I Love You Phillip Morris

Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    If you're a fan of provocative, offbeat films such as "My Own Private Idaho" or "The Crying Game," you might want to give "Phillip Morris" a chance.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    The performance often errs on the side of cartoon, but it's laced with flashes of remorse and chagrin, with sincerity. When Carrey tries to do "dramatic acting'' the life always goes of out him.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 8, 2010
    88
    Carrey makes the role seem effortless; he deceives as spontaneously as others breathe.
  4. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    One of the funniest films of the year, this is a wonderful mix of old-school Carrey outrageousness with a genuinely touching - and very modern - love story.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 6, 2010
    91
    It's the beaming movie-star intensity of the complicated comic Carrey in the role of the dominant lover and Obi-Wan Kenobi McGregor as the gentle beloved that makes this unfettered, stranger-than-fiction picture pop.
  6. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 24, 2010
    63
    Likable but uneven comedy by writer-directors Glenn Ficara and John Requa (Bad Santa).
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    This is a love story in which one of the partners repeatedly does some really bad stuff, and while it's easy enough to admire him for his ability to get away with it all, it's harder to square the way he so cheerfully dupes innocent people, including his beloved.
  8. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    It's a welcome alternative to the homogenized Hollywood releases that proliferate during the holiday season.
  9. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    "Liar Liar" meets Obi-Wan? Who'da thunk even fearless star power could make these two work as a romantic pair? But both stars prove to be enormous fun in a gay love story played straight in a thoroughly crooked context.
  10. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    It is Carrey, turning his patented rubber-faced, rubber-voiced shtick loose on a role with heart, substance and entertainment value, who makes this romantic farce a movie too good to sit on any studio's shelf.
  11. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    McGregor, playing his lover, is a perfect foil: gentle, funny, magnetic.
  12. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    Ultimately, the plot (irrespective of how faithful it is to real life) isn't the problem - it's the unevenness with which co-directors Glenn Ficarra and John Requa (both making their directorial debuts) approach it that limits the film's success and mutes the experience of sitting through it.
  13. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    It's one crazy love story, but Carrey and McGregor make it work by making us buy the romance as the real thing. There's something about these Marys that pulls you in.
  14. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Carrey provides one of his most whacked-out and enjoyable performances.
  15. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 22, 2010
    100
    Think "Catch Me If You Can" mashed up with "Brokeback Mountain" if Mel Brooks directed and you'll get the idea.
  16. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Dec 6, 2010
    83
    Ficarra and Requa are more comfortable being bad: The nastier the film gets, the better it is.
  17. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    A Jim Carrey movie all the way: a good one, I might add. With his manic glare, ferociously eager smile, hyperkinetic body language and talent for instant self-transformation, Mr. Carrey has rarely been more charismatic on the screen.
  18. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Less of a comedy than a hilarious tragedy, I Love You Phillip Morris stars Jim Carrey in his most complicated comedic role since "The Cable Guy."
  19. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Nothing tops ILYPM's Jim Carrey ... in the most gloriously raunchy, unrepentant moment in the an(n)als of Hollywood A-listers doing gay-for-pay.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    2
    Something about this movie rubbed me the wrong way. First, I thought it was black comedy and/or farce that didn't work for me. But, much moreSomething about this movie rubbed me the wrong way. First, I thought it was black comedy and/or farce that didn't work for me. But, much more so, it was the inauthenticity of the main character that gave me a strong negative visceral reaction. Yet, although I was uncomfortable while watching, I was never bored. And I did find myself thinking about the film afterward. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    "I Love You Phillip Morris" is a heart warm comedy that gives its best to the audience with the funny, usual performance by Jim Carrey and"I Love You Phillip Morris" is a heart warm comedy that gives its best to the audience with the funny, usual performance by Jim Carrey and girlish acting by Ian Mcgregor. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2014
    8
    This film got an entertaining story about a couple in love, and their need for love and freedom.

    This is a funny film. Jim Carrey as Steven
    This film got an entertaining story about a couple in love, and their need for love and freedom.

    This is a funny film. Jim Carrey as Steven Russell is the best with I Love You Phillip Morris. The acting is so phenomenal. The romance between the two main characters are superb, I love it. The script is well adapted for the romance and at the same time is it highly entertaining. I wouldn’t define this comedy film as boring, not by a long shot. It’s **** awesome!

    This is a flawless film that got great comedy.

    I Love You Phillip Morris gets an 8/10.
    Full Review »