Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2007
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 676 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
475
Mixed:
123
Negative:
78
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
TimEJan 19, 2008
First I waited for action, but I didn't find it in this movie. But the story and the ideas of the movie are great! If you want see action don't watch this movie, but if you like a good story, watch it! It's one of my First I waited for action, but I didn't find it in this movie. But the story and the ideas of the movie are great! If you want see action don't watch this movie, but if you like a good story, watch it! It's one of my favourites now! Really great. (I saw this movie in german, the sound actors are well and not desynced!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ACDec 18, 2008
I've seen all 3 of the "I am Legend" movies and it seems like each one gets farther and farther from the book. And I've read the book several times. I was blown away by the story, so much so that when I finished it I had to read it I've seen all 3 of the "I am Legend" movies and it seems like each one gets farther and farther from the book. And I've read the book several times. I was blown away by the story, so much so that when I finished it I had to read it again that same night. Now of the 3 movies, Last man on earth, Omega Man, I am Legend this is by far the worst of them. I gave this movie two views to give it a chance and hated it so much more the second time around. They changed some much of it from the book why even call it I am Legend.. And the ending?!? Who came up with that!!!!! It was GARBAGE but then again in Hollywood it's all about making money and not being true to the source material. Well I've said my piece if you want to watch go for it hopefully you'll get some enjoyment out of this stinker as for me I wasted 3 plus hours of my life that I'll never get back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimC.Jan 27, 2008
It kept me on the edge of my seat throgh out the entire movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChrisR.Jan 28, 2008
When a movie takes itself this seriously, it should pay more attention to plausibility. May have had a better chance with me had I not had the kids with me. Will Smith is a bright spot, and the idea is good, but I left with a strong When a movie takes itself this seriously, it should pay more attention to plausibility. May have had a better chance with me had I not had the kids with me. Will Smith is a bright spot, and the idea is good, but I left with a strong suspicion that if I ever forced myself to watch it again there would be dozens of missteps within the plot. For serious genre fans only, IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobV.Jan 28, 2008
The only thing worse than the movie itself is noticing that deep down within the story is the dead seed of something potentially brilliant. Save yourself the trouble of asking for a refund and pass this one up. It's Signs all over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LeeP.Feb 19, 2008
Having read the book by Richard Mattheson I was hoping that this offering was going to stay more closely to the text as it is one of my favourite reads. Although it changes the original story a lot and ends on a more upbeat note then the Having read the book by Richard Mattheson I was hoping that this offering was going to stay more closely to the text as it is one of my favourite reads. Although it changes the original story a lot and ends on a more upbeat note then the short story it is based on, I didn't hate this film at all. Well the first three quarters anyhow. It has genuine heart at times and you feel for Will Smith's character when he loses his only friend half way through the film. However the villains of the piece are not scary enough or as inhuman as they are described in the book and this dulls the tension and fear somewhat. The only negative, for me, was the shoddy Hollywood ending where everything gets wrapped up too nicely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelRMar 18, 2008
Its a great Scifi movie and Will Smith proves again what a great actor he is.He was mostly by himself in the movie but he can hold the audience to watch the movie with his great acting.The story is very believable and very unpredictable.This Its a great Scifi movie and Will Smith proves again what a great actor he is.He was mostly by himself in the movie but he can hold the audience to watch the movie with his great acting.The story is very believable and very unpredictable.This movie is better then most Stephen King movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
T.A.Apr 13, 2008
This is really one of those films that wastes all it's time creating this huge marketing campaign claiming it to be the blockbuster only to shortshoot it and rush out a half finished and half assed movie. I honestly believe that if they This is really one of those films that wastes all it's time creating this huge marketing campaign claiming it to be the blockbuster only to shortshoot it and rush out a half finished and half assed movie. I honestly believe that if they had added even another 20min. to it it would have achieved greatness. Because your suddenly thrust into this random collection of happenings and flashbacks without any actual sense of what the fuck is going on or where it's going or what's happening leaving you staring at the screen in the end going wtf!? It just doesn't feel like I Am Legend is an actual movie because it never actually explains anything. Aside from that though it's really just as good as your average Hollywood "Blockbuster". So when it comes right down to it I Am Legend was the short and half-assed movie that almost could. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeremyEFeb 22, 2009
if it wasn't for will smith this movie would have gotten a 0. his acting really is the only reason to see it. The story feels disjointed, like it's pausing itself every ten minutes. That makes the movie kind of like a chore to if it wasn't for will smith this movie would have gotten a 0. his acting really is the only reason to see it. The story feels disjointed, like it's pausing itself every ten minutes. That makes the movie kind of like a chore to watch. Take my advice, don't watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
doiknoyunopeMay 27, 2009
The only reason this movie gets a 1 is because of Will Smith!! This movie was horrible! How could this movie get 10s(from you guys) and 90s(from critics)? I don't understand. in my opion this movie was unclear...I can honestly say that The only reason this movie gets a 1 is because of Will Smith!! This movie was horrible! How could this movie get 10s(from you guys) and 90s(from critics)? I don't understand. in my opion this movie was unclear...I can honestly say that I paid attention to the whole movie and to this day I still do not understand anything that happened in the whole movie. If anyone would care to explain, please feel free to do so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CastorT.Aug 19, 2009
Very good movie but too much CGI.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoyceC.Dec 11, 2007
Shows the future in a different kind of way, more terrifying, suspenseful, and like anything else this year, soulless. Will Smith pulled off a great success, but the fun never stops, and the intensity is too Jaw breaking, the excitement Shows the future in a different kind of way, more terrifying, suspenseful, and like anything else this year, soulless. Will Smith pulled off a great success, but the fun never stops, and the intensity is too Jaw breaking, the excitement tightens your smile muscles and you become stiff and uncomfortable. This movie was a bit overdone, but fully loaded for the IMAX, trust me, I saw it twice, and the IMAX show is just too ridiculous. The normal way of doing things is a better choice. Anyway, I don't know, this movie was way too quick, it wasn't boring, but it left us watching uninformative and a deliberate buildup which basically all was intense survival. Well, Will Smith, he shot a few deer, tigers, and aliens, but the sad thing is that he only does those things once, which makes the movie just lame. But as far as Ii was concerned, it was entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EdyC.Dec 11, 2007
Oh please, give me a break, Will Smith stinks, and the critics don't make any sense at all, they say its magnificent performances, well there wrong, I'm so certain that there was very little action, mostly suspense, but truly, its Oh please, give me a break, Will Smith stinks, and the critics don't make any sense at all, they say its magnificent performances, well there wrong, I'm so certain that there was very little action, mostly suspense, but truly, its rated PG-13, well excuse me you MPAA people, this movie should be rated PG-15, only if it is available, it is just silly dumb cinematic poorness, like last year, there was very little good movie choices for the Christmas holidays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnDec 12, 2007
I saw a screening of this movie, and it was very well done. Well, most of it at least. The first 2/3 of the movie are totally englufing and terrifying. Unfortunately the movie becomes 'Hollywood-ized' in that last 1/3, complete I saw a screening of this movie, and it was very well done. Well, most of it at least. The first 2/3 of the movie are totally englufing and terrifying. Unfortunately the movie becomes 'Hollywood-ized' in that last 1/3, complete with a worthless and annoying heroine. Will Smith actually acts and pulls it off for the most part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradN.Dec 14, 2007
Good movie with some subtle dialog and excellent acting by Will Smith. The dog is excellent as well. I don't agree that turning it into a zombie movie at the end discredited the movie. Think of the Movie signs with the ending hokieness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Dec 15, 2007
Great movie, worthy of my money. Smith's performance is great, the storyline is paced well - keeping you interested throughout. The movie is a gripping watch and the only disappointment coming in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricP.Dec 15, 2007
Overall, i felt it was a great movie. Thrilling first first third, with suspenseful second third, accumulated to an interesting final third. Some people may like it, or not, but in the end, i felt it the most plausible ending. While the Overall, i felt it was a great movie. Thrilling first first third, with suspenseful second third, accumulated to an interesting final third. Some people may like it, or not, but in the end, i felt it the most plausible ending. While the ending could have gone either way, there will always be people who wouldn't like it. The movie took risks, and ended as a simply COOL movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MohsinK.Dec 15, 2007
One of the greatest movies all year. an unbelievably great performance by will smith and the best possible ending I could every imagine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattBDec 15, 2007
Excellent film, more than just an action movie. The action scenes are mediocre, but the suspense makes up for it. The relationship between Neville and the dog and the last-man-left atmosphere are both extremely well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Dec 15, 2007
"I am Legend", the latest horror movie on steroids, makes potentially good use of a Bob Marley song during its end credits, which would've registered more strongly if we knew precisely how Dr. Neville(Will Smith) erred in man's "I am Legend", the latest horror movie on steroids, makes potentially good use of a Bob Marley song during its end credits, which would've registered more strongly if we knew precisely how Dr. Neville(Will Smith) erred in man's deevolution into feral zombies. His guilt isn't fully explained to the audience as he works on a cure to restore humankind back to its former incarnation. "I Am Legend" leaves a lot to the imagination. We never see the transformation, we suspect, to remind people of the superior "28 Days Later". "I Am Legend" doesn't scare like the Danny Boyle film because the weaponry neutralizes the threat of being easily picked off by the undead. "I Am Legend" is really for action aficionados. To be properly scared. the pursued needs to be completely vulnerable. There's not enough blood for the Fangoria-jetset. But it does get one thing right, adroitly and methodically. At first, Dr. Neville's patrols through a desolate New York landscape looks like fun, an adventure; but after a crucial plot point, his dystopian singularity becomes more readily apparent. "I Am Legend" self-corrects the error most films make about people in duress(mostly in war movies), the wide open spaces of the great outdoors disguises the hell they're living in. Unfortunately, "I Am Legend" isn't "Castaway"; it has commercial instincts. The film is better off with Dr. Neville talking to mannequins rather than live people, like Tom Hanks' one-sided monologues with a volleyball. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffSDec 15, 2007
It's not overly bad, but way too many changed plot point and an ending that completely twists the meaning of the book takes this a couple of notches down. While some CGI was good the creature were pure junk, and the necessary running It's not overly bad, but way too many changed plot point and an ending that completely twists the meaning of the book takes this a couple of notches down. While some CGI was good the creature were pure junk, and the necessary running zombie came back instead of the slow weak vampires from the book. It might be worth a view but if you have any respect for Matheson's work you'll know why this movie's final 1/3 fails in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TracyJacksonDec 15, 2007
Lack of any logic or common sense in the plot. Wasted a good actor Will Smith in this movie. I feel sorry for him to be associated with this film. What a waste of time and money to see it in the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MaxL.Dec 15, 2007
The third act made it a lesser movie after the initial setup and the potential for it to be great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveDec 16, 2007
The most unfortunate part of the movie is that the entire reason Robert Neville becomes a legend is *entirely* different than in the book. The reasons are not even remotely similar, and incidentally, the book's ending is what makes the The most unfortunate part of the movie is that the entire reason Robert Neville becomes a legend is *entirely* different than in the book. The reasons are not even remotely similar, and incidentally, the book's ending is what makes the story as good as it is. The spirit of the book is upheld through about half the movie (Will Smith does very well portraying Neville), but then the story drastically changes from the book after that. The reason that Robert Neville becomes a legend is quite interesting and makes for a very good read. I highly recommend the book (it's ~200 pages), but I cannot recommend the movie. I give the movie a 5 only because Will Smith captured the character of Robert Neville well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeG.Dec 16, 2007
The movie started very, very strongly with Smith racing through Manhattan's steel canyons after a herd of whitetails in a Shelby GT. Smith and his dog provide a great experience during the first hour of so of the movie, alone in New The movie started very, very strongly with Smith racing through Manhattan's steel canyons after a herd of whitetails in a Shelby GT. Smith and his dog provide a great experience during the first hour of so of the movie, alone in New York. However, the ending was disappointing (cop out?). The "Fred" scene was very good though -- a classic suspense/horror scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeDec 16, 2007
Amazing movie the start, Beginning and end. If u haven't seen this movie u must see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdamL.Dec 16, 2007
After a pretty good first half, the movie comes to a screeching halt with the arrival of two entirely unnecessary characters. I highly urge everyone to go read the original novel to see just how short this movie has fallen. Bad CGI, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaryM.Dec 16, 2007
Good Movie with lots of emotion. Will Smith was brilliant. Lots of jump out of your seat moments. I would think twice about taking a child under 12. There were quite a few children in the theatre with us and many were visibly shaken when the Good Movie with lots of emotion. Will Smith was brilliant. Lots of jump out of your seat moments. I would think twice about taking a child under 12. There were quite a few children in the theatre with us and many were visibly shaken when the movie was over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonKDec 16, 2007
I thought this movie was very enjoyable. A slight bit "evangelical" at one point but that was virtually it. Being somewhat agnostic, I didn't feel I was being told what to think. Will Smith was fantastic. Vast emotional range, laughing, I thought this movie was very enjoyable. A slight bit "evangelical" at one point but that was virtually it. Being somewhat agnostic, I didn't feel I was being told what to think. Will Smith was fantastic. Vast emotional range, laughing, crying, scared, hopeful. It was entertaining and that's why I go to a movie like this. A few minor faults but very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandonS.Dec 17, 2007
The running argument against this movie from many review sites holds up. It's a great movie until it's last 15 minutes or so, and then it kind of tanks. It's a shame too. For people who claim it's not acting if The running argument against this movie from many review sites holds up. It's a great movie until it's last 15 minutes or so, and then it kind of tanks. It's a shame too. For people who claim it's not acting if you're acting like yourself... you probably don't know anything about acting or movies. Will Smith gives an amazing performance that blends what he seems to have learned in Pursuit of Happyness with the characters he's been playing since Independence Day. The result is a character who is extremely capable put into a situation where he is physically battling monsters as well as psychologically battling loneliness, hopelessness, desperation, and guilt. No other actor that I can think of could pull that off, and Will Smith does so effortlessly. The CGi monsters drag the movie down substantially. They are basically cartoons. This isn't anything against the CGI process, but rather the artist who created the film. The monsters often times look at the screen and shriek, and when they do so, the artists felt the need to make their jaws hyperextend to make their mouths wider and therefore more "frightening". Think of the mask from Scream, for instance. This is absolute cartooning 101 and it makes the monsters ridiculous and unfrightening. Poor directing choice and poor use of artist license. I think the biggest shame is that the majority fo the cast probably had no idea this stupidity was going to be put into place until the premiere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful