Hugo

Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 664 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Brian Selznick's captivating and imaginative New York Times bestseller "The Invention of Hugo Cabret." Hugo Cabret, Scorsese's first film shot in 3D, tells the tale of an orphan boy living a secret life in the walls of a Paris train station. When Hugo encounters a broken machine, anBased on Brian Selznick's captivating and imaginative New York Times bestseller "The Invention of Hugo Cabret." Hugo Cabret, Scorsese's first film shot in 3D, tells the tale of an orphan boy living a secret life in the walls of a Paris train station. When Hugo encounters a broken machine, an eccentric girl, and the cold, reserved man who runs the toy shop, he is caught up in a magical, mysterious adventure that could put all of his secrets in jeopardy. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Nov 18, 2011
    100
    In attempting to make his first film for all ages, Martin Scorsese has fashioned one for the ages. Simultaneously classical and modern, populist but also unapologetically personal, Hugo flagrantly defies the mind-numbing quality of most contempo kidpics.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Nov 22, 2011
    100
    An exhilarating tale of magic, machines, memories, and dreams, Martin Scorsese pulls off the neatest trick of all. He marshals the marvels of modern movie technology - up to and including the dreaded 3-D - to create a love letter to the earliest of movies and, by extension, to every movie from then to now.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Nov 27, 2011
    100
    This is a great director's greatest love story.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 25, 2011
    88
    With Hugo, Martin Scorsese has accomplished what few in Hollywood are willing to try: make a movie for adults that arrives without sex, violence, or profanity and earns a PG-rating.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 23, 2011
    83
    Hugo is Scorsese's most personal film, from the standpoint of both an artist and a grandfather. He is as interested in Melies' posterity as in making a movie that his descendants can see before they're adults.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 22, 2011
    75
    Rich and stimulating even when it wanders.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 22, 2011
    50
    The result is a movie that's kinetic yet slow, whose joys are architectural more than spiritual.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 202
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    It's a fun and beautiful adventure - My wife and I with our four boys (ages 9, 12, 15, & 17) enjoyed it immensely. My fours boysâ
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    A film made ​​for all that we relive so exciting and moving love for cinema. In addition to having an interesting plot is also technicallyA film made ​​for all that we relive so exciting and moving love for cinema. In addition to having an interesting plot is also technically perfect. A photograph crazy, bright and dark in the station instead of in the streets of Paris and a setting that is able to represent in a realistic manner as the Paris of the '30s and special effects really sensational. One thing that surprised me was the absolute 3D. The best I've ever seen so far. A movie film that manages to make you dream and makes us understand the love for cinema. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Hugo is a very cute and enjoyable film. Martin Scorsese brought the book to life. It showed very much suspense and even some laughs. IHugo is a very cute and enjoyable film. Martin Scorsese brought the book to life. It showed very much suspense and even some laughs. I definitely agree with shibumi7126 that is was a very heart-felt film. Hugo is about a little brave boy who works at a train station in the clocks area where he finds this amazing robot that has the ability to do a lot of things along with an amazingly smart man (Ben Kingsley). This great picture is filled with amazing writing and amazement. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2014
    8
    I didn't think I was going to like this movie, but it was really well done and I ended up enjoying it more than I thought. It was surprisingI didn't think I was going to like this movie, but it was really well done and I ended up enjoying it more than I thought. It was surprising to me when I saw that Martin Scorsese directed this movie because it is not one of his typical movies. But he's a great director and this is another good movie done by him. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    On a technical scale, "Hugo" is a masterwork. Scorsese majestically helms this adventure delivering superb 3-D cinematography and a steadyOn a technical scale, "Hugo" is a masterwork. Scorsese majestically helms this adventure delivering superb 3-D cinematography and a steady pace. Out of all of Scorsese's films, this is definitely one of his most personal. While delivering an engaging story, he uses the movie to celebrate his love of films, in particular, the ones that got the art of film off the ground. It's during these moments when the movie radiates a sense of magic. But these are the only magical moments. When the movie doesn't focus on film, it's only an interesting story, nothing more. The main issue is that few of the characters are satisfyingly developed. Kingsley's Georges Melies is the one exception. His back story is far more intriguing than Hugo's, and with only a limited amount of screen time, Kingsley gives us a complete heartbreaking portrait of a sorrowful genius. But the film focuses on Hugo, and his story and character is nowhere near as fascinating. This prevents the movie from taking off into greatness. Once Scorsese's love of film shines, the movie starts to soar, but this doesn't happen until the last 20 minutes. Still, it's a very good film that should be seen by anyone who's a fan of Scorsese or a fan of cinema in general. I wouldn't recommend it to younger kids however. The movie moves too slow for them, and they'll most likely leave the theater confused and bored. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is beautiful to look at, has a good cast among the adults, and has some nice moments with the train station setting. But the plotting and pacing kills it. For one thing, the two plots seem to be forced together in a non-credible way. That may be the fault of the source material, but a good director ought not to reproduce strained plotting out of some sense of faithfulness to the text. It was just too abrupt for me the way Hugo is all about the automaton and then suddenly he's all about movies. Too much coincidence, not well integrated. Then, there are two places where the movie basically stops for a lecture about film history. Nothing against the topic, but voice-over to explain it is a poor dramatic technique in a non-documentary film. Finally, the secret behind Papa Georges' reaction to Hugo's notebook and to seeing his old drawings didn't have sufficient dramatic heft. "He went bankrupt because tastes changed" is sad, OK, but hardly the tragedy presaged by all the preceding build-up. He didn't change with the times so his studio failed. This happens all over in every industry. I was left with a big feeling of "Is that all there is?" He seemed pitiful (and self-pitying) rather than tragic. I realize we are meant to view the melting of his films as an awful warning about preserving the classic films we know and love, but the point was laid on with too heavy a hand. Besides all this, the screenplay was uneven, sometimes awkward, there were too many extraneous bits such as the bookseller and the wicked uncle, and the pace was very slow. All these factors kept me from becoming fully involved. I can't imagine a child having the patience to try to follow this. In short, for a movie about the magic of movies, there just wasn't enough magic. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    I can use 1 word to describe this movie and that word is bad. In doesn't focus on 1 character instead trying to tell a story withoutI can use 1 word to describe this movie and that word is bad. In doesn't focus on 1 character instead trying to tell a story without showcasing why we are supposed to care. Along with that fact that the character traits that are shown do not make any sense. Plus the only character that is interesting in the slightest is not even the main character. The movie tries to resemble an art film but fails to deliver a good story. Some of the characters that we se don't even have an impact on the overall plot. Then there is the question of why we should care considering that none of the characters feel remotely real. I mean how real is character that lives in a clock tower. In conclusion if a film can't distract it's audience eyes from it's own flaws thenthere is no reason for it to be watched. Expand

See all 202 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Oscars: Winners, Analysis, and Reviews

    2012 Oscars: Winners, Analysis, and Reviews Image
    Published: February 27, 2012
    What did critics think of this year's Oscar telecast? How accurate were the experts and Metacritic users in predicting the winners? Find out inside, where we also have a complete list of winners at the 84th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. 2012 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2012 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 24, 2012
    Inside, we break down the 84th Annual Academy Award nominations, which were led by Martin Scorsese's "Hugo." What were the biggest snubs, and who are the year's leading frontrunners? Find out inside.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  4. 2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 8, 2011
    Throughout the next two months, we
  5. 2011 Film Awards and Nominations

    2011 Film Awards and Nominations Image
    Published: December 5, 2011
    Over the next three months, we
  6. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.