I Love You, Man

I Love You, Man Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In I Love You, Man, a comedy from John Hamburg, Peter Klaven is a successful real estate agent who, upon getting engaged to the woman of his dreams, Zooey, discovers, to his dismay and chagrin, that he has no male friend close enough to serve as his Best Man. Peter immediately sets out toIn I Love You, Man, a comedy from John Hamburg, Peter Klaven is a successful real estate agent who, upon getting engaged to the woman of his dreams, Zooey, discovers, to his dismay and chagrin, that he has no male friend close enough to serve as his Best Man. Peter immediately sets out to rectify the situation, embarking on a series of bizarre and awkward "man-dates," before meeting Sydney Fife, a charming, opinionated man with whom he instantly bonds. But the closer the two men get, the more Peter's relationship with Zooey suffers, ultimately forcing him to choose between his fiancee and his new found "bro," in a story that comically explores what it truly means to be a "friend." (Paramount) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. By far the best Judd Apatow comedy that Judd Apatow had nothing at all to do with.
  2. 88
    This movie was absolutely hilarious, and proved that dating might be easy, but making friends is much harder.
  3. 80
    Rudd's timing has always been good, but in I Love You, Man he gives the finest performance of his career, breaking his comic beats down into weird and wonderful fractional increments. It's as if he's invented a new comedy dialect.
  4. 75
    The real revelation is Lou Ferrigno, in his first non-Hulk-related big-screen role since 2002. OK, so he plays himself.
  5. The central love story, platonic though it may be, is entirely between the men. Their connection - and I’m determined to avoid the word “bromance” - saves this film from becoming just another Apatowian wanna-be.
  6. Jon Favreau, J.K. Simmons, Thomas Lennon and half a dozen other capable comedians drift in and out. Yet the movie seems long even at 105 minutes.
  7. And like most women in bromance comedies, Jones does exactly what she's supposed to do by doing almost nothing.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 8 out of 58
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    This movie was very funny and light-hearted. Paul Rudd and Jason Segel work very well together and create an excellent bromance. The way theyThis movie was very funny and light-hearted. Paul Rudd and Jason Segel work very well together and create an excellent bromance. The way they meet is very funny, and Paul Rudd's girlfriend pushing him to go out makes for a very funny scene. All of the scenes where the characters are just hanging out and having fun are very light-hearted and make you feel good. I also very much appreciated how the movie truly focused on the bromance, and not too much on Rudd's relationship. The movie seemed very real, and there were no boring parts. Excellent, I recommend viewing. Expand
  2. nate
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    The chemistry between the two is amazing. this movie is just a warm, feel good, hilarious, best bud movie. One of the best this year so far!
  3. May 3, 2012
    9
    I was blown away with how fantastic this movie is, I remember seeing the trailers and thinking it looked awful, but I'm a huge Paul Rudd fanI was blown away with how fantastic this movie is, I remember seeing the trailers and thinking it looked awful, but I'm a huge Paul Rudd fan and when I heard he was in this I figured I would give it a shot, and I;m glad I did, it's hilarious, Paul Rudd, Jason Segel and everyone else in this movie gave phenomenal performances, go out and watch this as fast as you can. Expand
  4. R.Lopez
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    I don't usually watch comedies, I particularly don't really care for them. I guess it's becuase I can't find oneI don't usually watch comedies, I particularly don't really care for them. I guess it's becuase I can't find one that's smart, has good acting and actually has good jokes. This film had all that and some more thrown in there for extra measures.
    I Love You, Man was funny, charming, lighthearted and had a great sense of brotherly love. This movie was great for me becuase my friends are my bros and this was a cool movie for me to watch and think of all the stuff that Peter and Sydney do are some of the stuff me and my friends have done, most of it not all of it. But it did give you a great story as well as a good time it works it's brotherly type of charm on you and it won't let you go or let you stop laughing until the very end. It meant allot to me in the terms of it premise but then it didn't, I mean I do think it does apply to what male friendship is and then again I don't. I mean doing stupid stuff is all apart of being a guy and jamming out in your brother from another mother's garage is cool but not the main focal point of being a friend. But after you get past the dumb stuff then it gives you a true look at what being a true friend is.

    Paul Rudd does fantastic here and in my opinion turns in one of his best comic performances since Clueless and Role Models, Jason Segel(who I didn't like until I saw Forgetting Sarah Marshall.) was also fantastic here. But his crude and nasty style soon takes it's tole on you and it get's annoying. But all in all the both of them put on a great comedic show.

    I Love You, Man is quirky and unusual, funny and touching and at the same time raunchy( bu not too raunchy. ) it gives a great story of brotherly love and shows you what a bromance looks like and how sometimes it can be funny and ridiculous at the same time. All in all this movie was a major caliber above the bar of regular comedies and that makes it gold among them. I love You, Man is one friendship you don't want to turn down and if you over look some things in it i promise you this film will make you laugh like no other comedy can. All in all I Love You, Man delivers.
    Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    here really isn't anything special about this movie but it works. The acting is very solid and it has some very funny moments that are justhere really isn't anything special about this movie but it works. The acting is very solid and it has some very funny moments that are just fantastic. There are some issues however, the movie has the opportunity to take on some major issues that occur early on in relationships but the movie just kind of backs away from it. The movie also doesn't really have a solid plot but it makes itself work with out it. Overall this movie is worth a watch and a lot of fun. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    I thought it was ok but the long run time ruined it. While it featured more then a few hilarious moments, The run time made the film more thenI thought it was ok but the long run time ruined it. While it featured more then a few hilarious moments, The run time made the film more then dull in quite a few parts and streched it out longer then it had to be. The cast was solid too. If you can sit through the film, I am sure you probably enjoyed it. Expand
  7. IamheAsyouarehe
    Apr 8, 2009
    0
    We walked out after the first 40 minutes, so if the last part was terrific, well, we wouldn't know. If you love gross male bonding We walked out after the first 40 minutes, so if the last part was terrific, well, we wouldn't know. If you love gross male bonding rituals run amok, including poker games, over-drinking, projectile vomiting and other frat boy tricks, and have a taste for "jokes" that work by attempting to trigger homophobic uneasiness, then you may very well love this horrible film, man. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years

    Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years Image
    Published: August 11, 2010
    It's classic summer counterprogramming: When a major action film comes out (like this week's "The Expendables"), counter it with something that appeals to women (like this week's "Eat Pray Love"). We look back at some of the worst examples of the "chick flick" genre since 1990.
  2. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  3. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.