Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2007
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 658 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
463
Mixed:
119
Negative:
76
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JeffJ.Jan 13, 2008
Not wholly satisfying nor really disappointing, I Am Legend is a pretty impressive one-man show by Smith. It would be hard to portray Smith's character as lonely as Tom Hank's "Cast Away" lead - after all, being alone in NYC (with Not wholly satisfying nor really disappointing, I Am Legend is a pretty impressive one-man show by Smith. It would be hard to portray Smith's character as lonely as Tom Hank's "Cast Away" lead - after all, being alone in NYC (with or without cannibalistic mutants) would be very different than being alone on an island. Smith thinks all other normal people are probably dead but he keeps on hoping, whereas Hanks knew the rest of the world was out there but had little power or hope to ever rejoin his old life. Still, Legend was entertaining and a quite worthwhile was to spend two hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertS.Jan 15, 2008
Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting skills of Will Smith and some thoughtful direction. The only things that seperate this film from a perfect ten rating are the slightly frustrating ending (not because of a certain death, but because the village on uninfected seemed too convinient. It should have been overrun, thus showing the failiar of the human race.), and the length of the film. It should have been longer, the opening scenes are beautiful and the relationship between Smith and his dog works perfectly, emphesising the fact that the dog, Sam and his music are all that root him to humanity. Anyway, definate buy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaskiaJan 15, 2008
A splendid melancolic movie with a strong after-effect and brillant lasting images
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Jan 2, 2008
I don't agree with a lot of the reviews for this movie by both critics and normal people. Will Smith is such a good actor, I don't care what anyone else says. This movie is suspenseful from the start until the end, and the CGI I don't agree with a lot of the reviews for this movie by both critics and normal people. Will Smith is such a good actor, I don't care what anyone else says. This movie is suspenseful from the start until the end, and the CGI effects are gorgeous. This is not like any Zombie-infection-end of the world movie ever made. The back before sunset twist just adds to to the atmosphere of this horror. I did think(slight spoiler) that bringing that lady and the kid in near the end was unnecessary, but it didn't take anything away from the film. Best movie I've ever seen in theatres. Would give it a 11/10 if I could. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidAJan 2, 2008
I'm not gonna say it was bad..but it had potential for so much more...though scary...the dark seekers..could have been less zombie like and more realistic...it did leave me thinking though about the effects we humans are having on sivilization
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentJan 2, 2008
Wow, I was blown away how good this movie was. Will Smith is an amazing actor and this is definitely one of his best performances. The special effects were great and there were many scary moments. Excellent Movie. I'd strongly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JocilineJan 22, 2008
I'll say once again... do not judge a move based on what you thought it to be. When I was told about I am Legend I made three assumptions A) The protagonist will find people. B) If the protagonist is a scientist a cure will be found C) I'll say once again... do not judge a move based on what you thought it to be. When I was told about I am Legend I made three assumptions A) The protagonist will find people. B) If the protagonist is a scientist a cure will be found C) The protagonist will probably die. After seeing the movie... it turns out I was right in each and every point. This says that each and every zombie movie has a easily guessable ending. So, with the ending now ruined I can concentrate on film... I can't deny that it went on a sort of illogical tangent half way through that causes the film to "split" from drama/thriller to zombie/action which makes it feel like Manhattan said "you can't close our streets anymore" and they tacked on the second half... but at least the transition isn't too harsh that it kills the movie. A true outlook on the movie says A man, devoid of social contact for several years. A man, whose family died in a horrible accident, lives, alone, in the city of Manhattan, with only his dog by his side. His dog, who died trying to save him, but a day away from his first contact, in years, with another human being. And on that day, after years of trial, he discovered the "cure"... only to realize that he would never live to see the outcome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
liamf.Oct 22, 2008
I loved this movie, but i thought the alternate ending would of been so much better and of made so much more sense and would of been closer to the book. it would of made the title make sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakobK.Jan 28, 2008
I went in expecting a light-hearted, enjoyable sci-fi action movie in the vein of I, Robot, but I Am Legend turned out to be more. It's certainly one of the scariest and most visually appealing movies in a long time, but it's also I went in expecting a light-hearted, enjoyable sci-fi action movie in the vein of I, Robot, but I Am Legend turned out to be more. It's certainly one of the scariest and most visually appealing movies in a long time, but it's also an achievement in the story department: the scriptwriters made some good decisions that really added to the experience, and Will Smith is brilliant in his role. I Am Legend is definitely up to par with the top movies of the modern sci-fi genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GabeKJan 3, 2008
Overall I thought this was a pretty good movie. I was thoroughly entertained. Will Smith was superb. The only bad thing about the movie was the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NatS.Jan 4, 2008
How did Anna and her son get there? I thought all the bridges were blown up to quarantine????
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerD.Jan 4, 2008
Spectacular movie. Personally, I loved the plot, the CG, Will Smith's acting...The only disappointing part for me was the ending. While I liked what they did with it very much, it seemed rushed. I highly recommend it, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbinFeb 10, 2008
This movie was great, with a superb performance from Will Smith. Not amazingly high in action, but it kept me on the edge of my seat regardless if any part of the plot was predictable. The movie was well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VíctorZ.Feb 11, 2008
Though it is kind-of-short, this movie it's a memorable piece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterJ.Mar 21, 2008
Will Smith comes away with another great performance! It is a shame he does not get the credit he deserves. He should have won an Oscar for The Pursuit of Happyness. Or at least been nominated...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrederickM.Mar 27, 2008
its a pretty stellar movie until the mutated come in, thats when things spiral out of control, also has a pretty dumb ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveT.Mar 28, 2008
Just in case some of those other reviewers are confused - this is NOT a zombie flick. Read the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseR.Apr 26, 2008
This movie is one of the best I've ever seen. Not only is it suspenseful but it also gives you a sense that its real. For ME this movie is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonD.Jun 9, 2008
This was yet another great movie with Will Smith. I really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to seeing his next movie....Hancock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyK.Sep 13, 2008
"...this was a powerful film will smith plays a wonderful performance this film it was just as good as 28 days later & 28 weeks later.it just goes to show yo how much heart & passion the man had into finding a cure".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kristianv.Oct 14, 2009
A terrific movie. Great acting, amazing music, unbelievable atmosphere and overall just a really good movie. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10, is because the night scenes aren't nearly as strong as the day scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanyA.Dec 11, 2007
Enjoyable, I saw a special screening, and I was impressed, it is astounding entertainment, full-throttle action, suspense, story, and scares. Great PG-13 stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcN.Dec 12, 2007
I saw I Am Legend at a screening Monday night and it was well-received by the audience who clapped as the credits rolled. Will Smith did a fine job as Dr. Robert Neville -- a man with every reason to just check out of life, but who instead I saw I Am Legend at a screening Monday night and it was well-received by the audience who clapped as the credits rolled. Will Smith did a fine job as Dr. Robert Neville -- a man with every reason to just check out of life, but who instead chooses to labor on in the hopes of saving what is left of humankind. Yes, parts of the film slow down -- after all, he is alone in New York City. Okay, this film is not for those who think that the Resident Evil films are the epitome of American cinema. I Am Legend has plenty of action, but it is also a film that makes you think. This movie delivers. Catch it on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.Dec 12, 2007
Really good futuristic effects. Will Smith is the shiz! I like that the vampires aren't too computer animated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteT.Dec 13, 2007
Excellent flick. It's much more emotionally grounded than the standard action movie. It really involves you in the emotional turmoil that the Robert Neville character must be undergoing. Really powerful movie. Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanT.Dec 13, 2007
Oh Man! This movie rocked the house, Yo! people around me were screaming and jumping and going insane. But it's not really that type of movie overall. It's deep stuff. You really feel what it's like, the isolation of being the Oh Man! This movie rocked the house, Yo! people around me were screaming and jumping and going insane. But it's not really that type of movie overall. It's deep stuff. You really feel what it's like, the isolation of being the last person left alive. Props to Will Smith. I recommend this to anyone and everyone. I'll see it again, definitely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TyroneD.Dec 14, 2007
After some of the mixed reviews and the heavy critics I went into the movie with low expectations, which is the best thing to do. Cause I loved every minute of the movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year, and the reviewer that After some of the mixed reviews and the heavy critics I went into the movie with low expectations, which is the best thing to do. Cause I loved every minute of the movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year, and the reviewer that criticized Will had me in doubt, but now I know it wasn't a valid critic to begin with. His performance is Oscar-worthy. It was THAT good. The first hour of the movie was PHENOMENAL. There are some things that could have been better, such as the CGI of the monsters and it could have used a more powerful ending....but by no means was it bad...it was definitely something else...in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NikolaiC.Dec 15, 2007
This was a darn good movie. It may not have followed the book to the letter, but Will Smith gives a great performance in a pretty tough role. It could have been non-stop action (which would have killed the movie) but it was pretty darn This was a darn good movie. It may not have followed the book to the letter, but Will Smith gives a great performance in a pretty tough role. It could have been non-stop action (which would have killed the movie) but it was pretty darn realistic in terms of what would most likely happen if things got hectic. Definitely a must see for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WayneSDec 15, 2007
Saw the movie tonight, and while it didn't blow me away, it was a decent flick. Will Smith gave a very good performance in the movie which is essentially a one man show for the majority of the movie. There is enough suspense and Saw the movie tonight, and while it didn't blow me away, it was a decent flick. Will Smith gave a very good performance in the movie which is essentially a one man show for the majority of the movie. There is enough suspense and shockers to keep viewers ready for the next and it didn't seem to drag at any one point. However, the amount of CG used was not needed and pulled down the experience for me. The sneaking in of the Christian overtones at the end made the wrap up of this movie, among other things, a bit of a let down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatthewDec 15, 2007
A decent film. Once the action picks up in the last third of the movie, it loses almost anything that made it unique (the excellent sense of isolation and dread with some well placed comic relief) and interesting, instead opting for stuff A decent film. Once the action picks up in the last third of the movie, it loses almost anything that made it unique (the excellent sense of isolation and dread with some well placed comic relief) and interesting, instead opting for stuff we've all seen way too many times (boom! run! fire! guns!). Also, as I left the theater, I couldn't help but be disappointed that the ending was changed from the original (which also makes the title of the story meaningless; the reasoning given in the actual movie is ridiculous and not nearly as compelling as that given in the book). Nevertheless, the first two thirds of the film were surprisingly enjoyable. If the power had gone out at the theater at that point I would have had a better impression of I Am Legend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful