Hudson Hawk

Metascore
17

Overwhelming dislike - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Two Hoboken cat burglars (Willis and Aiello) are drawn into a plot to steal three separate artificats which are part of a machine invented by Leonardo da Vinci that converts lead into gold.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    70
    But if you can see past the thicket of dollar signs surrounding Hudson Hawk, you may discern quite a funny movie -- sort of an "Indiana Jones" send-up with a hip undertone all its own. [10 June 1991]
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Berry
    60
    What director Lehmann has made is essentially a multi-million dollar cult movie with great effects, a witty script and some good performances, but although some of the eccentric (and occasionally slapstick) humour may not appeal to a mass audience, it is certainly one of the more original blockbusters coming out this summer.
  3. It doesn't have the polish or the momentum of an Indiana Jones adventure, and isn't too engaging on the plot level, but at least the filmmakers keep it moving with lots of screwball stunts.
  4. Just awful… There is probably not one interrupted 60-second stretch in which a line of dialogue doesn't clunk, an action doesn't ring false or an irritating plot turn doesn't present itself. [25 May 1991]
  5. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    20
    A relentlessly annoying clay duck that crash-lands in a sea of wretched excess and silliness.
  6. Everybody figured producer Joel Silver and Willis couldn't lose and guess what? They all rolled craps.
  7. 0
    A movie this unspeakably awful can make an audience a little crazy. You want to throw things, yell at the actors, beg them to stop. But the film drags on, digging horrible memories into the brain -- like Bruce Willis and Danny Aiello's singing.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    I just dont understand critics. They must have had a bad childhood or something. Hudson Hawk is comedy movie, where you get to laugh ALOT. II just dont understand critics. They must have had a bad childhood or something. Hudson Hawk is comedy movie, where you get to laugh ALOT. I can warmly recommend this to anyone. Expand
  2. JakeM.
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    To paraphrase Benjamin Franklin "Hudson Hawk is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy". A singular achievement in the annals of To paraphrase Benjamin Franklin "Hudson Hawk is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy". A singular achievement in the annals of Hollywood hubris. Hudson Hawk is inimitable, brilliant, and nothing short of genius. Enjoy... Collapse
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie ever! Totally misunderstood in its time but now can be appreciated for the genius it is. Half action movie half comedyThis is the best movie ever! Totally misunderstood in its time but now can be appreciated for the genius it is. Half action movie half comedy half spoof and 100% over the top it really was a forerunner of today's 'self knowing' action comedy movie. It never takes itself seriously for a second, the effects are surprisingly good for its time so it has aged well from that point of view and Bruce Willis has almost never been better (Die Hard is the best action movie of all time so naturally that is the one performance of his that stands out above this one) AND if all that wasn't enough there is always the infamous dolphin impression. I promise you now dig this one out of the bargain bin in the DVD store and you won't be disappointed! And just remember ITS A COMEDY PEOPLE stop taking it so seriously it isn't supposed to make sense. Think of it like Beckett does Last Action Hero with a touch of The Da Vinci Code thrown in. If I ever win the lottery I am going to personally finance a sequel! Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    12 years Later and this movie is still under appreciated. I guess people don't know how to not take a movie too seriously. If you have never12 years Later and this movie is still under appreciated. I guess people don't know how to not take a movie too seriously. If you have never seen it or hated it the first time do yourself a favor and watch it. It's Bruce Willis how can you not enjoy it. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    One of the most underrated movies of all times.
    Hudson Hawk is not a work of art indeed, but it's a great action-comedy B movie that will
    One of the most underrated movies of all times.
    Hudson Hawk is not a work of art indeed, but it's a great action-comedy B movie that will keep you entertained with its cheap puns and cheap stunts. This is what the '80s were about!
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2014
    8
    Extremamente Louco,porém muito divertido...Tendo cenas bem divertidas cheias de ação. Com uma super atuação de Bruce Willis,Um Bom Filme deExtremamente Louco,porém muito divertido...Tendo cenas bem divertidas cheias de ação. Com uma super atuação de Bruce Willis,Um Bom Filme de comédia. Tem hora que chega a ficar chato com um humor tipo I Carly porém o filme vale a pena assistir Expand
  7. CrowRobot
    Oct 7, 2005
    7
    I can't blame people for not liking this movie. It's comedy certainly isn't mainstream, and it does feel awkward in the hands I can't blame people for not liking this movie. It's comedy certainly isn't mainstream, and it does feel awkward in the hands of such familiar faces. This film might actually have benefitted from having no-name actors, because the audience might have gone in with no expectations and been able to take the film for what it is instead of what it's supposed to be. The thing this movie does have going for it is that it's pretty consistent. The type of humor they use is used throughout. So if you if part of it makes you laugh, the whole thing makes you laugh. If it doesn't make you laugh, you're out of luck. And I can certainly see why a lot of people don't find it funny. But I do. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 15 Movies the Critics Got Wrong

    15 Movies the Critics Got Wrong Image
    Published: June 14, 2010
    The critics can't get it right every time. We have searched our database for 15 poorly-reviewed movies that, upon closer examination, are much better than reviewers originally suggested.