Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 544 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Robert Neville is a brilliant scientist, but even he could not contain the terrible virus that was unstoppable, incurable...and manmade. Somehow immune, Neville is now the last human survivor in what is left of New York City...and maybe the world. But he is not alone. He is surrounded by "the infected"--victims of the plague who have mutated into carnivorous beings that can only exist in the dark and that will devour or infect anyone or anything in their path. For three years, Neville has spent his days scavenging for food and supplies and faithfully sending out radio messages, desperate to find any other survivors who might be out there. All the while, the infected lurk in the shadows, watching Neville's every move, waiting for him to make a fatal mistake. Perhaps mankind's last, best hope, Neville is driven by only one remaining mission: to find a way to reverse the effects of the virus using his own immune blood. But his blood is also what the infected hunt, and Neville knows he is outnumbered and quickly running out of time. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    90
    In what has been a pretty remarkable career up to now, it's this performance that fully affirms Smith as one of the great leading men of his generation.
  2. 75
    It's neither a neat little allegory about faith nor a transcendently entertaining one. I Am Legend is actually about the last man on earth played by one of the last real movie stars on earth. To be honest, Smith was all I was thinking about while I sat through I Am Legend.
  3. 75
    If it is true that mankind has 100 years to live before we destroy our planet, it provides an enlightening vision of how Manhattan will look when it lives on without us. The movie works well while it's running, although it raises questions that later only mutate in our minds.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Remarkably eerie yet annoyingly larded with cheap horror-film shock effects, I Am Legend stands as an effective but also irksome adaptation of Richard Matheson's classic 1954 sci-fi novel.
  5. I Am Legend is essentially "28 Days Later" . . ., or "28 Weeks Later" . . ., only with millions more for special effects, and with nothing approaching the heart-pounding, bloodcurdling power and smarts of the two British-made yarns.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Ferraro
    60
    Instead of being the science fiction masterpiece Matheson fans have been salivating for since the 80s (when Schwarzenegger was once attached), it’s just another average Hollywood popcorn flick.
  7. Reviewed by: Josh Rosenblatt
    30
    Unfortunately, after those first 10 minutes it’s all downhill for I Am Legend, as the film descends into a monster-movie malaise starring a horde of balding CGI monsters that look like refugees from a video game and that will scare absolutely no one, save those who worry that green-screening is ruining the movies.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 261
  1. SeanF
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new ending? It sucks,and also makes the film title itself nonsensical. Expand
  2. DanielS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This was a great movie. l
  3. chrisf.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    the movie was amazing and it is oscar worthy. but the one thing i didn't like was the ending its to bad Will Smith had to die, hes an amazing actor. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    Very creepy and unsettling but really good. Will Smith's acting in this is phenomal and the environments are spectacular. The only thing is that the end isn't that great. Expand
  5. GrahamP.
    Jan 17, 2008
    6
    I have been really looking forward to seeing this movie in the UK and last night got my chance. Whilst I enjoyed watching the film, I came away thinking that the film was short on a couple of counts. Firstly, after the terrific first 40/50 minutes, where Smith does a pretty good job of commanding the screen with Sam his only company, the tension in that part of the film was palpable and there were plenty of heart racing and jumping moments. These were beautifully achieved without the need for loud music, just the eerie silence of a deserted New York and the gradual glimpses of the Night Seekers adding to the tension. Why then, was the second half of the film such a contradiction. It seemed to be rushed and lifeless and left many questions unanswered. The interaction between the Neville and Anna characters should have been so much better. Why couldn't the film have been 20 minutes longer and allowed a bit of character back-story to be established so we knew more about Anna and her son(?). How did they manage to get to a seemingly cut off New York. The rush seemed to be to cram in as many OTT computer generated zombies as possible and go for a possibly ludicrous last 15 minutes and a bloodbath at the end. Why, when Neville had gone to great pains to explain, in the first half, that the virus caused the cessation of rational thinking and most human traits, did the zombies suddenly start to show intelligence in the way they set a trap for Neville, which mimicked an earlier set-piece stunt, and sadly, from then onwards the film lost its way. Maybe I'm being a little harsh but there was so much for this film to achieve. The book is a concise 200 pages, written in 1954, so why couldn't the screeen-writers have stuck to the plot line in the book without the necessity of over-doing the CGI and just making the latter half of the film look cheap? Perhaps when the DVD comes out I'll re-appraise the movie so I can see if some of the questions are answered. An enjoyable B movie romp, akin to the Spielberg remake of War of the Worlds, certainly not the A-lister I thought it could have been. Expand
  6. Steve
    Dec 16, 2007
    5
    The most unfortunate part of the movie is that the entire reason Robert Neville becomes a legend is *entirely* different than in the book. The reasons are not even remotely similar, and incidentally, the book's ending is what makes the story as good as it is. The spirit of the book is upheld through about half the movie (Will Smith does very well portraying Neville), but then the story drastically changes from the book after that. The reason that Robert Neville becomes a legend is quite interesting and makes for a very good read. I highly recommend the book (it's ~200 pages), but I cannot recommend the movie. I give the movie a 5 only because Will Smith captured the character of Robert Neville well. Expand
  7. MaxM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Do yourself a favor and don't go see it. I wasted 100 minutes of my life watching Will Smith walking through his house, dating dummies, and driving his van around the city. Expand

See all 261 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: June 28, 2010
    While it's unlikely that this week's "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" will merit consideration on our list, here are the ten movies it would have to beat out to be considered the top vampire film since 1980. We've added five additional vampire movies from the other end of the quality spectrum, but there aren't any "Twilight" films among them ... yet.