Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 22, 2010
    100
    Think "Catch Me If You Can" mashed up with "Brokeback Mountain" if Mel Brooks directed and you'll get the idea.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 6, 2010
    91
    It's the beaming movie-star intensity of the complicated comic Carrey in the role of the dominant lover and Obi-Wan Kenobi McGregor as the gentle beloved that makes this unfettered, stranger-than-fiction picture pop.
  3. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Nothing tops ILYPM's Jim Carrey ... in the most gloriously raunchy, unrepentant moment in the an(n)als of Hollywood A-listers doing gay-for-pay.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    A Jim Carrey movie all the way: a good one, I might add. With his manic glare, ferociously eager smile, hyperkinetic body language and talent for instant self-transformation, Mr. Carrey has rarely been more charismatic on the screen.
  5. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Less of a comedy than a hilarious tragedy, I Love You Phillip Morris stars Jim Carrey in his most complicated comedic role since "The Cable Guy."
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    It is Carrey, turning his patented rubber-faced, rubber-voiced shtick loose on a role with heart, substance and entertainment value, who makes this romantic farce a movie too good to sit on any studio's shelf.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 8, 2010
    88
    Carrey makes the role seem effortless; he deceives as spontaneously as others breathe.
  8. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Dec 6, 2010
    83
    Ficarra and Requa are more comfortable being bad: The nastier the film gets, the better it is.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    2
    Something about this movie rubbed me the wrong way. First, I thought it was black comedy and/or farce that didn't work for me. But, much more so, it was the inauthenticity of the main character that gave me a strong negative visceral reaction. Yet, although I was uncomfortable while watching, I was never bored. And I did find myself thinking about the film afterward. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    "I Love You Phillip Morris" is a heart warm comedy that gives its best to the audience with the funny, usual performance by Jim Carrey and girlish acting by Ian Mcgregor. Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. IN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOIILER S** by CtheTav I didn't think this film would be very good going in as Jim Carrey has been a bit terrible with choosing films and Ewan McGregor has never been my favourite person. However this film was a pleasant surprise. It starts with the words "this really happened...no really" which raised the proverbial eyebrow over what was going to happen that was so unbelievable. As the film opens we see a very skinny Jim Carrey dying in a hospital bed, he then proceeds to tell us his life story. Normally I would find this irritating however due to the unreliability of the narration the rugged is pulled from under the audiences feet several times. The story seems so farfetched I am inclined to see how much is true given all the escapes pulled off. The romance between the pair seems believable enough and I found myself welling up at the end than laughing hilariously before the credits finally rolled Rating 7 out of 10 Quite funny with a solid story, though not for everyone Full Review »