Howl's Moving Castle

Howl's Moving Castle Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 354 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: An amazing new animated adventure that celebrates the power of love to transform and the resiliency of the human spirit in the face of adversity. (Disney)

Where To Watch

Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. 100
    An organic, childlike wonder, fabulously unpredictable and seethingly inventive.
  2. 100
    Howl's Moving Castle is one animated epic that has it all: poetic intensity, potent storytelling, vivid and surprising characters, and intoxicating powers of visual imagination.
  3. The worldview, the sense of childlike fun shaded with adult melancholy, and the joyful, serene attention to visual oddity and wordless beauty could only be made in Japan. And, specifically, made by Hayao Miyazaki.
  4. 80
    Miyazaki's animated adaptation of Jones' book is a charming and thoroughly absorbing treat.
  5. A richly inventive, slightly eerie animated movie from Japan.
  6. Consequently, though it's difficult to work out what's going on, it's never boring.
  7. Miyazaki, like an evil sorcerer, has plucked the heart out of Jones's story and left it there to die.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 112
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    With thrills, heart, love, visual beauty and humor and the great original score Hayao Miyazaki has directed another fantastic and beautifulWith thrills, heart, love, visual beauty and humor and the great original score Hayao Miyazaki has directed another fantastic and beautiful adeventure. I give this move 95%. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie! It's definitely in my top 3 favorite movies! Yes some parts i didn't get the FIRST time watching but i still loved it.I loved this movie! It's definitely in my top 3 favorite movies! Yes some parts i didn't get the FIRST time watching but i still loved it. It's perfect for someone who still finds hope in things also if you have a young heart and big imagination! Expand
  3. PhilipZ.
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Very nice movie realy touch our heart.
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    YeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhYeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Expand
  5. AliC
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    'It's like dreaming....' says Sophie half way through the film. I couldn't have put it better myself. Watching Miyazaki 'It's like dreaming....' says Sophie half way through the film. I couldn't have put it better myself. Watching Miyazaki movies is like having a brilliant dream: this is the best of his movies that I have seen. It's tighter, with a stronger narrative thread, and avoids going too far along the surreal, blob-lined tangents that Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away linger on. As always, the visuals are exceptionally beautiful, breathtaking in a way that non-animation landscapes can never hope to match. We watched it exhausted after a day of packing before a house move, and yet were gripped and enchanted for the full two hours of the movie, with idiot grins fixed on our faces both during it and for at least an hour afterwards. Wonderful. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2016
    9
    Despite a bit of cheesiness, Howl's Moving Castle is probably one of the finest animated features I have ever seen. Its touching to see a filmDespite a bit of cheesiness, Howl's Moving Castle is probably one of the finest animated features I have ever seen. Its touching to see a film that is anti-war, about seeing inner beauty and full of heart. Expand
  7. Jim
    Sep 26, 2008
    1
    This movie stinks!

See all 112 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.