New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 28, 2001
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 88 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
23
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
I agree the movie was pretty cheesy and tacky for its taste but seriously, "I am Sam" doesn't deserve this much hate.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It may be overly sweet, but it's still an engaging film with one of Sean Penn's greatest performances sealed within it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SaraiV.Oct 13, 2006
This is the best movie ever!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
brichardsonNov 26, 2013
"You went full retard, man. Never go full retard. You don't buy that? Ask Sean Penn, 2001, "I Am Sam." Remember? Went full retard, went home empty handed..."

Kirk Lazarus
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
IAmSam1131Feb 27, 2013
Why don't the critics like this? It was so realistic and wonderful. The critics are being bad at their job. >:l Yes watchers, pretty much all love this. This is EPICCCC
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
ndricimNov 10, 2010
A metascore of 28, must be a joke. i never thought my opinion would be so contrary to the critics. it was a beautiful movie and great casting. It is true what Chicago Sun-times wrote that every device of the movie is designed is to convinceA metascore of 28, must be a joke. i never thought my opinion would be so contrary to the critics. it was a beautiful movie and great casting. It is true what Chicago Sun-times wrote that every device of the movie is designed is to convince us Lucy must stay with Sam even though common sense makes it impossible to go the distance with the premise, but this doesn't make it a bad movie. I would recommend it to anybody who looks for a touching movie, which also makes you laugh sometimes. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
stepansitoJul 4, 2011
I truly loved it. what a great performance from penn as well as fanning's. A beautiful and lovely story with a great sense on values and the meaning of perseverance. Highly recommended. Metascore 28 doesn't give it credit
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Dec 14, 2014
I don't understand why this movie received such terrible reviews from the critics, because it is one of the best film I have seen ever. Period. A film involving a true ethical dilemma. It hard not to get emotionally involved with the film.I don't understand why this movie received such terrible reviews from the critics, because it is one of the best film I have seen ever. Period. A film involving a true ethical dilemma. It hard not to get emotionally involved with the film. Sean Penn is amazing in the lead role, which if it had have been released a different it likely would have won him an Oscar (Penn lost the 2002 to Denzel Washington for his role in Training Day, which is hard to object). Michelle Pfeiffer was also great in her role as she develops more and more throughout the film. Sam is a character that is as lovable as any character could ever be. His meetings with his friends are great scenes to watch, they are very cute. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cyber_014Jul 8, 2014
Truly an amazing Masterpiece, a very deep yet touching movie, i don't always watch a Drama, but this one is Different, i highly recommend it ( it's a must ! )
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
Erin Cochran ... directs this mess like a substitute teacher soldiering through a day's work for a day's pay. The camera shakes uncontrollably. [I am Sam] is ludicrous, manipulative and shamelessly over-sentimental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews