I Am Legend

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 613 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 613

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. guy!
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    This is a masterpiece, no matter what anyone else says. It's great to see that good horror/suspense/sci-fi movies do exist, considering the garbage most contemporary horror films dish out every few weeks. The movie wasn't quite clear on how (possible spoiler) the infected humans had super-strength and agility, but they couldn't be exposed to sunlight either, so I guess it This is a masterpiece, no matter what anyone else says. It's great to see that good horror/suspense/sci-fi movies do exist, considering the garbage most contemporary horror films dish out every few weeks. The movie wasn't quite clear on how (possible spoiler) the infected humans had super-strength and agility, but they couldn't be exposed to sunlight either, so I guess it balances (end spoiler). The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is because of the ending, which came way too quickly and made the whole movie seem too short. Having said that, a must see for everyone who loves Smith. Expand
  2. May 19, 2015
    8
    One of my favorite all time Will Smiths movies. I Am Legend just takes a lot of attention. Will get you hooked in in seconds. The sick are creepy and great. Will Smith just kills the role. Makes it look too realistic
  3. SeanF
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new ending? It sucks,and also makes the film title itself nonsensical. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    I thought it was good for the most part. The biggest flaw of the movie was that it too far too long to get into. It was solid overall though, The acting was ok and Will Smith's performance did help carry the film during it's boring parts.
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    AWESOME FILM,LOVED IT-Smith turns in a terrific performance, TOUCHING ACTING, STUNNING visuals
    A GOOD ENTERTAINING FILM BY WILL SMITH!!!Just a great movie -it is my opinion - i really enjoyed it- and add to my favorite film gallery .
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Virtually any movie Will Smith is starring in, the movie and his own performances is of A standard and this is not excluding I Am Legend. Robert Neville the main protagonist played by Will, is a scientist globally recognised, but not even he could contain the petrifying virus at has appeared to be unstoppable. The mystery behind his immunity is unidentified but what is clear is he's "TheVirtually any movie Will Smith is starring in, the movie and his own performances is of A standard and this is not excluding I Am Legend. Robert Neville the main protagonist played by Will, is a scientist globally recognised, but not even he could contain the petrifying virus at has appeared to be unstoppable. The mystery behind his immunity is unidentified but what is clear is he's "The last man on earth". After a Cancer cure gone wrong it has transformed those injected with the so called vaccine into infected man eaters who have hunted down almost every human remaining. By the time the sun rises its safe due to the infected unable to appear under the sun for unknown reasons but once the sun begins to falls the "zombies" of more intelligences seen before hunt for any life form to eat. In the end it is up to Robert Neville to find the cure in an attempt to save the remaining world. A true classic and must watch for all Zombie fans. Expand
  7. JasonP.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Brilliant flick! Will Smith's best performance to date. And love the dog!
  8. DavidB.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is the third time the book I Am Legend has been adapted into a movie (the first being the Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price and the second being the omega man starring charlton heston) and this one is probaly the best although not the truest to the book. However the ending still works, the scenes featuring empty streets and avenues of new york are breathtaking, superb acting This is the third time the book I Am Legend has been adapted into a movie (the first being the Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price and the second being the omega man starring charlton heston) and this one is probaly the best although not the truest to the book. However the ending still works, the scenes featuring empty streets and avenues of new york are breathtaking, superb acting from Will Smith and the dog - excellent portrayal of solitude and despair - and the CGI is pretty awesome. All these things make one awesome epic movie and another great adaption of the book. And to everyone who criticised this movie with untrue low scores, what could of made it better? It is an excellent movie but still, everyone should read the book. The book beats all adaptions, and I hate books and prefer movie adaptions. All in all a pretty tense, thrilling and ultimately excellent movie. Expand
  9. THW
    Jan 2, 2008
    7
    Despite the huge holes in the plot, moderate reliance on CGI, and the annoying detail of how the Ford vehicles are always washed and waxed in this post-apocolyptic world, this film is entertaining and a fun way to pass a couple hours. It's a zombie movie, with a mediocre study on loneliness. Don't expect much more than that and you'll have a great time.
  10. JasonJ.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    The only CGI screw up that I saw was the out-of-place scene with the lions. The female lion appeared real, but the male lion looked extremely fake. So, with that settled, the movie was actually pretty well made. The loneliness and lack-of-human-contact psychosis exhibited by the main character was perhaps the most compelling part of this whole movie. It was unbearable to watch him lose The only CGI screw up that I saw was the out-of-place scene with the lions. The female lion appeared real, but the male lion looked extremely fake. So, with that settled, the movie was actually pretty well made. The loneliness and lack-of-human-contact psychosis exhibited by the main character was perhaps the most compelling part of this whole movie. It was unbearable to watch him lose his only living contact, the German shepherd. Like many reviewers have been saying, the ending of the movie was a bit rushed. They had a real masterpiece, then ventured off into mediocrity. I wonder if it is a function of the pressure to churn movies out as quickly as possible by the studios. It seems like no one wants to put time into making the next Titanic. One last gripe about this movie. Why did the woman at the end have to be so attractive? It's so formulaic. A good movie with a good premise doesn't need a Brazilian cutie to finish it off. Thank God they spared us from a superfluous make-out session with the main character. I thought that it was coming though. Expand
  11. PatrickB.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I don't know what you all were smoking, its as if you have to have everything spelled out for you. To the guy who asked about electricity, did you not see the generator? I loved this movie, contender for 2007 film of the year.
  12. BraydanB.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Was a fantastic film with great acting. yes the monsters could have been alot better with the use of actual humans, but i thought they did an excellent job
  13. DanW.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Well done from start to finish. Not really sure what people were looking for in the ending. I left the theatre thinking, "that was a solid ending," yet people are ripping it apart. Confused about that, but overall it was one of the best films of the year for me. It had it's chance to be a typical, feel good story, but it deviated from that and I found the writing to be outstanding. Well done from start to finish. Not really sure what people were looking for in the ending. I left the theatre thinking, "that was a solid ending," yet people are ripping it apart. Confused about that, but overall it was one of the best films of the year for me. It had it's chance to be a typical, feel good story, but it deviated from that and I found the writing to be outstanding. I'm convinced that some people are just haters and had their negative views written down before the movie began. Oh well, if you like movies, go see this. Expand
  14. DamienR.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best movies of 2007. The special effects are great, the story is great, the acting by Will Smith is some of the best he's ever delivered and this movie is just generally a thrill ride from start to finish. I also thought the ending was very suitable and cant imagine why it was prone to such criticism when it suited the story so well.
  15. AGuy
    Sep 1, 2008
    8
    This film is really good but when compared to the book (which is a masterpiece) you notice the changes a lot. In the book he's alone most of the time as he doesn't even have a dog. The vamps are a lot more human in book. Also if you call this a rip-off of other films it's more or less impossible because it's based on a book. (It's by richard matheson - GET IT!).
  16. BenL
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    I am Legend is an exciting movie. Its glimpse on the future is amazing. Although it is horror/suspense they manage to create humor. Excellent for people who like all sorts of movies, especially scary movies.
  17. DanielD.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    I thought the movie was very well done. Will gave a wonderful performance as Robert Neville.
  18. Chris
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Not really like the book, but good in its own right. Will Smith was pretty believable and the action was heart pounding.
  19. LongL.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    Smith is a really great actor.The first hour of the movie was very attractive.But middle part was not so good.Ending was really powerful.So i think 7 is the best score.
  20. BruceC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    Will Smith saves the world (again) and saves this movie with a surprisingly strong performance. Based on the same short story as Charlton Heston's "The Omega Man", Will plays a scientist trying to find a vaccine to cure a virus that turns humans into mindless zombies. He does a great job with a weak script, and despite his acting and some terrific special effects, the movie falls Will Smith saves the world (again) and saves this movie with a surprisingly strong performance. Based on the same short story as Charlton Heston's "The Omega Man", Will plays a scientist trying to find a vaccine to cure a virus that turns humans into mindless zombies. He does a great job with a weak script, and despite his acting and some terrific special effects, the movie falls apart eventually. An above average 7 out of 10. Expand
  21. DM
    Dec 20, 2007
    7
    Gee, "OMEGA MAN" re-visited 36 years later. Much more competent lead actor, CGI that was not available in 1971, and much more imiginative make-up than was available then as well! Worth a matinee ticket.
  22. AndrewK.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    It's one of the best short story movies I've ever saw. I recommend it to everyone who's big fan of short stories.
  23. FrancoisL.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    Well, I did not see the original movie, so I can't judge the way others who have seen it did, but I can tell you that it was a very entertaining movie anyway. The story could have been better, then again it's based on an existing story so they did what they could with what they had. The graphics in the movie are defenetly worth it, especialy for those scary zombies. I'm not Well, I did not see the original movie, so I can't judge the way others who have seen it did, but I can tell you that it was a very entertaining movie anyway. The story could have been better, then again it's based on an existing story so they did what they could with what they had. The graphics in the movie are defenetly worth it, especialy for those scary zombies. I'm not a big fan of Will Smith but I would have to say that he is really good in that movie. Bottom line: Give it a shot if you want a good entertainement, but don't expect it to be a classic movie, it's just a good movie with good acting and that's it. Expand
  24. MichaelT.
    Jan 2, 2008
    8
    I always loved post-apocalyptic movies, and this one takes the cake, and that's not a lie.
  25. jessec
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    i dont wanna hear it i jus saw it a couple of days ago and its the best movie ive seen in years!i love it alonf with every single person i know...the cgi was good smith was good sam was good can they're definately not supposed to be vampires or zombies there diseased humans.....gahh i recommend it to anyone.
  26. LyndellK.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    This movie with Will Smith's performance deserves a 10. The monsters some say were not scary well they were not supposed to be these horrible thing they were people infected by a virus the thought of these soulless shells of what used to be a human had me at the edge the entire time. Then how it showed this man who had lost everything at the edge releasing that all he has are himself This movie with Will Smith's performance deserves a 10. The monsters some say were not scary well they were not supposed to be these horrible thing they were people infected by a virus the thought of these soulless shells of what used to be a human had me at the edge the entire time. Then how it showed this man who had lost everything at the edge releasing that all he has are himself and these In-Human creatures it was amazing. The movie go's from Thriller to Horror to Drama then has an ending that was unexpected and that Greatly Combined all of the genres that went from absolutely nothing anyone could possibly do, too an Amazing miracle happening That left me want to know so much more about the apocalyptic time. the only draw back is i prefer reaL people instead of GFX. great movie 9-10 and one of the best performances i've ever seen by an actor. Expand
  27. DanaM.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    Having read the book I was surprised at how different the movie plot was. But I felt the movie told the better story. Excellent acting by Smith. Special effects were a bonus. Plenty of action and thrills. See it.
  28. MarcB
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies i've ever seen. Scary, sad and funny.
  29. JackS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This film is a jump-a-minute thriller for adreneline junkies, sentimental people and pretty much anyone looking for a fun time.
  30. ChrisC
    Jan 9, 2008
    7
    It wasn't THAT bad as some of these cynics are suggesting. But the CG effects were unnecessary in places and the plot was rather predictable. I thought Will Smith did a commendable job carrying the film with quiet intensity performance that is basically anti-Independence Day (even the token dog plays it down). For the best recent attempts at films of this genre I would still choose It wasn't THAT bad as some of these cynics are suggesting. But the CG effects were unnecessary in places and the plot was rather predictable. I thought Will Smith did a commendable job carrying the film with quiet intensity performance that is basically anti-Independence Day (even the token dog plays it down). For the best recent attempts at films of this genre I would still choose 28 Days or Weeks Later over this. But as a Londoner I am biased - our killer zombie making virus is better than yours! Expand
  31. KenM.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Realizes its full potential. Absolutely brilliant cinematography and film-making. First Rate!
  32. Liam
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    I expected this movie to be pretentious and boring, but to my surprise it was actually very good. Will Smith was excellent and the ending, while not really profound, was very good. the one thing i didn't like was the very last scene, which was completely unnecessary, and drew away from a great ending so one point off for the fact that it wasn't absolutely perfect, and another I expected this movie to be pretentious and boring, but to my surprise it was actually very good. Will Smith was excellent and the ending, while not really profound, was very good. the one thing i didn't like was the very last scene, which was completely unnecessary, and drew away from a great ending so one point off for the fact that it wasn't absolutely perfect, and another for that last scene. Expand
  33. AndyM.
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    I thought that this movie had a great concept. I mean, how mind blowing is that, being the last man on earth!? (or at least in NYC) My complaint with this movie was the lack of plot structure. It had some pretty interesting build, with some impressive (yet superfluous) action scenes. But after that, in seems as if the writers only had, like, 30 minutes left and had to wrap things up in a I thought that this movie had a great concept. I mean, how mind blowing is that, being the last man on earth!? (or at least in NYC) My complaint with this movie was the lack of plot structure. It had some pretty interesting build, with some impressive (yet superfluous) action scenes. But after that, in seems as if the writers only had, like, 30 minutes left and had to wrap things up in a rushed conclusion. The characters which appears later were made important RIGHT at the conclusion, leaving the viewer feeling empty. When the action does come, it is quite exciting (and please, the effects are great. Seriously). Will Smith is outstanding, but it's a shame that the writers weren't. This movie is definitely worth seeing, just... it really could've been better. Expand
  34. JayH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    8
    Awesome special effects a feel for the near future. Believably done, genuinely scary, great pace and very tense throughout the first hour, it bogs down a bit after that, but it is a powerful and compelling film. It can be disturbing as well.
  35. HeatherB.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. I thought it was a nice blend of comedy and drama with a little action thrown in. People who did not like the movie Cast Away will not like this movie.
  36. Phil
    Mar 1, 2008
    7
    Thrilling; no disappointments in that area, but any ticket holder could tell you the plot was horribly unoriginal. The "infected" could've been a tad more gruesome as well.
  37. JonH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    8
    Not a GOOD movie but a really FUN movie.
  38. ThatemW.
    Mar 24, 2008
    8
    This was a great movie. Loved the whole thing. Ending could be better, but it was still pretty good. CG was really good too.
  39. ColinC.
    Mar 25, 2008
    8
    Very enjoyable film. Some of the crits left me with lower expectations, but it really was a very good film. I found the premise quite believable, which made it all the scarier, and the effects were very well done. And I thought they did a good job keeping the story interesting. Definitely recommend it.
  40. DaleE.
    Mar 20, 2008
    8
    This movie was Awesome, with great special effects, and an eerie look at New York in the future. The ending was not as good, but the alternate one looks cool from the Trailers!
  41. GeorgeN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    What an amazing movie! I read the book and enjoyed it but this movie not only expanded upon some of the original concepts but gave it much greater depth. It was obvious by reading the book that the author had a limited understanding of human physiology but this movie was put together with a much more realistic approach. I am very excited for the DVD release!
  42. BladeU.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    A zombie flick for anyone, including those who can't handle the gore of the Resident Evil Antagonists. I Am Legend amazes viewers, a story that can be enjoyed by anyone even with only one main character. It wows audiences with it's remodeled post-apocalypse environment. The Flash-back-filled story line thrilled me and I'm sure it will thrill most audiences. Bravo I Am Legend.
  43. Adev
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    Good movie but bit weird at times I guess thats why its a sci fi.
  44. FurduiA.
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    Take all the bad zombie movies, put them toghether, add some new technologies and some good actors and you'll get to "I am legend", which is a great movie. It has only one weak spot - when Will is saved from the gazillion zombies by one lady and her kid :))) In the next evening you'll see that all the lights, bombs and other devices placed around Will's house are unable to Take all the bad zombie movies, put them toghether, add some new technologies and some good actors and you'll get to "I am legend", which is a great movie. It has only one weak spot - when Will is saved from the gazillion zombies by one lady and her kid :))) In the next evening you'll see that all the lights, bombs and other devices placed around Will's house are unable to keep the zombies away, but apparently the night before they had a headacke and the Rambo lady kicked their asses. Expand
  45. JiaqiC.
    May 19, 2008
    8
    The alienation and fear experienced by Robert Neville is brilliantly projected (to great effect) in the first half...then it unfortunately deteriorates into a mindless action film.
  46. TWood
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    Great acting from Will Smith and plenty of edge of the seat (as well as poignant) moments. Overall, an entertaining and emotional journey.
  47. JayD.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Edy C...please learn the English language before writing another review.
  48. Dane
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I thought it was good movie. Good effects and overall the movie reminds me a bit of 28 weeks/days later.
  49. LouisCC.
    Dec 16, 2007
    8
    Surprisingly entertaining. Didn't expect much, but it's actually quite good in spite of being done many times before.
  50. NickA.
    Dec 16, 2007
    7
    In his sophomore offering, director Francis Lawrence (who debuted with 2005
  51. WillH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Pay attention to amplitude in reviews. This is a kind of movie that some people would love and some would love to hate. If you don't want to watch a horror film with zombies, simply do not go. In any other way, it's a wonderful piece with superior everything - acting, artist work, gfx, and good story.
  52. CloydE.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    I don't know what people really look for in movies , I have read most of the reviews and some of them I was really surprise at some of there comments. Will Smith did well, when I go to a movie I don't expect very thing to each up to all of my expectation but I do want to to really enjoy the movie. If a movie is bad to me it's because it was total out of text form what I I don't know what people really look for in movies , I have read most of the reviews and some of them I was really surprise at some of there comments. Will Smith did well, when I go to a movie I don't expect very thing to each up to all of my expectation but I do want to to really enjoy the movie. If a movie is bad to me it's because it was total out of text form what I thought it would be like. The movie was good , the man played the part well and all the other action effects did just what they were suppose to do, what more do you want Some people just don't want to give credit where credit is due. Expand
  53. FannieC.
    Dec 18, 2007
    8
    This is a very good movie... I went throw different type of emotion! Will Smith is very good!
  54. KennethM.
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    A potentially jaw dropping movie utterly destroyed by the most aweful revisionest ending it has ever been my misfortune to witness.
  55. JoshC
    Dec 20, 2007
    8
    Very good movie I find. This is probably the only movie that made me jumpy. The surprise scenes will get you jumping out of your seat unexpectingly. The one scene in the dark creepy building was intense as well. However the only problem that kind of annoyed me in this movie were the monsters, they seemed a bit fake obviously...but overall I really like this movie it was unexpecting story Very good movie I find. This is probably the only movie that made me jumpy. The surprise scenes will get you jumping out of your seat unexpectingly. The one scene in the dark creepy building was intense as well. However the only problem that kind of annoyed me in this movie were the monsters, they seemed a bit fake obviously...but overall I really like this movie it was unexpecting story but very good. I think its a must watch if you want a thrill or get intense. Expand
  56. KH.
    Dec 25, 2007
    7
    If you keep your expecations low, you'll enjoy this movie. After a strong beginning, the writers lose their way and we end up with a very formulaic and underwhelming ending. Characters are introduced that are irrelevant and creatures are introduced that are not sufficiently conveyed. The CGI of the creatures is unusually poor and the movie makers deserve lots of criticism for that. If you keep your expecations low, you'll enjoy this movie. After a strong beginning, the writers lose their way and we end up with a very formulaic and underwhelming ending. Characters are introduced that are irrelevant and creatures are introduced that are not sufficiently conveyed. The CGI of the creatures is unusually poor and the movie makers deserve lots of criticism for that. Fun movie, but only if you turn your brain completely off. Expand
  57. PeterO.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Warning: People who digged Transformers (and such High Octane - Emotionless movies) do not bother with I Am Legend, because it's not for you.
  58. RusselS1
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Im from Russia, Siberia! Super movie! Stupid americans, go eat gamburgers! Will Smith respect!
  59. ChrisM.
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    Excellent acting by Will Smith, Really brought you into the mood of the movie.
  60. PaulaD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    This movie will satisfy those who like sci-fi and action movies with an entertaining plot and beautiful scenery.
  61. JeffJ.
    Jan 13, 2008
    8
    Not wholly satisfying nor really disappointing, I Am Legend is a pretty impressive one-man show by Smith. It would be hard to portray Smith's character as lonely as Tom Hank's "Cast Away" lead - after all, being alone in NYC (with or without cannibalistic mutants) would be very different than being alone on an island. Smith thinks all other normal people are probably dead but he Not wholly satisfying nor really disappointing, I Am Legend is a pretty impressive one-man show by Smith. It would be hard to portray Smith's character as lonely as Tom Hank's "Cast Away" lead - after all, being alone in NYC (with or without cannibalistic mutants) would be very different than being alone on an island. Smith thinks all other normal people are probably dead but he keeps on hoping, whereas Hanks knew the rest of the world was out there but had little power or hope to ever rejoin his old life. Still, Legend was entertaining and a quite worthwhile was to spend two hours. Expand
  62. RobertS.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting skills of Will Smith and some thoughtful direction. The only things that seperate this film from a perfect ten rating are the slightly frustrating ending Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting skills of Will Smith and some thoughtful direction. The only things that seperate this film from a perfect ten rating are the slightly frustrating ending (not because of a certain death, but because the village on uninfected seemed too convinient. It should have been overrun, thus showing the failiar of the human race.), and the length of the film. It should have been longer, the opening scenes are beautiful and the relationship between Smith and his dog works perfectly, emphesising the fact that the dog, Sam and his music are all that root him to humanity. Anyway, definate buy. Expand
  63. Saskia
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    A splendid melancolic movie with a strong after-effect and brillant lasting images
  64. ChrisS.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    I don't agree with a lot of the reviews for this movie by both critics and normal people. Will Smith is such a good actor, I don't care what anyone else says. This movie is suspenseful from the start until the end, and the CGI effects are gorgeous. This is not like any Zombie-infection-end of the world movie ever made. The back before sunset twist just adds to to the atmosphere I don't agree with a lot of the reviews for this movie by both critics and normal people. Will Smith is such a good actor, I don't care what anyone else says. This movie is suspenseful from the start until the end, and the CGI effects are gorgeous. This is not like any Zombie-infection-end of the world movie ever made. The back before sunset twist just adds to to the atmosphere of this horror. I did think(slight spoiler) that bringing that lady and the kid in near the end was unnecessary, but it didn't take anything away from the film. Best movie I've ever seen in theatres. Would give it a 11/10 if I could. Expand
  65. DavidA
    Jan 2, 2008
    7
    I'm not gonna say it was bad..but it had potential for so much more...though scary...the dark seekers..could have been less zombie like and more realistic...it did leave me thinking though about the effects we humans are having on sivilization
  66. Brent
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Wow, I was blown away how good this movie was. Will Smith is an amazing actor and this is definitely one of his best performances. The special effects were great and there were many scary moments. Excellent Movie. I'd strongly recommend it.
  67. Jociline
    Jan 22, 2008
    7
    I'll say once again... do not judge a move based on what you thought it to be. When I was told about I am Legend I made three assumptions A) The protagonist will find people. B) If the protagonist is a scientist a cure will be found C) The protagonist will probably die. After seeing the movie... it turns out I was right in each and every point. This says that each and every zombie I'll say once again... do not judge a move based on what you thought it to be. When I was told about I am Legend I made three assumptions A) The protagonist will find people. B) If the protagonist is a scientist a cure will be found C) The protagonist will probably die. After seeing the movie... it turns out I was right in each and every point. This says that each and every zombie movie has a easily guessable ending. So, with the ending now ruined I can concentrate on film... I can't deny that it went on a sort of illogical tangent half way through that causes the film to "split" from drama/thriller to zombie/action which makes it feel like Manhattan said "you can't close our streets anymore" and they tacked on the second half... but at least the transition isn't too harsh that it kills the movie. A true outlook on the movie says A man, devoid of social contact for several years. A man, whose family died in a horrible accident, lives, alone, in the city of Manhattan, with only his dog by his side. His dog, who died trying to save him, but a day away from his first contact, in years, with another human being. And on that day, after years of trial, he discovered the "cure"... only to realize that he would never live to see the outcome. Expand
  68. liamf.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie, but i thought the alternate ending would of been so much better and of made so much more sense and would of been closer to the book. it would of made the title make sense.
  69. JakobK.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    I went in expecting a light-hearted, enjoyable sci-fi action movie in the vein of I, Robot, but I Am Legend turned out to be more. It's certainly one of the scariest and most visually appealing movies in a long time, but it's also an achievement in the story department: the scriptwriters made some good decisions that really added to the experience, and Will Smith is brilliant in I went in expecting a light-hearted, enjoyable sci-fi action movie in the vein of I, Robot, but I Am Legend turned out to be more. It's certainly one of the scariest and most visually appealing movies in a long time, but it's also an achievement in the story department: the scriptwriters made some good decisions that really added to the experience, and Will Smith is brilliant in his role. I Am Legend is definitely up to par with the top movies of the modern sci-fi genre. Expand
  70. GabeK
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    Overall I thought this was a pretty good movie. I was thoroughly entertained. Will Smith was superb. The only bad thing about the movie was the ending.
  71. NatS.
    Jan 4, 2008
    8
    How did Anna and her son get there? I thought all the bridges were blown up to quarantine????
  72. TylerD.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Spectacular movie. Personally, I loved the plot, the CG, Will Smith's acting...The only disappointing part for me was the ending. While I liked what they did with it very much, it seemed rushed. I highly recommend it, though.
  73. Albin
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    This movie was great, with a superb performance from Will Smith. Not amazingly high in action, but it kept me on the edge of my seat regardless if any part of the plot was predictable. The movie was well done.
  74. VíctorZ.
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    Though it is kind-of-short, this movie it's a memorable piece.
  75. PeterJ.
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    Will Smith comes away with another great performance! It is a shame he does not get the credit he deserves. He should have won an Oscar for The Pursuit of Happyness. Or at least been nominated...
  76. FrederickM.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    its a pretty stellar movie until the mutated come in, thats when things spiral out of control, also has a pretty dumb ending.
  77. SteveT.
    Mar 28, 2008
    8
    Just in case some of those other reviewers are confused - this is NOT a zombie flick. Read the book.
  78. JoseR.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    This movie is one of the best I've ever seen. Not only is it suspenseful but it also gives you a sense that its real. For ME this movie is the best.
  79. JasonD.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This was yet another great movie with Will Smith. I really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to seeing his next movie....Hancock.
  80. AnthonyK.
    Sep 13, 2008
    9
    "...this was a powerful film will smith plays a wonderful performance this film it was just as good as 28 days later & 28 weeks later.it just goes to show yo how much heart & passion the man had into finding a cure".
  81. kristianv.
    Oct 14, 2009
    9
    A terrific movie. Great acting, amazing music, unbelievable atmosphere and overall just a really good movie. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10, is because the night scenes aren't nearly as strong as the day scenes.
  82. DanyA.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Enjoyable, I saw a special screening, and I was impressed, it is astounding entertainment, full-throttle action, suspense, story, and scares. Great PG-13 stuff.
  83. MarcN.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    I saw I Am Legend at a screening Monday night and it was well-received by the audience who clapped as the credits rolled. Will Smith did a fine job as Dr. Robert Neville -- a man with every reason to just check out of life, but who instead chooses to labor on in the hopes of saving what is left of humankind. Yes, parts of the film slow down -- after all, he is alone in New York City. I saw I Am Legend at a screening Monday night and it was well-received by the audience who clapped as the credits rolled. Will Smith did a fine job as Dr. Robert Neville -- a man with every reason to just check out of life, but who instead chooses to labor on in the hopes of saving what is left of humankind. Yes, parts of the film slow down -- after all, he is alone in New York City. Okay, this film is not for those who think that the Resident Evil films are the epitome of American cinema. I Am Legend has plenty of action, but it is also a film that makes you think. This movie delivers. Catch it on the big screen. Expand
  84. AndrewM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    Really good futuristic effects. Will Smith is the shiz! I like that the vampires aren't too computer animated.
  85. PeteT.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent flick. It's much more emotionally grounded than the standard action movie. It really involves you in the emotional turmoil that the Robert Neville character must be undergoing. Really powerful movie. Go see it!
  86. SeanT.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Oh Man! This movie rocked the house, Yo! people around me were screaming and jumping and going insane. But it's not really that type of movie overall. It's deep stuff. You really feel what it's like, the isolation of being the last person left alive. Props to Will Smith. I recommend this to anyone and everyone. I'll see it again, definitely.
  87. TyroneD.
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    After some of the mixed reviews and the heavy critics I went into the movie with low expectations, which is the best thing to do. Cause I loved every minute of the movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year, and the reviewer that criticized Will had me in doubt, but now I know it wasn't a valid critic to begin with. His performance is Oscar-worthy. It was THAT good. The After some of the mixed reviews and the heavy critics I went into the movie with low expectations, which is the best thing to do. Cause I loved every minute of the movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year, and the reviewer that criticized Will had me in doubt, but now I know it wasn't a valid critic to begin with. His performance is Oscar-worthy. It was THAT good. The first hour of the movie was PHENOMENAL. There are some things that could have been better, such as the CGI of the monsters and it could have used a more powerful ending....but by no means was it bad...it was definitely something else...in a good way. Expand
  88. NikolaiC.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    This was a darn good movie. It may not have followed the book to the letter, but Will Smith gives a great performance in a pretty tough role. It could have been non-stop action (which would have killed the movie) but it was pretty darn realistic in terms of what would most likely happen if things got hectic. Definitely a must see for everyone.
  89. WayneS
    Dec 15, 2007
    7
    Saw the movie tonight, and while it didn't blow me away, it was a decent flick. Will Smith gave a very good performance in the movie which is essentially a one man show for the majority of the movie. There is enough suspense and shockers to keep viewers ready for the next and it didn't seem to drag at any one point. However, the amount of CG used was not needed and pulled down Saw the movie tonight, and while it didn't blow me away, it was a decent flick. Will Smith gave a very good performance in the movie which is essentially a one man show for the majority of the movie. There is enough suspense and shockers to keep viewers ready for the next and it didn't seem to drag at any one point. However, the amount of CG used was not needed and pulled down the experience for me. The sneaking in of the Christian overtones at the end made the wrap up of this movie, among other things, a bit of a let down. Expand
  90. Matthew
    Dec 15, 2007
    7
    A decent film. Once the action picks up in the last third of the movie, it loses almost anything that made it unique (the excellent sense of isolation and dread with some well placed comic relief) and interesting, instead opting for stuff we've all seen way too many times (boom! run! fire! guns!). Also, as I left the theater, I couldn't help but be disappointed that the ending A decent film. Once the action picks up in the last third of the movie, it loses almost anything that made it unique (the excellent sense of isolation and dread with some well placed comic relief) and interesting, instead opting for stuff we've all seen way too many times (boom! run! fire! guns!). Also, as I left the theater, I couldn't help but be disappointed that the ending was changed from the original (which also makes the title of the story meaningless; the reasoning given in the actual movie is ridiculous and not nearly as compelling as that given in the book). Nevertheless, the first two thirds of the film were surprisingly enjoyable. If the power had gone out at the theater at that point I would have had a better impression of I Am Legend. Expand
  91. NathanS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    8
    As good as this movie was, it wasn't without flaws. Naturally, it doesn't compare to the source material. However, Will Smith delivered an amazing, emotional performance. The plot worked flawlessly for the first half of the movie, began to crumble a little for the second half, and only turned into a complete mess with the weak, almost cliched ending. All in all, it's a film As good as this movie was, it wasn't without flaws. Naturally, it doesn't compare to the source material. However, Will Smith delivered an amazing, emotional performance. The plot worked flawlessly for the first half of the movie, began to crumble a little for the second half, and only turned into a complete mess with the weak, almost cliched ending. All in all, it's a film worth seeing, if only just for Smith. It's certainly not for those seeking originality, though. Expand
  92. AsherR.
    Dec 16, 2007
    7
    This is an excellent film that is amazing to watch. Will Smith was very good and the plot wasn't bad. It is unlike most things that you see in theaters. My only criticism is that it had a few plot holes but is otherwise enthralling. The bottom line is that this is a movie worth seeing if you want to try doing something different for once.
  93. KyleJ.
    Dec 16, 2007
    8
    I found the most of the movie depressing in a way. I was so sad about what happened with his dog. Will Smith gives an awesome performance though. Good story with good acting by Smith and his Dog.
  94. LouisK.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best movies i have ever watched i think, with this movie it just proves that will smith is one of the best actors in the world and I love the end and his heroic death i love movies with this kind of end.
  95. DanielS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This was a great movie. l
  96. KeithJ
    Dec 16, 2007
    7
    I would have given it a 6, but I gave it a 7 to somewhat counteract the buffoons who gave it a zero. Why on earth would you give this movie a zero? It's better than typical Hollywood, and Smith does a good job conveying a man who's at or slightly past the edge of sanity. I didn't see him as all that "messianic", as some of the reviews allude to; in fact, there's not I would have given it a 6, but I gave it a 7 to somewhat counteract the buffoons who gave it a zero. Why on earth would you give this movie a zero? It's better than typical Hollywood, and Smith does a good job conveying a man who's at or slightly past the edge of sanity. I didn't see him as all that "messianic", as some of the reviews allude to; in fact, there's not much in the movie to suggest he's anything more than a well-informed and well-equipped survivor. The injection of God annoyed me slightly, and there are some gaps of logic - things that probably warrant explanation but aren't explained. (Are the vampires smart enough to move a mannequin and set a booby trap?) Overall, this won't be the best movie you've ever seen, but it's solid and thought-provoking entertainment with a charismatic star. Expand
  97. TonyZ.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Best performance of Will Smith since Ali.
  98. IanI.
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    I loved the first half of the movie, will smith is surprisingly an amazing actor. I agree with Austin chronicle, the downfall was with the horribly generic CG zombies and the bad acting of the woman and child in the second half. One of the best movies I've seen in a while ruined by CG.
  99. SimonC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    I had low expectations going in, due to some of the criticisms I had read online. I ended up being engrossed by this film. Will Smith's tour de force performance as a man driven to the brink of insanity by the loss of his family and his partial responsibility for essentially wiping out all of humankind is heart-breaking. There are bits of humor and action and lots of tension, and I had low expectations going in, due to some of the criticisms I had read online. I ended up being engrossed by this film. Will Smith's tour de force performance as a man driven to the brink of insanity by the loss of his family and his partial responsibility for essentially wiping out all of humankind is heart-breaking. There are bits of humor and action and lots of tension, and overall, a very satisfying end in my opinion. Bravo. Expand
  100. Matt
    Dec 18, 2007
    7
    This movie would have been so much better if it had ended like the book. Instead of a shocking and moralizing twist end that makes you consider what it's like to be in someone else's shoes, we get a bland end. Still, a great movie about a man's battle with loneliness and the creeping insanity it begets. Great atmospheric movie. Don't watch this if all you want is This movie would have been so much better if it had ended like the book. Instead of a shocking and moralizing twist end that makes you consider what it's like to be in someone else's shoes, we get a bland end. Still, a great movie about a man's battle with loneliness and the creeping insanity it begets. Great atmospheric movie. Don't watch this if all you want is action or scares. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Smith, sporting a newly buffed physique, delivers an extraordinary performance as a man slowly coming unglued under the strain of no human contact and a constantly alternating role of hunter and prey.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Remarkably eerie yet annoyingly larded with cheap horror-film shock effects, I Am Legend stands as an effective but also irksome adaptation of Richard Matheson's classic 1954 sci-fi novel.
  3. The first two thirds and change of I Am Legend is terrific mindless fun: crackerjack action with gnashing vampires barely glimpsed (and scarier for that) and how’d-they-do-that New York locations that retroactively justify the traffic jams.