I Give It a Year

Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Aug 15, 2013
    37
    In addition to some trite set pieces, writer-director Dan Mazer serves up nothing more than conspicuous cynicism masquerading as comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Aug 8, 2013
    30
    This painfully awkward product fails on almost every level.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    May 13, 2013
    25
    I Give It a Year groans on, with unmemorable scene after unmemorable scene, each one more contingent on coincidence and happenstance than by the actual, gear-filled mechanics of drama or comedy.
  4. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Such manic fumblings and desperate crassness might be more forgivable were any of it actually, y’know, funny, but other than Olivia Colman’s occasional cameos as a raging therapist, the laughs have been granted a leave of absence.
  5. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Shockingly, the kind of cringe-inducing material upon which Mr. Mazer has built a career as a writer for Sacha Baron Cohen ("Bruno," "Borat," "Da Ali G Show") doesn't work when rendered by types who could have been cast in "Notting Hill" (someone even makes a Hugh Grant joke). It's rather close to excruciating.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    6
    This is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive thanThis is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive than expected. It wasn't very funny, sad, or anything, really. The way I see it, it's just a silly movie to watch on a lazy Sunday morning and to forget about by dinner time. Full Review »
  2. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Yeah, all the love and romance cliches are here yet slightly twisted and somewhat turned upside down, but i haven't laughed this much sinceYeah, all the love and romance cliches are here yet slightly twisted and somewhat turned upside down, but i haven't laughed this much since Hey Ladies came out....Stewart is a walking jokes slot machine and Minnie Driver is so talented as a comedian too.....and finally, that lovely Brit humor....enjoy ! Full Review »
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah,I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah, and where's the emotion? Full Review »