie of all time and that's pretty big since I grew up with all kinds of animated movies. And this wins them all despite of the nostalgia many older movies bring to me. It makes me ask myself the same question all my favorite movies and video games do: "why can't my life be like this?". But not everybody is a friend of these kind of movies. It might feel pretty generic and boring for some people and I can see that it doesn't actually bring much new to the table with it's storyline. But I'm a fan of happy endings and heartwarming stories. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    de las mejores peliculas de animacion q eh tenido la oportunidad de ver, los efectos visuales son impresionantes, al igual q lade las mejores peliculas de animacion q eh tenido la oportunidad de ver, los efectos visuales son impresionantes, al igual q la animación, quede flipando con esta pelicula Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2015
    9
    how to train your dragon is a good film. the reason way the father and son thing works in here and not other movies is because the father goeshow to train your dragon is a good film. the reason way the father and son thing works in here and not other movies is because the father goes back and father like a normal person. and is not just ignoring this son. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    How to Train Your Dragon is an absolutely amazing animated movie. It has great characters, cute monsters and fantastic action sequences. EvenHow to Train Your Dragon is an absolutely amazing animated movie. It has great characters, cute monsters and fantastic action sequences. Even better, it has a deep cathartic edge that leaves you a tear in the eye. More of this, please... it's great! Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    How to train your dragon may sound like a ridiculous title to give a movie, but this surprisingly is very entertaining. The story of a boyHow to train your dragon may sound like a ridiculous title to give a movie, but this surprisingly is very entertaining. The story of a boy trying to fit in with his rather violent background is not anything new, but is somewhat refreshing to hear in this light. Some of the great things this film has to offer are some pretty visuals; the flying sequences are a spectacle in 3-D, which has always been great for most dreamworks productions. Again the story may be old, but I still personally like it. Finally the relationship between the father and son, it has some levels if depth; for instance the father tries to appreciate his son, but just can't because he's not good at what everybody else can do. Then there's the stuff that doesn't really fly with me (hehe). The main does have an annoying voice at times, but that may have been intentional. Finally the supporting cast. They're not that well developed, a barely new them aside from simple character traits like: he's the hot shot, they're the troublemakers, he's the nerd, and she's the love interest. Anyways, this still a fun enjoyable movie, and I do wonder about the sequels. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    4
    This can be sort of heartwarming in parts, but it is mostly generic. The kid befriends a dragon, dragons and humans hate each other, the kidThis can be sort of heartwarming in parts, but it is mostly generic. The kid befriends a dragon, dragons and humans hate each other, the kid brings the two groups together. Also, there's a scene where they think the dragon's dead, but he's really not. Yeah, you've seen it all before. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  2. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: November 2014

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: November 2014 Image
    Published: October 29, 2014
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of November, including 22 Jump Street, Maleficent, How to Train Your Dragon 2, and much more.
  5. Best of June 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of June 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: June 29, 2014
    Check out our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during June.