Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Aug 8, 2013
    80
    I Give It a Year has all the outrageous, embarrassment-based moments you’d expect from one of the creators of “Borat.” Indeed this film has one of the best charades gags ever. But there’s plenty of sweetness and charm, too. You root for both bride and groom, and cheer when they finally say, “I don’t.”
  2. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    That Mazer succeeds in playing this for laughs — however sporadic — rather than as a kitchen-sink downer is an achievement in itself.
  3. Reviewed by: Leba Hertz
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    A smart farce that would make Hugh Grant and his fans proud.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 13, 2013
    60
    The result is funny and plausible, with a fair bit of newly modish Bridesmaidsy bad taste, though I kept getting the sense that the romcom template meant Mazer couldn't really let rip with pure comedy pessimism and cynicism in the way he might have liked.
  5. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    May 13, 2013
    60
    The jokes are strong and delivered by a very talented cast, but the heart isn’t there. It’s easy to laugh, but hard to care.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Aug 4, 2013
    50
    Much of the film's attempted laughs come from the comedy-of-discomfort school, with an endless array of situations that milk awkwardness to a degree that makes these scenes far more unpleasant than humorous to watch.
  7. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Shockingly, the kind of cringe-inducing material upon which Mr. Mazer has built a career as a writer for Sacha Baron Cohen ("Bruno," "Borat," "Da Ali G Show") doesn't work when rendered by types who could have been cast in "Notting Hill" (someone even makes a Hugh Grant joke). It's rather close to excruciating.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    6
    This is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive thanThis is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive than expected. It wasn't very funny, sad, or anything, really. The way I see it, it's just a silly movie to watch on a lazy Sunday morning and to forget about by dinner time. Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2013
    5
    This unrelentingly cynical film reflects a sociopathic sensibility. Mazur, the writer, appears to view people as objects and to lack any senseThis unrelentingly cynical film reflects a sociopathic sensibility. Mazur, the writer, appears to view people as objects and to lack any sense of empathy. There are some positives, notably the cast. I love Rose Byrne no matter what she's in. But overall, let's just say people I watched this movie with audibly revolted at the ending, so contrary was it to their idea of what was credible. The audience wasn't having it and neither was I. Collapse
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Ghastly. If this is the 'comedy of embarrassment', the only people embarrassed must have been the players. Only Simon Baker emerges with anyGhastly. If this is the 'comedy of embarrassment', the only people embarrassed must have been the players. Only Simon Baker emerges with any credit. Lame plot, lame jokes, poor characterisation, desperately contrived scenes.

    I'm not even sure why I've scored it as high as 4 out of 10!
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah,I Give It a Year is trite and awkwardly bland. Sure, likable actors and characters are present--but they aren't given much to do. Oh, yeah, and where's the emotion? Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    1
    My girlfriend and I suffered through this film, regularly considering turning it off. We persevered, thinking the average writing and awkwardMy girlfriend and I suffered through this film, regularly considering turning it off. We persevered, thinking the average writing and awkward directing and acting might yield an upturn or surprise, but it really didn't.

    My favorite elements were the off kilter marriage counsellor (played by Olivia Colman).

    Stephen Merchant is funny as a person in most things I see him in, but in this it just didn't work. If the entire film around Stephen Merchant was built around the same style of inappropriateness, it would have been funnier, really. But considering a more earnest tone throughout, his scenes just put me on edge.

    There was no chemistry between any of the sets of couple, and the script just didn't have any sense of essentialness. It felt like a movie that didn't need to be made, for any reason.

    I came to Metacritic afterwards, expecting the score to be even lower than the current 50, and decided to sign up, to make sure that those thinking this might be worth watching as a no-brainer romantic comedy had a better chance of dodging this bullet. Seriously, watch something else instead.
    Expand

Trailers