Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 10 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Dec 8, 2011
    0
    I Melt With You assuredly marks itself as one of 2011's most ludicrous releases.
  2. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Dec 8, 2011
    35
    In another light the group's - and the film's - portentous resolution looks a lot like quitting, in true slacker style.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 8, 2011
    20
    It almost seems unfair to mention that Carla Gugino shows up as a cop 80 minutes into these overlong proceedings; by then, viewers who walk out would never even have known that she was involved.
  4. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Dec 7, 2011
    0
    A disastrous catalog of flaws, all accentuated by dilated, out-of-focus cinematography. The coke-snorting, booze-guzzling and vomiting add up to nearly two hours of frustration, anesthesia and pointless, self-indulgent excess. They should have called it "I Vomit With You." There's plenty of that too.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Dec 4, 2011
    12
    The only thing more narcissistically indulgent than the film's repugnant protagonists is Mark Pellington's iPod-scored, visually flashy, thoroughly hollow directorial celebration of them.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Dec 7, 2011
    16
    A movie about self-absorbed douchebags that wallows in their douchebaggery.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 8, 2011
    10
    When a sheriff's deputy (Carla Gugino) visits the house, I Melt With You turns into a ludicrous, cheap horror thriller that sheds any claims to integrity. By the end, you feel nothing, not even contempt.
  8. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 6, 2011
    20
    An excruciatingly awkward stab at generational sympathy, I Melt with You presents a quartet of thickening college buddies gathering at a Big Sur rental house to mourn their lost ambition.
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Dec 6, 2011
    30
    A weekend romp for four middle-aged buddies devolves into a drug-fueled, suicidal hell in Mark Pellington's ill-conceived and executed I Melt With You, a work of extreme self-indulgence.
  10. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Dec 6, 2011
    30
    Stylish cinematography and an awesome punk-and-new-wave soundtrack make the early, music-video-like montages of debauchery at least trashy entertainment, but the film's second half couldn't be more contemptible.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This seems to be a very divisive movie. You'll either love it it immensely or hate it with every fiber of your being. I for one loved it! It's been two weeks since i watched it on Netflix, and I still can not stop thinking about it. I thought it was a beautiful, albeit intense movie. The score is just as enchanting and the acting is phenomenal! The subject matter is dark, and the director, Mark Pellington, takes the audience places most filmmakers dare not go. It doesn't help that it has 3 relatively mainstream actors, two of which are well known for doing comedy, which i feel is what shot this film in the foot. Movie-goers expectations. I feel the people who choose to watch based solely on the cast, and know nothing of the movie are setting themselves up for disappointment. A wonderful film, that is unfortunately not for everyone. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    1
    I was hopeful for this movie because it has some of my favorite actors in it...and they all do OK. But for a movie dealing with some pretty deep dark things, there is surprisingly little introspection. I found myself wishing for a faster way to the inevitable. Plus, Carla Gugino plays the most ineffective, clueless sheriff ever. Full Review »