Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 23, 2011
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 749 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
586
Mixed:
107
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MonkiReviewsMay 29, 2017
I loved this movie. The acting was good and the story was magical. The acting was realistic, better than I expected. The look of the movie felt old fashioned and magical, and made it work. It was better than I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thigpen84Feb 20, 2017
Hugo brought movie magic back for me, I would put this among Scorsese's Best, Ben Kingsley and Sasha Cohen are as good as ever, great story, and I love the wonderful world within the clocks. this flick took us somewhere we have never beenHugo brought movie magic back for me, I would put this among Scorsese's Best, Ben Kingsley and Sasha Cohen are as good as ever, great story, and I love the wonderful world within the clocks. this flick took us somewhere we have never been before and yet it used old film footage to create it. A great original story but at the same time it pays tribute to a lost time in movie history by finishing a real life story....Brilliant Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Jan 7, 2014
A small tribute to the history of cinema, Martin Scorsese offers us with the magic of Hugo, with a message so sincere and beautiful .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ULTRA_MARIO_10May 30, 2016
First time I saw this, I thought the movie is just nothing but bland but really the storytelling is great and it's emotional.

Good movie. Recommended to those who like movies with excellent drama and Great storytelling but can still be
First time I saw this, I thought the movie is just nothing but bland but really the storytelling is great and it's emotional.

Good movie.

Recommended to those who like movies with excellent drama and Great storytelling but can still be boring at times so it's a 7/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CasualCoolsebMay 14, 2016
I firstly read the book, so I decided to go and check out the movie itself. I was speechless. I couldn't have wished for a better experience from a 2011 movie. Definitely check it out. You'll thank me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeApr 25, 2016
Gee, with Hugo, I think I feel like my eyes are very weak and my brain needs to rest by now. Movies never make me like that but Hugo just did and that's how Hugo should be the next time I see this again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dollarsignNov 25, 2015
*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************wow
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CantandresJul 31, 2015
This is the most beautiful movie I have ever had the pleasure to watch, both visually and conceptually. The performances by the children were deep and sensitive. It is the finest work Scorsese has ever done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffMay 28, 2015
A young boy goes on an adventure in Martin Scorsese's 'Hugo', a film adapted from Brian Selznick's novel titled "The Invention of Hugo Cabret". The film stars Asa Butterfield as Hugo, a young, orphan boy who lives in a clock above a ParisA young boy goes on an adventure in Martin Scorsese's 'Hugo', a film adapted from Brian Selznick's novel titled "The Invention of Hugo Cabret". The film stars Asa Butterfield as Hugo, a young, orphan boy who lives in a clock above a Paris train station.

He possesses a mechanical object which is called an automaton, a human-like figure that holds a pen and needs to be switched on using a heart-shaped key. Young Hugo needs to find where this key is and what this machine can do.

Hugo's father (played by Jude Law) was the one who brought this broken thing into their lives, and together, they believe that they can fix it. However, since Hugo's father's death, he has been left on his own, struggling to survive and feels like he is losing his purpose.

Hugo meets a grumpy old man named Georges Melies (Ben Kingsley), he tries to take everything that Hugo has as he believes that he is a thief. Hugo also meets his granddaughter (Chloe Moretz) and discovers that she also has a heart-shaped key. Hugo uses this as an opportunity to try and fix the broken automaton and see where his life goes from there.

Director Martin Scorsese has crafted a wonderful family film that shares pretty much the same spirit as the early "Harry Potter" movies. 'Hugo' is a wonderful, dazzling movie that is beautifully shot and well-told. I get that the pacing may frustrate some people as it is a slow-moving movie. But once the story hits you, it can be gripping. It's also a movie made for people who both love film and want to be a filmmaker. If you love the movie industry like Martin Scorsese, you will love this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Another_NerdFeb 26, 2015
Scorsese knows how to make a movie about just about..... anything. Hugo came about as a really well done film about films, an insight which one otherwise would never get.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Hugo es una película que triunfa mostrando varios acontecimientos con respecto a la historia del cine, logra dar un buen espectáculo y su trama es muy convencional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
maggie1Nov 7, 2014
When first seeing this movie I was in awe of the beauty it not only captures your attention but also your mind. I love that this film blends the past with the present showing the viewer how far special effects have come. this unlike manyWhen first seeing this movie I was in awe of the beauty it not only captures your attention but also your mind. I love that this film blends the past with the present showing the viewer how far special effects have come. this unlike many others can be enjoyed by the whole family and I mean that. Its not a cookie cutter family movie where the parents sit waiting for something interesting to happen with the suspense and adventure everyone can enjoy and go on a journey with the characters. I also love that Martin Scorsese directed a film that was unique from all his other films that are for a much more mature audience.
This film uses sound to its advantage every chance it gets. I believe sound is one of the most important aspects of a film and in Hugo sound allows another aspect to draw you in, to suspense the next scene, to know when to look even more intently. The sound in this film was edited so beautifully it as if it is a part of the words blended into one solid piece of art. One does not go without the other. They work hand in hand and as one becomes silent the other is ready to take its place. Martin Scorsese did a wonderful job of incorporating sound throughout this film just like he does in many others like Cape Fear and Goodfellas.
I love that the cast in this film is far from well known and all-star actors; I believe if this film had better known actors it would have detracted from the beauty of the story and we would lose the realistic aspect that Hugo is a boy living in a train station and that Isabelle is a curious young girl looking for an adventure. The cast really took their parts seriously and I believe that helped make this film what it is. The small characters were also quiet a big part of this film without all the side characters a lot of the story would be lost. If we didn't have an inspector we would lose a fair amount of the suspense and never have the threat of Hugo being taken away to the orphanage.
The special effects in this film are my favorite part. They capture you with the past and the present showing how far we have come and the amazing changes that have been made. Including George Melies is the best thing Martin Scorses could have done because this not only give an amazing plot but also bridges the gap between old and new. By including some of Melies original work we see how special effects have transformed from the magicians hat to 3-D pictures. Last when Hugo turns into a robot you not only believe it but you start to think it could happen in real life and that is when a movie truly becomes a masterpiece.
Overall I believe anyone can enjoy this film and recommend it to not just families but everyone. If you're looking for something a little less ordinary then watch Hugo I promise it won't disappoint. I must say if you can please watch it in 3-D but even if you can't it's still worth watching.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AmaljosJun 22, 2014
Someone compared this movie to a Hans Christian Andersen tale and I think this is about as good a comparison as it gets. Some people find it boring and painful, others are mesmerized and inspired by the story it tells and the way it does so.Someone compared this movie to a Hans Christian Andersen tale and I think this is about as good a comparison as it gets. Some people find it boring and painful, others are mesmerized and inspired by the story it tells and the way it does so. In short, if you prefer Disney's version of the little mermaid story, you will likely be disappointed by Hugo.

On the other hand, if you like the attention to detail and the not entirely happy endings of Andersen's classic short stories, you will probably find that Hugo is a captivating film that is hard to describe in a few words. It really lives in a lot more than three dimensions.

If you also happen to be a cinema fan, you will love it even more. What is a cinema fan? It's person that appreciates films for more than just their entertainment value. The way movies are made, the different layers of audio, visuals, emotions, symbols, the photography, the standout supporting casts, the way you can predict the cliché moves sometimes, but love it anyway. We love the good movies, like the bad ones, and films like Hugo make our hearts sing.

One last note on the use of 3D. I usually avoid 3D versions of movies because that feature has not yet proved itself to be more than just a gimmick. In Hugo's case, it is still partially true. I watched it in 3D and the opening sequence in the train station as well as a couple other select shots were exceptionally staged for 3D. Aside from that though, you get used to the effect and thankfully, it's the story that stays in the center of attention, followed by beautiful cinematography, characters, and 3D is trailing humbly behind. If you have the opportunity, watch the 3D version, but you will not really love it in 2D any less.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMay 19, 2014
Right from the onset of the film, it is entirely clear why it got so many Oscar nominations for its visuals. The visual effects, sets, and cinematography, are all absolutely gorgeous and this film absolutely qualifies as eye candy. On top ofRight from the onset of the film, it is entirely clear why it got so many Oscar nominations for its visuals. The visual effects, sets, and cinematography, are all absolutely gorgeous and this film absolutely qualifies as eye candy. On top of that, it is a fantastic look at film history. I did not expect that going in and while I knew some of what was discussed, it was still very cool to see it come to life in a film. In terms of the story itself, the film was very cute and charming as we follow the events that transpire for this kid living in the train station. The acting was also pretty good. There were moments when I had to pause and take in how bad they were, but for the most part, they did a solid job for being child actors. Ben Kingsley also turned in a reliably good performance.

On the negative side, there is not much, but the aforementioned times when the acting was...less than sub-par. In those moments, it took me out of the film a bit. In addition, in the beginning, it is a tad hard to get into. However, once you are in, you are in for good. Overall, Hugo is a very enjoyable film that really demonstrates the magic of film and is a very different work from Martin Scorsese, but certainly right up there with the rest of his amazing filmography.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kolingkmMay 8, 2014
hugo is an amazing movie i really like that porno i really like that he came all over her boobs its really HOT i get so turned on i also like his nipples when i see it makes me wanna hump the **** out my dog and my sister fridge
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Viper8787Apr 27, 2014
I didn't think I was going to like this movie, but it was really well done and I ended up enjoying it more than I thought. It was surprising to me when I saw that Martin Scorsese directed this movie because it is not one of his typicalI didn't think I was going to like this movie, but it was really well done and I ended up enjoying it more than I thought. It was surprising to me when I saw that Martin Scorsese directed this movie because it is not one of his typical movies. But he's a great director and this is another good movie done by him. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JpJuarioJan 30, 2014
''A Masterpiece.'' ''Spectacular!'' The Best use of 3D. Martin Scorsese shows his love of Film-making. One of the Best Films of 2000's. A New Masterpiece of the millennium. One of the most important film you're ever going to see. You won't''A Masterpiece.'' ''Spectacular!'' The Best use of 3D. Martin Scorsese shows his love of Film-making. One of the Best Films of 2000's. A New Masterpiece of the millennium. One of the most important film you're ever going to see. You won't see anything like Hugo. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
NefakiNov 28, 2013
A nice movie you can watch with your whole family. The main negative parts are: Main character's acting is dull and the movie could be shorter (its 126 min.) When or If you watch it fully, you will understand how come it earned 5 Oscars.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysOct 22, 2013
Hugo is one of Scorcese's best films in the 21st century, and delivers a combination of magic, expert moviemaking, and a great, talented cast. Sacha Baren Cohen strays from his usual "crazy foreigner" performance for a quiet, shy one. AsaHugo is one of Scorcese's best films in the 21st century, and delivers a combination of magic, expert moviemaking, and a great, talented cast. Sacha Baren Cohen strays from his usual "crazy foreigner" performance for a quiet, shy one. Asa Butterfield is amazing, and has a pretty good amount of potential for the future. Chloe Grace Moretz is amazing, as always, and Ben Kingsley gives an Oscar-worthy performance that is enjoyable as well as sturdy. You have to see this movie for yourself to soak up every little magical thing about it. Just the way it progresses, and the dialogue spoken is a feat almost irreplaceable. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Jul 8, 2013
A film made ​​for all that we relive so exciting and moving love for cinema. In addition to having an interesting plot is also technically perfect. A photograph crazy, bright and dark in the station instead of in the streets of Paris and aA film made ​​for all that we relive so exciting and moving love for cinema. In addition to having an interesting plot is also technically perfect. A photograph crazy, bright and dark in the station instead of in the streets of Paris and a setting that is able to represent in a realistic manner as the Paris of the '30s and special effects really sensational. One thing that surprised me was the absolute 3D. The best I've ever seen so far. A movie film that manages to make you dream and makes us understand the love for cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
killian13Jul 7, 2013
Hugo is one of movies of Martin Scorsese I love ,because it tell the story of the first studio of cinema and George Méliése .
the movie respects the story of the book
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
Martin Scorsese's love letter to film is near flawless, visually fantastic, and characters that connected very well to each other and the audience. The special effects were perfectly utilized and were tributary to Georges Méliès and hisMartin Scorsese's love letter to film is near flawless, visually fantastic, and characters that connected very well to each other and the audience. The special effects were perfectly utilized and were tributary to Georges Méliès and his revolutionary special effects. This was Scorsese's first children's movie and possibly the work closest to his heart. It is a children's movie in that it made me feel like a child again, restoring wonder and marvel to the world of film and the real world at once. The movie also connects parallels between mechanics, literature, and film-making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticJun 19, 2013
A visually stunning experience that any film fan will love to see. Not only does the film have characters that you connect with, but it will have you totally invested in the journey back to the an earlier time in movie history.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
WiesyApr 6, 2013
Hugo is a well made movie from one of the best directors of all time: Martin Scorsese. I read the book too and the movie and the book where very good. The actors are good and the plot is good too. Hugo is a beautiful family film who everyoneHugo is a well made movie from one of the best directors of all time: Martin Scorsese. I read the book too and the movie and the book where very good. The actors are good and the plot is good too. Hugo is a beautiful family film who everyone needs to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
This movie is a wonderful imagination land that combines innocent childhood and a love letter to cinema.
It is fun, pretty and enthrall you till the end. But most of all it is accurate related to Papa Gorge's life
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJan 4, 2013
Not often does a film truly find its feet when its basis and plot is, well, film.
Hugo centres on the extraordinarily rollercoaster life of the title character, adapted from the book "The Tale of Hugo Cabret", we see this small boy (Asa
Not often does a film truly find its feet when its basis and plot is, well, film.
Hugo centres on the extraordinarily rollercoaster life of the title character, adapted from the book "The Tale of Hugo Cabret", we see this small boy (Asa Butterfield) living within the walls of the Gare Montparnasse train station in Paris in an early 1930s France. Hugo keeps the clocks running within the station, unbeknownst to everyone else. We soon meet the brilliantly diverse Sir Ben Kingsley, who really catapults himself into the role of toy stall owner 'Papa' Georges, named so by his goddaughter Isabelle, played by the coming-of-age Chloë Moretz. With a rather humorous supporting role from Sacha Baron Cohen as the station inspector, and brief appearances from Jude Law, Richard Griffths, Ray Winstone, Christopher Lee, Helen McCrory and Emily Mortimer, this has an ensemble cast which are used to their fulll potential.
The cinematography at work here is truly beautiful, from the fluid motion of the train station walls to small pieces within Paris, the visual effects truly are spectacular, from the set pieces of the train station to the hand of the large clock.
Perhaps the most enjoyable part of this film is the emotional rollercoaster that Martin Scorcese takes us on. This could very well be his most heart-wrenchingly beautiful film to date, he appears to have poured moments from his own life into the 120+ minute ride. With the history of film and moving pictures at play here, it truly is a trip down memory lane for some, but a valuable and entertaining history lesson for most. My pick for the stand alone performance has to be Sir Ben Kingsley, he soars to a different height in his diverse role as a down on his luck old man, I could really watch this man all day, everyday. The nostalgic setting and era used as the backdrop for the film is spot on, providing glimpses of the fast paced motion of technology in the early 20th Century, in particular the automaton, a glorious addition to this tale, one which sets in motion the basis for the film.
Hugo is quite simply a must-watch film, superb acting, wonderful effects, a riveting and thoroughly entertaining story that really is suitable for all ages, see it to believe it!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jfrotylpe532Dec 22, 2012
Best cinematography of all time not to mention crazy visual effects. I thought this movie would have action but instead it had mind blowing screenplay and adrenaline pumping suspense. The one thing preventing this from being a 10 is that itBest cinematography of all time not to mention crazy visual effects. I thought this movie would have action but instead it had mind blowing screenplay and adrenaline pumping suspense. The one thing preventing this from being a 10 is that it was just barely to slow for me especially for a PG movie. But just barely. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersDec 6, 2012
Wonderful. A joyous and magical experience. Nominated for 11 Academy Awards including Best Picture and Best Director. Asa Butterfield and Chloe Moretz are child actors to keep an eye on.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Technically immaculate and successful at reaching deep into any cinephile's heart and plucking at his heart strings, "Hugo" is a clear treat.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OnAnarchyAug 22, 2012
2011 in film saw two very successful films depicting forgotten ages of cinema. I speak of course, of Hugo and The Artist. The story-lines weaved within this film may be confusing for some, but for the right individual Hugo is a rare film2011 in film saw two very successful films depicting forgotten ages of cinema. I speak of course, of Hugo and The Artist. The story-lines weaved within this film may be confusing for some, but for the right individual Hugo is a rare film that is both charming and full of illusion. Simply put, Hugo is easily the best film of 2011 and should be considered among the great films of the 3-D era. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews