Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2004
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 95 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
14
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
johnn.Oct 1, 2005
Fun & quirky & interesting- great music too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeirS.Sep 24, 2005
Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinS.Mar 26, 2006
Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many tremdous actors giving tremendous performances. Every character delighted and every scene tingled with energy. This movie was so brisk to not allow a minute of boredom-- at times laugh out loud funny. Must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tonybobOct 23, 2005
I loved this movie so much i couldnt stop laughing everytime i watch it it gets funnier it never plays out. i think this is the most underrated movie this year. mark wahlberg was halarious everytime he's on the screen i cant stop laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunM.Dec 5, 2006
My all time favorite movie. Smart. Funny. Generally amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Brilliant, original, and hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CJMorrisDec 11, 2007
WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real achievement here. As for the cast, score, design, etc. it's terrific. Well done, Mr. Russell. This film has a heart and a voice that is infinite. An undeniable classic that captures the times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FabienL.Nov 28, 2005
Very much in line with "Rushmore" or "the aquatic life..." Great cast, great acting jobs, very pleasant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexSJun 26, 2011
This film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compellingThis film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compelling in equal measure Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Mar 9, 2014
It's about as frantic and as unpredictable as a hummingbird on blow, but David O. Russell's crack at existentialism does prove to be a clever and entertaining philosophical piece at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PatC.Mar 12, 2007
Excellent movie on a cerebral level, and proof that genuine creativity is still possible in Hollywood. Too bad the film is structurally weak. The convolutions of the thought processes presented spill over into the plot presentation - just a Excellent movie on a cerebral level, and proof that genuine creativity is still possible in Hollywood. Too bad the film is structurally weak. The convolutions of the thought processes presented spill over into the plot presentation - just a little too much to juggle on the fly. And sure, it's a comedy, but the music mocks the content. End result: Less than the sum of its parts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MitchDec 4, 2005
Philosophy 101 gets boring after about 30 minutes. Great cast, top notch talent all around, but squandered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FrankO.Feb 2, 2006
I just could not get into the theme of this movie. I have enjoyed all of David Russell's previous flicks but NOT this one. I like the visual effects but not the plot line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeB.Feb 9, 2007
If you like the Life Aquatic and Napoleon Dynamite you're probably the sort of person that would like this movie. If like me, you thought those movies sucked, then you should avoid this one, too. In short, this is the sort of movie that If you like the Life Aquatic and Napoleon Dynamite you're probably the sort of person that would like this movie. If like me, you thought those movies sucked, then you should avoid this one, too. In short, this is the sort of movie that is so off the wall it divides people into two groups - one that claims to "get it" and belittles those who are too immature to understand it, and another group that realizes there is no sense to be found in the movie and there are only a few cheap laughs to be had. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
tonteriaNov 29, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With such a great cast and with it seems to be an original script it could be a very clever and funny movie. But it fails in everyway, and gets boring after 30 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CanSep 21, 2005
This lazy movie asks you to blindly accept the philosophy presented, while criticizing you for blindly accepting what you already believe. You can't have it both ways. I might have been o.k. with the concept had the film actually This lazy movie asks you to blindly accept the philosophy presented, while criticizing you for blindly accepting what you already believe. You can't have it both ways. I might have been o.k. with the concept had the film actually contained some entertainment. No, it's just preaching to the choir, or alienating anybody who's not in that particular choir. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomS.Oct 6, 2006
Horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful