User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 143
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffL.
    Nov 28, 2004
    6
    Picture, if you can, this summer's out-of-left-field, oddball indie hit What the Bleep Do We Know if it were reimagined as a screwball comedy. Add to it a brilliant cast of game actors young and old, and a gifted director whose credits (the hilarious Flirting With Disaster and brilliant Three Kings among them)have thus far been uniformly impressive. Now picture the whole thing turned Picture, if you can, this summer's out-of-left-field, oddball indie hit What the Bleep Do We Know if it were reimagined as a screwball comedy. Add to it a brilliant cast of game actors young and old, and a gifted director whose credits (the hilarious Flirting With Disaster and brilliant Three Kings among them)have thus far been uniformly impressive. Now picture the whole thing turned into the sort of overambitious, underachieving, yet occasionally captivating mess that can only be made by a genuinely gifted filmmaker when he falls on his face (think Coppola with One From the Heart, or Soderbergh with Full Frontal.) Don't blame the cast, though. Hoffman and Tomlin are a hoot as pair of "existential detectives" out to help their clients (Schwartzman and Law among them) understand and straighten out their lives' physical, mental, and spiritual messes. Wahlberg is sweetly funny as an angry, environmentally conscious firefighter. And Watts is both spectacularly sexy and sympathetic as a model who finds happiness only after trading in her abbreviated modeling skivvies for something, let's say, less revealing. The problem is in the script, which is overstuffed, underfunny, and fatally full of its own cleverness. And believe me, you can live without seeing the scene of Schwartzman and Huppert carnally cavorting in the mud. But as "failures" go, I suppose this still has more worth seeing than most Hollywood fodder that aims a lot lower. Expand
  2. DickE.
    Nov 5, 2004
    0
    Even the great ones make bad flicks. Dustin welcome to the club. Without any redeeming value whatsoever. Strange but in an awful way. Avoid at all costs.
  3. BillyC.
    Nov 6, 2004
    8
    A laugh-out loud movie with a wacky plot and great performances. The main characters are caught in existential angst and call on the experts...Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman. The movie's angst and silliness calls to mind the early, funny Woody Allen films. While it may not always be clear where the plot is going, the acting by Jude Law, Jason Schartzman, Mark Wahlburg, Tomlin, A laugh-out loud movie with a wacky plot and great performances. The main characters are caught in existential angst and call on the experts...Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman. The movie's angst and silliness calls to mind the early, funny Woody Allen films. While it may not always be clear where the plot is going, the acting by Jude Law, Jason Schartzman, Mark Wahlburg, Tomlin, Hoffman, and Naomi Watts is great. I thought Jude Law's performance was amazing. His face was a wonder to watch with all of its smirks, smiles, and shrugs. Expand
  4. danielh
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    I loved this movie, although it's not for your average joe. If you're in the Julia Roberts realm of movies, you'll hate it. I really enjoyed thinking and pondering ideas in a film. Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman were hilarious.
  5. Dan
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    A glass of water in insane times.
  6. Derek
    Oct 22, 2004
    8
    It was a bit too "talky" and incoherent at times, but overall pretty entertaining.
  7. JedD.
    Oct 23, 2004
    8
    This film has a great premise, wonderful actors and several incredible scenes. But one is left without proper resolution and without further development. What happened to the Jason Schwartzman's questions about the coincedences? With all of the build up for it we are left with nothing. Also as the film was wrapping up I felt as though I was not ready for the wrap up and needed more. This film has a great premise, wonderful actors and several incredible scenes. But one is left without proper resolution and without further development. What happened to the Jason Schwartzman's questions about the coincedences? With all of the build up for it we are left with nothing. Also as the film was wrapping up I felt as though I was not ready for the wrap up and needed more. Despite the few problems I had with the film it is still one of the best hollywood films of the year. Expand
  8. MichaelM.
    Oct 27, 2004
    5
    I Heart Huckabees is by far the strangest movie of the year. I really don't mean that in a positive way. It's wacky and bizarre, but unlike other bizzare films it doesn't go anywhere like Being John Malkovich did, and it doesn't keep us on the edge of our seat like Mulholland Drive did. In the end, it really never explains what the movie is about or what we just saw. I I Heart Huckabees is by far the strangest movie of the year. I really don't mean that in a positive way. It's wacky and bizarre, but unlike other bizzare films it doesn't go anywhere like Being John Malkovich did, and it doesn't keep us on the edge of our seat like Mulholland Drive did. In the end, it really never explains what the movie is about or what we just saw. I Heart Huckabees is very pretentious in that it looks down on you, and tries to impress you with how quirky or ingenious the David O. Russel thinks he is. The best of part of this film is the acting however, something that even Russel couldn't screw up. Jason Schwartzman proves to us what an excellent actor he truly is while Jude Law proves to us what an excellent actor he still is. Isabelle Huppert gives a solid performance for the short time she is in the movie, and Naomi Watts' provides us with the most insane character of the film. Although I wasn't really impressed with Mark Wahlberg, his character provides some more humor for the film (which it is in desperate need of). The real highlight of the movie as far as acting is concerned is the dynamic duo of Dustin Hoffman and Lily Tomlin. By fat they are the reason to watch the film as the quirky and very much so estranged existential detectives. Both Hoffman and Tomlin deserve Oscar nominations for their roles (I doubt they'll get them though.) In closing, I Heart Huckabees is a film you watch merely for the acting alone, and never glance at again. I'm not too crazy about David O. Russel's new film (as you read above), but I never really was impressed with his other two films: Three Kings and Flirting with Disaster. Both of the films struck me as average at best. Huckabees is a wait-till-DVD kind of thing, I guess you could say I didn't Heart it. Grade: C+. Expand
  9. DianeD
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    There is no remainder in the mathematics of infinity.
  10. FabienL.
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    Very much in line with "Rushmore" or "the aquatic life..." Great cast, great acting jobs, very pleasant.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    This movie is great!!! i thought the story on it was better then almost every other movie i have seen this year. it is a funny movie that i watch over and over. i recomend this to anyone who liiked gardenstate.
  12. ShanekwaP.
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    I think this is the best film of the year (sideways was great too). americans dont like to be challenged; and this wasnt that challenging of a movie, just smart. we are so used to watching movies based on video games and amusement rides, I fear theyll give an oscar to a commercial accidentally one of these years. walhberg--you can't beat that performance, and if you dont like that I think this is the best film of the year (sideways was great too). americans dont like to be challenged; and this wasnt that challenging of a movie, just smart. we are so used to watching movies based on video games and amusement rides, I fear theyll give an oscar to a commercial accidentally one of these years. walhberg--you can't beat that performance, and if you dont like that you could stare at Watts instead. its sad that we cant recognize a good use of film when we see it. Expand
  13. JanisT.
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    A funny, and stimulating movie. I loved it. It's definitely one of a kind.
  14. ShaunM.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    My all time favorite movie. Smart. Funny. Generally amazing.
  15. CharlieN.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Brilliant, original, and hilarious!
  16. ChristianP.
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. With the multitudes of film in the last few years, all aimed at mindless teens, I was glad to see a film that asked bigger questions and caused one to think.
  17. CJMorris
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real achievement here. As for the cast, score, design, etc. it's terrific. Well done, Mr. Russell. This film has a heart and a voice that is infinite. An WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real achievement here. As for the cast, score, design, etc. it's terrific. Well done, Mr. Russell. This film has a heart and a voice that is infinite. An undeniable classic that captures the times. Expand
  18. Nov 29, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With such a great cast and with it seems to be an original script it could be a very clever and funny movie. But it fails in everyway, and gets boring after 30 minutes. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Despite the unique premise and some truly inspired casting, the picture remains stuck in an existential rut of its own.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    50
    Ultimately, Huckabees doesn't work. But it sure does stimulate. This is just the kind of "failure" we could use plenty more of.
  3. 50
    Huckabees is the real thing--an authentic disaster--but the picture is so odd that it should inspire, in at least a part of the audience, feelings of fervent loyalty.