Hulk

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AaronF.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    This movie was great. It had a good storyline, good action, good drama, good everything. The dog fight scene could have been a liitle better but overall it was Great!
  2. RobQ.
    Jun 22, 2003
    4
    Nothing is more sad than seeing a great story ruined by a director with no vision. Hulk was boring, confusing, and a waste of time. Too bad, really. The computer animation was wonderful. When Hulk was actually on the screen. the movie was exciting and touching. Tragically, this is only about 1/4 of the time. In the meantime, Lee insists on his creedo: "why shoot the scene in 20 seconds Nothing is more sad than seeing a great story ruined by a director with no vision. Hulk was boring, confusing, and a waste of time. Too bad, really. The computer animation was wonderful. When Hulk was actually on the screen. the movie was exciting and touching. Tragically, this is only about 1/4 of the time. In the meantime, Lee insists on his creedo: "why shoot the scene in 20 seconds when we can stretch it out endlessly". Hulk 2 should be great...I'm sue Lee will not be involved after this fiasco. Expand
  3. RobN.
    Jun 20, 2003
    8
    Overall, it is a very entertaining movie. The transistions and editing between scenes are very creative and will probably spawn quite a few copy cats in future Hollywood films. The Hulk is well animated although in my opinion his movements should've been tweaked a touch more - in quite a few scenes he suffers from jerky, unnatural movements where you don't quite get a real sense Overall, it is a very entertaining movie. The transistions and editing between scenes are very creative and will probably spawn quite a few copy cats in future Hollywood films. The Hulk is well animated although in my opinion his movements should've been tweaked a touch more - in quite a few scenes he suffers from jerky, unnatural movements where you don't quite get a real sense of his hulking mass. On the other hand, there are also many scenes that catch you off guard with a sense of realism to his actions and facial expressions. Watching him trash army tanks is a real hoot to watch. Though the first hour is a bit slow-paced, it's effective in developing the main characters of the story. And once the film switches into action mode, look out! It packs a wallop. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2011
    2
    Normally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointingNormally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointing movie Marvel has made along with Daredevil and Fantastic 4. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Ang Lee's Hulk doesn't work. It tries to be more than it is, and fails. What it is, is loud, disjointed action sequences separated by boring stretches that try to provoke thoughts and don't.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    Ang Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps andAng Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps and awesome helicopter takedowns but the acting, direction and story is very dumb. Lee makes a very well action sequenced but corny film that should only be watched by hardcore Hulk or action, blowing, Eric Bana, more blowing up and even more blowing up fans. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Ang Lee's take on the Hulk story is clearly the superior cinematic film adaptation over it's remake The Incredible Hulk. This picture takes groundbreaking CGI, a very odd and rather refreshing comic-book-esc editing style, and a very well written script and characters in order to create a top notch action film. It really does the colossal badass Hulk a huge justice by showing Banner in hisAng Lee's take on the Hulk story is clearly the superior cinematic film adaptation over it's remake The Incredible Hulk. This picture takes groundbreaking CGI, a very odd and rather refreshing comic-book-esc editing style, and a very well written script and characters in order to create a top notch action film. It really does the colossal badass Hulk a huge justice by showing Banner in his own, more human story and then taking the Hulk himself and putting him into some kick ass action sequences. It's a must see for any fan of superhero and/or action films, or just anyone looking to have a grand old time with a few friends. Expand
  8. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Holk realmente no se muestra como es hasta el increíble Hulk en 2008 creo, sin embargo no es una descepcion...........................................
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Ang Lee's version of "Hulk" is different from those dreamy western versions. It has a prominent morale that is appropriate for its name with splendid acting. Don't criticize, but realize.
  10. PaulL.
    Jul 15, 2008
    2
    This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you don't know any action that well and so does you partner name James sclamcus. do you know any actions that well? Guess not! You should study more action appealing to American Audiences. OR even better, they should hired John woo, another Chinese Director who know more action better. He directed Face off. the story and the action in Faceoff is beautifully crafted. Expand
  11. Tamatha
    Jun 6, 2005
    1
    Absolutely terrible. I would rather watch a sappy soap-opera then be put through watching this again. The only reason why it got a one is because I was able to take a nap.
  12. Bob
    Jun 19, 2003
    0
    BAD!!!
  13. JerryT.
    Jun 20, 2003
    4
    Um yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all wellUm yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all well developed and the hulk made me think that was an actual hulk. the story just dragged on forever. my advice is to wait for it to come on dvd and watch it at home cause then u can pause and use the toliet. Expand
  14. Fantasy
    Jun 27, 2003
    1
    I gave it one point for at least getting the Hulk's color right? As for the rest of the movie it was as bad as could be.
  15. JonathanB.
    Jun 27, 2003
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just another step toward the complete disintegration of any kind of artistic merit or meaning in mainstream cinema. Films have become nothing more than eye candy. You know what next time I feel like paying 9 dollars to sit through another piece of crap hollywood blockbuster I'll just stay home and throw on a winamp visualization. Expand
  16. JamesL
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    The Hulk was simply an amazing experience. Ang perfectly depicted the true essence of the Hulk story, namely the pathos of the misunderstood monster and the wounded, fractured pysche of the man. I think most people who enter this movie with the expectation of watching a typical super hereo action movie will be disappointed. And those who know of the hulk only as a one-dimensional The Hulk was simply an amazing experience. Ang perfectly depicted the true essence of the Hulk story, namely the pathos of the misunderstood monster and the wounded, fractured pysche of the man. I think most people who enter this movie with the expectation of watching a typical super hereo action movie will be disappointed. And those who know of the hulk only as a one-dimensional strong-man will likewise be disappointed. But for those who either know of the Hulk story and it's similarities to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein or have an open mindset will be impressed with this movie. Ang Lee crafted he Hulk with the patient hand of a true artist. Expand
  17. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    Visually, the movie looks like a well done Hulk adaptation. The plot, however, was completely laughable, abandoning many aspects of the Hulk comic books, and just plain forgettable. Thank God for the much, much better "Incredible Hulk" movie in 2008.
  18. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    I could hardly believe myself when I told a colleague of mine that the movie about a brilliant scientist who is transformed into a gamma ray-powered green monster that fights the military who intend to destroy him was the dullest experience of the year. But it was. Hulk is a clunky drama that moves at a glacial pace, which is never a desirable trait in a movie about a giant green monster.
  19. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie about Hulk. Because I was concerned as the director has explored the relationship between Bruce Banner and the Hulk and the story of Bruce himself.I also adored the actors that have proved equal to the task.
  20. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    The only good in this film is the poster. Is atractive. But the film that is the most important is a biggest disaster, the performance of Eric Bana like Hulk is terrible, and this poor intent to do that Hulk looks like a bad and violent guy, really? because is like a Barney's friend.
  21. Jan 17, 2015
    3
    Hulk,il film del 2003,è stato per me uno dei peggiori film di sempre basati sui supereroi ed una trama orribile,dei personaggi con un carisma inesistente.Non guardatelo.
  22. JohnY.
    Jun 21, 2003
    6
    I admire Lee?s work, but he was the wrong choice here. When an art-house director is unleashed on a superhero flick, you get one very confused film. The movie invests too much time in discovering its own psychological identity; it drags and drags, and most tragically, it forgets that summer blockbusters are suppose to be fun.
  23. AnsonG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    1
    Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they like to see that. I doubt Eric Bana was wrong to choose as character Hulk. This movie doesnt make any sense at all and very boring. If u havent watch this, i advise u dont. Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Brave and massively underrated.
  25. IanC.
    Dec 1, 2003
    8
    Oh God, here we go again. Why oh why don't some people ever seem to get it? It's a film based on a comic-book and (although there are many comics out there offering deep, complex and cerebral content, from 'Jimmy Corrigan' to 'The Spiral Cage') it does exactly what it aims to to - recreates a good old-fashioned MARVEL superhero comic book on-screen with Oh God, here we go again. Why oh why don't some people ever seem to get it? It's a film based on a comic-book and (although there are many comics out there offering deep, complex and cerebral content, from 'Jimmy Corrigan' to 'The Spiral Cage') it does exactly what it aims to to - recreates a good old-fashioned MARVEL superhero comic book on-screen with basically what is the angriest person who ever walked the earth going through a series of great sequences picking up stuff and throwing it around. And there's the beauty in its workable empathy. None of us can really empathise with a character faced with an alien, or a guy with a lasergun, but - even though he is big and green - the Hulk is just as mad as hell, and we all know what it's like to be around someone like that. It does go a little further in offering an involving story-line. BUT Memento this is not, and Memento it doesn't want to be. The Hulk wants to be fun, fast, mad, cinematic entertainment with a hint of darkness and it delivers. So PLEASE stop moaning. Oh yeah, and at what point exactly did Hulk jump from one continent to another? I think I missed that, I could have sworn the whole thing took place in America... Expand
  26. F.C.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    This movie reminds me of the original Superman (1978), in the sense that it has a true storyline that slowly unfolds, thereby giving the plot real depth. I really appreciated that. I've seen the movie twice so far and I may even see it a third time. Those who complain of it being too slow need to take something for their A.D.D. I'm glad we have a director who didn't make This movie reminds me of the original Superman (1978), in the sense that it has a true storyline that slowly unfolds, thereby giving the plot real depth. I really appreciated that. I've seen the movie twice so far and I may even see it a third time. Those who complain of it being too slow need to take something for their A.D.D. I'm glad we have a director who didn't make eye candy out of this great story. Mind you, the CGI was great, and I don't see what these people who make comparisons to Shrek are even talking about. Hulk kicked major butt. Both audiences I saw the movie with really enjoyed it. Expand
  27. DevonN.
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    I loved this movie. I thought they did an excellent job with the movie. I've seen it 3 times and I want to see it more! Excellent movie!
  28. MattG.
    Aug 4, 2003
    0
    I can sum up it up in two words: "Green Garbage."
  29. EricC.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    I wasn't half bad. But then again it wasn't half good either. All the good scenes are given away in the previews, and what wasn't shown was the very long and somewhat dull dialogue. Don't get me wrong; the special effects and action scenes were very enjoyable to watch. It just that there's not enough action to fill in a movie over two hours. What surprised me most I wasn't half bad. But then again it wasn't half good either. All the good scenes are given away in the previews, and what wasn't shown was the very long and somewhat dull dialogue. Don't get me wrong; the special effects and action scenes were very enjoyable to watch. It just that there's not enough action to fill in a movie over two hours. What surprised me most though was that Ang Lee's direction was pretty unimpressive, not to mention the lame performances given by Bana and Nolte. The multiple panel comic book style was overdone, and the movie came out too serious and artsy to be an action-comic book movie. I really hope this style is not used in anymore comic-book movies, and I could live without a Hulk 2. Expand
  30. BradA.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    I went for fun... ended up not having any. Drab film.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. 50
    The main problem with The Hulk, really, is that there isn't enough Hulk in it.
  2. 70
    The real star is the splendid computer-generated Hulk, though his King Kong-like story is compromised by the need to keep him around for the inevitable sequel.
  3. The Hulk has a split personality: Two-thirds come from director Ang Lee, one-third from '60s comic book creator Stan Lee.