Hulk

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2015
    4
    The Hulk is entertaining when it actually focuses on the Hulk especially in the last third. If the film was condensed and made the last third the focus it could’ve been a decent film. Ang Lee instead chooses to focus on uninteresting characters and keep the Hulk out of the film for the majority of the story. While Ang Lee may be good at making stylish action movies the comic book genre isThe Hulk is entertaining when it actually focuses on the Hulk especially in the last third. If the film was condensed and made the last third the focus it could’ve been a decent film. Ang Lee instead chooses to focus on uninteresting characters and keep the Hulk out of the film for the majority of the story. While Ang Lee may be good at making stylish action movies the comic book genre is not his place. Thankfully five years from this film’s release a better Hulk movie would come out that would spotlight the last third of the film. Expand
  2. May 2, 2015
    2
    nothing about this film works! it is otter garbage! event when i was younger i hated it and always thought there was so much wrong with this movie. thank god no sequels followed
  3. Feb 1, 2015
    4
    Magnificently directed and well acted, but dramatically inert and partly dull, "Hulk" is, along with Daredevil and Ghost Rider movies, one of the weakest entries in the super-hero genre and in Marvel's track record.
  4. Jan 17, 2015
    3
    Hulk,il film del 2003,è stato per me uno dei peggiori film di sempre basati sui supereroi ed una trama orribile,dei personaggi con un carisma inesistente.Non guardatelo.
  5. Jan 2, 2015
    9
    An incredibly underrated and truly inspired comic book movie, Hulk is just as effective as serious drama, and as far removed from ordinary comic book blandness as The Dark Knight. Yes the action scenes are spectacular, but Hulk contains true psychological and emotional depth. Lee's direction is amazing, and I'm truly glad that he decided to give the film an engaging story instead ofAn incredibly underrated and truly inspired comic book movie, Hulk is just as effective as serious drama, and as far removed from ordinary comic book blandness as The Dark Knight. Yes the action scenes are spectacular, but Hulk contains true psychological and emotional depth. Lee's direction is amazing, and I'm truly glad that he decided to give the film an engaging story instead of rushing headlong into the clichés and poor characterization usually associated with the genre. The fact that it was criticized by many for not having enough action shows how juvenile their tastes truly are. It's a great accomplishment. Leaps and bounds ahead of the reboot with Edward Norton. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    This Hulk adaptation is probably one of my favourite comic book adaptation ever.Great acting performances and great effects Hulk is really good sci-fi/action movie.Amazing landscape and memorable action scenes,hulk has everything.
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Hulk is an strange movie, and it got a weird story, but in the end it's watchable.

    This film got much action, and I really enjoy the opening scene, even thought it might be a bit to excessive at the start, and the tempo is a little to slow. I also think that it's to much talking in this movie, which made it boring at several occasions. The actors are okay (but not more), and I think the
    Hulk is an strange movie, and it got a weird story, but in the end it's watchable.

    This film got much action, and I really enjoy the opening scene, even thought it might be a bit to excessive at the start, and the tempo is a little to slow. I also think that it's to much talking in this movie, which made it boring at several occasions. The actors are okay (but not more), and I think the soundtrack is great. The story is good, but it's not the best, because it's weird. The ending is very good and I really enjoy it!
    Hulk is a film that got many unique and awesome things, but the tempo, the story and the poor acting made it odd.

    Hulk gets a 7/10
    Expand
  8. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Ang Lee's take on the Hulk story is clearly the superior cinematic film adaptation over it's remake The Incredible Hulk. This picture takes groundbreaking CGI, a very odd and rather refreshing comic-book-esc editing style, and a very well written script and characters in order to create a top notch action film. It really does the colossal badass Hulk a huge justice by showing Banner in hisAng Lee's take on the Hulk story is clearly the superior cinematic film adaptation over it's remake The Incredible Hulk. This picture takes groundbreaking CGI, a very odd and rather refreshing comic-book-esc editing style, and a very well written script and characters in order to create a top notch action film. It really does the colossal badass Hulk a huge justice by showing Banner in his own, more human story and then taking the Hulk himself and putting him into some kick ass action sequences. It's a must see for any fan of superhero and/or action films, or just anyone looking to have a grand old time with a few friends. Expand
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Wonderful. One of my favorite movies of all time. It takes my favorite comic book character and makes him relatable, vulnerable and human. The score is one of the all time best. The action scenes are pretty great as well. It's a must.
  10. Apr 21, 2014
    2
    Really, really bad film. Not only did i not really like the Hulk before seeing this film, usually when i walk in to see a marvel movie i like to be amazed and introduced to a new character and do some research, this film put a really bad taste in my mouth, it bored me to tears, the acting was terribly average and the plot tried to take itself way to seriously. Bad movie dont watch.

    2/10
  11. Apr 3, 2014
    5
    Every director has one bad movie out of many great ones, and this is Ang Lee's example of this. The Hulk is not at all what one would expect from Lee; it is superficial, over-exaggerated, and cliché-heavy. If you want a good Hulk movie, try "The Incredible Hulk". It is much better than this average fare.
  12. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    A surprisingly boring film despite the amount of effects and action sequences. The characters lack chemistry and the comic book panelling between sequences is amateurish at its best.
  13. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    I really love Ang Lee's performance in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," but what he did just turned Hulk into a block of green glob all over. In my personal point of view, the 2003 version of Hulk was a catastrophe. Dusted into thin air, why would I want to see this Marvel movie if it was a good movie? I mean, I'm a huge fan of The Incredible Hulk since I was growing up reading everyI really love Ang Lee's performance in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," but what he did just turned Hulk into a block of green glob all over. In my personal point of view, the 2003 version of Hulk was a catastrophe. Dusted into thin air, why would I want to see this Marvel movie if it was a good movie? I mean, I'm a huge fan of The Incredible Hulk since I was growing up reading every single cliffhangers on what would happen next. Hulk (2003), on the other hand, is beyond disappointing. The acting is bad, the story is ridiculous, and somehow I love the action sequences a little bit, but it wasted for like 2 1/2 hours. Fans really hated this movie. So bad you might even need a barf bag or throw it in the bargain bin just like terrible Marvel sociallites like Daredevil and The Punisher. But finally, my wish for a reboot came true because the 2008 version is slightly the best reboot (before Amazing Spider-Man) better than any superhero movie ever. Because I would hope if they've learned something right from making bad choices from the Ang Lee version. Expand
  14. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    Ang Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps andAng Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps and awesome helicopter takedowns but the acting, direction and story is very dumb. Lee makes a very well action sequenced but corny film that should only be watched by hardcore Hulk or action, blowing, Eric Bana, more blowing up and even more blowing up fans. Expand
  15. Aug 5, 2013
    5
    Though it contains decent Hulk smashing action in it, it's overlong with too much dialogue choked up into it that by the time the action comes around you feel too deprived of quality entertainment.
  16. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Holk realmente no se muestra como es hasta el increíble Hulk en 2008 creo, sin embargo no es una descepcion...........................................
  17. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Ang Lee's Hulk doesn't work. It tries to be more than it is, and fails. What it is, is loud, disjointed action sequences separated by boring stretches that try to provoke thoughts and don't.
  18. Aug 12, 2012
    3
    This is one of the worst superhero movies i have seen. Me and my brother watched this movie mistakenly thinking this was one of those avenger movies. The movie has a very slow pace and there is not enough action. Action sequences are generally in the dark and i couldn't see what was happening. I did not care enough about Bruce to keep watching this movie after watching half of this weThis is one of the worst superhero movies i have seen. Me and my brother watched this movie mistakenly thinking this was one of those avenger movies. The movie has a very slow pace and there is not enough action. Action sequences are generally in the dark and i couldn't see what was happening. I did not care enough about Bruce to keep watching this movie after watching half of this we turned it off. I'm giving this movie a 3 just because i did not watch this whole the way through and maybe it's better towards the end but a 3 is the max i can give it really you're better of watching the Avengers which has a better Hulk Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie about Hulk. Because I was concerned as the director has explored the relationship between Bruce Banner and the Hulk and the story of Bruce himself.I also adored the actors that have proved equal to the task.
  20. May 26, 2012
    10
    Not quite the same Hulk as comic book fans will remember but a strong story that provides good explanations and backstory of the Hulk as he was meant to be.
  21. Apr 21, 2012
    3
    This movie is the worst MARVEL movie ever.the Hulk is terrible,visuals are confusing,there are so many errors.the Betty character is confusing most of all.The only good thing about this movie is the action,but overall I hate it.
  22. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    Hulk is one of the first superhero movies I have really enjoyed in a long time. I loved the epic story of Bruce Banner's troubled and violent past, and the acting was superb for most of the characters. Eric Bana gave a terrific performance; me as the viewer found myself sympathising with Bruce, and you even worried about what was going to happen to him. The special effects were good, asHulk is one of the first superhero movies I have really enjoyed in a long time. I loved the epic story of Bruce Banner's troubled and violent past, and the acting was superb for most of the characters. Eric Bana gave a terrific performance; me as the viewer found myself sympathising with Bruce, and you even worried about what was going to happen to him. The special effects were good, as the Hulk himself ambles across the screen in perfect CGI fashion; also, the dog fight was thrilling and exciting. Hulk was a really enjoyable movie to watch, and I hope that Eric Bana reprised his role for the sequel. Expand
  23. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    The only good in this film is the poster. Is atractive. But the film that is the most important is a biggest disaster, the performance of Eric Bana like Hulk is terrible, and this poor intent to do that Hulk looks like a bad and violent guy, really? because is like a Barney's friend.
  24. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Ang Lee's Hulk is messy, disjointed and very odd. An original take on a superhero movie is always welcome but this movie misses the mark. The plot makes little sense and is poorly executed. The action scenes never fully satisfy as watching the Hulk destroy things isn't as fun as it should be. Some visual effects are pretty cool and the movie should be commended for placing an emphasis onAng Lee's Hulk is messy, disjointed and very odd. An original take on a superhero movie is always welcome but this movie misses the mark. The plot makes little sense and is poorly executed. The action scenes never fully satisfy as watching the Hulk destroy things isn't as fun as it should be. Some visual effects are pretty cool and the movie should be commended for placing an emphasis on character over relentless action. Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    Visually, the movie looks like a well done Hulk adaptation. The plot, however, was completely laughable, abandoning many aspects of the Hulk comic books, and just plain forgettable. Thank God for the much, much better "Incredible Hulk" movie in 2008.
  26. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Ang Lee's version of "Hulk" is different from those dreamy western versions. It has a prominent morale that is appropriate for its name with splendid acting. Don't criticize, but realize.
  27. Sep 2, 2011
    8
    If you aren't familiar with the franchise started by Stan Lee's comic book series "The Incredible Hulk", think of this as an intense, fun mashup between DR. JEKYLL & MR. HYDE and SHREK. I know that sounds a bit disturbing, but really, that's what THE HULK is: a regular man whose anger level raises and therefore transforms into a big, green, feared monster. Besides that bizarre factor, THEIf you aren't familiar with the franchise started by Stan Lee's comic book series "The Incredible Hulk", think of this as an intense, fun mashup between DR. JEKYLL & MR. HYDE and SHREK. I know that sounds a bit disturbing, but really, that's what THE HULK is: a regular man whose anger level raises and therefore transforms into a big, green, feared monster. Besides that bizarre factor, THE HULK has astounding, mind-blowing cinematography--some of which actually makes it seem like you're watching an onscreen, live-action comic book. And even though this one moves quite slowly at times, it's a well-acted sci-fi adventure that, unlike many other Marvel adaptations (nods to SPIDER-MAN), is rarely superficial. Expand
  28. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    I could hardly believe myself when I told a colleague of mine that the movie about a brilliant scientist who is transformed into a gamma ray-powered green monster that fights the military who intend to destroy him was the dullest experience of the year. But it was. Hulk is a clunky drama that moves at a glacial pace, which is never a desirable trait in a movie about a giant green monster.
  29. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I implore anyone reading this to rewatch and rereview "HULK". Im amazed at the negative reviews, both professional and user. It seemed people wanted more mindless "HULK SMASH" then a real story with real character. People referenced spiderman, seeming they were hoping for that. But years later, how many of your remember spiderman as a work of art? HULK is more "The Dark Knight" then it wasI implore anyone reading this to rewatch and rereview "HULK". Im amazed at the negative reviews, both professional and user. It seemed people wanted more mindless "HULK SMASH" then a real story with real character. People referenced spiderman, seeming they were hoping for that. But years later, how many of your remember spiderman as a work of art? HULK is more "The Dark Knight" then it was "Spiderman". And it was ahead of its time as far as comic book flicks go. Years later, I remember the artistry of hulk flying through the canyons, creating an image of two surreal trippy worlds colliding. I remember the scene between Banner and his father to be the equivalent to the scene between Batman and Joker in Dark Knight. And while the fight scene after seemed long it parts, it illustrated the feeling you got from the movie days afterwards. That this was a fight between a mans humanity, and the primal god within, fighting to be released. Expand
  30. Jun 19, 2011
    2
    Normally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointingNormally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointing movie Marvel has made along with Daredevil and Fantastic 4. Expand
  31. MikeP.
    Jan 30, 2009
    8
    This movie is much better than what most of the critics and moviegoers say about it. First and foremost, it's not a popcorn flick. Most of the people who went to see this movie were probably expecting a mindless, fun superhero movie where a big, green monster smashes everything. Instead they got an intelligent, character-driven film about the sins of the father, psychological trauma, This movie is much better than what most of the critics and moviegoers say about it. First and foremost, it's not a popcorn flick. Most of the people who went to see this movie were probably expecting a mindless, fun superhero movie where a big, green monster smashes everything. Instead they got an intelligent, character-driven film about the sins of the father, psychological trauma, and profound tragedy. This was the first superhero movie that attempted to be meaningful and thoughtful. It failed because it targeted the wrong audience and its message flew right over the heads of the average viewer. Perhaps, it would have succeeded if it were able to better balance art with entertainment like what Spider-Man 2 and Batman Begins did after it. Expand
  32. AnthonyS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    0
    I went to the movies to see this with my girlfreind in 2003 or so and omg this movie sucked complete garbage i actully fell asleep during this movie id rather cut my penis off then watch this bull crap ever again.
  33. FrenchBench
    Jul 16, 2008
    0
    This is one the ang lee worst movie 0f 2003. Ang lee, you never come back to American Superhero universe again. Ever!!
  34. JamesK.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    I had to agree with people who gave this film a negative review. Ang lee was trying to turn this piece of art of action into a drama. And the enemies are the U.S military? Weak man. Get a life Ang lee. You don't know any action at all. This of one of the worst movie for the past 5 years. You nearly destroyed this piece of crap and the no sequels just a reboot. you know what. Get the I had to agree with people who gave this film a negative review. Ang lee was trying to turn this piece of art of action into a drama. And the enemies are the U.S military? Weak man. Get a life Ang lee. You don't know any action at all. This of one of the worst movie for the past 5 years. You nearly destroyed this piece of crap and the no sequels just a reboot. you know what. Get the **** out of here and stop making American superhero comic books anymore. You can't expect a superhero movie without more action. Anyone It a complete Trash and Ang lee ruined this crap. Expand
  35. KiloM.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    Horrible. Dear Ang lee get out of here. You made this Superhero movie into a drama. What a complete waste.
  36. JamesH.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks man. need more action and lower down the dialogue.
  37. PaulL.
    Jul 15, 2008
    2
    This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you don't know any action that well and so does you partner name James sclamcus. do you know any actions that well? Guess not! You should study more action appealing to American Audiences. OR even better, they should hired John woo, another Chinese Director who know more action better. He directed Face off. the story and the action in Faceoff is beautifully crafted. Expand
  38. my
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    With the release of the second Hulk film Ang Lee's take looks even leaner, meaner and incredibly brave. Hulk 2 is muscle bound with CGI effects - and while he has never looked better, there's something missing in his eyes. The soul Ang Lee meticulously crafted has been vapourised by FANS moaning that there wasn't enough HULK SMASH. Well, you got wht you asked for this time With the release of the second Hulk film Ang Lee's take looks even leaner, meaner and incredibly brave. Hulk 2 is muscle bound with CGI effects - and while he has never looked better, there's something missing in his eyes. The soul Ang Lee meticulously crafted has been vapourised by FANS moaning that there wasn't enough HULK SMASH. Well, you got wht you asked for this time and it's right down there with the rest of the superhero flicks - all bluster and no heart. The second hulk movie is an XBox game to Ang Lee's novel. Thanks for ruining the hulk, hulk fans. Thaks for nothing. Expand
  39. john
    Mar 13, 2008
    0
    This was the worst movie ive ever seen in my life, my god was it just ridiciulous. Id rather stand in front of a moving train then watch this movie again, it was so boring, stupid and weird that I walked out 20 minutes in. I hate this movie so much and I can't believe garbage like this will be shown to people.
  40. Ollie
    Feb 28, 2008
    8
    Hulk is totally underrated. It has a unique filming and editing style, reminiscent of classic comic books and, strangely enough, 24. Admittadly, the special effects are very dodgy at times (the dogs come to mind) and there is plenty of room for acting improvement, but overall it's a very enjoyable experience.
  41. Marc.D.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical psychological journey into a fractures human being...or bash things to pieces. The result is a convulated piece of work by Ang Lee which seems to shoot for, Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical psychological journey into a fractures human being...or bash things to pieces. The result is a convulated piece of work by Ang Lee which seems to shoot for, and miss, all it's goals. Beyond the confusing and out there plot is a technical misfire which no one can avoid. The visual effects simple do not possess the polish required for the audience to abandon all disbelief that a monstrous green behemoth is leaping about on the screen. It fails on the most basic visceral level. For all it's faults...Hulk is not a walking ton of waste. It simply offers too many subplots...and far too little of the angry green man himself. Expand
  42. AaronF.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    This movie was great. It had a good storyline, good action, good drama, good everything. The dog fight scene could have been a liitle better but overall it was Great!
  43. C.H.
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    You've got to be kidding.
  44. [Anonymous]
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Brave and massively underrated.
  45. AnsonG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    1
    Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they like to see that. I doubt Eric Bana was wrong to choose as character Hulk. This movie doesnt make any sense at all and very boring. If u havent watch this, i advise u dont. Expand
  46. filmisdead
    Oct 10, 2005
    2
    What the hell was Ang Lee thinking? How dare he film the equivalent of a random, delirious fart and release it bigtime? So laughably misguided it's almost tragic, yet not even brimming with enough written, performed and filmmaking ineptitude for said ineptitude to even matter. Eric Banal, Josh Puke-ass and a beyond slumming Nick Nolte are pathetically out of their acting What the hell was Ang Lee thinking? How dare he film the equivalent of a random, delirious fart and release it bigtime? So laughably misguided it's almost tragic, yet not even brimming with enough written, performed and filmmaking ineptitude for said ineptitude to even matter. Eric Banal, Josh Puke-ass and a beyond slumming Nick Nolte are pathetically out of their acting 'league', while J.-Co and Sam Elliott's efforts to salvage this DOA wreck are in obvious and pitiful vain. Oh yeah, HULK is terrible, all right, and yet better than all of the Hollywood crapola I saw this summer. Next to absolute sh..fests like War of the Worlds and Revenge of the Sith, its own hideously childish effects are anything but! How loud a volume do y'all think that speaks? Expand
  47. Droog
    Jul 27, 2005
    2
    I avoided this movie when it hit the theaters a few years back, but my library had a copy when I was browsing the shelves this afternoon, so I figured what the heck. Wow. This is one of the worst movies made in the past 5 years, and definitely one of the worst superhero movies ever made. The special effects are, in a word, awful. The Hulk looks like a digitally-animated booger. And far I avoided this movie when it hit the theaters a few years back, but my library had a copy when I was browsing the shelves this afternoon, so I figured what the heck. Wow. This is one of the worst movies made in the past 5 years, and definitely one of the worst superhero movies ever made. The special effects are, in a word, awful. The Hulk looks like a digitally-animated booger. And far too many of the action scenes take place in the dark. Maybe it was just my TV, but I couldn't see anything happening (ie. the Hulk's fight with the mutant dogs is 5 minutes of barking and total darkness. But the worse transgression is the plot, which totally overcomplicates Bruce Banner's narrative history. The beauty of the comic-book Hulk is his simplicity. He is based on the Jekyll & Hyde archetype, brilliant and weak as Bruce Banner, dumb and unstoppable as the Hulk. The Hulk taps into our inner child, the angry id of anyone who has ever been beaten up or been stepped on and has wished for vengeance. But by throwing in all the extra shenanigans of repressed memories, Oedipus complex, and Foucaltean rantings about power, this movie detaches itself from anything resembling personal experience and becomes a self-involved, CGI monstrosity. Expand
  48. abbey
    Jun 13, 2005
    3
    This movie is an absolute train wreak. I would expect more from Ang Lee. The plot itself was okay, but all of the action scenes were terrible and too drawn out. In my opinon, Eric Bana was a very poor choice for the hulk. And even wonderful performances by Jennifer Connelly and Sam Elliott were not enough to save this movie.
  49. Tamatha
    Jun 6, 2005
    1
    Absolutely terrible. I would rather watch a sappy soap-opera then be put through watching this again. The only reason why it got a one is because I was able to take a nap.
  50. M.Taylor
    Aug 9, 2004
    0
    1st scene the main characters experimenting on animals, so straight away I want them to die, all empathy gone, well played ang lee!
  51. [Anonymous]
    May 31, 2004
    10
    Most of the Humans in this movie are angry. Hulk is fairly timid. He just wants to get at those people who are attacking the ones he loves the most. One feels as though they are watching a real life comic book. The humor was perfect like when hulk sneezed out the sleeping gas instead of passing out. Hulk turns out to be the real humanitarian.
  52. RobM.
    May 31, 2004
    10
    This is one heck of a movie. The Hulk jumping around canyons with a good look at the landscape is very stunning. Bruce Banner's ability to be a brain and bronze can show that we all have strengths and weaknesses to overcome through self control. This Marvel making is marvelous.
  53. DennisP.
    May 22, 2004
    8
    Easily the best comic book adaptation I have seen thus far. This movie avoids all the childish cliches of most movies of this kind. It digs into Bruce Banner's psyche and is not just CGI and the Hulk busting stuff up, and therefore has appeal to more mature audiences. Thanks Ang Lee for a comic book movie this old guy thoroughly enjoyed.
  54. RobertC.
    Apr 4, 2004
    8
    This particular movie of 2003 garnered quite a negativity from everyone who saw it. I think the most major thing regarding the Hulk is that WAY too many people were expecting a flat-out, action-packed summer movie rather than a deep, psychologically-induced, action-structured film. People, you had to have looked at this movie with an open mind if you were ever going to enjoy it.
  55. SaerB.
    Mar 20, 2004
    8
    The Hulk had some great ation and sequences and I liked it. But I would rather perfer Spider Man more.
  56. MadisonS.
    Dec 12, 2003
    2
    I did not like the Hulk movie so much, it was gross and gory. your kids should not wach it.
  57. AlyssaS.
    Dec 12, 2003
    0
    I hated the Hulk movie. It was nothing like the story only except the part where he turned into the hulk. He did'nt look much like the hulk only that he was green. But his face did not look like the hulk. I think that this show was changed altogether.
  58. IanC.
    Dec 1, 2003
    8
    Oh God, here we go again. Why oh why don't some people ever seem to get it? It's a film based on a comic-book and (although there are many comics out there offering deep, complex and cerebral content, from 'Jimmy Corrigan' to 'The Spiral Cage') it does exactly what it aims to to - recreates a good old-fashioned MARVEL superhero comic book on-screen with Oh God, here we go again. Why oh why don't some people ever seem to get it? It's a film based on a comic-book and (although there are many comics out there offering deep, complex and cerebral content, from 'Jimmy Corrigan' to 'The Spiral Cage') it does exactly what it aims to to - recreates a good old-fashioned MARVEL superhero comic book on-screen with basically what is the angriest person who ever walked the earth going through a series of great sequences picking up stuff and throwing it around. And there's the beauty in its workable empathy. None of us can really empathise with a character faced with an alien, or a guy with a lasergun, but - even though he is big and green - the Hulk is just as mad as hell, and we all know what it's like to be around someone like that. It does go a little further in offering an involving story-line. BUT Memento this is not, and Memento it doesn't want to be. The Hulk wants to be fun, fast, mad, cinematic entertainment with a hint of darkness and it delivers. So PLEASE stop moaning. Oh yeah, and at what point exactly did Hulk jump from one continent to another? I think I missed that, I could have sworn the whole thing took place in America... Expand
  59. DouglasH.
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    I thought this movie rocked. Good story with awesome action sequences. I think some people were pissed off because it took 45 mins. to see the green Machine. I guess if you like constant action with no story, than this movie is not for you!!!
  60. NielS.
    Nov 23, 2003
    8
    Its appeal is a celebration of anger in a society shamed and ignorant of how to express frustration correctly.
  61. ScottF.
    Nov 19, 2003
    5
    This movie had promise but the execution was extremely poor. The movie was drawn out far too long with the action sequences few and far between. At one point in the movie I was thinking to myself, "I wish this movie would just hurry up and end." Definitely no Spiderman. Also, I didn't read the comics much but how can the hulk jump from one continent to another. I mean they might as This movie had promise but the execution was extremely poor. The movie was drawn out far too long with the action sequences few and far between. At one point in the movie I was thinking to myself, "I wish this movie would just hurry up and end." Definitely no Spiderman. Also, I didn't read the comics much but how can the hulk jump from one continent to another. I mean they might as well have made him superman! Really, the only thing that would make me want to watch this movie again is to see Jennifer Connelly. I thought she looked stunning in the movie! Expand
  62. Starfox
    Nov 15, 2003
    1
    Was there any point during the making of this film that the filmakers or executives thought, "Wait a minute, this is really dull." An incomprehensible bore that uses every new found editing filter in the Avid cookbook to cover up the fact that it is incomprehensible and boring. And I haven't even mentioned the horrific CGI.
  63. BillJ.
    Nov 1, 2003
    6
    It was better than I expected. I wished I had ignored the reviews I saw and seen it on the big screen. My only previous exposure to the Hulk was the TV show that aired some years ago. I did expect to find Dr. David Banner following the same path as on the TV show - eluding police, moving from one place to another continuously, keeping a low profile, trying to find a cure. But the movie It was better than I expected. I wished I had ignored the reviews I saw and seen it on the big screen. My only previous exposure to the Hulk was the TV show that aired some years ago. I did expect to find Dr. David Banner following the same path as on the TV show - eluding police, moving from one place to another continuously, keeping a low profile, trying to find a cure. But the movie was different. The animation was very realistic. But was it true to the comic version? Was the Hulk in the comics able to make miles long leaps like in the movie? I would have liked to see a little more angst and introspection from Banner in the movie. His character just did not meld well with his alternate Hulk character. They were like two completely different entities. Expand
  64. RichardG.
    Sep 24, 2003
    1
    What are you talking about, Nick Nolte, had the best performance in this movie. After watching this movie I was convinced that an all nolte anll the time show, with Nolte going crazy, would be more entertaining. This was long teadious, unfulfiling, mindless, predictable garbage. I gave it a one for Nick Noltes and Jennifer C.'s combined performance.
  65. BillS.
    Sep 21, 2003
    7
    I'm really surprised more people didn't like this movie. True, it certainly had it's flaws. Most notably, Nolte's performance. But the action was terrific fun. Amazing to me that some people gave this a zero rating. Are they really claiming that there was absolutely noting redeeming here? What about the father/daughter sub-plot? What about the special effects?
  66. CameronS.
    Sep 5, 2003
    8
    A comic book adaption with a real story, drawn-out characters, with good performances. Hulk was a great dramatic presentation of a smart action movie.
  67. TimA.
    Aug 25, 2003
    6
    Accept the CGI faults i think it was good. Perhaps they should have left the acting to the actual "actors" rather than a program!
  68. Dr.Ed
    Aug 5, 2003
    0
    Please tell me that they will never make a Hulk 2? You wouldn't like it if I get angry? Seriously, this is pure drek. How does Hollywood regurgitate this garbage?
  69. MattG.
    Aug 4, 2003
    0
    I can sum up it up in two words: "Green Garbage."
  70. JamesW.
    Aug 1, 2003
    3
    As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion to a far too complex, intricate chain of events that didn't even make sense anyway. Betty Ross went from a strong willed character to a slobbering female side character. The actual Hulk scenes were very good though and the cgi, while not perfect, was much better than any Hulk before it. The fights with the Hulk were visually pleasing, but on the other hand. there were just too many faults in the film to make it good, too many to put down here and to fans of the big green man, i shall tell you you'll probably be better off watching the cartoons. Expand
  71. TitoY.
    Jul 31, 2003
    1
    I gave it 5 because I'm a marvel heroes fan. But it really doesn't work without an enemy, Lee maybe should thought in the evil Blackheart. The movie doesn't make more sense and it becomes really boring like the 70's TV series.
  72. Emily
    Jul 25, 2003
    0
    Horrible- no plot, boring, too long, what a waste of money on all sides.
  73. DanK.
    Jul 24, 2003
    0
    I have fallen asleep at two movies in my life, a 1:00am showing of "Fantasia" (and I was drunk when it started), and "The Hulk". Boring, stupid, and slow. The worst movie I have seen this year.
  74. Meat
    Jul 18, 2003
    4
    Way too long and boring. Also, the story was tired and predictable. ie. How many times can you re-hash the "Government Conspiracy" idea. Everybody complained about how goofy the CGI was. However, it wasn't THAT bad... the acting and plot was far worse. I'm disappointed in Ang L. and Jennifer C. She cried throughout the whole movie. ugh!
  75. AndrewP.
    Jul 14, 2003
    8
    One of the best comic book adaptations to hit the silver screen. This is one awesome movie!
  76. HamishG.
    Jul 13, 2003
    1
    Awful, awful, horrible film. Shit action scenes and a weird ass plot that should have ended when he changed back to human form. The last 20 mins were absolutely pointless. Ang Lee is an over rated director who should stick to making martial art films.
  77. PavelS.
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    The worst movie I've seen in the last year.
  78. JosephA
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    Perfect, I think people are mising whats going on with the hulk. Im not saying your not entitled to your opinion but no, its not spiderman, its not neo, its not (a lousy) terminator. Theres a little more to the hulk emotionally, thats why hes the hulk. I dont think the movie wouldve worked if they made a "SMASH SMASH" movie out of it, I also dont think it was meant to be a sumemr Perfect, I think people are mising whats going on with the hulk. Im not saying your not entitled to your opinion but no, its not spiderman, its not neo, its not (a lousy) terminator. Theres a little more to the hulk emotionally, thats why hes the hulk. I dont think the movie wouldve worked if they made a "SMASH SMASH" movie out of it, I also dont think it was meant to be a sumemr blockbuster, cause its not. Its a Sept/Nov movie. EIther way, it was awesome, very very good. The Hulk looked incredible also. Expand
  79. CristianB.
    Jul 4, 2003
    8
    A very good movie! Excellent direction. Ang Lee does an impressive job with the image. It takes time to develope the characters, so those who are impatient or want to see pure action empty of substance: this is not a movie for you! The last words (in spanish) of Bruce Banner diserves similar fame than "hasta la vista, baby".
  80. ChadS.
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    Only airplanes and Superman should be allowed to fly. The Hulk must be a pretty boring screen subject, as evidenced by his prodigious ability to long distance jump. Who is this movie for? The lovers don't get it on, and the helicopters don't explode. For the sake of the kids, yes, but what juvenile under the age of ten will enjoy the odes to "Frankenstein" and "King Kong"? Nick Only airplanes and Superman should be allowed to fly. The Hulk must be a pretty boring screen subject, as evidenced by his prodigious ability to long distance jump. Who is this movie for? The lovers don't get it on, and the helicopters don't explode. For the sake of the kids, yes, but what juvenile under the age of ten will enjoy the odes to "Frankenstein" and "King Kong"? Nick Nolte revives "Weeds" during the coda, and you may spot a reference to "Princess Mononoke". It's alright for the Hulk to be mega-strong and angst-ridden, but keep his two feet on the ground. And the usually brilliant Jennifer Connelly cries too much in this movie. There's no crying in baseball, and there's no crying in summer blockbusters. Expand
  81. RoyS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen.. I wanted to burn out my eyes.. This movie made the phantom look like an oscar winner.
  82. BobH.
    Jul 1, 2003
    0
    Just terrible. Don't waste your time. Word of mouth will end this dud quickly. Now don't get me mad. You would hate to see me when I get mad?
  83. JoeyR.
    Jul 1, 2003
    3
    About 30 minutes too long and 60 wipes/fades too many. laughable dialogue and a completely absurd ending that left my friends and i simply asking: "what in the..." i give it no bouns points for action since the subject matter so obviously lends itself to destruction that even my mom could have come up with 'the hulk smashes stuff'. minus points for not going with the obviousAbout 30 minutes too long and 60 wipes/fades too many. laughable dialogue and a completely absurd ending that left my friends and i simply asking: "what in the..." i give it no bouns points for action since the subject matter so obviously lends itself to destruction that even my mom could have come up with 'the hulk smashes stuff'. minus points for not going with the obvious climax (which i thought was already foreshadowed earlier in the movie) which would have been way better than what we were "treated" to. rent it or steal it. Expand
  84. DevonN.
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    I loved this movie. I thought they did an excellent job with the movie. I've seen it 3 times and I want to see it more! Excellent movie!
  85. HelenW.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    It is a great movie. I like it very much. still like to watch it. will collect the DVD when it comes out.
  86. JoshuaW.
    Jun 30, 2003
    6
    It was an decent movie. I thought that the main cast was great but that the supporting cast didn't work at all. As for the special effects, they were hit a miss. Sometimes I was in awe of the Hulk and at other times I wish Ang Lee had contracted Peter Jackson's Weta to do the effects. As for the story, it was alright but not by any means great. I also enjoyed Lee's comic It was an decent movie. I thought that the main cast was great but that the supporting cast didn't work at all. As for the special effects, they were hit a miss. Sometimes I was in awe of the Hulk and at other times I wish Ang Lee had contracted Peter Jackson's Weta to do the effects. As for the story, it was alright but not by any means great. I also enjoyed Lee's comic book style cinematography, but he used it way too much and should have used it only at times when it helped to speed up the story in-between major sequences. I know that I'm being way too picky concerning a summer action movie but the whole point of having Ang Lee direct this movie was to make it more than just a popcorn flick, which it isn't. But it's also not a great film either. The Hulk exists somewhere in the middle of being a great film or just being a mindless distraction. Expand
  87. KayW.
    Jun 29, 2003
    7
    The movie is needlessly long. Although I appreciate Ang Lee's well-meaning attention to character development, he takes too long and repeats the same traits. He could have said the same things in 1:30 hours and that would have made the movie much more enjoyable. Stylistically, it was like mixing fine wine with a 6-pack of Schlitz. The frequent use of quick wipes and comic book frames The movie is needlessly long. Although I appreciate Ang Lee's well-meaning attention to character development, he takes too long and repeats the same traits. He could have said the same things in 1:30 hours and that would have made the movie much more enjoyable. Stylistically, it was like mixing fine wine with a 6-pack of Schlitz. The frequent use of quick wipes and comic book frames (Schlitz) created a pace that did not match the pace of the development of the rich characters and storyline (fine wine). But my two criticisms of the movie should detract from the many positives of the movie. For instance, the dialogue between David and Bruce near the end of the movie was like watching a piece of good theater. Another positive was the use of natural sceneries (like Marin County, NV desert, etc.) and mold to relay the theme of nature versus science. In another respect, the movie touched on other interesting themes like war, detention of potentially dangerous combatants, and of course, anger management. Expand
  88. DinuF.
    Jun 29, 2003
    1
    1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar 1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar left. no sugar comes of this one. Expand
  89. EricS.
    Jun 28, 2003
    0
    About 3/4 of the way through the movie, one character said, "I'm sorry." I said, "Me too. For coming to this movie." That comment received applause from the people sitting around me. After the final battle between the Hulk and another character (don't want to give anything away), the screen went black and I thought my agony was over. But text appeared on the screen and I said, About 3/4 of the way through the movie, one character said, "I'm sorry." I said, "Me too. For coming to this movie." That comment received applause from the people sitting around me. After the final battle between the Hulk and another character (don't want to give anything away), the screen went black and I thought my agony was over. But text appeared on the screen and I said, "Ahhhh, (expletive)." This received both applause and laughter. I have never walked on a movie I paid money to see. This one almost became the first. On a scale of 1 to 10, this movie sucked. Expand
  90. LeonardL.
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Great!! Much better than the original "Grinch"........What, this isn't that sequel???...... Never mind.
  91. JonathanB.
    Jun 27, 2003
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just another step toward the complete disintegration of any kind of artistic merit or meaning in mainstream cinema. Films have become nothing more than eye candy. You know what next time I feel like paying 9 dollars to sit through another piece of crap hollywood blockbuster I'll just stay home and throw on a winamp visualization. Expand
  92. Fantasy
    Jun 27, 2003
    1
    I gave it one point for at least getting the Hulk's color right? As for the rest of the movie it was as bad as could be.
  93. Flukester
    Jun 26, 2003
    0
    It was so bad that I was embarassed to leave the theater and be seen. Avoid at all costs.
  94. David
    Jun 26, 2003
    0
    Hulk of Crapola.
  95. BobS.
    Jun 26, 2003
    3
    The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and the sequence with the knife is truly disturbing for younger viewers, and should have been implied only. Overall the movie is not worth the price of admission. In general I think the movies reviewed on Metacritic are worth the price of admission multiplied by the metascore percent. That puts this movie at $8*0.58=$4.64. About right! Expand
  96. RichC.
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    Loved it. Despite its flaws (there are a few in terms of plot clarity and the likes there of) it managed to be one of the most entertaining movies of the year and easily the best "introduction" comic book movie thus far.
  97. HANOB.
    Jun 25, 2003
    0
    This is one terrible, turgid, green turd of a movie which implodes on itself by giving us absolutely nothing new (except for one laughably bad, booooooooooorriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig special effect). Look, I go to the movies to be entertained. I have liked most of the comic book adaptations ever made...even Daredevil. And to be fair, the little bits of action here and there in the hulk This is one terrible, turgid, green turd of a movie which implodes on itself by giving us absolutely nothing new (except for one laughably bad, booooooooooorriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig special effect). Look, I go to the movies to be entertained. I have liked most of the comic book adaptations ever made...even Daredevil. And to be fair, the little bits of action here and there in the hulk are OK. But so much of it is so unsatisfyingly stupid. Like the hulk running underground through the streets of San Francisco??? Oh, did he just crash through an underwater wall and decide to go digging? And I suppose he could tell exactly where and what direction the street laid on from underneath? And then his father bites through this cable and transforms into a mutant??? What shall we call him, Electrico? Whatever. Stupid and nonsensical bul*&%#t. Do not waste your money. Expand
  98. Walt
    Jun 24, 2003
    0
    Hated it.
  99. ScorrL.
    Jun 24, 2003
    8
    People who are bitching about that it takes about hour for the Hulk to be formed are a-holes.. It's called character development and plot development. The action was cool and acting was very good for a comic-book movie but not as good as superman and spider-man.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. 50
    The main problem with The Hulk, really, is that there isn't enough Hulk in it.
  2. 70
    The real star is the splendid computer-generated Hulk, though his King Kong-like story is compromised by the need to keep him around for the inevitable sequel.
  3. The Hulk has a split personality: Two-thirds come from director Ang Lee, one-third from '60s comic book creator Stan Lee.