I Give It a Year

I Give It a Year Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Aug 8, 2013
    80
    I Give It a Year has all the outrageous, embarrassment-based moments you’d expect from one of the creators of “Borat.” Indeed this film has one of the best charades gags ever. But there’s plenty of sweetness and charm, too. You root for both bride and groom, and cheer when they finally say, “I don’t.”
  2. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    That Mazer succeeds in playing this for laughs — however sporadic — rather than as a kitchen-sink downer is an achievement in itself.
  3. Reviewed by: Leba Hertz
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    A smart farce that would make Hugh Grant and his fans proud.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 13, 2013
    60
    The result is funny and plausible, with a fair bit of newly modish Bridesmaidsy bad taste, though I kept getting the sense that the romcom template meant Mazer couldn't really let rip with pure comedy pessimism and cynicism in the way he might have liked.
  5. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    May 13, 2013
    60
    The jokes are strong and delivered by a very talented cast, but the heart isn’t there. It’s easy to laugh, but hard to care.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Aug 4, 2013
    50
    Much of the film's attempted laughs come from the comedy-of-discomfort school, with an endless array of situations that milk awkwardness to a degree that makes these scenes far more unpleasant than humorous to watch.
  7. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Shockingly, the kind of cringe-inducing material upon which Mr. Mazer has built a career as a writer for Sacha Baron Cohen ("Bruno," "Borat," "Da Ali G Show") doesn't work when rendered by types who could have been cast in "Notting Hill" (someone even makes a Hugh Grant joke). It's rather close to excruciating.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Yeah, all the love and romance cliches are here yet slightly twisted and somewhat turned upside down, but i haven't laughed this much sinceYeah, all the love and romance cliches are here yet slightly twisted and somewhat turned upside down, but i haven't laughed this much since Hey Ladies came out....Stewart is a walking jokes slot machine and Minnie Driver is so talented as a comedian too.....and finally, that lovely Brit humor....enjoy ! Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    6
    This is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive thanThis is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive than expected. It wasn't very funny, sad, or anything, really. The way I see it, it's just a silly movie to watch on a lazy Sunday morning and to forget about by dinner time. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    5
    This unrelentingly cynical film reflects a sociopathic sensibility. Mazur, the writer, appears to view people as objects and to lack any senseThis unrelentingly cynical film reflects a sociopathic sensibility. Mazur, the writer, appears to view people as objects and to lack any sense of empathy. There are some positives, notably the cast. I love Rose Byrne no matter what she's in. But overall, let's just say people I watched this movie with audibly revolted at the ending, so contrary was it to their idea of what was credible. The audience wasn't having it and neither was I. Collapse
  4. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah,I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah, and where's the emotion? Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Ghastly. If this is the 'comedy of embarrassment', the only people embarrassed must have been the players. Only Simon Baker emerges with anyGhastly. If this is the 'comedy of embarrassment', the only people embarrassed must have been the players. Only Simon Baker emerges with any credit. Lame plot, lame jokes, poor characterisation, desperately contrived scenes.

    I'm not even sure why I've scored it as high as 4 out of 10!
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    1
    My girlfriend and I suffered through this film, regularly considering turning it off. We persevered, thinking the average writing and awkwardMy girlfriend and I suffered through this film, regularly considering turning it off. We persevered, thinking the average writing and awkward directing and acting might yield an upturn or surprise, but it really didn't.

    My favorite elements were the off kilter marriage counsellor (played by Olivia Colman).

    Stephen Merchant is funny as a person in most things I see him in, but in this it just didn't work. If the entire film around Stephen Merchant was built around the same style of inappropriateness, it would have been funnier, really. But considering a more earnest tone throughout, his scenes just put me on edge.

    There was no chemistry between any of the sets of couple, and the script just didn't have any sense of essentialness. It felt like a movie that didn't need to be made, for any reason.

    I came to Metacritic afterwards, expecting the score to be even lower than the current 50, and decided to sign up, to make sure that those thinking this might be worth watching as a no-brainer romantic comedy had a better chance of dodging this bullet. Seriously, watch something else instead.
    Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Give Us Your 2013 Oscar Predictions!

    Give Us Your 2013 Oscar Predictions! Image
    Published: January 29, 2013
    For the fourth straight year, we're inviting our users to predict the winners in all 24 Academy Award categories. Can you out-guess the experts?
  2. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.