Buena Vista International | Release Date: June 10, 2005
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 341 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
313
Mixed:
17
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
isabellea.Oct 6, 2005
It was super! it's soooo beautiful!! and fun to watch and wonderful characters. I loved Sofie and I loved Howel and I loved Calcifer! and just everybody! and the surroundings were sooo beautiful! Miyazaki is a genius, as we all know, It was super! it's soooo beautiful!! and fun to watch and wonderful characters. I loved Sofie and I loved Howel and I loved Calcifer! and just everybody! and the surroundings were sooo beautiful! Miyazaki is a genius, as we all know, and Ghibli's films are always very well drawn, and Diana Wynne Jones isn't famous without reasons, so it's no wonder that the film is so great! I want to see it again, and again, and again, and own it. this is gonna be my precious.... ^_^ Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ErinRJul 3, 2009
I never grow tired of watching this show...charming, beautiful, classic...better than the book to me.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
carenC.Oct 4, 2005
One of the best movies ive seen so far! It was better than Spirited away!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jonb.Oct 6, 2005
I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cruzr.Oct 7, 2005
The best movie ever¡¡¡
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaL.Sep 11, 2005
A very nice, warm and funny film where an aimless girl, who is placed under a spell meets a "heartless" wizard and each help each other through various obstacles... The animation and scenes are breathtaking as usual. Double thumbs up! Great A very nice, warm and funny film where an aimless girl, who is placed under a spell meets a "heartless" wizard and each help each other through various obstacles... The animation and scenes are breathtaking as usual. Double thumbs up! Great heart-warming film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinG.Sep 10, 2005
This was the best movie that Disney has put its name on in ten years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArtoS.Sep 27, 2005
The best moovie when i ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizMar 14, 2006
This movie is...amazing. See it, I'm begging you. Perhaps you aren't really into Japanese Animation. You tbink..."it's just cartoons, kid stuff..." Some is. But Miyazaki's movies are "for those who are ten, for those who This movie is...amazing. See it, I'm begging you. Perhaps you aren't really into Japanese Animation. You tbink..."it's just cartoons, kid stuff..." Some is. But Miyazaki's movies are "for those who are ten, for those who will be ten, and for those who used to be ten." So please, immerse yourself in the fantastical world of Miyazaki, see it like a child, see it as an adult. You will see something different in each viewing, and this will only make you enjoy it more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BramH.Mar 21, 2006
this is a wonderful movie and the sountrack is wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomOct 21, 2007
I love the idea of witches and wizards in a story and Hayao Miyazaki has made Howl's moving castle my favourite movie ever. The storyline is great and the animation is amazing. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshH.Jun 10, 2007
One of the best movies I've ever seen in my entire life. Watch it right now if you like magic, anime, or complex stories. The animation is fantastic (probably the best I've ever seen), and so are the characters, locations, and One of the best movies I've ever seen in my entire life. Watch it right now if you like magic, anime, or complex stories. The animation is fantastic (probably the best I've ever seen), and so are the characters, locations, and adventures. Too bad I didn't get the chance to see this in theaters. This is a movie experience I will never forget, and I hope it will be the same for you too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyN.Jun 14, 2007
Look quietly and deeply and you will understand that hope must prevail lest we are doomed. I am enthralled by the beauty of this film I watch it and admire its masterpiece. See it for yourself and fall in love again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
andievJul 2, 2007
This movie is beautiful. it's like a strange fairy tale. i like the strangeness of the plot and how howl is not what he seems to be at first, you do alot of thinking after watching the movie, i recommend it to anyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sarahb.Aug 10, 2007
I loved this moving . the cast and the characters . i wish they would make a howls moving castle 2 . like the book castle in the air but more by the book not peoples ideas very one should read castle in the sky after this moving and howls I loved this moving . the cast and the characters . i wish they would make a howls moving castle 2 . like the book castle in the air but more by the book not peoples ideas very one should read castle in the sky after this moving and howls moving castle the book . howl and Sophie just might have a kid and her sister read both books to find out !!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TeresaJan 8, 2008
I personally loved the movie. It was one of the best movies I've ever seen. I keep thinking back and can't find any flaws! Those critics out there.. yap yap. I guess I'm just one of those people with a childish heart and big I personally loved the movie. It was one of the best movies I've ever seen. I keep thinking back and can't find any flaws! Those critics out there.. yap yap. I guess I'm just one of those people with a childish heart and big imagination to the point that the movie did not bore me! I recommend watching it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BandiW.Mar 17, 2008
im a your #1 fan also it was the best movie from miyazaki i ever seen i hope he keeps making more movies like this on or Spirtted Away also i was wondering if you were the one who made Princess Monokay bye the way do you have a myspace?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KazukiA.Aug 2, 2008
Howl's Moving Castle by Miyazaki Hayao A Review Written for Friends by Kazuki Anno, Translators United for Peace Like a vivid dream, Miyazaki's film presents an alternate world for children of all ages. For more mature viewers, Howl's Moving Castle by Miyazaki Hayao A Review Written for Friends by Kazuki Anno, Translators United for Peace Like a vivid dream, Miyazaki's film presents an alternate world for children of all ages. For more mature viewers, however, his works represent the complex realities we face here and now in this cruel, yet beautiful world. Howl's Moving Castle will take us on a journey of moral quest to confront unnecessary and destructive wars that make us victims of, and collaborators with, terror at one and the same time. If our children can handle such serious subjects as war, justice and humanity, so must we. Miyazaki tells us that we are not what we seem to be. Howl is a handsome young man who looks like a dashing rock star and behaves like a flamboyant prince. Nevertheless, he is a wizard. Yet, unlike other wizards, he no longer works for the Palace, and when night falls, he turns into a black monster bird, flying across the sky to intercept a massive bomber formation over defenseless cities burning in flames. Howl spreads his wings and tries to catch bombs in the air, but all he can do is to neutralize a few bombs out of thousands. Thus, he goes to war each day, knowing in advance that he will fail. Which one of his multiple characters is truer than the other ones? Is any one aspect of his as true as any other? Sophie, a 19-year-old girl, is turned into a 90-year-old woman by the Witch of the Waste Land because she attracts the attention of Howl whom the Witch desires for herself, secretly envious of his youth and beauty. Is this a curse by a jealous witch, or does it merely mirror the lost heart of Sophie who does not know what she is to become, having resigned herself to a drab life in her family's hat shop? If the latter is the case, what can she do to break the spell? So, she sets off on an adventure to discover herself. Not even the Witch, an elaborately dressed dowager, is immune to power. When she is called to the Palace, she kowtows to authority and transforms herself into a helpless old woman, going up a flight of steep stairs that lead to a majestic chamber. It has been a long time since the ancient oral traditions she represents were annihilated and subjugated by nation-states in the age of modernization. Calcifer, a cantankerous fire demon, is supposed to be a free being in the universe, but he is under a contract to Howl, so he is kept in a small fireplace to generate energy for the moving castle. When more energy is needed for the castle in crisis, Sophie offers a lock of her hair to Calcifer who then says, "If you give me your soul, I will be able to produce unimaginable amounts of energy." Perhaps, the wizards at the Palace who are in charge of inventing all the machines, warplanes, tanks, bombs, and missiles, have given up their souls to Calcifer to develop nuclear weapons. As citizens of nations with industrial democracies which uphold a single economic model, namely extreme capitalism unleashed by neo-liberal shock treatments in the era of corporate globalization, we have no faces, no voices, and no names. Here we have Miyazaki's invitation to take off on a magical journey, together with Sophie and Howl, to search for the infinite possibilities that dwell in each one of us. It will be as hard an adventure as anyone can undertake in the mysterious frontier of the human mind, as valuable an experience as dreams that would not cease to inspire us, and as easy a task as remembering once again our own names. Peace, Kazuki Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AliCSep 27, 2005
'It's like dreaming....' says Sophie half way through the film. I couldn't have put it better myself. Watching Miyazaki movies is like having a brilliant dream: this is the best of his movies that I have seen. It's 'It's like dreaming....' says Sophie half way through the film. I couldn't have put it better myself. Watching Miyazaki movies is like having a brilliant dream: this is the best of his movies that I have seen. It's tighter, with a stronger narrative thread, and avoids going too far along the surreal, blob-lined tangents that Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away linger on. As always, the visuals are exceptionally beautiful, breathtaking in a way that non-animation landscapes can never hope to match. We watched it exhausted after a day of packing before a house move, and yet were gripped and enchanted for the full two hours of the movie, with idiot grins fixed on our faces both during it and for at least an hour afterwards. Wonderful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipZ.Jan 11, 2006
Very nice movie realy touch our heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeccaB.Oct 29, 2006
One of those movies I could watch over and over again. Yes, it is hard to understand at some points. Yes the plot can be a tad hard to follow. But once you watch it a few times and once you start paying attention to what the crowd says (like One of those movies I could watch over and over again. Yes, it is hard to understand at some points. Yes the plot can be a tad hard to follow. But once you watch it a few times and once you start paying attention to what the crowd says (like the scene where the two men are talking in the background just before Sophie meets Howl) you can truly understand this masterpiece. I can't say that I've read the book because I haven't, but I love this story anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalT.Mar 13, 2006
other than inuyasha and fruits basket it was the best anime movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobH.Mar 15, 2006
Absolutely outstanding - my favorite Miyazaki movie so far. Awesome plot, glorious, imaginative art, and beautiful soundtrack. I was absolutely enchanted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferP.Mar 29, 2006
Visually beautiful. The witch of the waste character was both darkly compelling and good comic relief. The set up of the story is good but the payoff at the end really shortchanges the viewer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StefanMar 29, 2006
Top rate animation, spirited story, but if you have read the book by diana jones you end up a little disappointed. It lacks a little of the magic that all other Miyazaki films have abundantly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelR.Mar 31, 2006
i've seen all of miyazaki's work and this is my new favorite! i can't seem to stop watching it. it's so well done!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaniaA.May 17, 2006
Even it's quite late for me to watch this movie but it was spectacular and womderful. I love Miyazaki creation. And I'm simple fall in love with Howl and all character in Miyazaki masterpieces.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticJul 8, 2007
Yet another classic from Miyazaki. His animation is so much more dazzling (to me) than any computer animated movie, and I really hope he continues to make animated movies even as he enters "old age." It's hard to really explain why this Yet another classic from Miyazaki. His animation is so much more dazzling (to me) than any computer animated movie, and I really hope he continues to make animated movies even as he enters "old age." It's hard to really explain why this movie is so great. A girl is transformed into an old woman by a witch and boards a moving castle, (controlled by a kind-hearted wizard and his awesome fire sidekick named Calcifer, dubbed by Billy Crystal)with doorways that open into different places. It's pretty incredible stuff. Japanese animation just has creativity and inventiveness that American animation just doesn't have (with the possible exception of Pixar.) It seems almost like it's from another world. Really cool movie and I actually liked it better than Miyazaki's (good, but overrated) Spirited Away. Some problems with Japanese anime in general are present here. It's too long by about a half hour and it starts to make less and less sense as it nears its conclusion. Also, the actions of a particular character towards the end of the movie become frustrating. Still, it doesn't take much away from what can best be described as (yeah, I know it's corny as hell,) "movie magic." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieApr 4, 2008
There is something deeply wrong with the reviewers who could not follow the plot, and thought that this film has no heart. I am in my twenties and love all Miyazaki films; these films have more heart than any Disney film has in its little There is something deeply wrong with the reviewers who could not follow the plot, and thought that this film has no heart. I am in my twenties and love all Miyazaki films; these films have more heart than any Disney film has in its little finger. The morality of these films is deep and complex; there is not true good or evil, and children are put in places of responsibility where they must take responsibility for their actions. Howl's is no different. Spirited Away is my favorite Miyazaki film, but this comes in close second. The film never gets old; it's like a favorite song. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MezzieB.Jun 12, 2008
THISis one of my ALL time FAVORITE movies!!! I talk about it any chance that i get !! i also love Howl! :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful