User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 279
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AaronF.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    This movie was great. It had a good storyline, good action, good drama, good everything. The dog fight scene could have been a liitle better but overall it was Great!
  2. RobQ.
    Jun 22, 2003
    4
    Nothing is more sad than seeing a great story ruined by a director with no vision. Hulk was boring, confusing, and a waste of time. Too bad, really. The computer animation was wonderful. When Hulk was actually on the screen. the movie was exciting and touching. Tragically, this is only about 1/4 of the time. In the meantime, Lee insists on his creedo: "why shoot the scene in 20 seconds Nothing is more sad than seeing a great story ruined by a director with no vision. Hulk was boring, confusing, and a waste of time. Too bad, really. The computer animation was wonderful. When Hulk was actually on the screen. the movie was exciting and touching. Tragically, this is only about 1/4 of the time. In the meantime, Lee insists on his creedo: "why shoot the scene in 20 seconds when we can stretch it out endlessly". Hulk 2 should be great...I'm sue Lee will not be involved after this fiasco. Expand
  3. RobN.
    Jun 20, 2003
    8
    Overall, it is a very entertaining movie. The transistions and editing between scenes are very creative and will probably spawn quite a few copy cats in future Hollywood films. The Hulk is well animated although in my opinion his movements should've been tweaked a touch more - in quite a few scenes he suffers from jerky, unnatural movements where you don't quite get a real sense Overall, it is a very entertaining movie. The transistions and editing between scenes are very creative and will probably spawn quite a few copy cats in future Hollywood films. The Hulk is well animated although in my opinion his movements should've been tweaked a touch more - in quite a few scenes he suffers from jerky, unnatural movements where you don't quite get a real sense of his hulking mass. On the other hand, there are also many scenes that catch you off guard with a sense of realism to his actions and facial expressions. Watching him trash army tanks is a real hoot to watch. Though the first hour is a bit slow-paced, it's effective in developing the main characters of the story. And once the film switches into action mode, look out! It packs a wallop. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2011
    2
    Normally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointingNormally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointing movie Marvel has made along with Daredevil and Fantastic 4. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Ang Lee's Hulk doesn't work. It tries to be more than it is, and fails. What it is, is loud, disjointed action sequences separated by boring stretches that try to provoke thoughts and don't.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    Ang Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps andAng Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps and awesome helicopter takedowns but the acting, direction and story is very dumb. Lee makes a very well action sequenced but corny film that should only be watched by hardcore Hulk or action, blowing, Eric Bana, more blowing up and even more blowing up fans. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Ang Lee's take on the Hulk story is clearly the superior cinematic film adaptation over it's remake The Incredible Hulk. This picture takes groundbreaking CGI, a very odd and rather refreshing comic-book-esc editing style, and a very well written script and characters in order to create a top notch action film. It really does the colossal badass Hulk a huge justice by showing Banner in hisAng Lee's take on the Hulk story is clearly the superior cinematic film adaptation over it's remake The Incredible Hulk. This picture takes groundbreaking CGI, a very odd and rather refreshing comic-book-esc editing style, and a very well written script and characters in order to create a top notch action film. It really does the colossal badass Hulk a huge justice by showing Banner in his own, more human story and then taking the Hulk himself and putting him into some kick ass action sequences. It's a must see for any fan of superhero and/or action films, or just anyone looking to have a grand old time with a few friends. Expand
  8. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Holk realmente no se muestra como es hasta el increĆ­ble Hulk en 2008 creo, sin embargo no es una descepcion...........................................
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Ang Lee's version of "Hulk" is different from those dreamy western versions. It has a prominent morale that is appropriate for its name with splendid acting. Don't criticize, but realize.
  10. PaulL.
    Jul 15, 2008
    2
    This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you don't know any action that well and so does you partner name James sclamcus. do you know any actions that well? Guess not! You should study more action appealing to American Audiences. OR even better, they should hired John woo, another Chinese Director who know more action better. He directed Face off. the story and the action in Faceoff is beautifully crafted. Expand
  11. Tamatha
    Jun 6, 2005
    1
    Absolutely terrible. I would rather watch a sappy soap-opera then be put through watching this again. The only reason why it got a one is because I was able to take a nap.
  12. Bob
    Jun 19, 2003
    0
    BAD!!!
  13. JerryT.
    Jun 20, 2003
    4
    Um yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all wellUm yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all well developed and the hulk made me think that was an actual hulk. the story just dragged on forever. my advice is to wait for it to come on dvd and watch it at home cause then u can pause and use the toliet. Expand
  14. Fantasy
    Jun 27, 2003
    1
    I gave it one point for at least getting the Hulk's color right? As for the rest of the movie it was as bad as could be.
  15. JonathanB.
    Jun 27, 2003
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just another step toward the complete disintegration of any kind of artistic merit or meaning in mainstream cinema. Films have become nothing more than eye candy. You know what next time I feel like paying 9 dollars to sit through another piece of crap hollywood blockbuster I'll just stay home and throw on a winamp visualization. Expand
  16. JamesL
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    The Hulk was simply an amazing experience. Ang perfectly depicted the true essence of the Hulk story, namely the pathos of the misunderstood monster and the wounded, fractured pysche of the man. I think most people who enter this movie with the expectation of watching a typical super hereo action movie will be disappointed. And those who know of the hulk only as a one-dimensional The Hulk was simply an amazing experience. Ang perfectly depicted the true essence of the Hulk story, namely the pathos of the misunderstood monster and the wounded, fractured pysche of the man. I think most people who enter this movie with the expectation of watching a typical super hereo action movie will be disappointed. And those who know of the hulk only as a one-dimensional strong-man will likewise be disappointed. But for those who either know of the Hulk story and it's similarities to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein or have an open mindset will be impressed with this movie. Ang Lee crafted he Hulk with the patient hand of a true artist. Expand
  17. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    Visually, the movie looks like a well done Hulk adaptation. The plot, however, was completely laughable, abandoning many aspects of the Hulk comic books, and just plain forgettable. Thank God for the much, much better "Incredible Hulk" movie in 2008.
  18. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    I could hardly believe myself when I told a colleague of mine that the movie about a brilliant scientist who is transformed into a gamma ray-powered green monster that fights the military who intend to destroy him was the dullest experience of the year. But it was. Hulk is a clunky drama that moves at a glacial pace, which is never a desirable trait in a movie about a giant green monster.
  19. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie about Hulk. Because I was concerned as the director has explored the relationship between Bruce Banner and the Hulk and the story of Bruce himself.I also adored the actors that have proved equal to the task.
  20. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    The only good in this film is the poster. Is atractive. But the film that is the most important is a biggest disaster, the performance of Eric Bana like Hulk is terrible, and this poor intent to do that Hulk looks like a bad and violent guy, really? because is like a Barney's friend.
  21. JohnY.
    Jun 21, 2003
    6
    I admire Lee?s work, but he was the wrong choice here. When an art-house director is unleashed on a superhero flick, you get one very confused film. The movie invests too much time in discovering its own psychological identity; it drags and drags, and most tragically, it forgets that summer blockbusters are suppose to be fun.
  22. AnsonG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    1
    Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they like to see that. I doubt Eric Bana was wrong to choose as character Hulk. This movie doesnt make any sense at all and very boring. If u havent watch this, i advise u dont. Expand
  23. [Anonymous]
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Brave and massively underrated.
  24. IanC.
    Dec 1, 2003
    8
    Oh God, here we go again. Why oh why don't some people ever seem to get it? It's a film based on a comic-book and (although there are many comics out there offering deep, complex and cerebral content, from 'Jimmy Corrigan' to 'The Spiral Cage') it does exactly what it aims to to - recreates a good old-fashioned MARVEL superhero comic book on-screen with Oh God, here we go again. Why oh why don't some people ever seem to get it? It's a film based on a comic-book and (although there are many comics out there offering deep, complex and cerebral content, from 'Jimmy Corrigan' to 'The Spiral Cage') it does exactly what it aims to to - recreates a good old-fashioned MARVEL superhero comic book on-screen with basically what is the angriest person who ever walked the earth going through a series of great sequences picking up stuff and throwing it around. And there's the beauty in its workable empathy. None of us can really empathise with a character faced with an alien, or a guy with a lasergun, but - even though he is big and green - the Hulk is just as mad as hell, and we all know what it's like to be around someone like that. It does go a little further in offering an involving story-line. BUT Memento this is not, and Memento it doesn't want to be. The Hulk wants to be fun, fast, mad, cinematic entertainment with a hint of darkness and it delivers. So PLEASE stop moaning. Oh yeah, and at what point exactly did Hulk jump from one continent to another? I think I missed that, I could have sworn the whole thing took place in America... Expand
  25. F.C.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    This movie reminds me of the original Superman (1978), in the sense that it has a true storyline that slowly unfolds, thereby giving the plot real depth. I really appreciated that. I've seen the movie twice so far and I may even see it a third time. Those who complain of it being too slow need to take something for their A.D.D. I'm glad we have a director who didn't make This movie reminds me of the original Superman (1978), in the sense that it has a true storyline that slowly unfolds, thereby giving the plot real depth. I really appreciated that. I've seen the movie twice so far and I may even see it a third time. Those who complain of it being too slow need to take something for their A.D.D. I'm glad we have a director who didn't make eye candy out of this great story. Mind you, the CGI was great, and I don't see what these people who make comparisons to Shrek are even talking about. Hulk kicked major butt. Both audiences I saw the movie with really enjoyed it. Expand
  26. DevonN.
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    I loved this movie. I thought they did an excellent job with the movie. I've seen it 3 times and I want to see it more! Excellent movie!
  27. MattG.
    Aug 4, 2003
    0
    I can sum up it up in two words: "Green Garbage."
  28. EricC.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    I wasn't half bad. But then again it wasn't half good either. All the good scenes are given away in the previews, and what wasn't shown was the very long and somewhat dull dialogue. Don't get me wrong; the special effects and action scenes were very enjoyable to watch. It just that there's not enough action to fill in a movie over two hours. What surprised me most I wasn't half bad. But then again it wasn't half good either. All the good scenes are given away in the previews, and what wasn't shown was the very long and somewhat dull dialogue. Don't get me wrong; the special effects and action scenes were very enjoyable to watch. It just that there's not enough action to fill in a movie over two hours. What surprised me most though was that Ang Lee's direction was pretty unimpressive, not to mention the lame performances given by Bana and Nolte. The multiple panel comic book style was overdone, and the movie came out too serious and artsy to be an action-comic book movie. I really hope this style is not used in anymore comic-book movies, and I could live without a Hulk 2. Expand
  29. BradA.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    I went for fun... ended up not having any. Drab film.
  30. R.Cast
    Jun 20, 2003
    2
    Toooooo looooong! it took spider man 10 min. to get bit with the genetically altered spider, we have to wait 1 hour for bruce banner to get the dose of gamma radiation. this is not batman and joker. rent the dvd and go directly to the bust sh.t up parts.
  31. Jovi
    Jun 21, 2003
    8
    A fun and human driven fllm. A good way to start the Summer Hits. The film has a new twist to the creation of the Hulk that works. The Hulk itself is not all that great to look at. Too green and lacks a neck, but the attention to detail that is put into the film hleps you forget all of that. If you like flipping through comics, then you might enjoy the Hulk.
  32. M.O.
    Jun 22, 2003
    3
    How do you make the Hulk boring? Well, you remove any sense of humor. You remove all conflict between the Hulk and "Puny" Banner. You have his only real fight scene take place at midnight so you can't see anything. And you make the climax so "artful" as to be devoid of any hope of a satisfying conclusion. All that, plus you make the Hulk look like rubber. Ang is a talented director, How do you make the Hulk boring? Well, you remove any sense of humor. You remove all conflict between the Hulk and "Puny" Banner. You have his only real fight scene take place at midnight so you can't see anything. And you make the climax so "artful" as to be devoid of any hope of a satisfying conclusion. All that, plus you make the Hulk look like rubber. Ang is a talented director, but just the wrong guy on this film. Expand
  33. T.G.
    Jun 22, 2003
    3
    Cluttered story and very boring movie. Dont see it, its not worth the money.
  34. Kent
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    Normally when you see a DVD you will find that they include many outtakes and scenes that they removed in order to make the movie flow more quickly and smoothly. It seems that the person who normally does the "cutting" in films was asleep, because there was a TON of loooong boring crap in this film that should have been removed, or re-editted/re-written to GET TO THE POINT quickly, and Normally when you see a DVD you will find that they include many outtakes and scenes that they removed in order to make the movie flow more quickly and smoothly. It seems that the person who normally does the "cutting" in films was asleep, because there was a TON of loooong boring crap in this film that should have been removed, or re-editted/re-written to GET TO THE POINT quickly, and get on with the movie. This film took over an hour to even "start" to get interesting. I mean, come one already, the story of what happened in the past and how the hulk came to be, plus the character development could have been done in 10 minutes or less. The rest of it could have been exciting stuff (with the HULK in it).....I mean, the HULK is the reason we went to see the movie in the first place.....not sitting in our seats listening to an endless barrage of bla bla blaaa-ing that goes nowhere. I hope they edit this piece of garbage before cutting the DVD so that it can be a shorter, faster, more exciting movie at home. (At least this would save me the effort of fast forwarding through 80% of the movie to get to the only good parts.) Expand
  35. GregoryG.
    Jun 23, 2003
    8
    In summation, despite its flaws, The Hulk was fully redeemed by some of the funnest fight scenes ever put to film. Let me explain. I probably annoyed everyone around me in that theater, as every time the Hulk smashed a tank, bashed a copter, slapped a deserving moron, or crushed a gamma-ratiated foe, I "ooooeed!" gleefully. To see these superheroic feats explode before you in completely In summation, despite its flaws, The Hulk was fully redeemed by some of the funnest fight scenes ever put to film. Let me explain. I probably annoyed everyone around me in that theater, as every time the Hulk smashed a tank, bashed a copter, slapped a deserving moron, or crushed a gamma-ratiated foe, I "ooooeed!" gleefully. To see these superheroic feats explode before you in completely believable renditions was thrilling. Glorified sight-gags aside, the movie always managed to instill a feeling of fear and empathy for the Hulk, almost in a King Kong kind of way. The viewer never knows quite how much punishment the Hulk can take and this doubt adds tension to the battles. Awesome. All the great comic-book appropriate clashes are bracketed by a fairly long lead-in, and a rather awkward, unfulfilling closing-fight. Another interesting observation I would offer is that the "evil" characters are very one-dimensional. Their motivations and emotional outbursts seem unfounded. In the end, I would go see it again, and I would buy it on DVD. That's worth an 8 in my book. Expand
  36. DAVIDS.
    Jun 23, 2003
    9
    The best movie so far this year and Ang Lee did a fabulous job. Do not listen to all the negative reviews since most of them are just being bias or too lazy to sit through a great piece of story telling. 50 mins into the movie was probably the best part of the movie for me. Since people here who give it a rating from 0 to 5 really show how ignorant and childish they are.
  37. DinuF.
    Jun 29, 2003
    1
    1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar 1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar left. no sugar comes of this one. Expand
  38. JoshuaW.
    Jun 30, 2003
    6
    It was an decent movie. I thought that the main cast was great but that the supporting cast didn't work at all. As for the special effects, they were hit a miss. Sometimes I was in awe of the Hulk and at other times I wish Ang Lee had contracted Peter Jackson's Weta to do the effects. As for the story, it was alright but not by any means great. I also enjoyed Lee's comic It was an decent movie. I thought that the main cast was great but that the supporting cast didn't work at all. As for the special effects, they were hit a miss. Sometimes I was in awe of the Hulk and at other times I wish Ang Lee had contracted Peter Jackson's Weta to do the effects. As for the story, it was alright but not by any means great. I also enjoyed Lee's comic book style cinematography, but he used it way too much and should have used it only at times when it helped to speed up the story in-between major sequences. I know that I'm being way too picky concerning a summer action movie but the whole point of having Ang Lee direct this movie was to make it more than just a popcorn flick, which it isn't. But it's also not a great film either. The Hulk exists somewhere in the middle of being a great film or just being a mindless distraction. Expand
  39. BobH.
    Jul 1, 2003
    0
    Just terrible. Don't waste your time. Word of mouth will end this dud quickly. Now don't get me mad. You would hate to see me when I get mad?
  40. RoyS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen.. I wanted to burn out my eyes.. This movie made the phantom look like an oscar winner.
  41. DanK.
    Jul 24, 2003
    0
    I have fallen asleep at two movies in my life, a 1:00am showing of "Fantasia" (and I was drunk when it started), and "The Hulk". Boring, stupid, and slow. The worst movie I have seen this year.
  42. Emily
    Jul 25, 2003
    0
    Horrible- no plot, boring, too long, what a waste of money on all sides.
  43. TitoY.
    Jul 31, 2003
    1
    I gave it 5 because I'm a marvel heroes fan. But it really doesn't work without an enemy, Lee maybe should thought in the evil Blackheart. The movie doesn't make more sense and it becomes really boring like the 70's TV series.
  44. JosephA
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    Perfect, I think people are mising whats going on with the hulk. Im not saying your not entitled to your opinion but no, its not spiderman, its not neo, its not (a lousy) terminator. Theres a little more to the hulk emotionally, thats why hes the hulk. I dont think the movie wouldve worked if they made a "SMASH SMASH" movie out of it, I also dont think it was meant to be a sumemr Perfect, I think people are mising whats going on with the hulk. Im not saying your not entitled to your opinion but no, its not spiderman, its not neo, its not (a lousy) terminator. Theres a little more to the hulk emotionally, thats why hes the hulk. I dont think the movie wouldve worked if they made a "SMASH SMASH" movie out of it, I also dont think it was meant to be a sumemr blockbuster, cause its not. Its a Sept/Nov movie. EIther way, it was awesome, very very good. The Hulk looked incredible also. Expand
  45. JamesW.
    Aug 1, 2003
    3
    As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion to a far too complex, intricate chain of events that didn't even make sense anyway. Betty Ross went from a strong willed character to a slobbering female side character. The actual Hulk scenes were very good though and the cgi, while not perfect, was much better than any Hulk before it. The fights with the Hulk were visually pleasing, but on the other hand. there were just too many faults in the film to make it good, too many to put down here and to fans of the big green man, i shall tell you you'll probably be better off watching the cartoons. Expand
  46. TimA.
    Aug 25, 2003
    6
    Accept the CGI faults i think it was good. Perhaps they should have left the acting to the actual "actors" rather than a program!
  47. Dr.Ed
    Aug 5, 2003
    0
    Please tell me that they will never make a Hulk 2? You wouldn't like it if I get angry? Seriously, this is pure drek. How does Hollywood regurgitate this garbage?
  48. BillS.
    Sep 21, 2003
    7
    I'm really surprised more people didn't like this movie. True, it certainly had it's flaws. Most notably, Nolte's performance. But the action was terrific fun. Amazing to me that some people gave this a zero rating. Are they really claiming that there was absolutely noting redeeming here? What about the father/daughter sub-plot? What about the special effects?
  49. SaerB.
    Mar 20, 2004
    8
    The Hulk had some great ation and sequences and I liked it. But I would rather perfer Spider Man more.
  50. M.Taylor
    Aug 9, 2004
    0
    1st scene the main characters experimenting on animals, so straight away I want them to die, all empathy gone, well played ang lee!
  51. C.H.
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    You've got to be kidding.
  52. Marc.D.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical psychological journey into a fractures human being...or bash things to pieces. The result is a convulated piece of work by Ang Lee which seems to shoot for, Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical psychological journey into a fractures human being...or bash things to pieces. The result is a convulated piece of work by Ang Lee which seems to shoot for, and miss, all it's goals. Beyond the confusing and out there plot is a technical misfire which no one can avoid. The visual effects simple do not possess the polish required for the audience to abandon all disbelief that a monstrous green behemoth is leaping about on the screen. It fails on the most basic visceral level. For all it's faults...Hulk is not a walking ton of waste. It simply offers too many subplots...and far too little of the angry green man himself. Expand
  53. Ollie
    Feb 28, 2008
    8
    Hulk is totally underrated. It has a unique filming and editing style, reminiscent of classic comic books and, strangely enough, 24. Admittadly, the special effects are very dodgy at times (the dogs come to mind) and there is plenty of room for acting improvement, but overall it's a very enjoyable experience.
  54. my
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    With the release of the second Hulk film Ang Lee's take looks even leaner, meaner and incredibly brave. Hulk 2 is muscle bound with CGI effects - and while he has never looked better, there's something missing in his eyes. The soul Ang Lee meticulously crafted has been vapourised by FANS moaning that there wasn't enough HULK SMASH. Well, you got wht you asked for this time With the release of the second Hulk film Ang Lee's take looks even leaner, meaner and incredibly brave. Hulk 2 is muscle bound with CGI effects - and while he has never looked better, there's something missing in his eyes. The soul Ang Lee meticulously crafted has been vapourised by FANS moaning that there wasn't enough HULK SMASH. Well, you got wht you asked for this time and it's right down there with the rest of the superhero flicks - all bluster and no heart. The second hulk movie is an XBox game to Ang Lee's novel. Thanks for ruining the hulk, hulk fans. Thaks for nothing. Expand
  55. BillJ.
    Nov 1, 2003
    6
    It was better than I expected. I wished I had ignored the reviews I saw and seen it on the big screen. My only previous exposure to the Hulk was the TV show that aired some years ago. I did expect to find Dr. David Banner following the same path as on the TV show - eluding police, moving from one place to another continuously, keeping a low profile, trying to find a cure. But the movie It was better than I expected. I wished I had ignored the reviews I saw and seen it on the big screen. My only previous exposure to the Hulk was the TV show that aired some years ago. I did expect to find Dr. David Banner following the same path as on the TV show - eluding police, moving from one place to another continuously, keeping a low profile, trying to find a cure. But the movie was different. The animation was very realistic. But was it true to the comic version? Was the Hulk in the comics able to make miles long leaps like in the movie? I would have liked to see a little more angst and introspection from Banner in the movie. His character just did not meld well with his alternate Hulk character. They were like two completely different entities. Expand
  56. NielS.
    Nov 23, 2003
    8
    Its appeal is a celebration of anger in a society shamed and ignorant of how to express frustration correctly.
  57. ChrisJ
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    The problem with this movie is that it is TOO good for the American Public. The movie is the best comic book movie since Batman. Ang Lee takes The Hulk and runs with it in his own direction, while still having a little bit of Hollywood. The editing and cut scenes are extraordinary. And the Hulk is as good as Gollum. What this movie has that is so intriquing is heart, character study, a The problem with this movie is that it is TOO good for the American Public. The movie is the best comic book movie since Batman. Ang Lee takes The Hulk and runs with it in his own direction, while still having a little bit of Hollywood. The editing and cut scenes are extraordinary. And the Hulk is as good as Gollum. What this movie has that is so intriquing is heart, character study, a plot, and action. It takes everything Ang Lee puts into his films, everything a comic book lover will desire, and the power of The Hulk to move you. Thsi film will grab you and not let go. You will be talking about it for years. The acting and chemistry of everybody involved is great. I give this movie my utmost respect. Ang, if you read this, PLEASE direct the sequel and do NOT let anyone else touch the masterpiece you have created. Expand
  58. RickJ.G.
    Jun 21, 2003
    8
    Marvel Comics meets Freud. Lots of daddy issues here. Bruce and Betty both want their mommies also. I was intrigued by the past Bruce tries to come to terms with, while trying to deal with the effects his past has on him in the present. Ditto for Betty's daddy issues (I couldn't help but think of Austin Powers' daddy issues in Goldmember when she tells Bruce about her dream Marvel Comics meets Freud. Lots of daddy issues here. Bruce and Betty both want their mommies also. I was intrigued by the past Bruce tries to come to terms with, while trying to deal with the effects his past has on him in the present. Ditto for Betty's daddy issues (I couldn't help but think of Austin Powers' daddy issues in Goldmember when she tells Bruce about her dream of being left alone in a cafe by her father). Bruce and Betty are kind of like a couple who go onto the Oprah or Dr. Phil shows, and have it played out in movie adaptation of a comic book. Then they bring their fathers onto the show and have at with them. I liked the scene where the site of Betty calms the Hulk down and he transforms back into Bruce, after he tears up dozens of milatary vehicles trying to kill him. It's a good example of Peter Breggin's notion that empathy and love are a far better way of dealing with human suffering, as opposed to violent physical measures. I also really liked the scene where the Hulk saves Betty's life from his father's dog's. The psychological aspects do get overdone and the action underplayed. I would have liked to have seen a little less Freudian psychobabble and little more action. A better ending would have seen Bruce and his father tearing up San Francisco in a rumble to the death. What a waste of SF as a site for the movie if you're not tear it to pieces. Overall, a good comic book adaptation and one the makers of the X-Men out to take a look at if they want to make those movies more watchable. This is what an X-Men movie could have been if it had stayed focus on a single character like Wolverine. Expand
  59. Henry
    Jun 21, 2003
    8
    The Hulk does not have the same magic which Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon had delivered 2 years ago. However, that kind of 'magic' is rarely achieved in films anyways. I am very impressed with Nick Nolte's performance in this film. The film also delivers in areas of cinematography and editing - there are many scenes that are truly elegant. Out of all the movies made based The Hulk does not have the same magic which Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon had delivered 2 years ago. However, that kind of 'magic' is rarely achieved in films anyways. I am very impressed with Nick Nolte's performance in this film. The film also delivers in areas of cinematography and editing - there are many scenes that are truly elegant. Out of all the movies made based on comic super heros, The Hulk is the only film that injects the "human touch" into its character. Expand
  60. Henry
    Jun 21, 2003
    8
    The Hulk does not have the same magic which Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon had delivered 2 years ago. However, that kind of 'magic' is rarely achieved in films anyways. I am very impressed with Nick Nolte's performance in this film. The film also delivers in areas of cinematography and editing - there are many scenes that are truly elegant. Out of all the movies made based The Hulk does not have the same magic which Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon had delivered 2 years ago. However, that kind of 'magic' is rarely achieved in films anyways. I am very impressed with Nick Nolte's performance in this film. The film also delivers in areas of cinematography and editing - there are many scenes that are truly elegant. Out of all the movies made based on comic super heros, The Hulk is the only film that injects the "human touch" into its character. Expand
  61. Henry
    Jun 21, 2003
    8
    The Hulk does not have the same magic which Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon had delivered 2 years ago. However, that kind of 'magic' is rarely achieved in films anyways. I am very impressed with Nick Nolte's performance in this film. The film also delivers in areas of cinematography and editing - there are many scenes that are truly elegant. Out of all the movies made based The Hulk does not have the same magic which Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon had delivered 2 years ago. However, that kind of 'magic' is rarely achieved in films anyways. I am very impressed with Nick Nolte's performance in this film. The film also delivers in areas of cinematography and editing - there are many scenes that are truly elegant. Out of all the movies made based on comic super heros, The Hulk is the only film that injects the "human touch" into its character. Expand
  62. K.l.Jay
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    Excellent from start to finish!!
  63. KevinL.
    Jun 20, 2003
    2
    I was lucky to go to a screening of this movie the day before it came out. With Ang Lee directing and the memories of Spiderman fresh in my mind - expectations were running high. I must say; I was sorely disappointed. The scenes did not flow very smoothly, and the dialogue (while OK for a comic book) was terrible for a movie. The worst part was the movie dragged on forever. The split I was lucky to go to a screening of this movie the day before it came out. With Ang Lee directing and the memories of Spiderman fresh in my mind - expectations were running high. I must say; I was sorely disappointed. The scenes did not flow very smoothly, and the dialogue (while OK for a comic book) was terrible for a movie. The worst part was the movie dragged on forever. The split screens in some part of the movie were also distracting. Save your money; and skip past this movie. Expand
  64. JoeC.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    Um, this movie was perfect. Ang Lee is a genius. There was no better way to tell the story of the Hulk. For those of you who dont get it (those of you who will see T3)Hes a complex character, dont compare him to geeky P. Parker whos life gets better and he gets cooler when hes blessed with his powers. The Hulk is a product of the things around him, and he hates his powers. Nothing like Um, this movie was perfect. Ang Lee is a genius. There was no better way to tell the story of the Hulk. For those of you who dont get it (those of you who will see T3)Hes a complex character, dont compare him to geeky P. Parker whos life gets better and he gets cooler when hes blessed with his powers. The Hulk is a product of the things around him, and he hates his powers. Nothing like Parker. I dont understand, this movie was absolutley perfect. Expand
  65. SamE.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    Movie critics, be it self made or on someones payroll should note three things before walking into a theater. 1 being characterzation, which the Hulk delivers in spades. Nolte is a mad man to rival anything that Hopkins has done as Lecter. Bana is Bruce Banner More than Jackman could ever be Wolverine. Bana has shown in this film that he can toe to toe with the best. Connelley recaptured Movie critics, be it self made or on someones payroll should note three things before walking into a theater. 1 being characterzation, which the Hulk delivers in spades. Nolte is a mad man to rival anything that Hopkins has done as Lecter. Bana is Bruce Banner More than Jackman could ever be Wolverine. Bana has shown in this film that he can toe to toe with the best. Connelley recaptured my heart once again everyone knows she can act. Elliot is just plain awesome no one else could have played the part better. The second thing these critics should know is something called plot. This movie has lots of plot and what makes it better is that like any good movie the plot supports the characters. From the begining you know something big is going to happen you know the hulk will have his moment at the cross roads and the pay off is big. The third thing to remember is to have fun. This movie is fun in the most serious way. It was approached as a character study with a mix of CGI. There is only one problem i could think of Length. In the begining it is a little long but half way through it speeds up and i didn't realy notice it the way some of these critics did. I guess i'm the only one that goes to a movie to have fun. Oh, one other thing this is far better than spider-man could ever be. Expand
  66. JerryT.
    Jun 20, 2003
    4
    Um yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all wellUm yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all well developed and the hulk made me think that was an actual hulk. the story just dragged on forever. my advice is to wait for it to come on dvd and watch it at home cause then u can pause and use the toliet. Collapse
  67. JaredS.
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    What a wonderful film! It really is! I totally agree with Chris J about the movie being too good for the American public. I feel for Ang, having to come to America where fine art isn't appreciated. Ang really is a superb filmmaker, and what he brought to the Hulk was unlike anything you'll ever see in your life. Words can't describe the pure joy and satisfaction I felt at What a wonderful film! It really is! I totally agree with Chris J about the movie being too good for the American public. I feel for Ang, having to come to America where fine art isn't appreciated. Ang really is a superb filmmaker, and what he brought to the Hulk was unlike anything you'll ever see in your life. Words can't describe the pure joy and satisfaction I felt at the conclusion of this movie, the only problem I had was that I knew I would get into many arguments because I figured that people wouldn't understand the greatness to this film. I have seen it twice so far, and I plan on seeing it several more times within the next couple of weeks. BRAVO ANG!! FOR ALL OF YOUR HARD WORK! Expand
  68. MitchH.
    Jun 23, 2003
    2
    I really didn't like this movie. It took WAY to long to get to the hulk, and when it did, the hulk was boring and he didn't do anything. He just got shot at and while he wrecked stuff. I can say the fight scene with him and the dogs was pretty cool, but the whole movie was a let down. Boring, dull, and uninteresting. Don't waste you time seeing this one. rent Spiderman I really didn't like this movie. It took WAY to long to get to the hulk, and when it did, the hulk was boring and he didn't do anything. He just got shot at and while he wrecked stuff. I can say the fight scene with him and the dogs was pretty cool, but the whole movie was a let down. Boring, dull, and uninteresting. Don't waste you time seeing this one. rent Spiderman instead. A much better comic book movie. Expand
  69. Seethru01
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    For those who think this movie is deep, watch something with true emotional father/son power like Road to Perdition. This movie is terrible, boring, and just godawful. I am bitterly disappointed that Lee comes nowhere even close to capturing anything redeeming in Hulk. I mean it is a freaking 15 foot smashing machine and I guess it is some sort of achievement to make a boring film out of For those who think this movie is deep, watch something with true emotional father/son power like Road to Perdition. This movie is terrible, boring, and just godawful. I am bitterly disappointed that Lee comes nowhere even close to capturing anything redeeming in Hulk. I mean it is a freaking 15 foot smashing machine and I guess it is some sort of achievement to make a boring film out of it. Connelly and Bana make for a couple with all the sparks of two people in rubber shock absorbing suits. Nick Nolte might have achieved a new award in the overacting, I mumble my lines and then shout crazily to show my character is out of control. The directing has a very distracting "24" split screen direction that undermines any seriousness in the dialogue or scenes. People I was in the theater with wanted to laugh and to be awed by the rampage of the Hulk. Instead they got a BORING, PRETENTIOUS, and MUDDLED effort from a great director. Somebody tell Lee never to take a big studio project again. He wasn't ready or up to it. Expand
  70. WAKOJAKO
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    Below average comic book adaptation--way too presumptious for its own good, and reminiscent of way too many other films recent and ancient. (Paying occasional tribute is one thing, quite another to relentlessly keep your mind wandering into other films instead of absorbing you into the "new" material.) The most original aspect of this film was the nausea-inducing editing with its myriad Below average comic book adaptation--way too presumptious for its own good, and reminiscent of way too many other films recent and ancient. (Paying occasional tribute is one thing, quite another to relentlessly keep your mind wandering into other films instead of absorbing you into the "new" material.) The most original aspect of this film was the nausea-inducing editing with its myriad swish, swash, slip, slash flim-flam cutting--very odd for a film that moves at a snail's pace. Also, for a film with so much scientifically charged mumbo-jumbo, it is amazing how some basic laws of physics seem to have ignored. Example: wouldn't the hulk's accelerating mass have burned during it's reentry into the atmosphere??? I'm trying not to give away too much. I'm no scientist, but some things seemed annoyingly messy for a film that seems to be striving for so much more than just fun summer entertainment. It should have been that, and not the sappy, blundering, annoyingly boring mess it is. Expand
  71. ARC
    Jun 24, 2003
    8
    The Incredible Hulk was never really one of my favorite superheroes, so I went into this movie with so-so expectations. By the end, though, I certainly felt it was worth it. I can't really say exactly how it compares plotwise to Spider Man, but it's certainly a worthy contender. You truly pity Banner and root for him when he begins smashing the tanks, hellicopters, etc. chasing The Incredible Hulk was never really one of my favorite superheroes, so I went into this movie with so-so expectations. By the end, though, I certainly felt it was worth it. I can't really say exactly how it compares plotwise to Spider Man, but it's certainly a worthy contender. You truly pity Banner and root for him when he begins smashing the tanks, hellicopters, etc. chasing him. The cast is excellent and gives a good performance. Nick Nolte is a bit over the top but still fits in well because, after all, his character is a disturbingly mad scientist. Overall, the plot focuses heavily on the conflicts between the characters and, although it makes the beginning a bit slow, this complexity establishes the characters better rather than just parading them for the die-hard comic book fans the way, say, the X-Men movies tend to. There are two things I definitely liked better about The Hulk than Spider Man: no MJ-like characters (do they ALWAYS have to make her sound as bad as Farrah Fawcett in Logan's Run?) and better special effects (the Hulk looks pretty realistic for a green CG giant). The choice to not include a regular supervillian is actually a boon--nobody spoils the movie by dressing like a ludicrous Power Ranger-wannabe. Ang Lee's direction gets annoying at times, particularly when he switches characters' postions in the shots or shows multiple views of the same person, but it gives the movie an original touch and even works better in certain scenes than ordinary action-movie direction. Expand
  72. Swizza
    Jun 24, 2003
    8
    Looking at people's reactions to this movie I noticed that they either love it or hate it. For those of you that hate it, well, you just don't appreciate the work Ang has done. You either think that the Hulk is too cartoonish and shouldn't be able to jump and do everything it does (you shouldn't be watching it then, because that's what comic book movies are all Looking at people's reactions to this movie I noticed that they either love it or hate it. For those of you that hate it, well, you just don't appreciate the work Ang has done. You either think that the Hulk is too cartoonish and shouldn't be able to jump and do everything it does (you shouldn't be watching it then, because that's what comic book movies are all about) or you probably hoped for one, long, dumb action sequence, and when you actually got some character development and the new techniques that Ang has incorporated into this movie you didn't give it a chance. I admit that some parts are dragged out a little, but overall this movie was very well done and I hope Lee gets the green light for the sequel. If you want some intelligence and art with your movie please see this, if you don't, well, dammit stay away and go see 2 fast 2 furious. Expand
  73. ScorrL.
    Jun 24, 2003
    8
    People who are bitching about that it takes about hour for the Hulk to be formed are a-holes.. It's called character development and plot development. The action was cool and acting was very good for a comic-book movie but not as good as superman and spider-man.
  74. JonC.
    Jun 24, 2003
    0
    Ang Lee has proven himself as a fine director, never more than with the breathtaking Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. But something goes awry in Hulk from the get-go. Take for instance the opening sequence, which most films use to pique the viewer's interest and get the mind set for the adventure to come. Not only was it confusing but it was just plain boring. You could walk in five Ang Lee has proven himself as a fine director, never more than with the breathtaking Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. But something goes awry in Hulk from the get-go. Take for instance the opening sequence, which most films use to pique the viewer's interest and get the mind set for the adventure to come. Not only was it confusing but it was just plain boring. You could walk in five minutes late and not miss a thing because the whole premise is reviewed, remasticated, reswallowed, and regurgitated several more times before the film is over. I found Spider-Man's opening titles just set to music much more entertaining. I am sorry, but the Hulk as a character film simply did not work. I found more dramatic poignance in the father-son relationship of Finding Nemo, which ironically also features a wider range of dramatic nuance in each of its computer animated characters than The Hulk does with its entire live cast, let alone the embarrasingly rubbery, computer-animated green dummy. The Hulk should have been an action/adventure picture, which it sorrily is not; Ang Lee was obviusly not the right director for this project. Thus The Hulk will not hold among the recent beloved spew of fun, intelligent, and faithful comic book adaptations (Spider-Man and X-Men) but will join malaised, ill-conceived scrap like Daredevil and many other soon to come, I am sure. Expand
  75. RichC.
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    Loved it. Despite its flaws (there are a few in terms of plot clarity and the likes there of) it managed to be one of the most entertaining movies of the year and easily the best "introduction" comic book movie thus far.
  76. BobS.
    Jun 26, 2003
    3
    The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and the sequence with the knife is truly disturbing for younger viewers, and should have been implied only. Overall the movie is not worth the price of admission. In general I think the movies reviewed on Metacritic are worth the price of admission multiplied by the metascore percent. That puts this movie at $8*0.58=$4.64. About right! Expand
  77. David
    Jun 26, 2003
    0
    Hulk of Crapola.
  78. LeonardL.
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Great!! Much better than the original "Grinch"........What, this isn't that sequel???...... Never mind.
  79. KayW.
    Jun 29, 2003
    7
    The movie is needlessly long. Although I appreciate Ang Lee's well-meaning attention to character development, he takes too long and repeats the same traits. He could have said the same things in 1:30 hours and that would have made the movie much more enjoyable. Stylistically, it was like mixing fine wine with a 6-pack of Schlitz. The frequent use of quick wipes and comic book frames The movie is needlessly long. Although I appreciate Ang Lee's well-meaning attention to character development, he takes too long and repeats the same traits. He could have said the same things in 1:30 hours and that would have made the movie much more enjoyable. Stylistically, it was like mixing fine wine with a 6-pack of Schlitz. The frequent use of quick wipes and comic book frames (Schlitz) created a pace that did not match the pace of the development of the rich characters and storyline (fine wine). But my two criticisms of the movie should detract from the many positives of the movie. For instance, the dialogue between David and Bruce near the end of the movie was like watching a piece of good theater. Another positive was the use of natural sceneries (like Marin County, NV desert, etc.) and mold to relay the theme of nature versus science. In another respect, the movie touched on other interesting themes like war, detention of potentially dangerous combatants, and of course, anger management. Expand
  80. HelenW.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    It is a great movie. I like it very much. still like to watch it. will collect the DVD when it comes out.
  81. JoeyR.
    Jul 1, 2003
    3
    About 30 minutes too long and 60 wipes/fades too many. laughable dialogue and a completely absurd ending that left my friends and i simply asking: "what in the..." i give it no bouns points for action since the subject matter so obviously lends itself to destruction that even my mom could have come up with 'the hulk smashes stuff'. minus points for not going with the obviousAbout 30 minutes too long and 60 wipes/fades too many. laughable dialogue and a completely absurd ending that left my friends and i simply asking: "what in the..." i give it no bouns points for action since the subject matter so obviously lends itself to destruction that even my mom could have come up with 'the hulk smashes stuff'. minus points for not going with the obvious climax (which i thought was already foreshadowed earlier in the movie) which would have been way better than what we were "treated" to. rent it or steal it. Expand
  82. Meat
    Jul 18, 2003
    4
    Way too long and boring. Also, the story was tired and predictable. ie. How many times can you re-hash the "Government Conspiracy" idea. Everybody complained about how goofy the CGI was. However, it wasn't THAT bad... the acting and plot was far worse. I'm disappointed in Ang L. and Jennifer C. She cried throughout the whole movie. ugh!
  83. ChadS.
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    Only airplanes and Superman should be allowed to fly. The Hulk must be a pretty boring screen subject, as evidenced by his prodigious ability to long distance jump. Who is this movie for? The lovers don't get it on, and the helicopters don't explode. For the sake of the kids, yes, but what juvenile under the age of ten will enjoy the odes to "Frankenstein" and "King Kong"? Nick Only airplanes and Superman should be allowed to fly. The Hulk must be a pretty boring screen subject, as evidenced by his prodigious ability to long distance jump. Who is this movie for? The lovers don't get it on, and the helicopters don't explode. For the sake of the kids, yes, but what juvenile under the age of ten will enjoy the odes to "Frankenstein" and "King Kong"? Nick Nolte revives "Weeds" during the coda, and you may spot a reference to "Princess Mononoke". It's alright for the Hulk to be mega-strong and angst-ridden, but keep his two feet on the ground. And the usually brilliant Jennifer Connelly cries too much in this movie. There's no crying in baseball, and there's no crying in summer blockbusters. Expand
  84. CristianB.
    Jul 4, 2003
    8
    A very good movie! Excellent direction. Ang Lee does an impressive job with the image. It takes time to develope the characters, so those who are impatient or want to see pure action empty of substance: this is not a movie for you! The last words (in spanish) of Bruce Banner diserves similar fame than "hasta la vista, baby".
  85. PavelS.
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    The worst movie I've seen in the last year.
  86. CameronS.
    Sep 5, 2003
    8
    A comic book adaption with a real story, drawn-out characters, with good performances. Hulk was a great dramatic presentation of a smart action movie.
  87. RobertC.
    Apr 4, 2004
    8
    This particular movie of 2003 garnered quite a negativity from everyone who saw it. I think the most major thing regarding the Hulk is that WAY too many people were expecting a flat-out, action-packed summer movie rather than a deep, psychologically-induced, action-structured film. People, you had to have looked at this movie with an open mind if you were ever going to enjoy it.
  88. DennisP.
    May 22, 2004
    8
    Easily the best comic book adaptation I have seen thus far. This movie avoids all the childish cliches of most movies of this kind. It digs into Bruce Banner's psyche and is not just CGI and the Hulk busting stuff up, and therefore has appeal to more mature audiences. Thanks Ang Lee for a comic book movie this old guy thoroughly enjoyed.
  89. RobM.
    May 31, 2004
    10
    This is one heck of a movie. The Hulk jumping around canyons with a good look at the landscape is very stunning. Bruce Banner's ability to be a brain and bronze can show that we all have strengths and weaknesses to overcome through self control. This Marvel making is marvelous.
  90. [Anonymous]
    May 31, 2004
    10
    Most of the Humans in this movie are angry. Hulk is fairly timid. He just wants to get at those people who are attacking the ones he loves the most. One feels as though they are watching a real life comic book. The humor was perfect like when hulk sneezed out the sleeping gas instead of passing out. Hulk turns out to be the real humanitarian.
  91. filmisdead
    Oct 10, 2005
    2
    What the hell was Ang Lee thinking? How dare he film the equivalent of a random, delirious fart and release it bigtime? So laughably misguided it's almost tragic, yet not even brimming with enough written, performed and filmmaking ineptitude for said ineptitude to even matter. Eric Banal, Josh Puke-ass and a beyond slumming Nick Nolte are pathetically out of their acting What the hell was Ang Lee thinking? How dare he film the equivalent of a random, delirious fart and release it bigtime? So laughably misguided it's almost tragic, yet not even brimming with enough written, performed and filmmaking ineptitude for said ineptitude to even matter. Eric Banal, Josh Puke-ass and a beyond slumming Nick Nolte are pathetically out of their acting 'league', while J.-Co and Sam Elliott's efforts to salvage this DOA wreck are in obvious and pitiful vain. Oh yeah, HULK is terrible, all right, and yet better than all of the Hollywood crapola I saw this summer. Next to absolute sh..fests like War of the Worlds and Revenge of the Sith, its own hideously childish effects are anything but! How loud a volume do y'all think that speaks? Expand
  92. abbey
    Jun 13, 2005
    3
    This movie is an absolute train wreak. I would expect more from Ang Lee. The plot itself was okay, but all of the action scenes were terrible and too drawn out. In my opinon, Eric Bana was a very poor choice for the hulk. And even wonderful performances by Jennifer Connelly and Sam Elliott were not enough to save this movie.
  93. AnthonyS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    0
    I went to the movies to see this with my girlfreind in 2003 or so and omg this movie sucked complete garbage i actully fell asleep during this movie id rather cut my penis off then watch this bull crap ever again.
  94. KiloM.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    Horrible. Dear Ang lee get out of here. You made this Superhero movie into a drama. What a complete waste.
  95. JamesH.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks man. need more action and lower down the dialogue.
  96. FrenchBench
    Jul 16, 2008
    0
    This is one the ang lee worst movie 0f 2003. Ang lee, you never come back to American Superhero universe again. Ever!!
  97. MikeP.
    Jan 30, 2009
    8
    This movie is much better than what most of the critics and moviegoers say about it. First and foremost, it's not a popcorn flick. Most of the people who went to see this movie were probably expecting a mindless, fun superhero movie where a big, green monster smashes everything. Instead they got an intelligent, character-driven film about the sins of the father, psychological trauma, This movie is much better than what most of the critics and moviegoers say about it. First and foremost, it's not a popcorn flick. Most of the people who went to see this movie were probably expecting a mindless, fun superhero movie where a big, green monster smashes everything. Instead they got an intelligent, character-driven film about the sins of the father, psychological trauma, and profound tragedy. This was the first superhero movie that attempted to be meaningful and thoughtful. It failed because it targeted the wrong audience and its message flew right over the heads of the average viewer. Perhaps, it would have succeeded if it were able to better balance art with entertainment like what Spider-Man 2 and Batman Begins did after it. Expand
  98. DouglasH.
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    I thought this movie rocked. Good story with awesome action sequences. I think some people were pissed off because it took 45 mins. to see the green Machine. I guess if you like constant action with no story, than this movie is not for you!!!
  99. MadisonS.
    Dec 12, 2003
    2
    I did not like the Hulk movie so much, it was gross and gory. your kids should not wach it.
  100. ElvisGooch
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    Definite Movie of the Summer! Hulk rocks baby!
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. 50
    The main problem with The Hulk, really, is that there isn't enough Hulk in it.
  2. 70
    The real star is the splendid computer-generated Hulk, though his King Kong-like story is compromised by the need to keep him around for the inevitable sequel.
  3. The Hulk has a split personality: Two-thirds come from director Ang Lee, one-third from '60s comic book creator Stan Lee.