Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 17, 1997
2.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 254 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
37
Negative:
182
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
No.... I.... know what you did last summer. Come up with this movie and make it official and set the release date to October 17th, 1997 and then go back to being lazy all day and never come out to make another movie like this again.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
7
johannes12Jul 13, 2015
There isn't a whole lot to say about this movie. It's not original, not very scary, very cliché with bad characters and bad scripting, but still enjoyable to watch. Doesn't try to score cheap with ''jump scenes'' but puts more emphasis onThere isn't a whole lot to say about this movie. It's not original, not very scary, very cliché with bad characters and bad scripting, but still enjoyable to watch. Doesn't try to score cheap with ''jump scenes'' but puts more emphasis on suspense. Nice to watch when you're drunk and don't have the attention span for a more complicated horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Zanessa250QIJul 5, 2015
Jeniffer Love Hewitt,a Moreninha Gostosa e super Peituda,dar uma excelente performance mais filmes de terror sempre decepciona e esse foi de lascar péssimo
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
LoRevisorJan 8, 2015
Jennifer Love Hewitt além de gostosa e muito peituda É uma excelente atriz e dar um fenomenal desempenho no filme,mas o filme sim o filme é um fiasco,um dos piores filmes de terror uma excelente história mas o filme resultou num lixo...
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
talisencrwOct 8, 2014
A decent popcorn movie--nothing more. It's a shame that when thousands of very good scriptwriters are struggling to make ends meet, this kind of drivel is being peddled out of America. The country should both be ashamed, and, as in theA decent popcorn movie--nothing more. It's a shame that when thousands of very good scriptwriters are struggling to make ends meet, this kind of drivel is being peddled out of America. The country should both be ashamed, and, as in the original Frankenstein, be chasing everyone involved with lit torches and demand answers. A national travesty and indecency. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
movielove111Apr 1, 2014
Wonderful film with an interesting message and suspense towards the end. One of my favorite Hollywood film. All the cast performed well especially Jennifer was amazing.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
MissDraeMar 1, 2014
A great cast to a good movie. Although it wasn't an oscar winning movie it is a fun summer teen flic to watch. Sarah Michelle gellar gave an incredible performance, I consider it to be one of my favourite movies
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
7
Daniel2651Feb 10, 2014
If you thought Scream was scary then this summer 7 little words will give you the biggest scare of your life.
The film starts by looking at a group of four friends who are celebrating the fact that Helen (Sarah Gellar) has won a beauty
If you thought Scream was scary then this summer 7 little words will give you the biggest scare of your life.
The film starts by looking at a group of four friends who are celebrating the fact that Helen (Sarah Gellar) has won a beauty pageant. The party is going great until the four friends decide to take a drive and accidentally run over a man. Not wanting to report the crime the four friends decide to throw the man in the river. But just before they throw him in the river the man wakes up but luckily for the group of friends after he wakes up he falls in the river and disappears into the murky depths. After this the friends seem tohave gotten away with it until a year later one of them, Julie, (Jennifer Love Hewitt) recieves a letter which reads "I know what you did last summer." From this moment on the four friends find themselves in a revenge story where the killer is taunting them at first and then horrifically killing them one by one.
Even though the film is a bit slow at the start there are some very scary parts in it like when one of the Julie is driving and she hears a scratching sound coming from her boot. So she opens the boot and inside is her friend's dead body covered in crabs. This scared me because at first I thought it was going to be a false-scare but then I saw the dead body and almost jumped out of my seat.
My favourite scene in the film is when Julie is trapped on a boat and is getting chased by the killer. This is a good chase scene because not only does the killer nearly catch her on more than one occasion but also you get the feeling that the killer will catch her eventually because the boat is the middle of the water so you get the feeling that she can't run from the killer forever.
I would recommend this film to anyone who likes horror/action films with a bit of gore. And I would rate this film 7/10.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysJan 5, 2014
Creating the kind of horror movie genre satire that the Scream movies did so well, "Summer" does it so much weaker and with less fun. The movie is very blasé, and I found myself bored while watching it. Jennifer Love Hewitt does nothing toCreating the kind of horror movie genre satire that the Scream movies did so well, "Summer" does it so much weaker and with less fun. The movie is very blasé, and I found myself bored while watching it. Jennifer Love Hewitt does nothing to the character, and all the other performances are banal as well. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
mds03Mar 17, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It wasn't quite as good as Scream but it had just about as much originality as Scream did. The acting was good except for Freddy Prince Junior's. It was really creepy and scary at certain parts. Way scarier than Scream but not as smart with how the story goes. The only problem is that every character that should have escaped got killed because the killer appeared out no where as if he was a ghost which he is not. He's like a 60 year old man and he walks when he chases people when their running as fast as they can but he still manages to kill them somehow. Sarah Michelle Gellar should have survived. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeNov 17, 2012
A good horror movie and very original in its time.
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
9
vini1904Aug 14, 2012
A classic thriller with some of the best chase scenes, the script is good, the performances are good, if you're a fan of suspense,'ve probably watched this movie.
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
8
GagaForGhibliJun 5, 2012
For A Horror Movie It's Very Well Writen And The Acting Is Fine..
Sarah Michelle Gellar Does A Amazing Job!
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
2
heyitsmegrif4Dec 23, 2011
Weak on performances, weak on thrills, weak on dialogue and it isn't even unintentionally funny. Wow this movie has the right to be made fun of. I give this awful movie 18% of a good movie.
18 of 21 users found this helpful183
All this user's reviews
9
nbcJun 23, 2011
I have to say, I liked I Know What You Did Last Summer even better than Scream. It was one of those "at the edge of your seat" thrillers with plenty of jumps, scares, and surprises. Sarah Michelle Gellar makes you like the movie maybe moreI have to say, I liked I Know What You Did Last Summer even better than Scream. It was one of those "at the edge of your seat" thrillers with plenty of jumps, scares, and surprises. Sarah Michelle Gellar makes you like the movie maybe more than you should, but that's fine by me. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
rickymOct 18, 2009
Awesome horror film one of the true masterpieces of the late 90's an epic flick with one of the best plots ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
R.L.Feb 4, 2009
Clique? yes, done a million times? definitely. But that's why we go too the movies, we go to seen cheesy plots and stories & gorgeous women. But this movie side steps a few of those problems that almost all movies have. I know what you Clique? yes, done a million times? definitely. But that's why we go too the movies, we go to seen cheesy plots and stories & gorgeous women. But this movie side steps a few of those problems that almost all movies have. I know what you did last summer has a very intricate and well thought out story and plot, but to a very avid thinker this movie's plot will feel like it was shot full of holes, this films story is derived from the book of the same name. As we all know the movie is never like the book, but this film comes pretty close. Also allot of people and critics look at four main details about a movie. plot, acting, direction and story. These four details make up a film and this movie has three of these four details and that's good enough for me. I know what you did last summer stars Ryan Phillips, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Freddy Prinze Jr. & Sarah Michelle Gellar as four teenagers who while celebrating the fourth of July go for a drive and accidentally hit a man with there car the four panic and dump his body in the ocean and swear never to talk about it again. Four years pass and the incident has took it's toll on Julie( Jennifer Love Hewitt) she has become reclusive and quiet ever since, the others have gone on with there lives. But what they did four years ago has come back to haunt them, a man with a hook has come back for revenge and it's possible that he's the man they hit four years ago, now with time running out they have to figure out if it's him or somebody else come to avenge his death. I know what you did last summer is a roller coaster ride of thrills and chills that won't let up till the very end. I highly recommended this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewMJul 13, 2004
This is Scream without the laughs. While everything about it is unoriginal (all elements of this film can be linked in loan with one precursor or another), it is still an effective teen slasher because most things are done right. The plots This is Scream without the laughs. While everything about it is unoriginal (all elements of this film can be linked in loan with one precursor or another), it is still an effective teen slasher because most things are done right. The plots has gaps larger than the Grand Canyon, but that is not really relevant. What is important is that you get to gawk at attractive young people, who spend most the film running around wildly, usually screaming, trying to escape the cold steel of an unknown killer. Good fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful