Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 8, 2010
    88
    Carrey makes the role seem effortless; he deceives as spontaneously as others breathe.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Dec 6, 2010
    83
    Ficarra and Requa are more comfortable being bad: The nastier the film gets, the better it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    It is Carrey, turning his patented rubber-faced, rubber-voiced shtick loose on a role with heart, substance and entertainment value, who makes this romantic farce a movie too good to sit on any studio's shelf.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 22, 2010
    100
    Think "Catch Me If You Can" mashed up with "Brokeback Mountain" if Mel Brooks directed and you'll get the idea.
  5. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Nothing tops ILYPM's Jim Carrey ... in the most gloriously raunchy, unrepentant moment in the an(n)als of Hollywood A-listers doing gay-for-pay.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    A Jim Carrey movie all the way: a good one, I might add. With his manic glare, ferociously eager smile, hyperkinetic body language and talent for instant self-transformation, Mr. Carrey has rarely been more charismatic on the screen.
  7. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Less of a comedy than a hilarious tragedy, I Love You Phillip Morris stars Jim Carrey in his most complicated comedic role since "The Cable Guy."
  8. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 6, 2010
    91
    It's the beaming movie-star intensity of the complicated comic Carrey in the role of the dominant lover and Obi-Wan Kenobi McGregor as the gentle beloved that makes this unfettered, stranger-than-fiction picture pop.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    2
    Something about this movie rubbed me the wrong way. First, I thought it was black comedy and/or farce that didn't work for me. But, much moreSomething about this movie rubbed me the wrong way. First, I thought it was black comedy and/or farce that didn't work for me. But, much more so, it was the inauthenticity of the main character that gave me a strong negative visceral reaction. Yet, although I was uncomfortable while watching, I was never bored. And I did find myself thinking about the film afterward. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    "I Love You Phillip Morris" is a heart warm comedy that gives its best to the audience with the funny, usual performance by Jim Carrey and"I Love You Phillip Morris" is a heart warm comedy that gives its best to the audience with the funny, usual performance by Jim Carrey and girlish acting by Ian Mcgregor. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2014
    8
    This film got an entertaining story about a couple in love, and their need for love and freedom.

    This is a funny film. Jim Carrey as Steven
    This film got an entertaining story about a couple in love, and their need for love and freedom.

    This is a funny film. Jim Carrey as Steven Russell is the best with I Love You Phillip Morris. The acting is so phenomenal. The romance between the two main characters are superb, I love it. The script is well adapted for the romance and at the same time is it highly entertaining. I wouldn’t define this comedy film as boring, not by a long shot. It’s **** awesome!

    This is a flawless film that got great comedy.

    I Love You Phillip Morris gets an 8/10.
    Full Review »