Hulk

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. PaulL.
    Jul 15, 2008
    2
    This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you don't know any action that well and so does you partner name James sclamcus. do you know any actions that well? Guess not! You should study more action appealing to American Audiences. OR even better, they should hired John woo, another Chinese Director who know more action better. He directed Face off. the story and the action in Faceoff is beautifully crafted. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    2
    Normally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointingNormally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointing movie Marvel has made along with Daredevil and Fantastic 4. Expand
  3. Tamatha
    Jun 6, 2005
    1
    Absolutely terrible. I would rather watch a sappy soap-opera then be put through watching this again. The only reason why it got a one is because I was able to take a nap.
  4. Bob
    Jun 19, 2003
    0
    BAD!!!
  5. Fantasy
    Jun 27, 2003
    1
    I gave it one point for at least getting the Hulk's color right? As for the rest of the movie it was as bad as could be.
  6. JonathanB.
    Jun 27, 2003
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just another step toward the complete disintegration of any kind of artistic merit or meaning in mainstream cinema. Films have become nothing more than eye candy. You know what next time I feel like paying 9 dollars to sit through another piece of crap hollywood blockbuster I'll just stay home and throw on a winamp visualization. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2015
    3
    Hulk,il film del 2003,รจ stato per me uno dei peggiori film di sempre basati sui supereroi ed una trama orribile,dei personaggi con un carisma inesistente.Non guardatelo.
  8. AnsonG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    1
    Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they like to see that. I doubt Eric Bana was wrong to choose as character Hulk. This movie doesnt make any sense at all and very boring. If u havent watch this, i advise u dont. Expand
  9. MattG.
    Aug 4, 2003
    0
    I can sum up it up in two words: "Green Garbage."
  10. R.Cast
    Jun 20, 2003
    2
    Toooooo looooong! it took spider man 10 min. to get bit with the genetically altered spider, we have to wait 1 hour for bruce banner to get the dose of gamma radiation. this is not batman and joker. rent the dvd and go directly to the bust sh.t up parts.
  11. M.O.
    Jun 22, 2003
    3
    How do you make the Hulk boring? Well, you remove any sense of humor. You remove all conflict between the Hulk and "Puny" Banner. You have his only real fight scene take place at midnight so you can't see anything. And you make the climax so "artful" as to be devoid of any hope of a satisfying conclusion. All that, plus you make the Hulk look like rubber. Ang is a talented director, How do you make the Hulk boring? Well, you remove any sense of humor. You remove all conflict between the Hulk and "Puny" Banner. You have his only real fight scene take place at midnight so you can't see anything. And you make the climax so "artful" as to be devoid of any hope of a satisfying conclusion. All that, plus you make the Hulk look like rubber. Ang is a talented director, but just the wrong guy on this film. Expand
  12. T.G.
    Jun 22, 2003
    3
    Cluttered story and very boring movie. Dont see it, its not worth the money.
  13. Kent
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    Normally when you see a DVD you will find that they include many outtakes and scenes that they removed in order to make the movie flow more quickly and smoothly. It seems that the person who normally does the "cutting" in films was asleep, because there was a TON of loooong boring crap in this film that should have been removed, or re-editted/re-written to GET TO THE POINT quickly, and Normally when you see a DVD you will find that they include many outtakes and scenes that they removed in order to make the movie flow more quickly and smoothly. It seems that the person who normally does the "cutting" in films was asleep, because there was a TON of loooong boring crap in this film that should have been removed, or re-editted/re-written to GET TO THE POINT quickly, and get on with the movie. This film took over an hour to even "start" to get interesting. I mean, come one already, the story of what happened in the past and how the hulk came to be, plus the character development could have been done in 10 minutes or less. The rest of it could have been exciting stuff (with the HULK in it).....I mean, the HULK is the reason we went to see the movie in the first place.....not sitting in our seats listening to an endless barrage of bla bla blaaa-ing that goes nowhere. I hope they edit this piece of garbage before cutting the DVD so that it can be a shorter, faster, more exciting movie at home. (At least this would save me the effort of fast forwarding through 80% of the movie to get to the only good parts.) Expand
  14. DinuF.
    Jun 29, 2003
    1
    1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar 1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar left. no sugar comes of this one. Expand
  15. BobH.
    Jul 1, 2003
    0
    Just terrible. Don't waste your time. Word of mouth will end this dud quickly. Now don't get me mad. You would hate to see me when I get mad?
  16. RoyS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen.. I wanted to burn out my eyes.. This movie made the phantom look like an oscar winner.
  17. DanK.
    Jul 24, 2003
    0
    I have fallen asleep at two movies in my life, a 1:00am showing of "Fantasia" (and I was drunk when it started), and "The Hulk". Boring, stupid, and slow. The worst movie I have seen this year.
  18. Emily
    Jul 25, 2003
    0
    Horrible- no plot, boring, too long, what a waste of money on all sides.
  19. TitoY.
    Jul 31, 2003
    1
    I gave it 5 because I'm a marvel heroes fan. But it really doesn't work without an enemy, Lee maybe should thought in the evil Blackheart. The movie doesn't make more sense and it becomes really boring like the 70's TV series.
  20. JamesW.
    Aug 1, 2003
    3
    As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion to a far too complex, intricate chain of events that didn't even make sense anyway. Betty Ross went from a strong willed character to a slobbering female side character. The actual Hulk scenes were very good though and the cgi, while not perfect, was much better than any Hulk before it. The fights with the Hulk were visually pleasing, but on the other hand. there were just too many faults in the film to make it good, too many to put down here and to fans of the big green man, i shall tell you you'll probably be better off watching the cartoons. Expand
  21. Dr.Ed
    Aug 5, 2003
    0
    Please tell me that they will never make a Hulk 2? You wouldn't like it if I get angry? Seriously, this is pure drek. How does Hollywood regurgitate this garbage?
  22. M.Taylor
    Aug 9, 2004
    0
    1st scene the main characters experimenting on animals, so straight away I want them to die, all empathy gone, well played ang lee!
  23. C.H.
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    You've got to be kidding.
  24. KevinL.
    Jun 20, 2003
    2
    I was lucky to go to a screening of this movie the day before it came out. With Ang Lee directing and the memories of Spiderman fresh in my mind - expectations were running high. I must say; I was sorely disappointed. The scenes did not flow very smoothly, and the dialogue (while OK for a comic book) was terrible for a movie. The worst part was the movie dragged on forever. The split I was lucky to go to a screening of this movie the day before it came out. With Ang Lee directing and the memories of Spiderman fresh in my mind - expectations were running high. I must say; I was sorely disappointed. The scenes did not flow very smoothly, and the dialogue (while OK for a comic book) was terrible for a movie. The worst part was the movie dragged on forever. The split screens in some part of the movie were also distracting. Save your money; and skip past this movie. Expand
  25. MitchH.
    Jun 23, 2003
    2
    I really didn't like this movie. It took WAY to long to get to the hulk, and when it did, the hulk was boring and he didn't do anything. He just got shot at and while he wrecked stuff. I can say the fight scene with him and the dogs was pretty cool, but the whole movie was a let down. Boring, dull, and uninteresting. Don't waste you time seeing this one. rent Spiderman I really didn't like this movie. It took WAY to long to get to the hulk, and when it did, the hulk was boring and he didn't do anything. He just got shot at and while he wrecked stuff. I can say the fight scene with him and the dogs was pretty cool, but the whole movie was a let down. Boring, dull, and uninteresting. Don't waste you time seeing this one. rent Spiderman instead. A much better comic book movie. Expand
  26. Seethru01
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    For those who think this movie is deep, watch something with true emotional father/son power like Road to Perdition. This movie is terrible, boring, and just godawful. I am bitterly disappointed that Lee comes nowhere even close to capturing anything redeeming in Hulk. I mean it is a freaking 15 foot smashing machine and I guess it is some sort of achievement to make a boring film out of For those who think this movie is deep, watch something with true emotional father/son power like Road to Perdition. This movie is terrible, boring, and just godawful. I am bitterly disappointed that Lee comes nowhere even close to capturing anything redeeming in Hulk. I mean it is a freaking 15 foot smashing machine and I guess it is some sort of achievement to make a boring film out of it. Connelly and Bana make for a couple with all the sparks of two people in rubber shock absorbing suits. Nick Nolte might have achieved a new award in the overacting, I mumble my lines and then shout crazily to show my character is out of control. The directing has a very distracting "24" split screen direction that undermines any seriousness in the dialogue or scenes. People I was in the theater with wanted to laugh and to be awed by the rampage of the Hulk. Instead they got a BORING, PRETENTIOUS, and MUDDLED effort from a great director. Somebody tell Lee never to take a big studio project again. He wasn't ready or up to it. Expand
  27. WAKOJAKO
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    Below average comic book adaptation--way too presumptious for its own good, and reminiscent of way too many other films recent and ancient. (Paying occasional tribute is one thing, quite another to relentlessly keep your mind wandering into other films instead of absorbing you into the "new" material.) The most original aspect of this film was the nausea-inducing editing with its myriad Below average comic book adaptation--way too presumptious for its own good, and reminiscent of way too many other films recent and ancient. (Paying occasional tribute is one thing, quite another to relentlessly keep your mind wandering into other films instead of absorbing you into the "new" material.) The most original aspect of this film was the nausea-inducing editing with its myriad swish, swash, slip, slash flim-flam cutting--very odd for a film that moves at a snail's pace. Also, for a film with so much scientifically charged mumbo-jumbo, it is amazing how some basic laws of physics seem to have ignored. Example: wouldn't the hulk's accelerating mass have burned during it's reentry into the atmosphere??? I'm trying not to give away too much. I'm no scientist, but some things seemed annoyingly messy for a film that seems to be striving for so much more than just fun summer entertainment. It should have been that, and not the sappy, blundering, annoyingly boring mess it is. Expand
  28. JonC.
    Jun 24, 2003
    0
    Ang Lee has proven himself as a fine director, never more than with the breathtaking Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. But something goes awry in Hulk from the get-go. Take for instance the opening sequence, which most films use to pique the viewer's interest and get the mind set for the adventure to come. Not only was it confusing but it was just plain boring. You could walk in five Ang Lee has proven himself as a fine director, never more than with the breathtaking Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. But something goes awry in Hulk from the get-go. Take for instance the opening sequence, which most films use to pique the viewer's interest and get the mind set for the adventure to come. Not only was it confusing but it was just plain boring. You could walk in five minutes late and not miss a thing because the whole premise is reviewed, remasticated, reswallowed, and regurgitated several more times before the film is over. I found Spider-Man's opening titles just set to music much more entertaining. I am sorry, but the Hulk as a character film simply did not work. I found more dramatic poignance in the father-son relationship of Finding Nemo, which ironically also features a wider range of dramatic nuance in each of its computer animated characters than The Hulk does with its entire live cast, let alone the embarrasingly rubbery, computer-animated green dummy. The Hulk should have been an action/adventure picture, which it sorrily is not; Ang Lee was obviusly not the right director for this project. Thus The Hulk will not hold among the recent beloved spew of fun, intelligent, and faithful comic book adaptations (Spider-Man and X-Men) but will join malaised, ill-conceived scrap like Daredevil and many other soon to come, I am sure. Expand
  29. BobS.
    Jun 26, 2003
    3
    The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and the sequence with the knife is truly disturbing for younger viewers, and should have been implied only. Overall the movie is not worth the price of admission. In general I think the movies reviewed on Metacritic are worth the price of admission multiplied by the metascore percent. That puts this movie at $8*0.58=$4.64. About right! Expand
  30. David
    Jun 26, 2003
    0
    Hulk of Crapola.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. 50
    The main problem with The Hulk, really, is that there isn't enough Hulk in it.
  2. 70
    The real star is the splendid computer-generated Hulk, though his King Kong-like story is compromised by the need to keep him around for the inevitable sequel.
  3. The Hulk has a split personality: Two-thirds come from director Ang Lee, one-third from '60s comic book creator Stan Lee.