Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2004
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 92 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
14
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
johnn.Oct 1, 2005
Fun & quirky & interesting- great music too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeirS.Sep 24, 2005
Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinS.Mar 26, 2006
Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many tremdous actors giving tremendous performances. Every character delighted and every scene tingled with energy. This movie was so brisk to not allow a minute of boredom-- at times laugh out loud funny. Must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tonybobOct 23, 2005
I loved this movie so much i couldnt stop laughing everytime i watch it it gets funnier it never plays out. i think this is the most underrated movie this year. mark wahlberg was halarious everytime he's on the screen i cant stop laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FabienL.Nov 28, 2005
Very much in line with "Rushmore" or "the aquatic life..." Great cast, great acting jobs, very pleasant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunM.Dec 5, 2006
My all time favorite movie. Smart. Funny. Generally amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Brilliant, original, and hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CJMorrisDec 11, 2007
WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real achievement here. As for the cast, score, design, etc. it's terrific. Well done, Mr. Russell. This film has a heart and a voice that is infinite. An undeniable classic that captures the times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexSJun 26, 2011
This film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compellingThis film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compelling in equal measure Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews