I, Frankenstein

I, Frankenstein Image
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: 200 years after his shocking creation, Dr. Frankenstein's creature, Adam, still walks the earth. But when he finds himself in the middle of a war over the fate of humanity, Adam discovers he holds the key that could destroy humankind.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jan 24, 2014
    50
    To be fair, Eckhart is physically impressive and Bill Nighy and his raised eyebrow do their best in the role of demon leader Naberius. But I, Frankenstein shares something else with it's monster-hero, something much worse than its patchwork nature: The film is distinctly lacking in the soul department.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jan 26, 2014
    50
    With no clear idea how to end the movie, which has come to resemble an excessive episode of Buffy, the Vampire Slayer, writer/director Stuart Beattie (G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) uses an old but still effective Hollywood trick: He blows up everything on the screen to smithereens.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jan 30, 2014
    50
    If it touches on notions of scientific arrogance and the question of what makes us human, it ultimately does so lightly, and with a mix of eye-popping action and loopy good humor.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 24, 2014
    38
    Sadly, as apt as comparisons to "Underworld" might seem, I, Frankenstein can't even clear that very low bar.
  5. 30
    Eckhart plays Frankenstein’s monster in a monotonous, teeth-gritting mode, as if someone had one gun on him and another on his family.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jan 24, 2014
    30
    It doesn't come close to working, but it's sweet that they tried.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jan 26, 2014
    0
    This movie is a corpse in desperate need of reanimation.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 63
  2. Negative: 30 out of 63
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    I guess based on the reviews people expected this to be a comedy. Weird. It seems like either those people didn't watch the trailer or theI guess based on the reviews people expected this to be a comedy. Weird. It seems like either those people didn't watch the trailer or the name Frankenstein makes them think of a comedy.

    Watch if you're looking to be entertained.
    Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    This is an entertained and fun movie with good action scenes, in another words:
    Just a movie to see in a movie theater and enjoy a good time.
    This is an entertained and fun movie with good action scenes, in another words:
    Just a movie to see in a movie theater and enjoy a good time.
    The performances are not the best but still the film is enjoyable for those who like action films
    Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    There are many reasons to absolutely hate I,Frankenstein! However, If you can look past those reason and focus completely on the titleThere are many reasons to absolutely hate I,Frankenstein! However, If you can look past those reason and focus completely on the title character, then you will find an interesting character study that takes place in a very cool world surrounded by even cooler action! Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2014
    4
    It will take your mind off boredom for a while, before you eventually (though rather quickly) get bored of the stale acting from every actorIt will take your mind off boredom for a while, before you eventually (though rather quickly) get bored of the stale acting from every actor on screen with the exception of Aaron Eckhart who is the only one giving an ounce of a performance though he does not seem sober while doing it. The effects don't even stimulate the eye, when you see a demon blow up you just think 'whatever' mostly because you will see the same effect over and over again. Overall, the writing lacks the creative intelligence to push it forward into an engaging franchise, writer Stuart Beattie of all people who wrote "Collateral" one of my favorite movies, writes himself into a deep dark corner that i hope he one day crawls out of with a better or at least a more coherent screenplay (Pirates of the Caribbean sequels need not apply). Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2015
    3
    I like the idea of two face having another role to play..sure ..why not....but even while watching it again i can see that someone making thisI like the idea of two face having another role to play..sure ..why not....but even while watching it again i can see that someone making this movie was thinking the same.... i can also see how the female lead isn't that hot......which i've come to appreciate....as well as the name gideon for Jai Courtney......its all coming together........at least they don't try to do too much.....makes me wonder as to weather someone might want an army of me.....for reviews and making anything look better......-JRA Expand
  6. May 24, 2014
    2
    What in the world was Aaron Eckhart thinking making this piece of junk. Half way through this movie I stopped caring about anything going on.What in the world was Aaron Eckhart thinking making this piece of junk. Half way through this movie I stopped caring about anything going on. The script is awful with actors like Eckhart and Nighy having to say some of the dopiest lines in their careers. The only minor saving grace is some of the effects aren't bad. D- Expand
  7. May 15, 2014
    0
    thank god for red box, since this only cost me 1.34. what a piece of garbage - turned it off after ten minutes and i feel like they owe me mythank god for red box, since this only cost me 1.34. what a piece of garbage - turned it off after ten minutes and i feel like they owe me my ten minutes back. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.
  2. Film Friday (8/21): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/21): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 21, 2015
    Gt a quick update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Martian, Carol, Victor Frankenstein, The Witch, and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: October 4, 2013
    Watch all of the latest movie trailers--including new looks at "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit," "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," "I Frankenstein," "Philomena," and more--and catch up on the week's film news.
  4. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  5. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  7. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.