Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 30
  2. Negative: 11 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 21, 2011
    38
    The recycling goes as deep as the dialogue, which is a mangled and blended refrain of clichés.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 18, 2011
    38
    The cheap, indifferent, teen-alien thriller I Am Number Four delivers none of the spectacle of a competent sci-fi film, none of the emotion of an effective teen romance and none of the giggles of a kitsch fiasco.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Feb 16, 2011
    38
    What we have here is a witless attempt to merge the "Twilight" formula with the Michael Bay formula.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Feb 17, 2011
    30
    There are gaping holes in logic throughout this sloppy, cheap-looking mess from "Disturbia" director D.J. Caruso.
  5. Reviewed by: Sean O\\\\\\\'Connell
    Feb 19, 2011
    25
    Unoriginal and woefully half-baked, Number Four plays out as such.
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 18, 2011
    25
    For all of its homicidal aliens and toothy beasts, I Am Number Four did contain one element that genuinely unsettled me: the line "produced by Michael Bay." Nooooooo!
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 18, 2011
    20
    I Am Number Four, with its gangly title, seems like a dimwitted cousin to those hipper properties - a Superman-come-lately tale of puppy love, extraordinary powers and puberty that's duller than a chalkboard and less powerful than an extraneous Jonas brother.
  8. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 17, 2011
    20
    It was boring and silly but not atrociously bad. No, that's much too glowing; allow me to back up and rephrase. It is atrociously bad, basically.
  9. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Feb 17, 2011
    20
    Check the credits: That move is ripped straight from producer Michael Bay's playbook.
  10. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 19, 2011
    16
    Witless, insultingly derivative, muddy-looking, and edited in the hammering epileptic style that marks so many films produced, as this one is, by Michael Bay.
  11. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Feb 18, 2011
    10
    I Am Number Four's CGI sequences are murky and dark, its performances negligible, its script genuinely inept. There is, I should note, a puppy, which arguably keeps the film this side of completely unbearable, but just barely.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 280 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 88
  2. Negative: 17 out of 88
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    When this gets a 3 and f**king Justin Bieber gets a 5 I have lost faith in movie reviewers. This should easily be a 7 or 8. WIth all theWhen this gets a 3 and f**king Justin Bieber gets a 5 I have lost faith in movie reviewers. This should easily be a 7 or 8. WIth all the stupid twilight-esque stuff coming out finding an actually decent movie is getting difficult. Highly recommended. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    Plenty o' good ol' action and good fight scenes. I lose respect for critics each time they give a bad review to a movie I like or a goodPlenty o' good ol' action and good fight scenes. I lose respect for critics each time they give a bad review to a movie I like or a good review to a crappy movie. Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Like a good episode of smallville? What?!? You guys are losing respect by the day! This movie is excellent! It is what fantastic 4 should haveLike a good episode of smallville? What?!? You guys are losing respect by the day! This movie is excellent! It is what fantastic 4 should have been! This movie is the new generation of, lack for a better series, starwars! Do not get me wrong it is not what starwars is or was to sic-fi, not even close but it compares to the feelings of excitement, fantasy, saga and inspiration as the first time you watch such a great movie! The acting was great! The plot is great! The actors chosen are perfect for there roles... And timothy Olyphant was as usual, superb! This is a great movie to see with kids older than ten, a date and even a guys night out! Go and support this movie this weekend so they can finish the saga... Not much of a spoiler but the movie is titled " I am 4" and depending on the money this makes it can easily be made into 2 more great movies!!! Because there are 5 more characters to meet!! You won't be disappointed in this movie, if your a fantasy/sic-fi fan!!! Full Review »