User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 589 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 589
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. guy!
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    This is a masterpiece, no matter what anyone else says. It's great to see that good horror/suspense/sci-fi movies do exist, considering the garbage most contemporary horror films dish out every few weeks. The movie wasn't quite clear on how (possible spoiler) the infected humans had super-strength and agility, but they couldn't be exposed to sunlight either, so I guess it This is a masterpiece, no matter what anyone else says. It's great to see that good horror/suspense/sci-fi movies do exist, considering the garbage most contemporary horror films dish out every few weeks. The movie wasn't quite clear on how (possible spoiler) the infected humans had super-strength and agility, but they couldn't be exposed to sunlight either, so I guess it balances (end spoiler). The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is because of the ending, which came way too quickly and made the whole movie seem too short. Having said that, a must see for everyone who loves Smith. Expand
  2. NigelM.
    Jun 2, 2008
    0
    Terrible rip-off of 28 days later with 10 times the budget, but none of the atmosphere. The script is clunking, Will Smith has none of his usual charm and the CGI ruins it completely. There are some nonsensical bits of talking to shop dummies, which were unintentionally comical, but mostly this is just a dull re-hash of very tired post-world- destruction themes done without flare or imagination.
  3. May 19, 2015
    8
    One of my favorite all time Will Smiths movies. I Am Legend just takes a lot of attention. Will get you hooked in in seconds. The sick are creepy and great. Will Smith just kills the role. Makes it look too realistic
  4. SeanF
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new ending? It sucks,and also makes the film title itself nonsensical. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    "I Am Legend", a horror movie starring Will Smith, could have become a better movie with the idea it pertains. However, all I saw was a monotonous movie where Will Smith was running away from infected zombie-like creatures with a unexplained horrific ending.
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    1
    Will Smith is an especially popular actor who makes particularly bad movies. He is usually serviceable in his performance, but never any good. This film is a remake of the far more enigmatic and entertaining B-movie from the 1970s, Will Smith walks around abandoned Manhattan and tries to survive against heavily CGI vampires. There is no villain. There are no great action sequences. ThereWill Smith is an especially popular actor who makes particularly bad movies. He is usually serviceable in his performance, but never any good. This film is a remake of the far more enigmatic and entertaining B-movie from the 1970s, Will Smith walks around abandoned Manhattan and tries to survive against heavily CGI vampires. There is no villain. There are no great action sequences. There aren't any great lines. It's actually boring. The only part of the movie that was somewhere good was the opening sequence where the US Military has to shoot down the Brooklyn Bridge to quarantine Manhattan because the plague is starting. But that part had nothing to do with the rest of the movie. Expand
  7. Oct 1, 2011
    2
    This movie failed to keep my attention. Not only that the movie became very unrealistic. I watched this movie as it was rated as a vampire movie but it clearly was not.
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    I thought it was good for the most part. The biggest flaw of the movie was that it too far too long to get into. It was solid overall though, The acting was ok and Will Smith's performance did help carry the film during it's boring parts.
  9. MickD.
    Jan 11, 2008
    1
    Worst movie I've seen this year. The quality of Smith's and Sandy's acting was made redundant in my opinion; there are so many holes in the plot it beggars belief. The zombies' depiction is mostly to blame for this because- [***SPOILER***] 1) They haven't the brains to appreciate Smith is trying to cure them, BUT they are able to capture him in an elaborate Worst movie I've seen this year. The quality of Smith's and Sandy's acting was made redundant in my opinion; there are so many holes in the plot it beggars belief. The zombies' depiction is mostly to blame for this because- [***SPOILER***] 1) They haven't the brains to appreciate Smith is trying to cure them, BUT they are able to capture him in an elaborate mannequin hoax/rope loop operation. 2) They are most enthusiastic in their efforts to devour Smith, but are miraculously overpowered by a small South American woman and her son when Will finally loses it and goes Kamikaze. 3) Despite having an insatiable appetite, they regularly overlook the option of eating each other. To be fair, as many friends have pointed out, most of the movies that would appear to have inspired I Am Legend adopt a similar policy of anti-cannibalism amongst zombie societies (28 Days Later, Omega Man), but I personally still view it as an inexplicable flaw. The movie progresses from predictably dull, usually unnecessary confrontations with the locals to nauseating dogmatic metaphor, which includes a cringe-inducing 'argument' between Smith and Anna, in which our hero rejects all hope and reiterates his own personal belief that God is in fact Bob Marley. This confuses Anna enormously since, as she's already tried to explain, she doesn't actually know who Bob Marley is. She goes on to wonder if he's any relation of Damian, thus destroying her own credibility, and any presumed didacticism intended by the movie. Positive points? Hard to find any. The setting was well thought out, New York did look fairly eerie, all overgrown and deserted like it was. The soundtrack was ok, I guess. And the actual concept itself is genius, in my opinion. Sure, its been done before, but I genuinely jumped everytime a zombie showed up; despite its predictability, it will get the heart rate up. They're loud, ugly and notoriously light-footed (when they want to be) and, as such, the debate over the quality of the special effects can be overlooked if necessary. The mediocrity of the movie however, can not. Horrible dialogue, awful plot and sickeningly sanctimonious. Give this one a miss. Expand
  10. TonyB.
    Apr 4, 2008
    3
    A tremendous production design is just about its only virtue...surprisingly boring in spots.
  11. MaxM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Do yourself a favor and don't go see it. I wasted 100 minutes of my life watching Will Smith walking through his house, dating dummies, and driving his van around the city.
  12. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    Not quite as intense as I thought it'd be. The storyline was pretty interesting, not quite as innovative, but not a snooze-fest either. Will Smith was actually really good, especially in a film that has only two other real characters, he demonstrated quite a lot of acting ability. On the other hand, the other 'supporting cast' aka the zombies, were quite disappointing. The visual effectsNot quite as intense as I thought it'd be. The storyline was pretty interesting, not quite as innovative, but not a snooze-fest either. Will Smith was actually really good, especially in a film that has only two other real characters, he demonstrated quite a lot of acting ability. On the other hand, the other 'supporting cast' aka the zombies, were quite disappointing. The visual effects were rather bad, and they looked too fake - digitised, however you want to call it. Just not quite as good as it could have been. Plus, overall, the film does not offer us anything new that any other zombie film before. Not the best of zombie films, but at least it will keep you entertained and watching. More than that one cannot expect, unfortunately. Expand
  13. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    well done and interpreted, a little bit pathetic, not that kind of movie you'd like to watch again (again and again neither). not that thrilling, not that romantic, not that reflexive as the makers probably meant it
  14. Apr 30, 2011
    5
    A decent rework of the novel. The atmosphere was very sad and the creatures were generally pretty creepy. However, the supposedly intentional fright moments are plagued with jump scares, a technique I feel is lazy and over used, especially in modern horror films. Smith is okay. He's not bad, but he's okay. All in all, an adequate flick.
  15. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    AWESOME FILM,LOVED IT-Smith turns in a terrific performance, TOUCHING ACTING, STUNNING visuals
    A GOOD ENTERTAINING FILM BY WILL SMITH!!!Just a great movie -it is my opinion - i really enjoyed it- and add to my favorite film gallery .
  16. Aug 26, 2013
    3
    I was not impressed with "I Am Legend". It is sad and a little boring. My family loves this movie, but Will Smith's role fell flat. Emotional people should not watch this.
  17. JasonP.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Brilliant flick! Will Smith's best performance to date. And love the dog!
  18. DavidB.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is the third time the book I Am Legend has been adapted into a movie (the first being the Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price and the second being the omega man starring charlton heston) and this one is probaly the best although not the truest to the book. However the ending still works, the scenes featuring empty streets and avenues of new york are breathtaking, superb acting This is the third time the book I Am Legend has been adapted into a movie (the first being the Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price and the second being the omega man starring charlton heston) and this one is probaly the best although not the truest to the book. However the ending still works, the scenes featuring empty streets and avenues of new york are breathtaking, superb acting from Will Smith and the dog - excellent portrayal of solitude and despair - and the CGI is pretty awesome. All these things make one awesome epic movie and another great adaption of the book. And to everyone who criticised this movie with untrue low scores, what could of made it better? It is an excellent movie but still, everyone should read the book. The book beats all adaptions, and I hate books and prefer movie adaptions. All in all a pretty tense, thrilling and ultimately excellent movie. Expand
  19. THW
    Jan 2, 2008
    7
    Despite the huge holes in the plot, moderate reliance on CGI, and the annoying detail of how the Ford vehicles are always washed and waxed in this post-apocolyptic world, this film is entertaining and a fun way to pass a couple hours. It's a zombie movie, with a mediocre study on loneliness. Don't expect much more than that and you'll have a great time.
  20. JasonJ.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    The only CGI screw up that I saw was the out-of-place scene with the lions. The female lion appeared real, but the male lion looked extremely fake. So, with that settled, the movie was actually pretty well made. The loneliness and lack-of-human-contact psychosis exhibited by the main character was perhaps the most compelling part of this whole movie. It was unbearable to watch him lose The only CGI screw up that I saw was the out-of-place scene with the lions. The female lion appeared real, but the male lion looked extremely fake. So, with that settled, the movie was actually pretty well made. The loneliness and lack-of-human-contact psychosis exhibited by the main character was perhaps the most compelling part of this whole movie. It was unbearable to watch him lose his only living contact, the German shepherd. Like many reviewers have been saying, the ending of the movie was a bit rushed. They had a real masterpiece, then ventured off into mediocrity. I wonder if it is a function of the pressure to churn movies out as quickly as possible by the studios. It seems like no one wants to put time into making the next Titanic. One last gripe about this movie. Why did the woman at the end have to be so attractive? It's so formulaic. A good movie with a good premise doesn't need a Brazilian cutie to finish it off. Thank God they spared us from a superfluous make-out session with the main character. I thought that it was coming though. Expand
  21. ChrisW.
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    Don't waste your time... In what could have been the greatest movie of this generation... Hollywood and it's money hungry studios ruined it! The absolute, by far, worst CG in a movie since Jumangi. there is nothing more fake than those rabid dogs! This movie was a joke! Will Smith's performance was laughable and deplorable. Although, Sam the dog should win an oscar. That Don't waste your time... In what could have been the greatest movie of this generation... Hollywood and it's money hungry studios ruined it! The absolute, by far, worst CG in a movie since Jumangi. there is nothing more fake than those rabid dogs! This movie was a joke! Will Smith's performance was laughable and deplorable. Although, Sam the dog should win an oscar. That was the greastest dog performance since Lassie. Expand
  22. PatrickB.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I don't know what you all were smoking, its as if you have to have everything spelled out for you. To the guy who asked about electricity, did you not see the generator? I loved this movie, contender for 2007 film of the year.
  23. BraydanB.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Was a fantastic film with great acting. yes the monsters could have been alot better with the use of actual humans, but i thought they did an excellent job
  24. ColR.
    Jan 7, 2008
    6
    I Am Legend is a decent movie. Will Smith gives an excellent performance as Robert Neville in keeping with the theme of the original novel. The final scene in the video store where he begs the manequin to speak to him is brilliant. The story differs quite significantly from Matheson's novel, but this is acceptable due to the fact that much of the original story takes place within the I Am Legend is a decent movie. Will Smith gives an excellent performance as Robert Neville in keeping with the theme of the original novel. The final scene in the video store where he begs the manequin to speak to him is brilliant. The story differs quite significantly from Matheson's novel, but this is acceptable due to the fact that much of the original story takes place within the feelings of the central character and wouldn't have translated well to a movie. The regime of excersize, hunting and isolation in the over-grown NYC is very nice indeed - probably the nicest treatment of this subject matter produced to date - even better than 28 days later. Unfortunately, that's where the praise for the film ends, as it comes with two significant problems. The first is "The Infected". In Matheson's novel, even though the vampires (as they are in the original book) are monsters, motivated by killing the uninfected, they can still reason and eventually develop into a society. In the film, they're nothing more than emaciated humans, similar to the creature from "The Mummy", which neatly dove-tails into the second, and biggest thing going against this movie - the CGI. This is supposed to be a very creepy, unnerving story about a man surrounded by enemies with no way to escape. Blood thirsty monsters who show the ability to reason and to solve problems. Due to the "Mummy-esque" CG, this illusion is totally shattered. The monsters look like something from a second-rate video game and aren't scary, ever. This is a waste of potential on every level - every time the monsters turned their heads around and did their completely inhuman, unbelievable "roar", my heart sunk. CG can be much better than this, Golem from LOTR being a prime example. If only they'd spent the money they should on making the effects work within the movie, this would have been a 9/10. Note should have been taken from Robert Carlyle's stunning performance in 28 weeks later to show how these monsters should have acted (and they *are* different stories using similar worlds, so comparisons would have been fine here) instead of the low budget, hammy, unscary puppets that were used instead. The central enemy (perhaps a tribute to Ben Cortman from the novel) was particularly bad, attempting to create personality from something which was just laughable. A dreadful shame considering how good the rest of the film was - even the performance of Samantha the dog was outstanding. Expand
  25. DanW.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Well done from start to finish. Not really sure what people were looking for in the ending. I left the theatre thinking, "that was a solid ending," yet people are ripping it apart. Confused about that, but overall it was one of the best films of the year for me. It had it's chance to be a typical, feel good story, but it deviated from that and I found the writing to be outstanding. Well done from start to finish. Not really sure what people were looking for in the ending. I left the theatre thinking, "that was a solid ending," yet people are ripping it apart. Confused about that, but overall it was one of the best films of the year for me. It had it's chance to be a typical, feel good story, but it deviated from that and I found the writing to be outstanding. I'm convinced that some people are just haters and had their negative views written down before the movie began. Oh well, if you like movies, go see this. Expand
  26. KenH.
    Mar 20, 2008
    4
    Deeply flawed after the first hour. Really a shame because the movie had enormous potential. Once gets a sense the folks making the movie had no idea what kind of story to tell. The CGI animations are surprisingly bad -- what the heck happened there?
  27. DamienR.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best movies of 2007. The special effects are great, the story is great, the acting by Will Smith is some of the best he's ever delivered and this movie is just generally a thrill ride from start to finish. I also thought the ending was very suitable and cant imagine why it was prone to such criticism when it suited the story so well.
  28. BrianH.
    Apr 2, 2008
    1
    Wow, I wasn't expecting too much and it was even worse than I thought. Every 10 minutes something happens in the script that just baffles me. Pure Hollywood trash and Will Smith is just playing himself again. barf.
  29. EmilyM.
    May 27, 2008
    4
    Fairly entertaining...but very reminiscent of 28 DAYS LATER. Kind of scary with all the zombies hiding in the dark, but the film has quite a few loose ends. HOW did the infection start? The movie starts out with the announcement that there is a cure for cancer, and then suddenly most of the world is dead? How and why is the protagonist immune to the virus? What happened to his wife and Fairly entertaining...but very reminiscent of 28 DAYS LATER. Kind of scary with all the zombies hiding in the dark, but the film has quite a few loose ends. HOW did the infection start? The movie starts out with the announcement that there is a cure for cancer, and then suddenly most of the world is dead? How and why is the protagonist immune to the virus? What happened to his wife and kid? And WHY are there lions and deer running wild around New York City? And why aren't they infected? Shouldn't they be ZOMBIE lions? Weird movie. Kind of pointless, in my opinion. Expand
  30. DuncanM.
    Jun 3, 2008
    4
    Ok, the movie is exciting in parts and the scenes of desolation do more than Will smith could in ten movies to evoke a world emptied. But the book has been butchered folks. This is NOT how the book is! I know screenwriters need to take liberties and "adapt" books to screenplays, but they have really gone to town on this. Other parts that really bring the movie down are developed scenes Ok, the movie is exciting in parts and the scenes of desolation do more than Will smith could in ten movies to evoke a world emptied. But the book has been butchered folks. This is NOT how the book is! I know screenwriters need to take liberties and "adapt" books to screenplays, but they have really gone to town on this. Other parts that really bring the movie down are developed scenes that go nowhere. The nightstalkers are meant to be dumb ravenous animals at a bestial level, or are they... After watching the movie i still don't know, i know what happened in the book. And it wasn't a farcical game of "chase the black man whilst roaring, then set up elaborate traps in their spare time" Overall I'm really disappointed that they didn't incorporate the main twist that was in the book. Read the book , avoid the movie. Expand
  31. AGuy
    Sep 1, 2008
    8
    This film is really good but when compared to the book (which is a masterpiece) you notice the changes a lot. In the book he's alone most of the time as he doesn't even have a dog. The vamps are a lot more human in book. Also if you call this a rip-off of other films it's more or less impossible because it's based on a book. (It's by richard matheson - GET IT!).
  32. TommyC.
    Dec 11, 2007
    6
    Most people rate movies before they come out for fun, I have seen 10's, 9's, and whatever else, and all they say is "I loved it, the best movie of the year!" Those kinds of people judge the movie on its trailer, and to settle the reviews. Well I'm telling you one thing, those people better start getting on track because I'm not rating the movie just because, I'm Most people rate movies before they come out for fun, I have seen 10's, 9's, and whatever else, and all they say is "I loved it, the best movie of the year!" Those kinds of people judge the movie on its trailer, and to settle the reviews. Well I'm telling you one thing, those people better start getting on track because I'm not rating the movie just because, I'm rating it because I saw it. I Am legend, a legendary great movie to end off the year, with its other side by track films: national Treasure: book of secrets, The Golden Compass. I have to say this movie is good, a lot better than most horror movies, it is action-packed, really fun, visually stunning, but I caught up with so many bruises on in this movie quality. It has a complex plot, it winds up with an intense beginning, and leaps into the future with - not dull - but difficult follow through, it rushed itself so that the audience wouldn't be bored with loud and noisy fun. I sure wasn't embarrassed during the show, no on else was, I was quite entertained. Although I was lost at most times, and the aliens were bizarre and torn together to settle the plot down and confuse you with a whole new race existence that mixes your brain through pointless development that made the movie slightly disappointing. But truly it was all right, nothing spectacular, your only in their for about 95 minutes, and I saw it in the IMAX so, this movie isn't that bad of a holiday fulfillment, but it will never be forgettable how wonderful this experience sure was. Expand
  33. BenL
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    I am Legend is an exciting movie. Its glimpse on the future is amazing. Although it is horror/suspense they manage to create humor. Excellent for people who like all sorts of movies, especially scary movies.
  34. DanielD.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    I thought the movie was very well done. Will gave a wonderful performance as Robert Neville.
  35. Chris
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Not really like the book, but good in its own right. Will Smith was pretty believable and the action was heart pounding.
  36. LongL.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    Smith is a really great actor.The first hour of the movie was very attractive.But middle part was not so good.Ending was really powerful.So i think 7 is the best score.
  37. BruceC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    Will Smith saves the world (again) and saves this movie with a surprisingly strong performance. Based on the same short story as Charlton Heston's "The Omega Man", Will plays a scientist trying to find a vaccine to cure a virus that turns humans into mindless zombies. He does a great job with a weak script, and despite his acting and some terrific special effects, the movie falls Will Smith saves the world (again) and saves this movie with a surprisingly strong performance. Based on the same short story as Charlton Heston's "The Omega Man", Will plays a scientist trying to find a vaccine to cure a virus that turns humans into mindless zombies. He does a great job with a weak script, and despite his acting and some terrific special effects, the movie falls apart eventually. An above average 7 out of 10. Expand
  38. DM
    Dec 20, 2007
    7
    Gee, "OMEGA MAN" re-visited 36 years later. Much more competent lead actor, CGI that was not available in 1971, and much more imiginative make-up than was available then as well! Worth a matinee ticket.
  39. Billco
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    I enjoyed about two-thirds of this movie, right up until the piss-poor CG started ruining the show. That was a job for actors in makeup, with a conservative application of top-quality CG to add highlights. The ending also made me want to stab whoever wrote the screenplay in both eyes - they don't deserve to see any movie ever again! It was handled so poorly, it reminded me of _BAD_ I enjoyed about two-thirds of this movie, right up until the piss-poor CG started ruining the show. That was a job for actors in makeup, with a conservative application of top-quality CG to add highlights. The ending also made me want to stab whoever wrote the screenplay in both eyes - they don't deserve to see any movie ever again! It was handled so poorly, it reminded me of _BAD_ B-movie endings - bad as in "I'm going to record Geraldo over this tape". Good things about the movie: it's gorgeous (except for the CG). It has moments of amazingly high tension in its minimalism. Will Smith is still Will Smith, but he fits the role surprisingly well, his lack of emotion actually works in this scenario. The pace was good, the few long droning moments seemed purposeful in adding to the teeth-grinding tension and gloom. The storyline itself held much potential but it could have been better explored with a few more minutes of screen time. This movie wasn't bad at all, but I can't help feeling it could have been so much better! Expand
  40. AndrewK.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    It's one of the best short story movies I've ever saw. I recommend it to everyone who's big fan of short stories.
  41. NicolasS.
    Jan 11, 2008
    5
    I agree the CG stuff was pretty lame... also the super human ability of the infected people. I didn't understand why they had super-power like abilities.
  42. FrancoisL.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    Well, I did not see the original movie, so I can't judge the way others who have seen it did, but I can tell you that it was a very entertaining movie anyway. The story could have been better, then again it's based on an existing story so they did what they could with what they had. The graphics in the movie are defenetly worth it, especialy for those scary zombies. I'm not Well, I did not see the original movie, so I can't judge the way others who have seen it did, but I can tell you that it was a very entertaining movie anyway. The story could have been better, then again it's based on an existing story so they did what they could with what they had. The graphics in the movie are defenetly worth it, especialy for those scary zombies. I'm not a big fan of Will Smith but I would have to say that he is really good in that movie. Bottom line: Give it a shot if you want a good entertainement, but don't expect it to be a classic movie, it's just a good movie with good acting and that's it. Expand
  43. JoeR
    Jan 1, 2008
    5
    The script is incredibly choppy and inconsistent. This film lacks a certain flow almost as if Francis Lawrence doesn't know which direction to take it. I would highly recommend Charlie Wilson's War or Before The Devil Knows Your Dead before Legend.
  44. MichaelT.
    Jan 2, 2008
    8
    I always loved post-apocalyptic movies, and this one takes the cake, and that's not a lie.
  45. jessec
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    i dont wanna hear it i jus saw it a couple of days ago and its the best movie ive seen in years!i love it alonf with every single person i know...the cgi was good smith was good sam was good can they're definately not supposed to be vampires or zombies there diseased humans.....gahh i recommend it to anyone.
  46. LyndellK.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    This movie with Will Smith's performance deserves a 10. The monsters some say were not scary well they were not supposed to be these horrible thing they were people infected by a virus the thought of these soulless shells of what used to be a human had me at the edge the entire time. Then how it showed this man who had lost everything at the edge releasing that all he has are himself This movie with Will Smith's performance deserves a 10. The monsters some say were not scary well they were not supposed to be these horrible thing they were people infected by a virus the thought of these soulless shells of what used to be a human had me at the edge the entire time. Then how it showed this man who had lost everything at the edge releasing that all he has are himself and these In-Human creatures it was amazing. The movie go's from Thriller to Horror to Drama then has an ending that was unexpected and that Greatly Combined all of the genres that went from absolutely nothing anyone could possibly do, too an Amazing miracle happening That left me want to know so much more about the apocalyptic time. the only draw back is i prefer reaL people instead of GFX. great movie 9-10 and one of the best performances i've ever seen by an actor. Expand
  47. LiefS.
    Jan 3, 2008
    3
    horrible cg and ur usual will smith singing along to bob marley moments. the opening scene with the empty time square was the best done part of the movie, if your into movies like these, instead of looking at cgi i-robots with skin, watch 28 days or weeks later, they r both lightyears ahead of this film
  48. DanaM.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    Having read the book I was surprised at how different the movie plot was. But I felt the movie told the better story. Excellent acting by Smith. Special effects were a bonus. Plenty of action and thrills. See it.
  49. Paul
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    The fact that the producers of this film changed the end from that of the book show that they have no understanding of it and so render this film utterly pointless. Such a waste. Also hearing such a wonderful book compared to excrement such as 28 days later should be painful to anyone who has actually read it.
  50. JohnC.
    Jan 5, 2008
    5
    Having not read the book, I dont know if it stays true to the original story, but it seems like of the 4 or 5 possible routes to take, they took the easy way out with the whole zombie retread. Guess the aim was mostly action but the story seemed have more to tell than what I saw.
  51. MarcB
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies i've ever seen. Scary, sad and funny.
  52. JackS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This film is a jump-a-minute thriller for adreneline junkies, sentimental people and pretty much anyone looking for a fun time.
  53. ChrisC
    Jan 9, 2008
    7
    It wasn't THAT bad as some of these cynics are suggesting. But the CG effects were unnecessary in places and the plot was rather predictable. I thought Will Smith did a commendable job carrying the film with quiet intensity performance that is basically anti-Independence Day (even the token dog plays it down). For the best recent attempts at films of this genre I would still choose It wasn't THAT bad as some of these cynics are suggesting. But the CG effects were unnecessary in places and the plot was rather predictable. I thought Will Smith did a commendable job carrying the film with quiet intensity performance that is basically anti-Independence Day (even the token dog plays it down). For the best recent attempts at films of this genre I would still choose 28 Days or Weeks Later over this. But as a Londoner I am biased - our killer zombie making virus is better than yours! Expand
  54. KenM.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Realizes its full potential. Absolutely brilliant cinematography and film-making. First Rate!
  55. Liam
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    I expected this movie to be pretentious and boring, but to my surprise it was actually very good. Will Smith was excellent and the ending, while not really profound, was very good. the one thing i didn't like was the very last scene, which was completely unnecessary, and drew away from a great ending so one point off for the fact that it wasn't absolutely perfect, and another I expected this movie to be pretentious and boring, but to my surprise it was actually very good. Will Smith was excellent and the ending, while not really profound, was very good. the one thing i didn't like was the very last scene, which was completely unnecessary, and drew away from a great ending so one point off for the fact that it wasn't absolutely perfect, and another for that last scene. Expand
  56. AndyM.
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    I thought that this movie had a great concept. I mean, how mind blowing is that, being the last man on earth!? (or at least in NYC) My complaint with this movie was the lack of plot structure. It had some pretty interesting build, with some impressive (yet superfluous) action scenes. But after that, in seems as if the writers only had, like, 30 minutes left and had to wrap things up in a I thought that this movie had a great concept. I mean, how mind blowing is that, being the last man on earth!? (or at least in NYC) My complaint with this movie was the lack of plot structure. It had some pretty interesting build, with some impressive (yet superfluous) action scenes. But after that, in seems as if the writers only had, like, 30 minutes left and had to wrap things up in a rushed conclusion. The characters which appears later were made important RIGHT at the conclusion, leaving the viewer feeling empty. When the action does come, it is quite exciting (and please, the effects are great. Seriously). Will Smith is outstanding, but it's a shame that the writers weren't. This movie is definitely worth seeing, just... it really could've been better. Expand
  57. JayH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    8
    Awesome special effects a feel for the near future. Believably done, genuinely scary, great pace and very tense throughout the first hour, it bogs down a bit after that, but it is a powerful and compelling film. It can be disturbing as well.
  58. HeatherB.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. I thought it was a nice blend of comedy and drama with a little action thrown in. People who did not like the movie Cast Away will not like this movie.
  59. Phil
    Mar 1, 2008
    7
    Thrilling; no disappointments in that area, but any ticket holder could tell you the plot was horribly unoriginal. The "infected" could've been a tad more gruesome as well.
  60. JonH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    8
    Not a GOOD movie but a really FUN movie.
  61. ThatemW.
    Mar 24, 2008
    8
    This was a great movie. Loved the whole thing. Ending could be better, but it was still pretty good. CG was really good too.
  62. ColinC.
    Mar 25, 2008
    8
    Very enjoyable film. Some of the crits left me with lower expectations, but it really was a very good film. I found the premise quite believable, which made it all the scarier, and the effects were very well done. And I thought they did a good job keeping the story interesting. Definitely recommend it.
  63. DaleE.
    Mar 20, 2008
    8
    This movie was Awesome, with great special effects, and an eerie look at New York in the future. The ending was not as good, but the alternate one looks cool from the Trailers!
  64. GeorgeN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    What an amazing movie! I read the book and enjoyed it but this movie not only expanded upon some of the original concepts but gave it much greater depth. It was obvious by reading the book that the author had a limited understanding of human physiology but this movie was put together with a much more realistic approach. I am very excited for the DVD release!
  65. BladeU.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    A zombie flick for anyone, including those who can't handle the gore of the Resident Evil Antagonists. I Am Legend amazes viewers, a story that can be enjoyed by anyone even with only one main character. It wows audiences with it's remodeled post-apocalypse environment. The Flash-back-filled story line thrilled me and I'm sure it will thrill most audiences. Bravo I Am Legend.
  66. Adev
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    Good movie but bit weird at times I guess thats why its a sci fi.
  67. FurduiA.
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    Take all the bad zombie movies, put them toghether, add some new technologies and some good actors and you'll get to "I am legend", which is a great movie. It has only one weak spot - when Will is saved from the gazillion zombies by one lady and her kid :))) In the next evening you'll see that all the lights, bombs and other devices placed around Will's house are unable to Take all the bad zombie movies, put them toghether, add some new technologies and some good actors and you'll get to "I am legend", which is a great movie. It has only one weak spot - when Will is saved from the gazillion zombies by one lady and her kid :))) In the next evening you'll see that all the lights, bombs and other devices placed around Will's house are unable to keep the zombies away, but apparently the night before they had a headacke and the Rambo lady kicked their asses. Expand
  68. JiaqiC.
    May 19, 2008
    8
    The alienation and fear experienced by Robert Neville is brilliantly projected (to great effect) in the first half...then it unfortunately deteriorates into a mindless action film.
  69. Annoymous
    Jul 7, 2008
    4
    Not as good as I expected to be. It was too short and the ending is terrible and unsatisfying. Really overrated. Also the CGI effects were unimpressive.
  70. TWood
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    Great acting from Will Smith and plenty of edge of the seat (as well as poignant) moments. Overall, an entertaining and emotional journey.
  71. alkebulanp
    May 29, 2009
    2
    A total waste of smith's talent. ur basic night creatures from hell re-make w little imagination or creativity on display. too many scenes filmed in near total darkness, but then, there's little illumination in the entire film.
  72. MarianS
    Aug 4, 2009
    5
    Fairly entertaining, though it deviated widely from the source material.
  73. JayD.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Edy C...please learn the English language before writing another review.
  74. JohnJ.
    Dec 12, 2007
    0
    I cannot believe people think that Will Smith can act. He is ridiculous in this movie. Being in shape and being able to run at lot, does not mean one can act. Get a grip. I thought it'd be exciting and cuting edge like Children of Men was last year, but it was so lame. If you've seen the trailer, don't waste your time, that's better than the movie.
  75. Dane
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I thought it was good movie. Good effects and overall the movie reminds me a bit of 28 weeks/days later.
  76. LouisCC.
    Dec 16, 2007
    8
    Surprisingly entertaining. Didn't expect much, but it's actually quite good in spite of being done many times before.
  77. NickA.
    Dec 16, 2007
    7
    In his sophomore offering, director Francis Lawrence (who debuted with 2005
  78. RubinM.
    Dec 17, 2007
    1
    The movie sucked. Its a good thing that didn't paid for it. But, either way I spent 90min of my life watching this stupid movie, therefore, I'm thinking about seeking some sort of reparation from Paramount Pictures.
  79. WillH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Pay attention to amplitude in reviews. This is a kind of movie that some people would love and some would love to hate. If you don't want to watch a horror film with zombies, simply do not go. In any other way, it's a wonderful piece with superior everything - acting, artist work, gfx, and good story.
  80. CloydE.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    I don't know what people really look for in movies , I have read most of the reviews and some of them I was really surprise at some of there comments. Will Smith did well, when I go to a movie I don't expect very thing to each up to all of my expectation but I do want to to really enjoy the movie. If a movie is bad to me it's because it was total out of text form what I I don't know what people really look for in movies , I have read most of the reviews and some of them I was really surprise at some of there comments. Will Smith did well, when I go to a movie I don't expect very thing to each up to all of my expectation but I do want to to really enjoy the movie. If a movie is bad to me it's because it was total out of text form what I thought it would be like. The movie was good , the man played the part well and all the other action effects did just what they were suppose to do, what more do you want Some people just don't want to give credit where credit is due. Expand
  81. FannieC.
    Dec 18, 2007
    8
    This is a very good movie... I went throw different type of emotion! Will Smith is very good!
  82. KennethM.
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    A potentially jaw dropping movie utterly destroyed by the most aweful revisionest ending it has ever been my misfortune to witness.
  83. willsucks
    Dec 19, 2007
    0
    What a stinker , not worth a penny to go see . I was so bored , yawn not even worth my review.
  84. NickM
    Dec 19, 2007
    6
    I really wanted to enjoy this movie, but it had so many shortcomings. It started really well but then kind of dwindled. There were several times in this movie where I expected some more info but never got it. Like, how did the creatures set that trap? Aren't they supposed to not be human at all any more? I just had questions that were created but never answered. This movie could have I really wanted to enjoy this movie, but it had so many shortcomings. It started really well but then kind of dwindled. There were several times in this movie where I expected some more info but never got it. Like, how did the creatures set that trap? Aren't they supposed to not be human at all any more? I just had questions that were created but never answered. This movie could have had so much more depth with a little more work, but it just wasn't there. It all felt kind of shallow at the end. Expand
  85. AndrijaP.
    Dec 20, 2007
    6
    Fun to watch but full of movie-ruining plot holes and consistency issues (think about the ending for instance), this movie would not have been worth it without Smith's amazing performance.
  86. JoshC
    Dec 20, 2007
    8
    Very good movie I find. This is probably the only movie that made me jumpy. The surprise scenes will get you jumping out of your seat unexpectingly. The one scene in the dark creepy building was intense as well. However the only problem that kind of annoyed me in this movie were the monsters, they seemed a bit fake obviously...but overall I really like this movie it was unexpecting story Very good movie I find. This is probably the only movie that made me jumpy. The surprise scenes will get you jumping out of your seat unexpectingly. The one scene in the dark creepy building was intense as well. However the only problem that kind of annoyed me in this movie were the monsters, they seemed a bit fake obviously...but overall I really like this movie it was unexpecting story but very good. I think its a must watch if you want a thrill or get intense. Expand
  87. RobertI.
    Dec 25, 2007
    6
    Entertaining, but not as deeply scary as the original. Does anyone remember Omega Man with Charlton Heston, one of the creepiest films ever made? A real nightmare maker.
  88. KH.
    Dec 25, 2007
    7
    If you keep your expecations low, you'll enjoy this movie. After a strong beginning, the writers lose their way and we end up with a very formulaic and underwhelming ending. Characters are introduced that are irrelevant and creatures are introduced that are not sufficiently conveyed. The CGI of the creatures is unusually poor and the movie makers deserve lots of criticism for that. If you keep your expecations low, you'll enjoy this movie. After a strong beginning, the writers lose their way and we end up with a very formulaic and underwhelming ending. Characters are introduced that are irrelevant and creatures are introduced that are not sufficiently conveyed. The CGI of the creatures is unusually poor and the movie makers deserve lots of criticism for that. Fun movie, but only if you turn your brain completely off. Expand
  89. PeterO.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Warning: People who digged Transformers (and such High Octane - Emotionless movies) do not bother with I Am Legend, because it's not for you.
  90. JasonC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    Will Smith was disappointing, I was leaving the theater wanting more from what seemed to have Epic possibilities. Although there were parts that did not make sense, like how did his water work? and how did his electricity work? I thought the film could have been saved if they would have gotten someone with greater acting chops to consume most of the individual dialog, Smith as Neville was Will Smith was disappointing, I was leaving the theater wanting more from what seemed to have Epic possibilities. Although there were parts that did not make sense, like how did his water work? and how did his electricity work? I thought the film could have been saved if they would have gotten someone with greater acting chops to consume most of the individual dialog, Smith as Neville was not convincing for the majority of the film with no other actors , only certain actors can pull this off and be succussful, via Tom Hanks (Cast Away),Kevin Costner(Dances with Wolves) off the top of my head come to mind, but with this film I was concerned about Smith, and I thought he was dissapointing. Expand
  91. DominickM
    Dec 29, 2007
    1
    bad CGI bad acting terrible story
  92. MP
    Dec 30, 2007
    2
    Ok up until three quarters of the way through. Then, it just looses its bottle. Why don't people maiking these 'films based on a book' stick to the original narrative more closely. Don't waste you money on going to the cinema to watch this, buy the book instead its a million and one times better!
  93. RusselS1
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Im from Russia, Siberia! Super movie! Stupid americans, go eat gamburgers! Will Smith respect!
  94. ChrisM.
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    Excellent acting by Will Smith, Really brought you into the mood of the movie.
  95. PaulaD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    This movie will satisfy those who like sci-fi and action movies with an entertaining plot and beautiful scenery.
  96. lulufry
    Jan 13, 2008
    1
    boring, illogical movie with a pompous title. total swiss cheese. stole my money.
  97. JohnD.
    Jan 13, 2008
    6
    This movie was okay. It is not something I would chose to see again though. It started out great with the exception of obvious CGI (things didn't blend in properly) and started off the plot well. Once things started to get going it was a downhill roller coaster ride that went 1 mph. It was scary but you knew when things would pop out. The fact the zombies were superman didn't This movie was okay. It is not something I would chose to see again though. It started out great with the exception of obvious CGI (things didn't blend in properly) and started off the plot well. Once things started to get going it was a downhill roller coaster ride that went 1 mph. It was scary but you knew when things would pop out. The fact the zombies were superman didn't help the movie out either, I don't think a virus can make a human jump 50 feet into the air and run at 100 mph without making much noise, same goes with screaming across the entire city. The ending was probably the worst of it all. It just seemed like the writers got stuck on what to stick in and threw something a 5 year old thought up. It was unbelievably cheesy and the fact that hiding in a little room with a weak little door will save you from the explosion of a grenade and more zombies that are most likely outside of the room. There were a couple other things I was please with in the movie though. The fact that Will Smith wasn't god and had 100000 bullets that came out of a gun that fired perfectly accurate and shooting it with one hand please me. BUT the gun also was also made wrong. 1) It didn't have any noticeable recoil. 2) It fired at the rate of a bolt action rifle. 3) The value of the gun being nothing. In a scene after he expends the cartridge in his weapon he throws the whole thing down and ends up with basically nothing other than his 100000 pistols he has around his home. The grenade he used was also wrong as a grenade doesn't have a blast like which was shown and it was also a fragmentation grenade, which doesn't kill by it's explosives but by the shards of metal which slice through flesh like a knife and butter. Expand
  98. JeffJ.
    Jan 13, 2008
    8
    Not wholly satisfying nor really disappointing, I Am Legend is a pretty impressive one-man show by Smith. It would be hard to portray Smith's character as lonely as Tom Hank's "Cast Away" lead - after all, being alone in NYC (with or without cannibalistic mutants) would be very different than being alone on an island. Smith thinks all other normal people are probably dead but he Not wholly satisfying nor really disappointing, I Am Legend is a pretty impressive one-man show by Smith. It would be hard to portray Smith's character as lonely as Tom Hank's "Cast Away" lead - after all, being alone in NYC (with or without cannibalistic mutants) would be very different than being alone on an island. Smith thinks all other normal people are probably dead but he keeps on hoping, whereas Hanks knew the rest of the world was out there but had little power or hope to ever rejoin his old life. Still, Legend was entertaining and a quite worthwhile was to spend two hours. Expand
  99. RobertS.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting skills of Will Smith and some thoughtful direction. The only things that seperate this film from a perfect ten rating are the slightly frustrating ending Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting skills of Will Smith and some thoughtful direction. The only things that seperate this film from a perfect ten rating are the slightly frustrating ending (not because of a certain death, but because the village on uninfected seemed too convinient. It should have been overrun, thus showing the failiar of the human race.), and the length of the film. It should have been longer, the opening scenes are beautiful and the relationship between Smith and his dog works perfectly, emphesising the fact that the dog, Sam and his music are all that root him to humanity. Anyway, definate buy. Expand
  100. Saskia
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    A splendid melancolic movie with a strong after-effect and brillant lasting images
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Smith, sporting a newly buffed physique, delivers an extraordinary performance as a man slowly coming unglued under the strain of no human contact and a constantly alternating role of hunter and prey.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Remarkably eerie yet annoyingly larded with cheap horror-film shock effects, I Am Legend stands as an effective but also irksome adaptation of Richard Matheson's classic 1954 sci-fi novel.
  3. The first two thirds and change of I Am Legend is terrific mindless fun: crackerjack action with gnashing vampires barely glimpsed (and scarier for that) and how’d-they-do-that New York locations that retroactively justify the traffic jams.