I Am


Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 29, 2011
    Although the choice of interviewees skews the movie in a New Age-y direction, there's less pseudoscience and more heart than in the kindred documentary "What the Bleep Do We Know?"
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Apr 28, 2011
    Did I enjoy Shadyac's film? Very much. Do I think he made many of his points more accessibly and entertainingly in Bruce Almighty? You bet.
  3. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Mar 9, 2011
    Documentaries have been coming down on humanity so hard in recent years -- from "An Inconvenient Truth" to the latest Oscar winner, "Inside Job" -- that it's refreshing to bask in a bit of optimism coming from a nonfictional film.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 27, 2011
    The world is a whole lot more complex than Shadyac seems to realize. If all we need is love, wouldn't we all still be wearing tie-dyed shirts and headbands?
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 21, 2011
    Give Shadyac credit: He sells his Pasadena mansion, starts teaching college and moves into a mobile home (in Malibu, it's true). Now he offers us this hopeful if somewhat undigested cut of his findings, in a film as watchable as a really good TV commercial, and just as deep.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Mar 31, 2011
    Shadyac doesn't film how his change inspires more change, or showing him, say, starting a school for destitute orphans. All we see him give is this movie. It's not much of a contribution.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    Mar 15, 2011
    Embellished with a lot of CG, supporting clips, and lovely stock footage, I Am's basic tenets are hardly ridiculous: What's so funny about empathy, compassion, and love? Shadyac, looking like the lost triplet of Kenny G. and Al Yankovic, cheerfully indicts his own overconsumption first.
  8. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 10, 2011
    What lifts the film above its dubious boilerplate assemblage of talking heads and archival images is Shadyac himself. With his gentle, self-mocking humor, he comes across as an exceptionally mellow, earnest and likable guy.
  9. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Mar 9, 2011
    An earnest, lumpy macramé of a personal nonfiction project.
  10. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Feb 18, 2011
    Shadyac spins cooperation in a different direction. I Am takes the sharing instinct as proof that all living beings are interconnected.
  11. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Feb 17, 2011
    If you believe that, as one interviewee says, "Science is just another story," then these ideas may ring true. If you're looking for actual solutions to global problems, rather than ways to feel better about them, I Am will be a frustrating experience.
  12. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 10, 2011
    Shadyac didn't need to channel his angst into narrative fiction: He just needed to look in the mirror to find a symbol of Hollywood's arrogance and misplaced priorities.
  13. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 18, 2011
    Pay close attention to the title of Tom Shadyac's documentary. He will try to convince you his film is about humanity uniting to solve its problems. But somehow, his own ego keeps getting in the way.
  14. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 24, 2011
    While I Am has its boogeymen - especially the rich, the racist and the ultra-competitive - Shadyac implicates himself whenever possible.
  15. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Mar 3, 2011
    For some, this sort of thinking is a much-needed revolution in human consciousness. For others, it's little more than New Age platitudes and questionable science.
  16. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Mar 15, 2011
    All of this touching and feeling makes I Am a so-awful-it's-mesmerizing mash-up of Hollywood entitlement and earnest goodwill. There's no questioning Shadyac's googly-eyed sincerity, but the film has all the depth of a late-night dorm-room exchange.
  17. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 18, 2011
    At the end, as Shadyac proclaims, "I stopped flying privately" (well, hurrah for you, Mahatma), renounces his Pasadena mansion and moves into a trailer park, the results of his epiphany grow funnier than any of his movies.
  18. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 21, 2011
    It's hard to decide what rankles most: what an astonishing monument to Shadyac's self-absorption I Am is, or how flat-out bad – incompetent, even – the filmmaking is.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    The film lacks quality, true actors, and a decent motive. I AM not going to recommend this to anyone with a brain. It seems that director TomThe film lacks quality, true actors, and a decent motive. I AM not going to recommend this to anyone with a brain. It seems that director Tom Shadyac should probably stay out of the documentary film industry. Full Review »