New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 28, 2001
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 121 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
26
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
I agree the movie was pretty cheesy and tacky for its taste but seriously, "I am Sam" doesn't deserve this much hate.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It may be overly sweet, but it's still an engaging film with one of Sean Penn's greatest performances sealed within it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SaraiV.Oct 13, 2006
This is the best movie ever!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
brichardsonNov 26, 2013
"You went full retard, man. Never go full retard. You don't buy that? Ask Sean Penn, 2001, "I Am Sam." Remember? Went full retard, went home empty handed..."

Kirk Lazarus
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
IAmSam1131Feb 27, 2013
Why don't the critics like this? It was so realistic and wonderful. The critics are being bad at their job. >:l Yes watchers, pretty much all love this. This is EPICCCC
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
ndricimNov 10, 2010
A metascore of 28, must be a joke. i never thought my opinion would be so contrary to the critics. it was a beautiful movie and great casting. It is true what Chicago Sun-times wrote that every device of the movie is designed is to convinceA metascore of 28, must be a joke. i never thought my opinion would be so contrary to the critics. it was a beautiful movie and great casting. It is true what Chicago Sun-times wrote that every device of the movie is designed is to convince us Lucy must stay with Sam even though common sense makes it impossible to go the distance with the premise, but this doesn't make it a bad movie. I would recommend it to anybody who looks for a touching movie, which also makes you laugh sometimes. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
stepansitoJul 4, 2011
I truly loved it. what a great performance from penn as well as fanning's. A beautiful and lovely story with a great sense on values and the meaning of perseverance. Highly recommended. Metascore 28 doesn't give it credit
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Dec 14, 2014
I don't understand why this movie received such terrible reviews from the critics, because it is one of the best film I have seen ever. Period. A film involving a true ethical dilemma. It hard not to get emotionally involved with the film.I don't understand why this movie received such terrible reviews from the critics, because it is one of the best film I have seen ever. Period. A film involving a true ethical dilemma. It hard not to get emotionally involved with the film. Sean Penn is amazing in the lead role, which if it had have been released a different it likely would have won him an Oscar (Penn lost the 2002 to Denzel Washington for his role in Training Day, which is hard to object). Michelle Pfeiffer was also great in her role as she develops more and more throughout the film. Sam is a character that is as lovable as any character could ever be. His meetings with his friends are great scenes to watch, they are very cute. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SkipAug 5, 2002
I had never heard of this movie when I first saw it on Pay Per View. I assume because of most of the completely lame negative reviews. Anyone giving this movie a 0 should be fired from his job, no excuses. This is one of the most touching I had never heard of this movie when I first saw it on Pay Per View. I assume because of most of the completely lame negative reviews. Anyone giving this movie a 0 should be fired from his job, no excuses. This is one of the most touching movies I've ever seen. I've never wanted to immediately run out and buy a movie on DVD until now. This is THE breakthrough performance of Shawn Penn's acting career. I've always wanted to like Penn but never could bring myself to like his acting until now. Wow! I laughed as the Titanic sunk and wanted to push Leonardo off the raft early, I truly felt for Sam and forgot often that I was even watching Penn. Absolute stunning performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelF.Apr 1, 2002
So sappy, this movie really wants to be loved and really wants people to care for these characters. So poorly written and sappy. Penn is great, Fanning is great, but she is poorly directed with her acting, at times she seemed too smart.So sappy, this movie really wants to be loved and really wants people to care for these characters. So poorly written and sappy. Penn is great, Fanning is great, but she is poorly directed with her acting, at times she seemed too smart. Michelle stank. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ToddF.Jun 21, 2002
Man, some people really took strong exception to this movie. Let's all take a time out. For me I laughed and cried for two hours straight. I loved it. Of course Penn was good, but so was the girl who played his daughter. Also, this was Man, some people really took strong exception to this movie. Let's all take a time out. For me I laughed and cried for two hours straight. I loved it. Of course Penn was good, but so was the girl who played his daughter. Also, this was again a great social film for the advancement of the Developmentally Disabled cause (awareness). And the actors, some of which are DD, were hilarious. Yes the villians and plot outcomes in the movie are somewhat predictible. But I think its detractors just need a good swing in the park. This movie moved me more than any since Field of Dreams. I will see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyK.Aug 20, 2002
This film is why I am not paying much attention to Metascores anymore. A Metascore of 23 just goes to show how too many hours sitting in film appreciation classes in university analyzing every minute detail of a film obliterates what the This film is why I am not paying much attention to Metascores anymore. A Metascore of 23 just goes to show how too many hours sitting in film appreciation classes in university analyzing every minute detail of a film obliterates what the rest of the movie-going public has in common. That is a sense of a good story and empathy with characters. I was impressed with Laura Dern. She played a truly caring mom 100% attached to this little girl that did not want her. I would definitely watch this movie again. I would just try not to cry so much! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ComradeApr 8, 2004
You sick people who didn't like this movie...unbelievable. it made me cry and everyone i know loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CooleycoolbumJul 2, 2004
I love this movie!!! this and 'Once Were Warriors' are the saddest, best and most tearry movies ever!!! if you want a good cry and a full heart, see this! masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Jul 1, 2005
Underrated...Sean Penn's performance deserves much more respect. The ending is a little too ideal and too happy, but enchanting altogether. Sure, things see-saw too much in the middle, but Penn does bring out the feelings and mentality Underrated...Sean Penn's performance deserves much more respect. The ending is a little too ideal and too happy, but enchanting altogether. Sure, things see-saw too much in the middle, but Penn does bring out the feelings and mentality of his character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GilbertNov 20, 2002
Why do critics insist on drawing unfavourable parallels with genuine, horrifying physical pain? "Corrective Cranial Abuse would be better than I Am Sam"; well, no, it wouldn't, actually. It's just a film. Not a very good film Why do critics insist on drawing unfavourable parallels with genuine, horrifying physical pain? "Corrective Cranial Abuse would be better than I Am Sam"; well, no, it wouldn't, actually. It's just a film. Not a very good film (there is no reason, not a one reason, why it should be two hours and ten minutes long) but not entirely without merit - Sean Penn's great (autopilot notwithstanding) and it's heart's in the right place. Its chest. Behind its ribcage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Nick"PiecebyPiece"S.Jan 13, 2002
This is a beautifully acted piece with a sweet message behind it. Perhaps the director sometimes gets a little heavy-handed with imagery and camera tricks but it's still a heart-warming film. This is not a film for cynics but for those This is a beautifully acted piece with a sweet message behind it. Perhaps the director sometimes gets a little heavy-handed with imagery and camera tricks but it's still a heart-warming film. This is not a film for cynics but for those who are looking for a simple story with amazing actors. I hope Penn gets nominated for an Oscar and the little girl deserves one as well. It's sad that this film is getting panned everywhere because of being too sappy. It was definitely worth the two hours of time I spent and I left the theatre with a very satisfied feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Jan 28, 2002
Overall, the performances power the film, and even though it's pretty much "been there, done that" material, it works like a charm.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jan 30, 2002
Instead of compassion, I felt irritation towards Sam, which is not the intent of the director since the film's aim is to jerk tears. Bad customer service and being behind someone who is slow in paying the cashier are situations that Instead of compassion, I felt irritation towards Sam, which is not the intent of the director since the film's aim is to jerk tears. Bad customer service and being behind someone who is slow in paying the cashier are situations that annoy us. That Sam is the cause of these two inconveniences is a mistake on the screenwriter's part. Pfeiffer rescues this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BlaineH.Apr 8, 2002
Sean Penn portrayed a perfect picture of the hardships and difficulty involved in being mentaly challenged.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdlerE.Jun 17, 2002
I have always thought of Shawn Penn as an out-of-control, brat who is full of himself. I really didn't care for him as an actor or individual (a la Modonna/Penn period). The first few minutes of this movie only served to confirm my I have always thought of Shawn Penn as an out-of-control, brat who is full of himself. I really didn't care for him as an actor or individual (a la Modonna/Penn period). The first few minutes of this movie only served to confirm my beliefs. I though "just another Rainman remake." I was wrong, Penn was magnifiant and breathed new life into a character mastered by the likes of Dustan Hoffman. I am a new fan of Shawn Penn. See this movie, don't believe the so-so reviews, this ones special. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyC.Jun 22, 2002
This is definitely my favorite movie of all time. Incredible acting by Penn and Pfeiffer together. Cried during the whole movie! Great picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WesC.Jun 24, 2002
Loved this movie enough from the first time I saw it that I bought the DVD the day it came out. Wonderful acting... good blend of humor and thought provoking drama... don't see this movie if you'll be frustrated by it's Loved this movie enough from the first time I saw it that I bought the DVD the day it came out. Wonderful acting... good blend of humor and thought provoking drama... don't see this movie if you'll be frustrated by it's emotional story line... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveD.Sep 18, 2002
I loved this movie i think it is one the best ever made. Sean penn should have won many awards for this movie i have seen this movie three times it just breaks my heart. I just start bawling from the strart to the very end of the movie everyI loved this movie i think it is one the best ever made. Sean penn should have won many awards for this movie i have seen this movie three times it just breaks my heart. I just start bawling from the strart to the very end of the movie every time i see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Dec 30, 2003
I normally wouldn't miss a chance to trivialize Sean Penn for his politics, but I thought he did a good job here. I don't think the critics have any idea that this was a totally realistic portrayal of our family law system in I normally wouldn't miss a chance to trivialize Sean Penn for his politics, but I thought he did a good job here. I don't think the critics have any idea that this was a totally realistic portrayal of our family law system in action. It savages families with completely competent parents on a daily basis, so what chance did Sam have? Or perhaps Sam had a head start, since the better parent one is, the more likely our system will drive one insane. This is one movie where the criticism, not the movie, is contrived, insipid and clueless. Only animals without backbones could see it as a tear jerker. It is a protest of the callousness of bureaucrat-as-parent and government-knows-best, and it should enrage any truly caring person. The films flaws: It drags a bit, and don't expect a pro bono lawyer to charge in to save your kids anytime soon. But I guess we all need to realize that politically correct thought requires us to consider parenthood as optional, perhaps archaic. Or perhaps most critics come from broken homes. In any event, here they truly are, as Channing Pollock noted, "legless men who teach running." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SarahApr 12, 2004
I'm surprised this movie got such low ratings! I thought it was amazing. i cried, laughed and cried some more. I wish more movies were as touching as this one was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MrVoidAug 7, 2004
It does have a few terrible plot holes but on the whole it's a sensitive and passionate tale. Sean Penn is marvellous in his role and he does excellently not to trivialise or turn the charachter of Sam into a charicature.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanK.Jan 8, 2005
Are the friggin' critics serious? From Simon Birch to I Am Sam...they are passing these movies along like there bad! This and Simon Birch are two of the greatest movies i've ever seen! And yet you give snoozers like About Schmidt Are the friggin' critics serious? From Simon Birch to I Am Sam...they are passing these movies along like there bad! This and Simon Birch are two of the greatest movies i've ever seen! And yet you give snoozers like About Schmidt good reviews! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShannonC.Mar 12, 2002
VERY good movie. Would go see it 10 more times. Brought me to tears, it even moved my husband.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SchoolTeacherMar 7, 2002
I'm afraid I'd have to agree with all the above negative comments. It was so poorly written and predictably sappy that I had to force myself to sit through it. However, I was intrigued by Penn's acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TeresaR.Jun 23, 2002
Sean Penn is brillant!! He deserves an award for his performance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheydaM.A.Jul 18, 2002
This is such an amazing film i cant believ everyone who saw it id not cry these days all films are about is sex and hard hitting action , penn is just too good actually everyone is just to good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenM.Aug 4, 2002
This wasn't that bad at all! Maybe not the best movie in the world, but there are many many more worse movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharAug 4, 2002
For one, i am sam actively avoids all the sentimentality these professional reviews complain about. rather than focusing on drivel, it puts us into sam's perspective using subjective POV filmmaking. this is why the film is highlyFor one, i am sam actively avoids all the sentimentality these professional reviews complain about. rather than focusing on drivel, it puts us into sam's perspective using subjective POV filmmaking. this is why the film is highly stylistic in its directorial and editorial choices -- another intentional device that the "professional critics" complain about. when sam's world is spinning, the camera spins. when sam's world is moving so fast that he cannot keep up, the picture cuts so quickly that we can barely keep up. it's brilliant -- honest -- fair -- moving -- and quite clearly rockets beyond antiques like rainman and forest gump into a new, poetic realm of synchronous emotional intensity and truth. it doesn't pander to the politically correct. it doesn't try to pull at your heartstrings at all. it's telling a story, quite deftly, and this in itself should and will draw you in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GlennP.Aug 6, 2002
Worst 3 hours of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisaC.Jul 11, 2003
I saw the trailer for this movie and it sparked an intrest to go and see this film. Watching it made me cry , sympathise and laugh with the character. This a touching drama guaranteed to touch the heart. With a great script and great I saw the trailer for this movie and it sparked an intrest to go and see this film. Watching it made me cry , sympathise and laugh with the character. This a touching drama guaranteed to touch the heart. With a great script and great performances from all the actors and actresses invloved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JenniferE.Apr 15, 2004
I, too, loved the movie! I laughed, I cried...I gained a new respect for Sean Penn. I thought it fantastic! Yes, the camera work got a teensy bit annoying at times, it's easy to over look. Fling away your doubts on owning or renting this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulsP.Aug 7, 2004
Very marvelous movie!!!!!! those who rated this film below 1 are like stones!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BeercanJan 12, 2005
I Am Sam is so focused on drawing audience tears and hitting them with a "message" that it forgets to become a real movie. As the retarded father trying to raise his daughter, Sean Penn is somehow both magnetic and utterly excruciating. I Am Sam is so focused on drawing audience tears and hitting them with a "message" that it forgets to become a real movie. As the retarded father trying to raise his daughter, Sean Penn is somehow both magnetic and utterly excruciating. So's the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
nickic.Jul 16, 2005
Loveable, and just the kind of movie with enough heart that you wish it could be so. Really liked the characters and the music. Have bought the soundtrack and listened to it often. Don't know what the critics are thinking!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lear'sFoolNov 26, 2002
I would have rated this a 20 but the rating only goes out to 10. I really liked this movie. I think this is the most effective and most powerful movie I've ever seen. Forget about its similarity to kramer vs kramer, its emotional chick I would have rated this a 20 but the rating only goes out to 10. I really liked this movie. I think this is the most effective and most powerful movie I've ever seen. Forget about its similarity to kramer vs kramer, its emotional chick flick quality or their ripping off of beatles songs. Critics who give this movie a bad rating just because of these factors are nothing but morons with an IQ of a rock. Rate this movie according to its dues not because its a rip off of starbucks etc. etc. All movies borrow their elements from other movies. All movies exaggerate things. It's natural. But not all movies can patch up borrowed elements to create something very powerful. Not all over exagerated movies are effective. I would go on but I don't know the limit for this so I'll keep it short. I am sam is an effective movie because it is an accurate depiction of human nature based on psychological and humanistic point of view. Unlike other movies it is also interesting to note that it takes the watcher in a roller coaster ride where each arc is as powerful as the next- unlike other movies. Free your mind from biases. Watch the movie and you'll see what I mean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewJ.Nov 5, 2002
Plot was a little sketchy, but Penn's character is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanW.Feb 11, 2002
Awesome, best acting I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrentR.Jun 21, 2002
Although a completly watchable movie... Sean Penn gives a repeat performance of Dustin Hoffman's Rain Man. Also the story is completely absurd and would never happen that way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardJul 15, 2002
Michelle Pfeiffer's really the rock here, turning the typical heartless lawyer character on its ear and making it seem real, even when she's given some of those unplayable lines. Excellent work from Dianne Wiest and Richard Schiff. Michelle Pfeiffer's really the rock here, turning the typical heartless lawyer character on its ear and making it seem real, even when she's given some of those unplayable lines. Excellent work from Dianne Wiest and Richard Schiff. We've been in this kind of story several times and it raises more questions than it feels like answering, but it's well-intentioned and the big showdown scene between Penn and Pfeiffer is rewarding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffM.Aug 13, 2002
Occasionally competent, often embarrasing. The second half of the film isn't half bad, but it's hard to forgive the fact that the filmaker is trying to wring tears out of almost every single scene. The movie spends the first 2 acts Occasionally competent, often embarrasing. The second half of the film isn't half bad, but it's hard to forgive the fact that the filmaker is trying to wring tears out of almost every single scene. The movie spends the first 2 acts demonstrating why Sam (albeit a nice enough person) is not fit to raise the child beyond her attained age, then spends the final 3rd expecting you to root for him to win the case. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KeithE.Sep 19, 2003
Good movie. Sean Penn really brings out the character in Sam. He is lovable, and despite his flaws, he is a good man and great father. Tugs on the old heart strings. *sob* Must see!! Plus all the Beatle cover songs in the movie are phenomenal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillH.Aug 18, 2005
This is the best movie that I have ever seen, it made you sad,it made you happy, and filled you with unbelievable joy at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyCriticDec 11, 2003
Metascore : 28 // how can that be possible? this movie is one of the best movies ever. they must've use a shovel to dig the dirt out of this movie [althought none will be visible to the naked eye]. i recommend this movie to all movie Metascore : 28 // how can that be possible? this movie is one of the best movies ever. they must've use a shovel to dig the dirt out of this movie [althought none will be visible to the naked eye]. i recommend this movie to all movie lovers. GO WATCH IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cyber_014Jul 8, 2014
Truly an amazing Masterpiece, a very deep yet touching movie, i don't always watch a Drama, but this one is Different, i highly recommend it ( it's a must ! )
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
Erin Cochran ... directs this mess like a substitute teacher soldiering through a day's work for a day's pay. The camera shakes uncontrollably. [I am Sam] is ludicrous, manipulative and shamelessly over-sentimental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews