Paramount Classics | Release Date: July 22, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 149 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
4
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
JawsPapi87Aug 11, 2011
The realistic and believable depiction of Howard's character's life isn't what makes this movie so great. This is one of the movies that is solid in almost everything, writing and story wise but is made great by the acting. Especially TarajiThe realistic and believable depiction of Howard's character's life isn't what makes this movie so great. This is one of the movies that is solid in almost everything, writing and story wise but is made great by the acting. Especially Taraji P. Henson and Terrence Hoawrd deliver stellar performances Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AlexE.Jul 26, 2005
"Hustle & Flow" is, essentially, a movie about the love of music. In the scenes where DJay, Key, and Shelby hole up in a back room of DJay's run-down house, the movie has an almost electric feeling about it. It is a credit to Terrence "Hustle & Flow" is, essentially, a movie about the love of music. In the scenes where DJay, Key, and Shelby hole up in a back room of DJay's run-down house, the movie has an almost electric feeling about it. It is a credit to Terrence Howard's brilliant performance that the rhymes his character speaks in these scenes truly feel improvised. When he steps up to the microphone and says, "This is my heart right here," you believe him entirely. However, one must not overlook the quietly powerful Taraji P. Henson, who plays Shug, one of DJay's girls who is now pregnant. Her scene with Howard toward the end of the film where she gives him her present is the stuff that Best Supporting Actress nominations are made of. Unfortunately, my Yankee ears had a rough time deciphering Howard's authentic Memphis accent at first, so I was essentially clueless as to what was going on in the first scenes. But the 70's Blaxploitation-style credits were more than enough to get me hooked. Great music, great cinematography, great acting, but a flawed script. Despite an almost fatal last-act twist, the film is a gritty, powerful, crowd-pleasing indie gem that deserves an audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaD.Aug 4, 2005
The first thing I ask a movie like this to be is honest. If you
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RiskP.Jan 25, 2006
The poster describing "authentic" Memphis accent must not be a Memphian. Howard's dialect coach gave him a solid Southern base, but in dialog it often skewed closer to white Appalachia ("Deppity Dawgh") more than a North Memphis gateway The poster describing "authentic" Memphis accent must not be a Memphian. Howard's dialect coach gave him a solid Southern base, but in dialog it often skewed closer to white Appalachia ("Deppity Dawgh") more than a North Memphis gateway hustler. Nevertheless, I'm a sucker for films about the creation of art, and I pretty much lost it when Shug reacted to hearing her own voice on playback. Hell, I'm losing it just writing about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TemmaM.Jul 13, 2005
Loved it! Super sexy, sweet, and gritty film backed by amazing hip hop track!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdB.Jul 27, 2005
I was impressed by the drama and excitement created by events that were, for the most part, believable reality. Too many movies require a suspension of disbelief to accept their premise. However, I did feel that the role of the pimp was I was impressed by the drama and excitement created by events that were, for the most part, believable reality. Too many movies require a suspension of disbelief to accept their premise. However, I did feel that the role of the pimp was "cleaned up" to ensure a sympathetic character. A real pimp would have used more violence as well as head games to control his stable by fear and unpredictability. Putting that criticism aside, I thoroughly enjoyed watching the film play out. The supporting characters added depth to the movie with exemplary performances. I would agree with those who feel this is one of the best movies the season in spite of it's flaws. The humanity, love of music and courage to follow a dream are worthy subjects for any filmaker. Go see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
yogir.Aug 13, 2005
Most excellent movie I've seen all year. It actually had me showing empathy for the pimp and his whores. He was a hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
duntap.Aug 14, 2005
Great job by everybody that worked on this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonoLAug 20, 2005
GREAT FILM, SOUNDTRACK and CONTENT!. True to life, excellent acting. Terrific snapshot of a segment of life that is often overlooked. Always great to see and underdog. Singleton's creation was outstanding. Howard's performance was GREAT FILM, SOUNDTRACK and CONTENT!. True to life, excellent acting. Terrific snapshot of a segment of life that is often overlooked. Always great to see and underdog. Singleton's creation was outstanding. Howard's performance was incredible. Great film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferT.Aug 2, 2005
Excellent movie. Howard's performance was mesmerizing. The sessions felt real -- and it brilliantly captured the energy of a studio.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Aug 4, 2005
In "Hustle and Flow", the filmmaker shows rap's critics where the genre's harder strains originates from, with a very methodical introduction to the wanna-be MC's environment and lifestyle. If the life of D-Jay (take a bow In "Hustle and Flow", the filmmaker shows rap's critics where the genre's harder strains originates from, with a very methodical introduction to the wanna-be MC's environment and lifestyle. If the life of D-Jay (take a bow Terrence Dashon Howard) is an accurate reflection of how real gangsta rappers operate, to expect political correctness in their lyrical treatment of women and attitudes towards violence, is to exact censorship which manifests into selling out your community and the people who still live there, like the increasingly commercial Ludacris character. In "Hustle and Flow", we get the seemingly perverse notion that clean rap is more offensive. This amazing film leaves you with a better understanding of culture, and it contains scenes that depict song birthing better than any film since...I don't know. You barely understand what D-Jay is saying underneath that regional accent, but you can hear him loud and clear when he's on the mic, when his life snaps into focus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K-CiAug 7, 2005
Man ima be real this movie was off the chain. Anyone who is trying to make it big trying to make a dalla out of 15 cents will feel this movie. For those people who found that this movie was making disrespecting the African American culture Man ima be real this movie was off the chain. Anyone who is trying to make it big trying to make a dalla out of 15 cents will feel this movie. For those people who found that this movie was making disrespecting the African American culture must not have survived in the streets but unstead lived with Mommy and Daddy there whole life and doesn't understand the struggle most of us go throu. I give this movie 2 thumbs up and its my third time watching it. I think this movie did a fonaminal job catching the emotions and really touching people who live in the struggle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Feb 3, 2006
What movie were people like the NY Times watching? I am an avid worshipper of the NY times but do they really have those Norteast Liberal blinders on? This is the best movie of the year. No questions asked. It should have been nominated and What movie were people like the NY Times watching? I am an avid worshipper of the NY times but do they really have those Norteast Liberal blinders on? This is the best movie of the year. No questions asked. It should have been nominated and easliy have won for Best Picture and Terrence and Joaquin shoud be neck and neck for Best Actor. This is not a slight to PSH who is my favorite actor on earth but his performance of Capote while brilliant is totally one dimensional. Hustle & Flow is the American dream at its roughest and most uncomforatble. The dialect was dead on and I grew up in Memphis. And no this is not a John Singleton movie it is a masterpiece of Craig Brewer's that took almost a decade to get made. It is not about exploitation of woman but more about exploiting every gd opportunity given to a person in order to feel like you made a dent in this world. Why do the Oscars always miss the best films of the year? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebriahFeb 4, 2006
At first I would never have gone to see a movie with a pimp. This movie touched my life. Terrance Howard delivers this film message with poise and ease. Mr. Howard Play a character that is so belive to the American Underdog. I loved this At first I would never have gone to see a movie with a pimp. This movie touched my life. Terrance Howard delivers this film message with poise and ease. Mr. Howard Play a character that is so belive to the American Underdog. I loved this film. The strongest message in the film was.... No matter who you are, where you are from, You have a dream. A dream that may not be attainable. But nontheless, a dream..... I loved this film. I think everyone should see this film. It was wonderful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcelaV.Feb 6, 2006
I agree with John W. This is the best movie in years about the American underclass and the authencity of hip hop that captures that reality. The NYT, Village Voice and LA times are wrong; I am an educated latina professional and I was not I agree with John W. This is the best movie in years about the American underclass and the authencity of hip hop that captures that reality. The NYT, Village Voice and LA times are wrong; I am an educated latina professional and I was not insulted by this film. It revealed the humanity behind the sterotypes of pimps and prostitutes. In a fair world, it would have gotten more attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Mar 6, 2006
Sometimes a performance elevates an otherwise unremarkable film to a higher level. Terrence Howard OWNS this film. He masters it. He channels the character with raw emotion, much as the character channels his own life into song. The Sometimes a performance elevates an otherwise unremarkable film to a higher level. Terrence Howard OWNS this film. He masters it. He channels the character with raw emotion, much as the character channels his own life into song. The supporting cast is good, and the story is serviceable, but it's the performance at the center that makes this not just a good movie, but a great one. I didn't care for the idea of a sympathetic pimp, nor am I a big fan of hip hop, and so I waited a long time to see it. Now I see why so many people consider it one of the best of the last year. See it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulD.Apr 21, 2006
Traditional "Let's put on a show" plot morphs into gritty, intense urban fantasy. Good performances, especially by Terence Howard as the pimp, turned hip hop artist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Aug 10, 2006
Terrance Howard rocks, the music is great, and the film, if nothing else, manages to make you root for a pimp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Mar 1, 2007
This movie gets better with repeated viewings. Not many movies you can say that about. Even though I heard some good things about it when it came out, I didn't see it because the subject matter didn't interest me. Trouble relating This movie gets better with repeated viewings. Not many movies you can say that about. Even though I heard some good things about it when it came out, I didn't see it because the subject matter didn't interest me. Trouble relating to the whole pimp and ho, hip-hop culture. Glad I caught it on cable, because this movie presents more of the universal human experience than 99% of the garbage out there. Far better than Crash, which is unwatchable a second time around. Great performances throughout...I'll be looking for more from Craig Brewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElaineM.Oct 15, 2005
Wonderful movie, except for the sappy ending. The cast was uniformly terrific. I hope they're rewarded with nominations come awards season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
juliafiOct 21, 2005
Terrance Howard is my favorite actor. Any video or movie he is in wil have all the woman I know spending their Crash, I mean cash. He looked magnificant in that movie too. He is great in every role I've seen him in. I think it's the eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeB.Jul 23, 2005
The best film to come out of Sundance this year will also likely be the best film of the summer (if not the year). Great performances by Howard and Manning, sharp writing and directing, and a soundtrack that even had middle aged mormons The best film to come out of Sundance this year will also likely be the best film of the summer (if not the year). Great performances by Howard and Manning, sharp writing and directing, and a soundtrack that even had middle aged mormons walking out of their Park City screenings singing "Whoop that trick!" Hustle & Flow will work for everyone except those too stubborn to get passed the thick Memphis accents and gritty look at prositituion (altough let it be said, every character here is so well written you can't even begin to suggest anyone here is stereotypical). See it over every other film this week, you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormG.Jul 24, 2005
Will probably be my #1 for 2005.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
keithw.Jul 26, 2005
The best movie of the Summer and probably 2005. I can't imagine seeing a better performance this year then Howards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gwens.Jul 30, 2005
Who hasn't struggled to achieve some of the better thing in life against the odds and who doesn't know someone like d'jay ? He's down but not out . All the characters have issues and you know the anxiety that comes with Who hasn't struggled to achieve some of the better thing in life against the odds and who doesn't know someone like d'jay ? He's down but not out . All the characters have issues and you know the anxiety that comes with it. In America anyone can challenge his fate with a little determination and hard work. Terrence made you feel his struggle even if he was a pimp and his crew was hanging on to the dream too. It's a great story told from the bottom looking up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattH.Sep 24, 2005
The best movie of the year. John Singleton's second best to Boyz in the Hood. Great Movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredR.Feb 7, 2006
Amazing flick. I haven't really understood the Terrence Howard hype until now, I mean, I liked him, but this performance is stellar, at least as good as any acting in any music movie ever. Everyone is incredible but the fact that Taryn Amazing flick. I haven't really understood the Terrence Howard hype until now, I mean, I liked him, but this performance is stellar, at least as good as any acting in any music movie ever. Everyone is incredible but the fact that Taryn Manning wasn't nominated for an academy award is a travesty. She supported Terrence perfectly, how could she have been snubbed? It's a good thing I don't really care about awards. Hustle and Flow has THE best studio recording scene ever. "Whoop that trick!" And the scene with Luda is electrifying, whoever thinks it's "sappy" is first of all not a rap fan, and second of all corny. I bought this DVD, it's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jun 30, 2007
This movie looked... unwatchable to me until I watched it, then I realized what a knock your socks off kind of movie is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanD.Dec 9, 2005
This movie feels like an honest look at the world of a pimp who wants to be a rapper, and neither romanticizes nor condemns hiphop culture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VicL.Jul 22, 2005
Raw, emotional, gritty filmmaking that stayed with me weeks after I saw the screening.I was very moved and I cared for these people. Individual perfomances, writing, music, cinematography added up to much more than the sum of their Raw, emotional, gritty filmmaking that stayed with me weeks after I saw the screening.I was very moved and I cared for these people. Individual perfomances, writing, music, cinematography added up to much more than the sum of their individual ( honest bordering on brilliant)parts. I predict this film is going to change a lot of lives, and do what rap set out to do at it's genisis: wake people up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful