I Am Legend

I Am Legend Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 627 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Robert Neville is a brilliant scientist, but even he could not contain the terrible virus that was unstoppable, incurable...and manmade. Somehow immune, Neville is now the last human survivor in what is left of New York City...and maybe the world. But he is not alone. He is surrounded byRobert Neville is a brilliant scientist, but even he could not contain the terrible virus that was unstoppable, incurable...and manmade. Somehow immune, Neville is now the last human survivor in what is left of New York City...and maybe the world. But he is not alone. He is surrounded by "the infected"--victims of the plague who have mutated into carnivorous beings that can only exist in the dark and that will devour or infect anyone or anything in their path. For three years, Neville has spent his days scavenging for food and supplies and faithfully sending out radio messages, desperate to find any other survivors who might be out there. All the while, the infected lurk in the shadows, watching Neville's every move, waiting for him to make a fatal mistake. Perhaps mankind's last, best hope, Neville is driven by only one remaining mission: to find a way to reverse the effects of the virus using his own immune blood. But his blood is also what the infected hunt, and Neville knows he is outnumbered and quickly running out of time. [Warner Bros.] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 90
    In what has been a pretty remarkable career up to now, it's this performance that fully affirms Smith as one of the great leading men of his generation.
  2. The movie year's most expensive and ambitious sci-fi spectacular, I Am Legend, is three movies in one: a futuristic effects-o-rama, a zombie thriller and a survivalist parable. Each is better than average, and the experience is fairly gripping.
  3. 75
    As Tom Hanks did in "Cast Away," Will Smith pulls off this half-insane role perfectly.
  4. 70
    The popcorn elements are well handled, but what lingers is the sense of urban despair: watching old videotapes of the Today show, carrying on friendships with mannequins, Smith turns out to be no legend at all, just another New Yorker slowly dying of loneliness.
  5. Matheson's bitterly ironic ending -- which pivots on the nature of Neville's legend -- is gutted and turned into formulaic pap.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    60
    A big part of the reason for this movie's nose dive around the one-hour mark is that, seen up close, the Infected just aren't that scary.
  7. Unfortunately, after those first 10 minutes it’s all downhill for I Am Legend, as the film descends into a monster-movie malaise starring a horde of balding CGI monsters that look like refugees from a video game and that will scare absolutely no one, save those who worry that green-screening is ruining the movies.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 276
  1. SeanF
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new ending? It sucks,and also makes the film title itself nonsensical. Expand
  2. Joe
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie the start, Beginning and end. If u haven't seen this movie u must see it.
  3. CoreyC
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    This movie was a great time, especially if you 1) don't hate "zombie" movies; 2) enjoy apocalyptic themed films. Smith was great, the This movie was a great time, especially if you 1) don't hate "zombie" movies; 2) enjoy apocalyptic themed films. Smith was great, the NYC aftermath captivating, and the scares genuine. Several reviews mention that the final third of the film declines noticably, yet I disagree. I suppose that the very mention of God is enough to turn off those who would file a lawsuit to remove the ten commandments from public buildings rather than to simply ignore the plaques and truly observe the right of free speech and tolerance, and since militant athiests seem to be permitted to speak for everyone, a warning about the final third of the film should be expected. However, it is not evangelical, preachy, or heavy-handed. It simply suggests that faith and science can co-exist, like the crazy theory that people can. Really good movie. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    7
    I'm sorry but I like this film. The CGI may be hokey, but I think this film works for it's first two acts quite successfully building suspenseI'm sorry but I like this film. The CGI may be hokey, but I think this film works for it's first two acts quite successfully building suspense throughout, and Will Smith is strong also. I liked it. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    An alright movie with a good performance from Will Smith. The worst thing about it is the zombies, they obviously spent all the budget onAn alright movie with a good performance from Will Smith. The worst thing about it is the zombies, they obviously spent all the budget on advertising because the special effects are actually pretty bad. Expand
  6. JasonM.
    Dec 22, 2007
    5
    Its an ok movie. It was fun at times but it just couldnt hold the excitement of the beginning. I absolutely hate the typical Hollywood Its an ok movie. It was fun at times but it just couldnt hold the excitement of the beginning. I absolutely hate the typical Hollywood ending. Such a departure from the book that the movie misses the point. Ok CGI. Zombies way too overanimated to be believeable. Oh well, the masses will love it. Expand
  7. MaxM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Do yourself a favor and don't go see it. I wasted 100 minutes of my life watching Will Smith walking through his house, dating dummies, Do yourself a favor and don't go see it. I wasted 100 minutes of my life watching Will Smith walking through his house, dating dummies, and driving his van around the city. Expand

See all 276 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: June 28, 2010
    While it's unlikely that this week's "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" will merit consideration on our list, here are the ten movies it would have to beat out to be considered the top vampire film since 1980. We've added five additional vampire movies from the other end of the quality spectrum, but there aren't any "Twilight" films among them ... yet.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.