User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 74
  2. Negative: 17 out of 74
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Plays like a revival of a John Hughes classic.
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    i think it is a very funny movie and very creative because it has a lot of things that other movies doesn't have, and the actors make their job very good, CONGRATS!
  3. May 29, 2011
    3
    I found it pretty cool the way Chris Columbus knew dealing with cliches. The movie while it has very funny scenes, and has nostalgic scenes, very well made. For real, for me the film is a tribute to the great movies of the afternoon session of the the 80's. The aesthetic is the same, the common situations. Instead of the current cliché is that in high school musical movie, theI found it pretty cool the way Chris Columbus knew dealing with cliches. The movie while it has very funny scenes, and has nostalgic scenes, very well made. For real, for me the film is a tribute to the great movies of the afternoon session of the the 80's. The aesthetic is the same, the common situations. Instead of the current cliché is that in high school musical movie, the guy made a movie to remember the 80's, has something better than this? Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    6
    The picture is heavy-handed, and can be tempted by high-school movie formula, but it does raise some serious questions about the nature of people. Thumbs up.
  5. RamB.
    Oct 18, 2009
    4
    Besides being too obvious, some dialogues are weak even for teen movie standards. Plus, the plot really doesn't decide: is it an action movie, a renewed love story or just a silly comedy? Sadly, Chris Columbus's latest effort should have been a straight to TV movie.
  6. GnarlesS.
    Aug 24, 2009
    1
    How can such a funny book be made into this dreg? The male lead was awful and the dialogue was unfunny. This is the kind of movie that makes everyone in the audience think, "I could write movies a lot better than this!"
  7. IzzyC
    Jul 30, 2009
    0
    One of the worst movies i have ever seen, the lead (Paul Rust) was unbearable to watch and the funniest part of the movie was the credits were they showed the pictures of everyone who worked on the movie in there high school pictures.
  8. KaiK
    Jul 24, 2009
    7
    I haven't seen "I love you Beth Cooper" but it looks amusingly funny to some degree. Hayden Panettiere is really hot(which my be the redeeming part of this film). The film seems like its border line soft core porn (which isn't a bad thing) since that seems to be the high light of the film. I think it looks as though the characters confuse love with lust. If this Movie was rated I haven't seen "I love you Beth Cooper" but it looks amusingly funny to some degree. Hayden Panettiere is really hot(which my be the redeeming part of this film). The film seems like its border line soft core porn (which isn't a bad thing) since that seems to be the high light of the film. I think it looks as though the characters confuse love with lust. If this Movie was rated R or (X) and titled "I lust for Beth copper" it might get a higher score. If i ever see this film, I will watch this film with low expectations based on the reviews. But reviews are some times to hash and sour and I often I have different opinions than critics. so I will have to see it to give it a more accurate rating. Expand
  9. TomL
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    I didn't see this. And won't see it, because it looks like it sucks. But I voted a ten anyway, just for all of the illegal things I would do to Hayden Panettiere. I mean, hackneyed, unoriginal, crappy, worthless. Whatever you want to call this movie, I think it should still get credit for being one of those brave films to show teens acting in soft-soft core porn.
  10. RickyQ
    Jul 14, 2009
    4
    I went into this with very low expectations which were met, but that isn't necessarily a good thing. The problem here is that the movie is neither very funny nor sweet. Teen humour has been done much better before, though there are a few chuckles here and there. The chemistry between the two main characters is also non-existent. I was surprised to find that this boring movie was I went into this with very low expectations which were met, but that isn't necessarily a good thing. The problem here is that the movie is neither very funny nor sweet. Teen humour has been done much better before, though there are a few chuckles here and there. The chemistry between the two main characters is also non-existent. I was surprised to find that this boring movie was written by former Simpsons writer Larry Doyle. If your a big Hayden Panettiere fan (as I am) you might get some enjoyment from this movie, but it's still not worth the price of admission. Expand
  11. JimF
    Jul 14, 2009
    7
    This charming, smartly done teen sex comedy worked for me in a way that I thought "Adventureland" would, but didn't. The three leads are charming, with Panetierre seeming to embody the desirable adventurousness of Britney Spears, while Paul Rust is smart and soulful. It's a coming of age film for those who went to school in the "Star Wars" era, which makes its PG-13 sexuality This charming, smartly done teen sex comedy worked for me in a way that I thought "Adventureland" would, but didn't. The three leads are charming, with Panetierre seeming to embody the desirable adventurousness of Britney Spears, while Paul Rust is smart and soulful. It's a coming of age film for those who went to school in the "Star Wars" era, which makes its PG-13 sexuality both appropriate and nostalgic. And if the manic gags often seem contrived and overdone, the characters and sentiments at the heart of the story are real and convincing. Expand
  12. ChadS.
    Jul 11, 2009
    5
    "I Love You, Beth Cooper" is sort of like "Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist", but without any of Michael Cera or Kat Dennings' hipster cool. Songs by Against Me and The Hives come off sounding inorganic in the film's respective car scenes, because no matter how fast Beth Cooper(Hayden Panettiere) drives, neither the cheerleader nor the "Star Wars"-obsessed nerd seem cool "I Love You, Beth Cooper" is sort of like "Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist", but without any of Michael Cera or Kat Dennings' hipster cool. Songs by Against Me and The Hives come off sounding inorganic in the film's respective car scenes, because no matter how fast Beth Cooper(Hayden Panettiere) drives, neither the cheerleader nor the "Star Wars"-obsessed nerd seem cool enough for either band. Working within the parameters of its PG-13 rating, the film relies a lot on Beth's reckless proclivity for speed, much like the Prince song "Little Red Corvette"("baby you're much too fast"), as a metaphor for her latent sexuality. "I guess I shoulda known by the way u parked your car sideways that it wouldn't last," observed the pre-emancipated, pre-unpronouncable icon, pre-purple dynamo circa 1982, who knew exactly how Denis Cooverman(Paul Rust) felt in the ensuing moments after Beth parks her Yaris(not sideways, alas, in a lot) outside a convenience store. When the sales clerk refuses to sell her alcohol, she propositions him: a kiss for the beer, which sounds conspicuously tame coming from a girl who has "hello" embroidered on her panties. Back in the car, Denis' horrified reaction to this Production Code era bit of hanky panky between two horny teenagers seems overblown. To avoid an R rating, "I Love You, Beth Cooper" unintentionally reverts to the social mores of the fifties, contrary to its contemporary trappings. Beth is fast, but not fast enough. To Denis' horror, Beth made the first move; she kissed the clerk, for a lousy six-pack of beer. Just imagine his reaction if the film wasn't so coy, and his dream girl did something more provocative than "suck face for two seconds". It's interesting how the erotic limitations of a PG-13 rating allows Denis to remake the sexually active Beth into a virgin. Expand
  13. BrianM.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Awesome! hysterical! Hayden is so hot!!
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    10
    Joyless, offensively stupid end-of-high-school farce.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    30
    Although the teenage audience is notoriously undiscriminating, it's hard to imagine many kids turning out for this laugh-free comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    Peaks early -- like, during the first three minutes -- and rapidly goes downhill from there.