Buena Vista International | Release Date: June 10, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 371 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
338
Mixed:
21
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
papeadojhonAug 21, 2016
Howl's Moving Castle suffers from confusing storytelling, incomprehensible story and character development, undone characters and choppy plot points, enough to downgrade its beautiful animation, great score, an interesting first impressionHowl's Moving Castle suffers from confusing storytelling, incomprehensible story and character development, undone characters and choppy plot points, enough to downgrade its beautiful animation, great score, an interesting first impression and imaginative ideas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
gimmedatsammichDec 7, 2012
Stunning animation and charmingly idiosyncratic characters fail to make up for an incomprehensible, utterly nonsensical plot- even by anime standards. I never once felt like I understood what was going on. What, exactly, is this "war" about?Stunning animation and charmingly idiosyncratic characters fail to make up for an incomprehensible, utterly nonsensical plot- even by anime standards. I never once felt like I understood what was going on. What, exactly, is this "war" about? Who is the Witch of the Waste, and why did she curse Sophie? Who is Howl? Why does the moving castle have a tongue? Perhaps the answers to these questions can be found in the book on which the film is based, but you won't find them here. Children and adults alike will enjoy the intricate, vibrantly colored artwork that fills each and every frame of "Howl's Moving Castle," but I doubt many among us would be able to explain just what the heck the movie was about. Miyazaki's previous film, "Spirited Away," is a far superior work. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
DWMar 9, 2006
If only the last five minutes of this film didn't happen, it would be a seven, maybe an eight, but come on, has anyone actually SEEN the ending? It compromises the whole story and insults the viewer's intelligence. His other movies If only the last five minutes of this film didn't happen, it would be a seven, maybe an eight, but come on, has anyone actually SEEN the ending? It compromises the whole story and insults the viewer's intelligence. His other movies are much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
animefanMar 8, 2006
Complete mess, aswell as weakest Ghibli movie so far.
1 of 7 users found this helpful
5
JeffJ.Jul 22, 2005
A big disappointment. It was beautiful, of course, as all Miyazaki movies are, but the story Made No Sense At All. I'm sorry, but it's inexcusable that the plot was so incomprehensible. It was impossible to be transported into a A big disappointment. It was beautiful, of course, as all Miyazaki movies are, but the story Made No Sense At All. I'm sorry, but it's inexcusable that the plot was so incomprehensible. It was impossible to be transported into a fantasy mood when you're wondering what the hell is going on. Roger Ebert nailed it in his review. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NirmalK.Jun 21, 2005
I enjoyed
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
PatrickWJun 17, 2005
The characters weren't appealing, and their behaviour wasn't consistent throughout the film. The story just didn't make much sense. It felt an awful lot like they started with a reasonably good idea, but the "hollyweird The characters weren't appealing, and their behaviour wasn't consistent throughout the film. The story just didn't make much sense. It felt an awful lot like they started with a reasonably good idea, but the "hollyweird experts on what kids like" got in involved and ruined it. Doesn't come close to the quality of entertainment I expect from Ghibli studios. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BenA.Jun 12, 2005
Though beautiful as usual with an excellent first half, the second half of Howl is a narrative mess. Way below the standard Miyazaki has set for himself with his past films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Dr.suessJun 7, 2005
I'm a big fan of Miyazaki, but this movie was a bit of a let down. The story is vague and the characters aren't very original, however, the animation is very beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful