Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Aug 15, 2013
    37
    In addition to some trite set pieces, writer-director Dan Mazer serves up nothing more than conspicuous cynicism masquerading as comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Aug 8, 2013
    30
    This painfully awkward product fails on almost every level.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    May 13, 2013
    25
    I Give It a Year groans on, with unmemorable scene after unmemorable scene, each one more contingent on coincidence and happenstance than by the actual, gear-filled mechanics of drama or comedy.
  4. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Such manic fumblings and desperate crassness might be more forgivable were any of it actually, y’know, funny, but other than Olivia Colman’s occasional cameos as a raging therapist, the laughs have been granted a leave of absence.
  5. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Shockingly, the kind of cringe-inducing material upon which Mr. Mazer has built a career as a writer for Sacha Baron Cohen ("Bruno," "Borat," "Da Ali G Show") doesn't work when rendered by types who could have been cast in "Notting Hill" (someone even makes a Hugh Grant joke). It's rather close to excruciating.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    6
    This is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive than expected. It wasn't very funny, sad, or anything, really. The way I see it, it's just a silly movie to watch on a lazy Sunday morning and to forget about by dinner time. Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    1
    My girlfriend and I suffered through this film, regularly considering turning it off. We persevered, thinking the average writing and awkward directing and acting might yield an upturn or surprise, but it really didn't.

    My favorite elements were the off kilter marriage counsellor (played by Olivia Colman).

    Stephen Merchant is funny as a person in most things I see him in, but in this it just didn't work. If the entire film around Stephen Merchant was built around the same style of inappropriateness, it would have been funnier, really. But considering a more earnest tone throughout, his scenes just put me on edge.

    There was no chemistry between any of the sets of couple, and the script just didn't have any sense of essentialness. It felt like a movie that didn't need to be made, for any reason.

    I came to Metacritic afterwards, expecting the score to be even lower than the current 50, and decided to sign up, to make sure that those thinking this might be worth watching as a no-brainer romantic comedy had a better chance of dodging this bullet. Seriously, watch something else instead.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Ghastly. If this is the 'comedy of embarrassment', the only people embarrassed must have been the players. Only Simon Baker emerges with any credit. Lame plot, lame jokes, poor characterisation, desperately contrived scenes.

    I'm not even sure why I've scored it as high as 4 out of 10!
    Full Review »