Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: February 18, 2011
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 314 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
139
Mixed:
112
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GhostSniperFeb 18, 2011
When this gets a 3 and f**king Justin Bieber gets a 5 I have lost faith in movie reviewers. This should easily be a 7 or 8. WIth all the stupid twilight-esque stuff coming out finding an actually decent movie is getting difficult. Highly recommended.
22 of 31 users found this helpful229
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleFeb 23, 2011
The most useful part of this site, as far as I'm concerned, is that it helps me to establish my expectations. When I see a movie that looks interesting has gotten a 35 metascore, I'll see it anyway, but won't expect a ton. It easilyThe most useful part of this site, as far as I'm concerned, is that it helps me to establish my expectations. When I see a movie that looks interesting has gotten a 35 metascore, I'll see it anyway, but won't expect a ton. It easily surpassed my modest expectations. The lead is solid, Tim Olyphant is great, as usual, in a smaller role, and the actress from Glee does a fine job. The chimera sidekick gets a little ridiculous toward the end, and I would have liked a bit more information on the "bad guys" and the other kids who need rounding up, but it was a great excuse to get out there and eat some popcorn. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
4
hugoboyMay 11, 2011
i really do not know why some users are so generous with their scores,because this movie clearly does not deserve an high score. The movie,jumps right from point a-point c without even bothering to explain how it got to point c and this moviei really do not know why some users are so generous with their scores,because this movie clearly does not deserve an high score. The movie,jumps right from point a-point c without even bothering to explain how it got to point c and this movie really really needed more action scence,but it looked like they were saving it for the sequel,there by leaving us with a movie that's too shallow to pack any real punch. Also the bad guys were just too weak that i wondered why n_o 4 had been running in the first place rather than fight. This is definitely a half baked movie and should be avoided if possible Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
boxenford92May 14, 2011
I had a great time with this film. I originally thought it was gonna be trash until i found out that Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg were producing and DJ Caruso was directing. While the acting could use some work it's still a fun time atI had a great time with this film. I originally thought it was gonna be trash until i found out that Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg were producing and DJ Caruso was directing. While the acting could use some work it's still a fun time at the movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
justinokelly_Mar 7, 2011
Not sure I want to see this turned into franchise, as was super-heavily hinted at in the last few scenes. But it was an enjoyable 90 minutes or so, I would give it a try if you're looking for something fun and un-challenging.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
CaptainNemoFeb 28, 2011
Im so bored by this movie. At the beginning of the movie, I thought it was a horror movie. after 2 minutes, I thought it was a SF movie... obviously I am cheated by the director, this is a typical teenage movie with simple and stupid story ....
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
statistenfreundMar 11, 2011
Aiming at the purpose of being a science fiction drama, the movie is a total fail. Nevertheless, it has some good laughs. If it was to be a comedy, there could be a higher score, but like this, it just stays a science fiction drama, where theAiming at the purpose of being a science fiction drama, the movie is a total fail. Nevertheless, it has some good laughs. If it was to be a comedy, there could be a higher score, but like this, it just stays a science fiction drama, where the whole cinema hall was laughing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
As you suspect, D.J Caruso's "I am Number four" is the usual Michael Bay movie where he pays for the production fee and messes around a good idea into a terrible one using explosions and random plot twists. If your GF or BF really wants toAs you suspect, D.J Caruso's "I am Number four" is the usual Michael Bay movie where he pays for the production fee and messes around a good idea into a terrible one using explosions and random plot twists. If your GF or BF really wants to watch it, by all means watch with them. But either than that, don't even think about picking this film up. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryFeb 24, 2011
Lame on so many levels. The premise sounds cool enough: a teenager is actually an alien, who's being persued by evil creatures. However, it's full of trite high school drama (bullies, cute girl, nerd friend), the effects aren't impressive andLame on so many levels. The premise sounds cool enough: a teenager is actually an alien, who's being persued by evil creatures. However, it's full of trite high school drama (bullies, cute girl, nerd friend), the effects aren't impressive and the action is noisy and jumbled. By the end, it's looking like a Disney-channel series (with potential sequels). The only saving grace is Alex Pettyfer, an up-and-coming new prettyboy star. (You already know the number score.) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
RoughgalaxyMar 18, 2011
Not As Advertised.

That is to say, when you see the trailers they are almost exclusively from the last 30 minutes of the movie, making it look like it is going to be this awesome alien sci-fi flick... Sadly this is false advertising as it
Not As Advertised.

That is to say, when you see the trailers they are almost exclusively from the last 30 minutes of the movie, making it look like it is going to be this awesome alien sci-fi flick... Sadly this is false advertising as it turns out you spend most of the movie dealing with a by-the-numbers boring teen romance movie, trying to be the next Twilight.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
xXAnthonyXxFeb 18, 2011
Plenty o' good ol' action and good fight scenes. I lose respect for critics each time they give a bad review to a movie I like or a good review to a crappy movie.
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
3
CallmeballsMar 26, 2011
If you didn't know, I Am Number Four is a movie based on a book. You would think that there would be a nice story and lore behind the cool action. There isn't thought. This movie never makes up it's mind if it wants to be a cool action flick,If you didn't know, I Am Number Four is a movie based on a book. You would think that there would be a nice story and lore behind the cool action. There isn't thought. This movie never makes up it's mind if it wants to be a cool action flick, or a drama film, and it ends up falling short on both ends. The action scenes are too few and far apart to hold the movie together. The story never really gets going and leaves so much unanswered. The main character being an alien is an excuse to not explain most of the plot points. The story is also filled with that cheap, overused 20-something year olds acting like they're in a fictional high school setting stereotype. Bullies that induce physical violence? Check. Nerds with no self esteem? Check. Main character that FIST PUMPS AFTER KISSING A GIRL? Check...

The movie could have been a lot more, but stopped short. You only get to see two of the nine aliens' cool powers, and the story leaves many more questions than answers. Minus points for devoting an entire scene to walking away from an explosion.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
4
jakefaboFeb 25, 2011
The action in this movie was very entertaining, but that is about all this movie had going for it. The acting was really, really bad, particularly the main girl love interest, as well as the protector of the main character. The main characterThe action in this movie was very entertaining, but that is about all this movie had going for it. The acting was really, really bad, particularly the main girl love interest, as well as the protector of the main character. The main character was somewhat interesting, and had a bit of development through the movie. The romance part was completely pointless as were several of the characters. Plot-wise it could have been a much more interesting movie but the target audience was obviously teen. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
OmnipocketFeb 21, 2011
No, it wasn't original. That really shouldn't matter though since fiction has been around for a few thousand years now and all of the bases have been pretty much covered. That disturbia movie they're pawing all over in the reviews for thisNo, it wasn't original. That really shouldn't matter though since fiction has been around for a few thousand years now and all of the bases have been pretty much covered. That disturbia movie they're pawing all over in the reviews for this movie? That was a **** flick decades ago. I am number four at least found a new combination for their grab bag of movie cliches. And it was entertaining too. Don't expect to be surprised by any great plot twists, but if you dig superhero movies then you should probably check it out. Besides these stupid published critics don't like anything unless it's some dreary melodrama and even then they probably only say they like that stuff in case it wins an award. Just like how they all went crazy over that sapphire movie. Which, by the way, wasn't original either. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DstonekingFeb 18, 2011
Like a good episode of smallville? What?!? You guys are losing respect by the day! This movie is excellent! It is what fantastic 4 should have been! This movie is the new generation of, lack for a better series, starwars! Do not get me wrongLike a good episode of smallville? What?!? You guys are losing respect by the day! This movie is excellent! It is what fantastic 4 should have been! This movie is the new generation of, lack for a better series, starwars! Do not get me wrong it is not what starwars is or was to sic-fi, not even close but it compares to the feelings of excitement, fantasy, saga and inspiration as the first time you watch such a great movie! The acting was great! The plot is great! The actors chosen are perfect for there roles... And timothy Olyphant was as usual, superb! This is a great movie to see with kids older than ten, a date and even a guys night out! Go and support this movie this weekend so they can finish the saga... Not much of a spoiler but the movie is titled " I am 4" and depending on the money this makes it can easily be made into 2 more great movies!!! Because there are 5 more characters to meet!! You won't be disappointed in this movie, if your a fantasy/sic-fi fan!!! Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
sh831994Feb 20, 2011
Dude, finally. Finally in this mediocre year of 2011 we have a movie that's actually great. I have no idea what's wrong with all these critics. This movie is awesome! OK so the movie follows John Smith(played by Alex Pettyfer) who is an alienDude, finally. Finally in this mediocre year of 2011 we have a movie that's actually great. I have no idea what's wrong with all these critics. This movie is awesome! OK so the movie follows John Smith(played by Alex Pettyfer) who is an alien part of a group of nine of his kind that escaped his planet before they were killed. Numbers one, two, and three are dead, so now the Mog are coming after him. He has to find a way to stop them or he's next. Do you wanna see this now? No? What's your problem? Lets get the story straight though. This is not a Twilight remake/rip-off. Yes, I can see some resemblances to Twilight but it really isn't like that at all. Alex Pettyfer was very good for his first big movie. He does his part very well and doesn't slip up. The girl he falls in love with, Sarah, played by Dianna Agron does fine but nothing really special. Number Six, played by Teresa Palmer does a great job in her role. She is just an awesome, gun wielding alien. But the man who steals the show is Timothy Olyphant who plays Henri, John's protector. Timothy Olyphant is always cool and awesome, but give him a sword and he is the ultimate badass in this movie. The script, to my surprise, was very well written. everything makes sense and there isn't and cringe-worthy dialogue. The special effects were spectacular. Everything from the lights coming out of his hands to the monsters he fights are extremely well done. My only gripe, and this is a very small one, is that the villains weren't really developed much. They were just there, I wish we learned more about them. But again, that is a very minor thing. Overall, I Am Number Four is the movie I have been waiting for since the start of the year. Definitely my favorite movie of the year so far. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
toopancaFeb 18, 2011
Entertaining sci-fi chick flick. Not great art, but very good entertainment.

A drop of Electra's search for the gifted ones, a dash of Twilight's love stories, a little bit of Firefly's camaraderie, and a bit of whatever. Derivative, for
Entertaining sci-fi chick flick. Not great art, but very good entertainment.

A drop of Electra's search for the gifted ones, a dash of Twilight's love stories, a little bit of Firefly's camaraderie, and a bit of whatever. Derivative, for sure, but entertaining none the less.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
rachelrayJul 25, 2011
I loved this movie it was very exciting to watch I recommend it to anyone! I hope they make a second movie!!!!! To all the critics at least its not another vampire movie
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
MrTeddyMar 21, 2011
Good movie, but contained all the signs of a high school movie; the geek, the jock and the sweetheart who made the mistake of dating the jock, really guys give us something new.
The action was really predictable, hopefully there would be no sequel.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMay 10, 2011
One would think that with a budget of several million dollars, it should be possible to make at least a decent movie. I wouldn't be able to say anything positive about this one. Real bad acting, horrible dialogue, a story that is plainOne would think that with a budget of several million dollars, it should be possible to make at least a decent movie. I wouldn't be able to say anything positive about this one. Real bad acting, horrible dialogue, a story that is plain boring, and the bad guys, I swear I have seen those faces in at least four other movies.
What is the purpose of making these movies ? If you buy a car these days, any car, it is really quite impossible to buy a really bad car. There is a certain standard. With movies, it doesn't seem to be that way.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
taywah09Feb 19, 2011
This movie was amazing! i loved it i couldnt stop thinkin about it. the message was always belive and have faith. at lest thats what i got out of it. But after all i enjoyed it alot. now that i saw the movie im gonna read the book. and iThis movie was amazing! i loved it i couldnt stop thinkin about it. the message was always belive and have faith. at lest thats what i got out of it. But after all i enjoyed it alot. now that i saw the movie im gonna read the book. and i really hope that the movie does better and they do come out with a second one. because i will watch it. oh and i recomend this movie to people who love a suspense and who like a quick jump in there seat. This movie was amazing and all the people who had trouble understanding the movie see it again and then say what you want. No efense dont want an argument. but go see this movie i enjoyed it a lot.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
nerrojjFeb 19, 2011
I would say this film was around the decent markers on the scale of "Lame as Hell" to "!@#* Amazing" It has it entertaining moments that work for the average movie going audience that loves tv shows like Smallville or Supernatural. ButI would say this film was around the decent markers on the scale of "Lame as Hell" to "!@#* Amazing" It has it entertaining moments that work for the average movie going audience that loves tv shows like Smallville or Supernatural. But climatically it very flawed. You may think I am tearing this movie apart saying it sucks well it this retrospect it kind of does. But you may want to wait for this one to come on DVD and or catch it on Netflix for "free" Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
JonnyFendiMay 25, 2011
If you think you can make another version of TWILIGHT (2008) just by combining two good-looking teen idols in one screen, figuring out whether thiz will work? You are completely messed up. Alex Pettyfer is John Smith, a mysterious boy whoIf you think you can make another version of TWILIGHT (2008) just by combining two good-looking teen idols in one screen, figuring out whether thiz will work? You are completely messed up. Alex Pettyfer is John Smith, a mysterious boy who possesses extraterrestrial power in his hand. With his protector Henri (Timothy Olyphant), they look like father and son, but beneath it all they are aliens in human form, sought by a group of evil alien who are called Mogadorian. Meanwhile, in his escapee, Alex meets and falls in love with an ordinary and beautiful girl named Sarah (Played by Glee sensation, Dianna Agron). Initially, I thought it will be some kind of A Romance with Actions. Instead of that, it turns out to be Pure Action with a Romantic background. The chemistry between Alex and Sarah actually went pretty smoothly, but the proportion is too brief and not as intense as it should. The Director is D. J. Caruso who is well-known for DISTURBIA (2007) and EAGLE EYE (2008). After two or three scenes at the beginning, the movie atmosphere reminds me of one of those SMALVILLE TV series (2001-2011) which is including: the setting, the characters and the conflict. Most of the Action scenes are good enough to watch, though no further explanation about what is really happenning. I previously thought the Number Six character who is described as a sexy and energetic girl will be the scene stealer (played by my favorite rising star, Teresa Palmer). As a matter of fact, her character is too minor and there is the impression she is just a mere sweetener. At the end, the movie is closed by a situation which is opening a possibility of potential sequel. In summary, thiz is not a movie that you want to spend 100 minutes of your precious time. Unless, you are 16-year-old teen who are attracted to thiz kind of movie, then you should go to see it before your friends watch it first. For me, it is definitely not a number one. Visit My Blog on JONNYâ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
CClarkFeb 20, 2011
An enjoyable movie that keeps the viewer entertained with a mix of humor, action, and suspense. Is it a weighty and penetrating exploration of the human condition? No, thank goodness. It does exactly what it's supposed to do: entertain andAn enjoyable movie that keeps the viewer entertained with a mix of humor, action, and suspense. Is it a weighty and penetrating exploration of the human condition? No, thank goodness. It does exactly what it's supposed to do: entertain and allow you to escape for ninety minutes. If you're training to be a film critic, feel free to skip this; I'm sure you'll be able to find a movie somewhere about sad people sitting in a cafe, talking. For the rest of us, "I Am Number Four" gets a solid recommendation. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
cgbranniganMar 4, 2011
while the best or most original movie ever, it was good, entertaining and had some excelent special effect. Dianna Agron seemed a little out of place, for good reasons, she was out acting everyone else all over the place and seemed to be farwhile the best or most original movie ever, it was good, entertaining and had some excelent special effect. Dianna Agron seemed a little out of place, for good reasons, she was out acting everyone else all over the place and seemed to be far too good to be in this movie, I feel she's one of the more talented young actresses out there and look forward to her future projectsd Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Toby023Apr 23, 2011
This film was surprisingly average. When I saw the trailer for the film I honestly thought it would be good and in a way it was I suppose. The characters were reasonably believable and had emotional back stories that were either linkedThis film was surprisingly average. When I saw the trailer for the film I honestly thought it would be good and in a way it was I suppose. The characters were reasonably believable and had emotional back stories that were either linked through the past or were about to become linked in the present. But the term action packed is one I am using to uncover a flaw in the film. Through out the film there are constant action scenes with fights and explosions everywhere sometimes this can make a film shocking. But in I am number 4 the only shock to the system is seeing how unbelievably bad the special effects are. Bad special effects don't help when a film is like i said action packed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
BartFeb 18, 2011
This film should be titled "I Am number Two". Twilight was not all that good, and this is a bad attempt at a copy of that model. The male lead seriously needs to take some acting classes.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeMay 25, 2011
i thought i was gona be waching a intresting sci fi action movie when i rented this and what i got was a Twilight rip off for the most part with alittle action at the end . its a very sterio typed film where the acting is barely passable andi thought i was gona be waching a intresting sci fi action movie when i rented this and what i got was a Twilight rip off for the most part with alittle action at the end . its a very sterio typed film where the acting is barely passable and the plot is about as intresting as waching a plant grow for 90 min. the ending sets it up for a sequel wich god willing will never happen. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Birdy_girlyFeb 20, 2011
Whoever thinks that this movie sucked is stupid. And I am number two? Seriously? You couldn't think of anything better to say to describe how much you disliked this movie? It's not clever, or smart. But this movie was absolutely fantastic.Whoever thinks that this movie sucked is stupid. And I am number two? Seriously? You couldn't think of anything better to say to describe how much you disliked this movie? It's not clever, or smart. But this movie was absolutely fantastic. And, honestly, I would go see it again. Because I can't wait for it to come out on DVD. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
nutmeg_80Feb 20, 2011
I loved this movie and I am definitely not a teenager. It had everything: good plot, action, romance, characters you start to care about and a positive message. I do not see the connection to twilight, unless you equate everything thatI loved this movie and I am definitely not a teenager. It had everything: good plot, action, romance, characters you start to care about and a positive message. I do not see the connection to twilight, unless you equate everything that shows two teenagers falling for each other to twilight. I was completely hooked throughout the whole movie and I cannot wait for the sequel. Great flick. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
saurabh17Mar 6, 2011
Its outstanding.. superb cinematography!! thrilling n exciting n breath-taking n heart throbbing!! Watch it for superb acting of the lead stars!! nice, amazing, uber-adventurous!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
Pepo12Feb 18, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am Number Four es una película con un final muy abierto, y que buscar parecerse a otras películas. Sin dudas que su personaje principal es un chico que en todo momento, tiene un papel de querer hacerse el canchero. No es mas que una película pasajera, y mal actuada, con un par de efectos especiales lindos pero que dejan mucho que desear a la hora de creerlos. I am Number Four es una película poco convincente. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
9
Hamm1998Feb 20, 2011
This is the bet movie. You would like this at any age! It is just as hood as the twilight sagas. People who trash on this movie are Justin Beiber fans. Just watch this and u will love it!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
DarkCriticFeb 18, 2011
I Am Number Four is the most stupidest movie that I ever seen and it's really,really,really bad. What a waste of film for putting some effort that Michael Bay that promises will be good,but no it really sucks just like the rest of the filmsI Am Number Four is the most stupidest movie that I ever seen and it's really,really,really bad. What a waste of film for putting some effort that Michael Bay that promises will be good,but no it really sucks just like the rest of the films that are bad,even Transformers 2! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
DMEMar 28, 2011
A pretty good movie. I don't see many problems with it. Sure, it was very predictable and I probably won't want to watch it again... but I was great seeing it in Theatres.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ShiiraFeb 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not only is John Smith(Alex Pettyfer) a Lorien, a creature from another planet(now a distant reminiscence) sent to Earth along with nine other estranged refugees, he's a Legacy, an extra-terrestrial with superhero potential. Henri(Timothy Olyphant), his guardian and surrogate parent(who is much more accesible than hologram projection of Marlon Brando's disembodied head), at every turn, encourages John to keep a low profile, and yet the father figure never broaches the s-word, the bane of the tan(and buff) alien's ability to disappear in plain sight. Worse than going blind, the unfounded threat made by Catholic priests to regulate morality since time immemorial, self-abuse, or rather, in this case, possessing impure thoughts about the opposite sex, as suggested by the incident on the Floridian beach at the outset of "I Am Number Four", have actual physical ramifications on the very instruments that pollute one's own, and the other's temple. Blue lights shoot out of John's hands, a twilight emission of electronic fluid, coaxed from the palms when the skinny dipper of a female persuasion gets closer to Four(aka John), the sexually excited alien. John's real father, as well as his mother, both killed back at the home planet on the day it exploded, would be better able to handle their son's growing pains than Henri, who reluctantly allows his charge to enroll in school without ever addressing the pitfalls of an intensely coed environment. Shirking off his parental duties back in the Sunshine State nearly undermined their efforts to elude detection from the Margorains(their gills suggest a race of sharks that are a thousand generations removed from their Earth-bound ancestors). The promotion of a celibate lifestyle catches up with the otherwise detail-oriented Henri, in which John, the unlikeliest of virgins, having been sheltered from matters concerning his body, looks panic-stricken when he lights up the ocean and night sky with his hormones, suggestive of, perhaps, the legacy's ill-preparedness in dealing with late-blooming puberty, similar to the titular character in Brian DePalma's "Carrie"(played by Sissy Spacek), who was never told about menstrual blood, much to the delight of her high school peers. "I Am Number Four", or rather, "I Am the Superman Origin Story", leaves the question about inter-species sex unanswered. In Richard Donner's "Superman II", the Man of Steel surrenders his otherworldly powers in order to explore the physical side of love with Lois Lane(Margot Kidder), because according to the Jor-el hologram, Superman(Christopher Reeve) has to be human before he can love like a man. John, on the other hand, thinks like a man, in which the alien's infatuation with Sarah(Dianna Argon) informs his confrontations with Mark(Jake Abel), Sarah's ex, who provokes the numbered humanoid into spilling more blue light, therefore compromising the desired anonymity that the Loriens covet. Towards the end, "I Am the Superman Origin Story" turns into "I Am Six the Margorian Slayer", when Four is joined by a duplicate Buffy(played by Teresa Palmer), in what, admittedly, turns out to be a rousing action-packed finale, highlighted by a shape-shifting beagle, against the backdrop of a Whedon-esque setting, a high school, where good and evil hash things out with a maximum of sound and fury. Choosing spectacle over story, "I Am Number Four", obviously cross-marketed for both sexes, leaves the girls(who loved "Twilight") behind by not exploring the potential hazards that may arise from spending one night of passion with a "little green man" from outer space. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jtg00001Mar 13, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this film and so did all of the family! Epic in scale, exciting from start to finish, well acted and with a nice touch of teen angst for the younger audience. Plenty of eye candy too. A great movie which certainlyI thoroughly enjoyed this film and so did all of the family! Epic in scale, exciting from start to finish, well acted and with a nice touch of teen angst for the younger audience. Plenty of eye candy too. A great movie which certainly deserves more praise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Gamingking007Mar 28, 2011
I thought the movie was awesome people are just full of crap! Good storyline hot actors and beautiful effects!! Sure it isn't the best I've ever seen or the most original but still very good and entertaining!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Setman428Mar 2, 2011
It was a pretty good movie. The ending was all right, but I felt it was sorta rushed. I'd enjoy a sequel, because it was a unique superhero movie that doesn't appear to be based on a comic book.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
jrmintJun 13, 2011
I stopped watching this film half-way through. There was nothing of value to hold on to in order to see the results. The characters were cliche and seemed like the film was aiming for a "twilight" or "harry potter" vibe. It is nothingI stopped watching this film half-way through. There was nothing of value to hold on to in order to see the results. The characters were cliche and seemed like the film was aiming for a "twilight" or "harry potter" vibe. It is nothing compared to those films. If you're looking for a teenage sci-fi - try something else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SwarleyFeb 20, 2011
Let's be serious. This movie was entertaining. Did you not see the trailer? Did you walk into the wrong theatre by accident? To give this movie anything below a 5 is just wrong. What you see is what you get and if you're interested you willLet's be serious. This movie was entertaining. Did you not see the trailer? Did you walk into the wrong theatre by accident? To give this movie anything below a 5 is just wrong. What you see is what you get and if you're interested you will enjoy it. God forbid teenagers kiss, it doesn't mean its twilight. Btw the IMAX version was great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
tstpeterFeb 23, 2011
Saw this movie opening weekend, and then just saw it again last night in iMAX. This movie had me entertained the entire time with tons of action and just enough romance. The cast is actually believable with a great storyline. Worth it toSaw this movie opening weekend, and then just saw it again last night in iMAX. This movie had me entertained the entire time with tons of action and just enough romance. The cast is actually believable with a great storyline. Worth it to check it out yourself. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
PeterandoFeb 25, 2011
"Number Three is dead, I Am Number Four" the story begins, and this entertaining film takes the viewer on a ride from there. WIth stylistic and plot elements taken from the Terminator series, Superman, War of the Worlds (amongst others,"Number Three is dead, I Am Number Four" the story begins, and this entertaining film takes the viewer on a ride from there. WIth stylistic and plot elements taken from the Terminator series, Superman, War of the Worlds (amongst others, including Donnie Darko), there is a dark undercurrent to this movie which barely manages to be felt, but which you can certainly project into it if you want. Although I had hoped it might be a little more original it didn't really matter because of charismatic actors with enough humour in their way to see that they were skirting 'Scary Movie' territory even as they played it straight. The lack of originality didn't matter for this reviewer. The villains were horrible - the kind who you wouldn't want to meet out-and-about - yet they held a strange rockstar appeal in their long black coats. The special effects were tremendous, and although there were almost no plot surprises for an older movie watcher, there were plenty of well-crafted moments to keep it alive. The sound track was great, and effective in most cases, and the sound effects made the surround-sound in the cinema sparkle. This movie could be part of a cure for depression. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AlvinizedFeb 26, 2011
I read the book and though its a bit different.... I think the movie brought it to life better than I initially expected. My wife who also read the book actually liked the movie better. The movie lacks the character build up compared toI read the book and though its a bit different.... I think the movie brought it to life better than I initially expected. My wife who also read the book actually liked the movie better. The movie lacks the character build up compared to the book, but I can see why things were changed for the movie to move the pace faster. It would have been way too long!! I think this series has a lot of potential and can be better than the Twilight series if given a chance. Not so luvvy duvvy... and not filled with cheezey lines....like the "lion and the lamb" crap like the Twilight movies had. I didn't think the acting was all that bad as some of the viewers have commented. Twilight had much worse actors... This is a bit like watching Smallville... but the action payoff at the end was no less than AMAZING!!! ....by the way, Number 6 is way HOTT!!!! ...and she is every bit as badass as "Hit Girl"!!! I really hope they make a sequel!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
everwingMar 3, 2011
Its an okay movie. Its very One-Tree Hill CW-esque teen drama with a Sci-Fi twist. Its quite a while for the actual action sequences to pick up. If you like Teen-Drama and don't really need a lot of action then this is the movie for you.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
oonjajoonjaMar 6, 2011
Was this the best movie I have ever seen? No, but it was still pretty great. I'm not really sure why people are saying that the acting was terrible, yes it had it's cheesy lines, but that's not the actors fault. The plot was iffy, but itWas this the best movie I have ever seen? No, but it was still pretty great. I'm not really sure why people are saying that the acting was terrible, yes it had it's cheesy lines, but that's not the actors fault. The plot was iffy, but it was a pretty good movie in my book and it definitely deserves a higher rating than 6.5/10. That is just ridiculous. I'm also not really sure what people meant when comparing it to twilight. That is just insulting. It's also not just a chick flick, trust me, guys will like this too. So overall there were a few things that I would have changed but I did enjoy watching this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CalvinMar 13, 2011
Might i mention, film critics are hopeless these days, they are still lost with old movies of the 70s, over-complex concepts and long winded storylines. They should be kicked off and not allowed to review a single movie, EVER!! Until they getMight i mention, film critics are hopeless these days, they are still lost with old movies of the 70s, over-complex concepts and long winded storylines. They should be kicked off and not allowed to review a single movie, EVER!! Until they get it, what's new and what sells!!!
It's about catchy, it's about excitement, it's about straight to the point, it's about mystic over the questions we all will ask!! Who is number 5??? Guess, they won't tell!! In every way, this movie delivered, to the MODERN crowd, not to the OLD MAN WHO STILL STICKS TO 70's classics!! Come on, move on, old man!!!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GamesAndMoviesMar 28, 2011
This movie was super exciting, the plot was well done and super impressive visuals. Usually movies based off of books are abominations but this one was done exceptionally well. I can't wait for the second one.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
helpsosMar 27, 2011
great movie!!
dont see why any people would hate it, i mean its so much better than another ya adaptations, like twilight. twilight was rubbish and downright crap.
on the other hand, i am number four has such a great cast. love teresa palmer
great movie!!
dont see why any people would hate it, i mean its so much better than another ya adaptations, like twilight. twilight was rubbish and downright crap.
on the other hand, i am number four has such a great cast.
love teresa palmer and alex pettyfer.
they had so much energy, unlike the ghost like cast of twilight, who does not even need makeup to look like vampires.
its like the best cast ever. teresa and agron were so cute with two very contrasting personalities, which is a great comparison and also augments the fact that pettyfer wants a normal life instead of the frantic life that he has now.
pettyfer was also very very handsome too.

GREAT MOVIE!!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AragondApr 29, 2011
Based on a sci-fi book series, I believe, I was surprised how much I actually enjoyed this. Though very teenagery (could we have ONE more stereotypical scene about teenage rebellion, please?), it actually doles out some decent storyline,Based on a sci-fi book series, I believe, I was surprised how much I actually enjoyed this. Though very teenagery (could we have ONE more stereotypical scene about teenage rebellion, please?), it actually doles out some decent storyline, effects, action and I would have thought was generally pretty crowd-pleasey, even if not very critic-pleasey, apparently, who panned it. They're not wrong: this is not, by any stretch of the imagination, flawless. But, there is enough gemstone amid the dross to make this pretty enjoyable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Polonaise77Jun 16, 2011
I was really dissapointed when I saw this movie. I thought it would be action packed and at least fun to watch, but it turned out different. The characters are over-cliched, the story is uninteresting, and all the action comes at the lastI was really dissapointed when I saw this movie. I thought it would be action packed and at least fun to watch, but it turned out different. The characters are over-cliched, the story is uninteresting, and all the action comes at the last half hour of the movie (thought there are soem plot holes and confusing events). The ending implies that there is a sequel (wich makes sence, because this film is based off a book series), but I hope the next one doens't get made. Or, if it gets made, at least keep the silly teen-romance drama out of it and focus on the aliens and the shoot-outs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
RamlosaAug 24, 2011
This movie is the reason Hollywood suck.
It´s basically a twilight movie for guys and is built after the exact same concept.
The problem is that it has 0 originality, mysteries boy meet pretty girl and for some reason they cant
This movie is the reason Hollywood suck.
It´s basically a twilight movie for guys and is built after the exact same concept.
The problem is that it has 0 originality, mysteries boy meet pretty girl and for some reason they cant be together and fight against all odds, etc.... It makes you wanting to puke on the writers.
The biggest reason I probably hate these kind of movies is that the acting is so bad that you hate the characters and wish they will die so the movie will end.

GhostSniper, I wouldn't be surprised if the Justin Bieber movie is better.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 3, 2012
OMG! I Am Number Four is a really great adaptation, is a fantastic film, yes have some problems, but is perfect, the cast is ncredible, the characters be like the characters of the book, and the story is amazing. This is a new classic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
joreganoMay 31, 2011
I am the number four, it is of these movies that they they all remember for being extremely bad, with such a frightful script and the music, the actions, the photography, the direction they stop much that to wish (or rather much that to hate)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CreativitaJul 7, 2011
An enjoyable film, I Am Number 4 contains a blend of action, sci-fi, thriller and romance with a collection of amazing special effects. But the number of classic cliches and stereotypes almost destroys the original value of the film andAn enjoyable film, I Am Number 4 contains a blend of action, sci-fi, thriller and romance with a collection of amazing special effects. But the number of classic cliches and stereotypes almost destroys the original value of the film and greatly lowers the film value. But ignoring this, it is an easy to watch and enjoyable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
manwe7Jun 19, 2011
I loved this movie. I heard someone comparing it to Smallville. I don't know about that but I like Smallville and to me it's kind of like it but different. I thought this was a great movie and the girls were really nice to look at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
asthobaskoroMay 31, 2011
More Michael Bay than ever. Why we need romance for this disappointing action flick? The really good point is number six, Teresa Palmer. How about we change the title to 'I Am Number Six'?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
2PIN-1STINMar 4, 2011
The story was good, and I have always loved the acting of Timothy Olyphant since Deadwood on HBO. The special effects are O.K. and not as cool as I would have expected in this day and age post-Avatar/Tron. This movie is mostly aThe story was good, and I have always loved the acting of Timothy Olyphant since Deadwood on HBO. The special effects are O.K. and not as cool as I would have expected in this day and age post-Avatar/Tron. This movie is mostly a teenage-coming-of-age flick but the premise is cool. The lead villain is awesome, and they are believable as bad guys. Worth it as a matinee. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuOct 24, 2011
Cashing in on the the recent teenage sci fi movie resurrection this is a solid, entertaining film which develops the characters well with the exception of Henri who I felt was hideously underused as a supposed great alien protector/warrior.Cashing in on the the recent teenage sci fi movie resurrection this is a solid, entertaining film which develops the characters well with the exception of Henri who I felt was hideously underused as a supposed great alien protector/warrior. While the concept has been done before kudos go to director D.J.Caruso for coming up with an original twist and it is a far better effort than his previous efforts Disturbia and Eagle-eye. It will be interesting to see if they continue the storyline with a sequel and if so where it will go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MANU3L69Jun 8, 2011
This movie was exactly what I expected. The premise was good but the stuff that goes on is so cliche and so typical. First off, it's about an alien teenager who is part of nine aliens from another planet. These creatures, or mogs, killedThis movie was exactly what I expected. The premise was good but the stuff that goes on is so cliche and so typical. First off, it's about an alien teenager who is part of nine aliens from another planet. These creatures, or mogs, killed everybody on their planet and they are the last of their kind. The mogs are hunting them down, in order, on Earth. The third was killed in the opening, which started the hunt for number four. He gradually learns new powers and meets new friends and such. It's very easy to follow and very predictable. But what movie isn't now a days? The high school stuff is way over used and is not needed however. I wish that they would have spent more time talking about his home planet and more of his enemies than this over used high school drama. It's actually pretty good when he learns his powers and learns a tiny bit of his lineage.

When the action kicks up, it's actually enjoyable and the special effects are pretty good. I rather enjoyed this movie. Number 6 is a badass chick with really girl abilities. I would have been satisfied if I saw it in the theaters. These days, movies are very predictable and very typical. In a world of remakes and adaptions, this movie may not stand out, but at least it's an original film. Watching this movie made me realize that when people direct movies, they do it with the best intentions. People need to enjoy the movies for what they are. I do and I love most movies I see. I really enjoyed this because I new what the director was aiming for. It's a great feeling.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ineffablebobAug 27, 2011
I enjoyed watching this once I decided to turn off my brain. The plot is mediocre at best and there's no real twists. Every time a new character showed up, it was pretty obvious where the fit into the standard plot. But if you didn't thinkI enjoyed watching this once I decided to turn off my brain. The plot is mediocre at best and there's no real twists. Every time a new character showed up, it was pretty obvious where the fit into the standard plot. But if you didn't think about that, the movie was a lot of fun. Pretty good science-fiction-style action scenes and pretty girls, hard to complain about that. It's painfully obvious from the very beginning that they're angling for a sequel, which wouldn't be a bad thing if they have some good new special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GARRETT101May 30, 2011
Great movie and hope they make a sequel. Dumb critics only like it if its some 'indie hipster, going to shoot myself after I write in my diary, while fighting the man' movie. That, or twilight. This movie was great from start to finish, readGreat movie and hope they make a sequel. Dumb critics only like it if its some 'indie hipster, going to shoot myself after I write in my diary, while fighting the man' movie. That, or twilight. This movie was great from start to finish, read what the real people say about this movie, or as usual, read what the critics say and do the complete opposite. It baffles me how these guys have a job. They probably have 'Milk' playing on repeat in their office. Another bang up job boys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LeewayJun 12, 2011
I agree on GhostSniper
I honestly don't get why this movie generated so many negative comments/reviews/hate when the new Justin Bieber Bio-pic got a 3-5 star rating. Call me a hater but seriously the kid with the swooning hair ain't even in
I agree on GhostSniper
I honestly don't get why this movie generated so many negative comments/reviews/hate when the new Justin Bieber Bio-pic got a 3-5 star rating. Call me a hater but seriously the kid with the swooning hair ain't even in his 20's and he's making a huge deal of how he got popular...ehh but anyways, who am I to say anything?
Anyways, this movie was a cut-above the other stupid sci-fi thrillers (most notably Skyline), the acting was ok and the script was good enough. Alex Pettyfer acts as the normal raging hormone teenager who so happens to be the Number Four, working under Timothy Olyphant who is his guardian (notice his hair, Scream 2). An action movie needs to have some sort of romantic spark (especially when people are saying this is like a guy-friendly version of twilight) so I guess Michael Bay chose a girl that doesn't bare all (in a way). I have to say that he chose well, Dianna Agron (GLEE) and Teresa Palmer play the two main girls in the movie. The story can use a hand or two but so far it is what it is and nothing more.
65%
Its definitely a crowd-pleaser! but if you're looking for high extreme visuals and a powerful sci-fi story with good acting...well, this isn't your cup of tea. I suggest on waiting for Super 8 which I can't wait.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SailoJun 6, 2011
The effects were well done, and I found the story to be better than I expected. Although, the running time seemed a bit short, as if there was a lot of exposition cut out. But, all in all, a good movie that deserves a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
emjohnson54Jun 10, 2011
It was entertaining......but just that. Maybe it is because of my age (50's). Wished I would have seen it before I purchased it. I wouldn't have bought it. It did occupy my time though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
I Am Number Four Is An Alright Film. It Had Cool Scenes And The Story Can Be Interesting At Parts But The Film Didnt Amazed Me. Some Scenes Reminded Me Of Twilight And I Hate Twilight So I Didnt Like That. Overall An Alright Film. I WouldI Am Number Four Is An Alright Film. It Had Cool Scenes And The Story Can Be Interesting At Parts But The Film Didnt Amazed Me. Some Scenes Reminded Me Of Twilight And I Hate Twilight So I Didnt Like That. Overall An Alright Film. I Would Give The Film A High Rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
wololoooJul 2, 2012
Another subpar sci-fi action flick (Michael Bay's influence is clear) that further lowered my interest in the genre. Perhaps the script, as well as the film as a whole, was held back by Walt Disney Studios' constraints, but even so this is aAnother subpar sci-fi action flick (Michael Bay's influence is clear) that further lowered my interest in the genre. Perhaps the script, as well as the film as a whole, was held back by Walt Disney Studios' constraints, but even so this is a film that targets kids younger than those portrayed in the film. The underlying teen romance subplot is unnecessary and totally holds back the flow of the film. As stated by a few critics, Bay has attempted to ride of the success of Twilight and other teen love films by incorporating those elements into a mostly action/sci-fi oriented film, but he's come up short. Timothy Olyphant is the most talented member of the cast, and it shows - but given the overall poor acting this isn't really saying much. It's a nice looking film, with impressive visual effects and passable cinematography, but neither of these elements can hold up a film on their own, and I can't help but feel that more of what was obviously a huge budget should have gone towards signing on more experienced actors. I Am Number Four is an effective film in that it will appeal to it's target demographic, but anyone outside that will likely end up pretty disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DobbyJul 23, 2011
This movie was very entertaining from beginning to end. Good action, interesting story, likable characters and the potential for a good sequel. Sometimes I think reviewers over-think things.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
M_ajaAug 18, 2011
what else can i say beside i love this movie! thanks to alex pettyfer, of course. he can identify with every his character in any movie, his acting is so good. and that's what makes this movie so freakin' awesome and exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
Based on a cliched but really enjoyable story by Pittacus Lore, the movie adaptations doesn't even try to make justice to its source material. It seems that the only purpose on this mindless action flick is smirching the names of everyoneBased on a cliched but really enjoyable story by Pittacus Lore, the movie adaptations doesn't even try to make justice to its source material. It seems that the only purpose on this mindless action flick is smirching the names of everyone involved on it. Shame on you, Michael Bay! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AkkharAug 20, 2011
'I Am Number Four' is a good teen movie but the story was weak and the villains were **** ! At first it was like 'Awesome villains but they were nothing but looser their fighting was so immature ' . Axey was Okey , Dianna Agron was beautiful'I Am Number Four' is a good teen movie but the story was weak and the villains were **** ! At first it was like 'Awesome villains but they were nothing but looser their fighting was so immature ' . Axey was Okey , Dianna Agron was beautiful but her acting was off , Timothy did his best so did Teresa . Story : 1.02 [was weak]
Directing : 1.22 [ B- ]
Acting : 1.42 [Timothy & Teresa ]
Sound : 1.42 [Good]
Edit & Effect : 1.42 [Good]

OVERALL : 6.4/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tiah143Aug 19, 2011
Went along with my friends to the movie theater to see this one, and I ended up liking it. The movie was interesting and the commercials for it didn't give away too much so you got to enjoy it. I'm a teenager and I don't usually like theseWent along with my friends to the movie theater to see this one, and I ended up liking it. The movie was interesting and the commercials for it didn't give away too much so you got to enjoy it. I'm a teenager and I don't usually like these types of movies, but for this one I hope they are going to make a sequel. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
Vous aimez Smallville et Twilight? Vous aimerez sans doute Numéro Quatre de D.J. Caruso (réalisateur des réussis Paranoïak et L'Oeil du Mal). Malgré une mise enVous aimez Smallville et Twilight? Vous aimerez sans doute Numéro Quatre de D.J. Caruso (réalisateur des réussis Paranoïak et L'Oeil du Mal). Malgré une mise en scène soignée et des effets spéciaux convaincants, le film ne brille pas du tout par son scénario (trop classique et composé que de clichés du genre), son manque de rythme flagrant (on s'ennuie souvent), sa bande orginal trop poussée et ses acteurs discrets (ils nous livrent le strict minimum pour la plupart). Juste divertissant... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
heyitsmegrif4Jul 22, 2012
I Am Number Four is so much better than Twilight because it doesn't come off as awkward. And the whole movie is perfectly made without plot-holes or any plot bumps anywhere. It has decent effects and Alex Pettyfer didn't really get how to actI Am Number Four is so much better than Twilight because it doesn't come off as awkward. And the whole movie is perfectly made without plot-holes or any plot bumps anywhere. It has decent effects and Alex Pettyfer didn't really get how to act in his character until the last 30 minutes, but it was Dianna Agron who was the only one who got it right. I hope a new installment comes out even if it didn't do well at the box-office because I think we have a new franchise that could save us from Twilight and the second will be a lot better. Oh yeah the villains were kind of cheesey.All of this leads up to one of the weakest finales. With no tension just pointless explosions and no resolution. I give this film 28%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
I Am Number Four, was everything I expected and more, I was completly blown away. It is a refreshingly original story about 9 aliens hiding on Earth, from the creatures who destroyed their home planet. These 9 have special powers thatI Am Number Four, was everything I expected and more, I was completly blown away. It is a refreshingly original story about 9 aliens hiding on Earth, from the creatures who destroyed their home planet. These 9 have special powers that threaten these creatures, and they have set out to kill them, but for some unknown reason, must do it in order. Alex Pettyfer is Number Four and the next one in line. Pettyfer was absolutely incredible, having come such a long way since his last major role as Alex Rider. Newcomer Callan McAuliffe is also very likeable as sidekick Sam. I've never seen him in anything before, but he gives the story an added bonus and much needed side story. Many critics bashed this film, saying it was an alien version of Twilight, but it couldn't be further from the truth. I Am Number Four isn't focused on the love aspect, a lot of action occurs and the story actually progresses, and this film isn't dark and narrow minded, the way the Twilight films have been. I Am Number Four kept my attention and interest throughout. I connected to the story and the characters as well as the actors, and I have no problem saying it is one of the best Science Fiction films I have a seen in years! ...and for those who feel the same way, the book sequel, The Power of Six will be released on August 23, and with any luck will hit the big screen next summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Being a teenager is hard - especially if you're from another planet, one of the few left, and you plus eight others are gifted with superhuman abilities.

Number Four (Alex Pettyfer) moves with his guardian Henri (Timothy Olyphant) from
Being a teenager is hard - especially if you're from another planet, one of the few left, and you plus eight others are gifted with superhuman abilities.

Number Four (Alex Pettyfer) moves with his guardian Henri (Timothy Olyphant) from town to town under new aliases, trying to stay under the radar so that a hostile alien group of Mogadorians won't find them. After all, Mogadorian's have come to Earth to kill the last nine children rescued from Lorien before its demise, and after that they will move to take over Earth.

While the nine surviving kids have grown up and getting to know their powers, three of them have already died, the Mogadorians killing them in order (why, I do not know, but it is not important). Number Four is next.

In a city of Paradise, Ohio, Number Four (currently under the alias of John Smith) finally decides he's done with running. It of course helps that he falls in love, and his people do that for life. Also, the only home he has ever known is Earth, and he wants to fit in. For someone like him, though, it isn't easy, especially when their alien villains keep closing in on him.

This movie mixes teenage drama and sci-fi action perfectly. It doesn't get too broody, too romantic, or too shallow. The special effects were just as good as can be expected, and it was clear all the time what was going on. The acting wasn't the best of the best, but good enough, the characters keeping it real and interesting all the time, and the tempo of the movie was good. I truly enjoyed watching every minute of it, although some questions were left unanswered. (Are there more Mogadorian on Earth? Why were the Nine sent to Earth to begin with, and with what purpose?)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OnAnarchyAug 21, 2012
Very rarely will I stop watching a movie I have never seen before. I Am Number Four is one of those movies that doesn't really start, never picks up, and 40 minutes in I end up being more interested in my cat playing with a random piece ofVery rarely will I stop watching a movie I have never seen before. I Am Number Four is one of those movies that doesn't really start, never picks up, and 40 minutes in I end up being more interested in my cat playing with a random piece of fluff on the floor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
potatoes351Aug 24, 2012
I Am Number Four is good, not great, not bad but good. It has a stable, entertaining and well written story of a teenage alien who tries to fit in but has to constantly run from his past whilst coping with standard teenage issues. The CGI isI Am Number Four is good, not great, not bad but good. It has a stable, entertaining and well written story of a teenage alien who tries to fit in but has to constantly run from his past whilst coping with standard teenage issues. The CGI is OK, the action is plentiful and the acting is good. However it feels far too short and underwhelming, there are only like 4 characters worth taking notice of then the rest are forgettable, not to mention the final battle...seriously. I Am Number Four is worth your time if you like sci-fi action films but its nothing to go out of your way for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
This could have been the start to a solid franchise but unfortunately neither critics nor fans bought into the premise on a large scale. I think the film is alright, it could have been better and the villains are pretty bad but everythingThis could have been the start to a solid franchise but unfortunately neither critics nor fans bought into the premise on a large scale. I think the film is alright, it could have been better and the villains are pretty bad but everything else in the film was rather good. I can see how that would cause problems in terms of sequels as I genuinely think that the villains would have tested badly with audiences across the globe. It was a good attempt at a tough sci-fi film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SeriosityNov 8, 2012
It has a few nice set pieces towards the end of the film, and the premise is good enough to keep you mostly entertained till the action starts. The dialogue isn't too cheesy, but the high school drama completely is. Some of the characters areIt has a few nice set pieces towards the end of the film, and the premise is good enough to keep you mostly entertained till the action starts. The dialogue isn't too cheesy, but the high school drama completely is. Some of the characters are interesting, but others fall into caricatures. I was pleased to see Timothy Olyphant. He always brings something to his characters, and I can say he was one of the best parts of this film. It is a passable sci-fi film. I would like to see this universe expanded in a sequel or prequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Twilight met Transformers and they had an ugly mutant baby who's come to wreak havoc on our theaters. Kill it! Kill it before its too late!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
heromoderApr 21, 2015
Great concept, poorly executed. The acting was fine from everyone, it just lacked excitement and depth. Alex Pettyfer is an absolute babe. That is all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MelancholicAlcApr 3, 2015
This has GOT to be one of the dumbest movies I've EVER seen. Not only is the protagonist exceptionally stupid for someone who is supposedly on the run from an alien race with super powers, but this guy is supposed to be 14-15 and has theThis has GOT to be one of the dumbest movies I've EVER seen. Not only is the protagonist exceptionally stupid for someone who is supposedly on the run from an alien race with super powers, but this guy is supposed to be 14-15 and has the square jaws of some one clearly at least 10 years older. And yes, the actor is THIRTHY ONE!!! and not in a "oh he can still pass for high school age" way. Pettyfer clearly CANNOT pass for a high school aged type boy, he'd have a hard time passing for a college student.
So, on top of that, his character acts SO stupid for someone who is supposed to be in hiding! He does everything to get noticed, and he does it ALL the time. It's really upsetting. His guardian tells him no clubs, no school and keep your head down. Next thing you know, he's all over the newspapers and the internet. He jumps from a 3 story building in front of a crowd. This dude breaks ALL the conventions that we know how to keep his secret identity hidden. It's as if he is waving flags to get noticed. He's like 16, but he acts like a petulant child, it's really amazing. 16 year olds can be stupid, but not at the level of this guy. My 8 year old has more responsibility and more wit not to get caught.
Then.... oh wait it's a Micheal Bay. There really is no God.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FreedomFightersDec 5, 2016
It's 2011, "Harry Potter" is preparing to release his final film, and the "Twilight" series is on its last legs, which means that two young-adult, book-to-movie, box office behemoths will be leaving film theaters. So how did film studiosIt's 2011, "Harry Potter" is preparing to release his final film, and the "Twilight" series is on its last legs, which means that two young-adult, book-to-movie, box office behemoths will be leaving film theaters. So how did film studios react to this news? They decide to scrounge around for every possible young-adult book that could start a franchise in the same vein as "Harry Potter" and "Twilight. This led them to "I Am Number Four," a young-adult novel written by Pittacus Lore. How do they fare in making a franchise-starter? Well, five years later and still no sequel...guess that means they failed. But was the movie itself a failure? Not really. It was mildly entertaining, visually pretty solid, decently acted and very action-packed. If you're looking for a beautifully-written and meaningful film with memorable characters, you're not gonna find it here, but if you can turn your brain off, "I Am Number Four" is a relatively fun diversion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksDec 20, 2016
Sexy teens in 'real trouble'. We open with a Megahot Alien (good guy) running away from Megaugly Aliens (bad guys) for him only to find a megahot outcast girlfriend (likely) and other Megahot good guy Aliens. The special effects could giveSexy teens in 'real trouble'. We open with a Megahot Alien (good guy) running away from Megaugly Aliens (bad guys) for him only to find a megahot outcast girlfriend (likely) and other Megahot good guy Aliens. The special effects could give X-Men a run for their money, but the storyline and acting makes Fantastic Four look like Hamlet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FaintingGoatDec 3, 2013
Aliens, super powers, eye candy. Maybe I'm shallow. Love the book series. The movie was fairly accurate. Hope they make all of the books into movies. AROO!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
natasha88Jan 2, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Was kinda slow in the beginning but was very great in the end. I am quite sad that there has not been a second movie. I really hope the director would seriously consider a sequel to the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BarbyDec 12, 2014
This is one of my favorite movies, it has all: an intriguing plot, romance and action blended in healthy dosages, various different kind of heroes and villains in interesting degrees of relevance but all of them important in their fields, theThis is one of my favorite movies, it has all: an intriguing plot, romance and action blended in healthy dosages, various different kind of heroes and villains in interesting degrees of relevance but all of them important in their fields, the main character is running away from many threats, and the rest of characters are superb in their roles, most of them could be the main character from different points of view, was based on a book and there are material enough for a large saga like Twilight with better action.

I'm not easily impressed, I think in a scientific way and in books or movies I find errors and inconsistences hard to forgive, but in this movie I can't find much scientific errors (except the mass of the chimera's transformation that I remember), and zero inconsistences in the plot and the myth in which is based. So I can't understand low scores from "professional" (?) critics while worse and ridiculous movies have better scores, definitely I trust more users score, lots of zeros and tens but the average is more close to reality. I watched this movie many times, with boyfriend, friends, and alone in DVD, what can I say? for me is a masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
emeraldcitySep 6, 2014
This film represents the grotesquely spoiled youth culture that permeates North America today. Well, not really. It's actually a watchable movie. I think few people who grow up in North America are spoiled unless they have ,millionaireThis film represents the grotesquely spoiled youth culture that permeates North America today. Well, not really. It's actually a watchable movie. I think few people who grow up in North America are spoiled unless they have ,millionaire parents which isn't that man people....is that even relevant? Maybe a bit since this film is aimed at younger audiences which is something that evidently escaped 99% of the critics that reviewed it. I don't think the movie was tailer made for the small group of wealthy younger people ...some other films are around these days that do cater to that particular sect of society. Cruel Intentions would fall into that category....and maybe the film Southland Tales also....and just about every film that Adam Sandler does (jeez I can't stand that guy)...or that Zack Efronn or Seth Rogan does also (can't stand them either) I guess theres more than a few films that won't appeal to too many young people-anyhoo-this films worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
19dufa99LOct 5, 2014
They should do the sequel. There are many people who want them to do the rest, and if it's better than the first, people will watch it. I REALLY hope they do one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GentM2015Jun 9, 2015
A movie that tries to hard but fails even harder.It's not a terrible movie either you're not going to hate it or anything,but you won't love it either.I think it's best if you skip this one especially now that are a lot of teen moviesA movie that tries to hard but fails even harder.It's not a terrible movie either you're not going to hate it or anything,but you won't love it either.I think it's best if you skip this one especially now that are a lot of teen movies everywhere like Divergent,The Maze Runner,The Hunger Games,which by the way are all much better than this one.
The acting is not great but that's not the real problem with this movie.The visual effect considering the budget of the film,they actually suck.The story is very weak and the movie even fails to have a good and memorable Villain,which in this case happen to be a bunch of freaks that look like they have gone out to celebrate Halloween.
In the end I'll just say that this movie is forgettable but no very bad either.There are some parts of the movies that I saw the potential,but even the ending is terrible leaving us "ready" for the next movie which apparently and thankfully is never going to happen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OurEntitySep 12, 2015
Was a very good movie. Progressed in a clean way, was thrilling and very interesting, mind you I had not read any of the books ... yet. But after watching this film I am about to. I loved it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews