I Give It a Year

Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Aug 8, 2013
    80
    I Give It a Year has all the outrageous, embarrassment-based moments you’d expect from one of the creators of “Borat.” Indeed this film has one of the best charades gags ever. But there’s plenty of sweetness and charm, too. You root for both bride and groom, and cheer when they finally say, “I don’t.”
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Aug 6, 2013
    80
    The funny stuff outweighs the cock-ups, and supporting performances from Stephen Merchant and Minnie Driver kick the movie toward something grander.
  3. Reviewed by: Leba Hertz
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    A smart farce that would make Hugh Grant and his fans proud.
  4. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Aug 9, 2013
    75
    As pure comedy, it’s a hoot.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    That Mazer succeeds in playing this for laughs — however sporadic — rather than as a kitchen-sink downer is an achievement in itself.
  6. Reviewed by: William Goss
    May 13, 2013
    75
    The beats and trappings are all standard-issue, but the gags are funny enough, often enough, to offset such routine proceedings.
  7. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    May 13, 2013
    70
    If the emotional mathematics don’t quite add up, enough diversion is provided by pic’s broader comic setpieces to paper over the cracks.
  8. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    May 13, 2013
    70
    An above-average number of laugh-out-loud set pieces compensate for the resulting wobbly narrative.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Aug 15, 2013
    63
    Though Mazer’s ambition is laudable, he has not yet integrated the comedy of manners into the comedy of no manners.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    6
    This is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive thanThis is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive than expected. It wasn't very funny, sad, or anything, really. The way I see it, it's just a silly movie to watch on a lazy Sunday morning and to forget about by dinner time. Full Review »
  2. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Yeah, all the love and romance cliches are here yet slightly twisted and somewhat turned upside down, but i haven't laughed this much sinceYeah, all the love and romance cliches are here yet slightly twisted and somewhat turned upside down, but i haven't laughed this much since Hey Ladies came out....Stewart is a walking jokes slot machine and Minnie Driver is so talented as a comedian too.....and finally, that lovely Brit humor....enjoy ! Full Review »
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah,I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah, and where's the emotion? Full Review »