Paramount Classics | Release Date: July 22, 2005
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 124 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
116
Mixed:
2
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JawsPapi87Aug 11, 2011
The realistic and believable depiction of Howard's character's life isn't what makes this movie so great. This is one of the movies that is solid in almost everything, writing and story wise but is made great by the acting. Especially TarajiThe realistic and believable depiction of Howard's character's life isn't what makes this movie so great. This is one of the movies that is solid in almost everything, writing and story wise but is made great by the acting. Especially Taraji P. Henson and Terrence Hoawrd deliver stellar performances Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LindaD.Aug 4, 2005
The first thing I ask a movie like this to be is honest. If you
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RiskP.Jan 25, 2006
The poster describing "authentic" Memphis accent must not be a Memphian. Howard's dialect coach gave him a solid Southern base, but in dialog it often skewed closer to white Appalachia ("Deppity Dawgh") more than a North Memphis gateway The poster describing "authentic" Memphis accent must not be a Memphian. Howard's dialect coach gave him a solid Southern base, but in dialog it often skewed closer to white Appalachia ("Deppity Dawgh") more than a North Memphis gateway hustler. Nevertheless, I'm a sucker for films about the creation of art, and I pretty much lost it when Shug reacted to hearing her own voice on playback. Hell, I'm losing it just writing about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Feb 3, 2006
What movie were people like the NY Times watching? I am an avid worshipper of the NY times but do they really have those Norteast Liberal blinders on? This is the best movie of the year. No questions asked. It should have been nominated and What movie were people like the NY Times watching? I am an avid worshipper of the NY times but do they really have those Norteast Liberal blinders on? This is the best movie of the year. No questions asked. It should have been nominated and easliy have won for Best Picture and Terrence and Joaquin shoud be neck and neck for Best Actor. This is not a slight to PSH who is my favorite actor on earth but his performance of Capote while brilliant is totally one dimensional. Hustle & Flow is the American dream at its roughest and most uncomforatble. The dialect was dead on and I grew up in Memphis. And no this is not a John Singleton movie it is a masterpiece of Craig Brewer's that took almost a decade to get made. It is not about exploitation of woman but more about exploiting every gd opportunity given to a person in order to feel like you made a dent in this world. Why do the Oscars always miss the best films of the year? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebriahFeb 4, 2006
At first I would never have gone to see a movie with a pimp. This movie touched my life. Terrance Howard delivers this film message with poise and ease. Mr. Howard Play a character that is so belive to the American Underdog. I loved this At first I would never have gone to see a movie with a pimp. This movie touched my life. Terrance Howard delivers this film message with poise and ease. Mr. Howard Play a character that is so belive to the American Underdog. I loved this film. The strongest message in the film was.... No matter who you are, where you are from, You have a dream. A dream that may not be attainable. But nontheless, a dream..... I loved this film. I think everyone should see this film. It was wonderful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcelaV.Feb 6, 2006
I agree with John W. This is the best movie in years about the American underclass and the authencity of hip hop that captures that reality. The NYT, Village Voice and LA times are wrong; I am an educated latina professional and I was not I agree with John W. This is the best movie in years about the American underclass and the authencity of hip hop that captures that reality. The NYT, Village Voice and LA times are wrong; I am an educated latina professional and I was not insulted by this film. It revealed the humanity behind the sterotypes of pimps and prostitutes. In a fair world, it would have gotten more attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Mar 6, 2006
Sometimes a performance elevates an otherwise unremarkable film to a higher level. Terrence Howard OWNS this film. He masters it. He channels the character with raw emotion, much as the character channels his own life into song. The Sometimes a performance elevates an otherwise unremarkable film to a higher level. Terrence Howard OWNS this film. He masters it. He channels the character with raw emotion, much as the character channels his own life into song. The supporting cast is good, and the story is serviceable, but it's the performance at the center that makes this not just a good movie, but a great one. I didn't care for the idea of a sympathetic pimp, nor am I a big fan of hip hop, and so I waited a long time to see it. Now I see why so many people consider it one of the best of the last year. See it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulD.Apr 21, 2006
Traditional "Let's put on a show" plot morphs into gritty, intense urban fantasy. Good performances, especially by Terence Howard as the pimp, turned hip hop artist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Aug 10, 2006
Terrance Howard rocks, the music is great, and the film, if nothing else, manages to make you root for a pimp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Mar 1, 2007
This movie gets better with repeated viewings. Not many movies you can say that about. Even though I heard some good things about it when it came out, I didn't see it because the subject matter didn't interest me. Trouble relating This movie gets better with repeated viewings. Not many movies you can say that about. Even though I heard some good things about it when it came out, I didn't see it because the subject matter didn't interest me. Trouble relating to the whole pimp and ho, hip-hop culture. Glad I caught it on cable, because this movie presents more of the universal human experience than 99% of the garbage out there. Far better than Crash, which is unwatchable a second time around. Great performances throughout...I'll be looking for more from Craig Brewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElaineM.Oct 15, 2005
Wonderful movie, except for the sappy ending. The cast was uniformly terrific. I hope they're rewarded with nominations come awards season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
juliafiOct 21, 2005
Terrance Howard is my favorite actor. Any video or movie he is in wil have all the woman I know spending their Crash, I mean cash. He looked magnificant in that movie too. He is great in every role I've seen him in. I think it's the eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattH.Sep 24, 2005
The best movie of the year. John Singleton's second best to Boyz in the Hood. Great Movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredR.Feb 7, 2006
Amazing flick. I haven't really understood the Terrence Howard hype until now, I mean, I liked him, but this performance is stellar, at least as good as any acting in any music movie ever. Everyone is incredible but the fact that Taryn Amazing flick. I haven't really understood the Terrence Howard hype until now, I mean, I liked him, but this performance is stellar, at least as good as any acting in any music movie ever. Everyone is incredible but the fact that Taryn Manning wasn't nominated for an academy award is a travesty. She supported Terrence perfectly, how could she have been snubbed? It's a good thing I don't really care about awards. Hustle and Flow has THE best studio recording scene ever. "Whoop that trick!" And the scene with Luda is electrifying, whoever thinks it's "sappy" is first of all not a rap fan, and second of all corny. I bought this DVD, it's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jun 30, 2007
This movie looked... unwatchable to me until I watched it, then I realized what a knock your socks off kind of movie is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanD.Dec 9, 2005
This movie feels like an honest look at the world of a pimp who wants to be a rapper, and neither romanticizes nor condemns hiphop culture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
myeyag.Aug 26, 2005
One of the best movies i've seen in a long time. I especially liked it because i am an up coming rapper, and this movie shows that if you put your heart and your head into what ever you want to do it can actually happen. big ups to John One of the best movies i've seen in a long time. I especially liked it because i am an up coming rapper, and this movie shows that if you put your heart and your head into what ever you want to do it can actually happen. big ups to John Singleton you did it again!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Aug 31, 2005
Remember the conversation the guys in the bar were having in an early episode of Cheers about which was the sweatiest movie of all time: Body Heat, Ben-Hur or Rocky II? Too bad this film didn't exist at the time: it might not have Remember the conversation the guys in the bar were having in an early episode of Cheers about which was the sweatiest movie of all time: Body Heat, Ben-Hur or Rocky II? Too bad this film didn't exist at the time: it might not have beaten those worthy nominees, but it certainly deserves Top 10 consideration! A vivid, pungent (and I mean that in a GOOD way) account of D-Jay, an impoverished Tennessee pimp who's inspired by a gospel singer's performance (!!!) to enter the music field himself, penning and performing rap songs about his work and lifestyle, Hustle & Flow benefits greatly from impressive background detail, atmospherically grainy cinematography that gives the movie a great 1970s blaxploitation/drive-in look, and especially a charismatic, star-making portrayal by Crash's Terrance Howard--even if his character's dialectic and colloquialisms sometimes call for a few Ken Loach-like subtitles! Since one of the movie's themes deals with the need for Black artists to return to their unvarnished roots, it's also a real pleasure to see the superb comic character actor Anthony Anderson, who has of late been squandering his talents in such ephemera as King's Ransom and Kangaroo Jack, back in form as a middle-class associate of D-Jay's who becomes his unlikely supporter and co-producer. The most controversial aspect of Hustle & Flow is not that writer-director Craig Brewer makes his central character a pimp, but that he de-emphasizes and downplays D-Jay's behavior toward his women (he's occasionally abusive, but ONLY occasionally, and this is just briefly touched on) in order to perhaps necessarily make him more easily identifiable and sympathetic as a working stiff trying to reach his potential. In fact, his relationship with his women was much more reminiscent to me of how Henry Winkler and Michael Keaton treated theirs in Night Shift than how Morgan Freeman treated his in Street Smart or even how Max Julien did in The Mack. This will no doubt placate some viewers and disgust others, who will understandably label the film a romanticized whitewashing of a despicable profession. I can't honestly argue with the latter view, but can only defend my enjoyment of Brewer's film the same way I could Rob Zombie's very funny countrified Manson family in this summer's earlier Devil's Rejects: here's another case where style trumps unsavory substance. And anyway, in writing and rapping about "the life", D-Jay is simply following the first rule of songwriting, followed by everybody from Woody Guthrie to Willie Nelson: Write What You Know. Having said that, I have to admit that I regret NOT getting to watch Anderson's social-climber wife (Elise Neal, who's hilarious and later quite touching) perform a crunk song based on her monologue about the tribulations of being a supervisor in a fashion store. Now THAT'S a hip-hop number I would have paid extra to watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaS.Jul 12, 2006
This movie is unreal. Captures the human spirit. I'm white, 43 and born in the south. I rented the movie because I am a Terrence Howard fan (and a closet Rap fan...old school, you know). This movie was so awesome that I purchased it and This movie is unreal. Captures the human spirit. I'm white, 43 and born in the south. I rented the movie because I am a Terrence Howard fan (and a closet Rap fan...old school, you know). This movie was so awesome that I purchased it and am now waiting on the Soundtrack from Amazon. I'm adding this to my collection (right beside Kid Rock). Not bad for an old broad! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmurabiM.Jul 17, 2006
In the subgenre of artists raising in bad conditions ans fighting against adversity imn pursue of their dreams, "Hustle & Flow" is a gem for that kind of movies. Besides the intense Performance of Terrence Dashon Howard, The star of this In the subgenre of artists raising in bad conditions ans fighting against adversity imn pursue of their dreams, "Hustle & Flow" is a gem for that kind of movies. Besides the intense Performance of Terrence Dashon Howard, The star of this film is His director. We are watching the troubles of an artist for follow his dreams, and, in this case, the mataphor includes the job of his maker. With a sense of blaxploitation perfectly elaborated, intense music and performances and the stunning job of Amelia Vincent behind the cameras, in "Hustle & Flow", you can feel inspired, excitedl, amazed and touched, all at the same time. For me, this is the best rap film ever made. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
juliankleissJan 7, 2011
Does well in capturing the creative moment/process of a musician. Encourages to have a dream and work for it, to eventually break out of an unfulfilling everyday routine. Claims to give insight into an average pimp's life. A few magicalDoes well in capturing the creative moment/process of a musician. Encourages to have a dream and work for it, to eventually break out of an unfulfilling everyday routine. Claims to give insight into an average pimp's life. A few magical (musical) moments, worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJan 3, 2014
Good movie. Terrence Howard kills it in the lead role and helps Hustle & Flow elevate from your classic hip hop drama to a much better movie. Ultimately, it winds up being a very interesting look at how rappers may have "flow", but they needGood movie. Terrence Howard kills it in the lead role and helps Hustle & Flow elevate from your classic hip hop drama to a much better movie. Ultimately, it winds up being a very interesting look at how rappers may have "flow", but they need "hustle" most importantly to make it in the rap game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
doom4allDec 28, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great and inspirational movie that showcases the passion of a up and coming pimp-turned-rapper. Especially the end where DJay beats the **** out of Skinny Black. Great movie overall Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews