Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 16, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 458 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
359
Mixed:
65
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
ForeverlassJul 27, 2004
Crappola in the purest sense. Great actor with nothing to work with. Very flat and disappointing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.Aug 18, 2004
Capsule reviewers and prudent moviegoers will succinctly describe this dumbing-down of Isaac Asimov's classic work as "a futuristic Will Smith movie", and that pretty much sums it up. Police procedurals and films noir set around or Capsule reviewers and prudent moviegoers will succinctly describe this dumbing-down of Isaac Asimov's classic work as "a futuristic Will Smith movie", and that pretty much sums it up. Police procedurals and films noir set around or after the time our great-grandchildren start picking up what's left of their Social Security checks are an almost sure-fire genre, but this is light years removed from in quality,intelligence and style from nearly all of them; forget Blade Runner, Minority Report and Robocop--I,Robot doesn't even play as well as Soylent Green...and that one came out 32 years ago! I empathize with critics who, after The Crow and especially Dark City saw director Alex Proyas as a true cinematic visionary only to have their hopes smashed when he emerged here as a CGI hack no more distinctive than Stephen Sommers or Paul W.S. Anderson. (Oh, wait...Sommers' Van Helsing was far more visually inventive and fanciful than anything seen here.) Smith can be as likable as any matinee-idol leading man out there, but I, Robot doesn't even have the minimal smarts to play off that: his endlessly grumpy, robot-xenophobic cop is a one-note stretch that even Caruso or Streisand couldn't pull off. Worse, Smith's casting reduces it from mere mindlessness to sheer offensiveness;I hate to bring up race here, especially since Smith normally transcends it (he'd definitely be one of those actors that the John Turturro character in Do the Right Thing wouldn't think of as Black),but keep this in mind: Smith plays a BIGOT who battles a SLAVE REVOLT with the help of an "UNCLE TOM"...and Smith is the good guy!?! I'd give Proyas and company minimal if grudging credit for ironic inversion IF anything else in I, Robot resembled anything more intellectually challenging than Bad Boys 27: Will Kicks C-3PO's Booty, but nothing does, so I won't. So all in all, what have we learned from this movie? Pretty much this: if your toaster, DVD player or Oreck vacuum cleaner emits a spooky red glow, GET RID OF IT...but I trust you don't have to plunk down $9.00 plus parking and babysitting to figure that one out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
H.N.Jul 15, 2004
Sucks, don't pay money to see it! Nothing to do with the book!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MarieS.Dec 11, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] While the robot's character showed some true guts in confronting the detective (Smith) the human went from laughable (boasting to his mother about his new sneakers) to nazi-style interrogation by headshot (it's [***SPOILERS***] While the robot's character showed some true guts in confronting the detective (Smith) the human went from laughable (boasting to his mother about his new sneakers) to nazi-style interrogation by headshot (it's only robots you know) - disgusting. Next, after having made friends with the humans the robot seems to can't stop adoring his new masters. This mounts in him being persuaded to believe it was a act of love that his father/constructor of all things chose his own son to commit the father's suicide. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
oliver1hFeb 9, 2013
Has nothing to do with science fiction. This is just a generic, illogical action movie for the masses. They should not call it I, Robot. The acting is bad, the story is dumbed down for children, lacking the realistic vision of the future. Bad....
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
JasonS.May 29, 2006
An insult to Asimov. This movie has almost nothing to do with the source material.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
davepNov 24, 2008
i-robot is just so terribly awful. Patronising and childish. It is well known that many movies are aimed at the lowest common denominator (about 12 years) to create the most income. The way to enjoy this movie is to be a little toasted on i-robot is just so terribly awful. Patronising and childish. It is well known that many movies are aimed at the lowest common denominator (about 12 years) to create the most income. The way to enjoy this movie is to be a little toasted on pot, that way everything will be impressive and the lame plot will be a surprise. So, if you are stupid or about 12 years you may like this movie. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
3
DavidH.Mar 4, 2007
Sluggishly paced, banal script, sub-drama school performances. The complete ambivalence towards the source material might have been forgivable if the story put in it's place amounted to more than the stream of trite cliches it turned out to be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
yooncJan 7, 2005
It has some cool set designs and effects but otherwise, it's your standard sci-fi movie where computers take over the world and etc. will smith is dull as usual. a white actress is even duller. indeed, everyone is dull. but the robots It has some cool set designs and effects but otherwise, it's your standard sci-fi movie where computers take over the world and etc. will smith is dull as usual. a white actress is even duller. indeed, everyone is dull. but the robots come to life in a few scenes and you almost wish they did take over the world and wipe out all of mankind, if indeed if everyone's as dull as people in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SeanKMar 28, 2005
Nice special effects...actually brilliant special effects, but they couldn't save this snoozer. I didn't really even care if the robots won because the humans were so boring and un-likeable. Quite a surprise given the charismatic Nice special effects...actually brilliant special effects, but they couldn't save this snoozer. I didn't really even care if the robots won because the humans were so boring and un-likeable. Quite a surprise given the charismatic leading man Will Smith. Not a good movie. I would not recommend to a friend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LomaxH.Jul 28, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Let me get this straight: The protagonist of the moive is distrustful of robots and thinks there is a massive robot conspiracy because a robot saved his life? What was the point of this movie again? Oh yeah, to generate more [***SPOILERS***] Let me get this straight: The protagonist of the moive is distrustful of robots and thinks there is a massive robot conspiracy because a robot saved his life? What was the point of this movie again? Oh yeah, to generate more income for Will Smith. Pathetic. It is amazing that studios will spend millions on special effects and "star power" then skimp when it comes to putting together a cogent story. Is it too much to ask to get a movie that makes sense at any point or have actions movies degenerated to the point that all the audience can hope for are lame one liners, bullets, and green screens? That was a rhetorical question, I know what the answer is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ShootsyJul 21, 2004
Sorry can't compute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveHJul 17, 2004
This is not a good movie. Too much Will Smith and not enough robots. Will Smith plays the same wise guy we are used to seeing. Instead of hating white guys, he hates robots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JudyT.Jul 19, 2004
Should have been better. Hated the ending human pride took over. A better ending would have been Sonny saving both of them. Truly revolutionary and requiring independent thought.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DarrenAug 15, 2004
Not one of Will's better choice of scripts. Movie is lame. Without Will it would get a zero. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LaneSep 2, 2004
Too much fluff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BenjaminA.Jul 16, 2004
Gah. What an underachievment. This movie had the WORST dialogue and character writing in any movie I've seen. There are jokes like every few lines. NONE of them are funny. The visual effects were good here and there, but sometimes they Gah. What an underachievment. This movie had the WORST dialogue and character writing in any movie I've seen. There are jokes like every few lines. NONE of them are funny. The visual effects were good here and there, but sometimes they looked bad. It had some good ideas. Too bad they weren't the centerpiece of the movie, nor were they original. Ive seen the same ideas in A.I. and 2001: A Space Oddesey. And probably the book, which I haven't read, but am told is nothing like the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WakoJakoJul 22, 2004
So much worse than I hoped...my expectations were already down skimming the reviews, so the fact that I hated this movie only proves it's really a worthless piece of schlock. I went opening night 'cause I like Will Smith, I do so So much worse than I hoped...my expectations were already down skimming the reviews, so the fact that I hated this movie only proves it's really a worthless piece of schlock. I went opening night 'cause I like Will Smith, I do so like the man...hell, I even went to Wild Wild West...but this is so below what he ought to be doing right now. Three points for FX, which of course rocked...but what good where they to such drivelous, derivative crap??? Everything seems to be copied from something else. EVERYTHING. It was like one huge unpleasant deja vu. I rate it worse than Wild Wild West. At least that film, as stupid as it was, showed some originality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GCJul 16, 2004
Why did they call this movies I, Robot? Because it uses robots? Because it uses Asimov's characters? Asimov's robots got into logical trouble within the 3 laws. This movie just makes the robots ignore the laws and go beserk. Robots Why did they call this movies I, Robot? Because it uses robots? Because it uses Asimov's characters? Asimov's robots got into logical trouble within the 3 laws. This movie just makes the robots ignore the laws and go beserk. Robots rebel! *yawn* If you're lobotomized, go see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeD.Jul 16, 2004
Hardly worth your time! I was excited, I mean it's based on one of my fave books. However, Will Smith's acting is not up to par on his incredible performances in movies like ID4 and Wild Wild West (two masterpieces, by the way). Hardly worth your time! I was excited, I mean it's based on one of my fave books. However, Will Smith's acting is not up to par on his incredible performances in movies like ID4 and Wild Wild West (two masterpieces, by the way). The robots are incredibly dull, and even the biggest showdowns just look like a bad videogame. And, by the way, it is boring as all hell. I'd reccomend Day After Tomorrow or any oter great action flick over this! Avoid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatrickMJul 17, 2004
The main problem that I discovered with this movie was that Will Smith was the only character in the movie with a pulse. Bridget Moynahan is lack luster at best as Smith's side kick/undeveloped love interest. The robots looked like The main problem that I discovered with this movie was that Will Smith was the only character in the movie with a pulse. Bridget Moynahan is lack luster at best as Smith's side kick/undeveloped love interest. The robots looked like something a geek would create on photoshop. But, I must say the Audi was absolutely PIMP. A big flaw was the story and the predictability throughout. Now then, the future I guess will have the same ghettos and run-down areas, the same type of basic clothing, but then robots will be everywhere?? Nice try, but the movie is dull and uninspiring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
VinceH.Jul 22, 2004
I must say that I was really looking foward to this movie when I heard Alex Proyas was directing it. His last sci-fi movie was "Dark City", a brilliant noir that actually had ideas and thoughts underneath its action-sheen story. I must say that I was really looking foward to this movie when I heard Alex Proyas was directing it. His last sci-fi movie was "Dark City", a brilliant noir that actually had ideas and thoughts underneath its action-sheen story. Unfortunately, any hints of interesting ideas are bogged down under the weight of the ususal action movie cliches, same-old-same-old shootouts, and bland characterizations (Smith is essentially a one-note badass rebel who "takes the law in his old hands") Let's not forget the usual tacky add-ons like the elderly black relgious mother who's makes a mean sweet potatoe pie, the fat black police captain who is constantly reprimanding Smith, the more rational female sidekick who constantly doubts the hero until the end, etc. There is also a lot of annoying foreshadowing as well, such as hilariously obvious close-up shots of object that serve no purpose other than to tell the audience that they will come into play later in the film, with stupid motifs such as "Hansel & Gretel" and "breadcrumbs". Overall just a really lazy effort that perhaps with a bit more script-tightening and less CGI-dependent action scenes, this could've been something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TrinimanJul 24, 2004
3/5 This film looked intriguing but ended up being more of a tedious action film than anything with as much meaning as Isaac Asimov intended. In fact, the initial story was blended with some Asimov short stories. It would have been 3/5 This film looked intriguing but ended up being more of a tedious action film than anything with as much meaning as Isaac Asimov intended. In fact, the initial story was blended with some Asimov short stories. It would have been interesting to see someone other than the wise-cracking Will Smith in the main character's role. He's not as strong as Cruise in Minority Report or Harrison Ford in Blade Runner. This film isn't terrible but it isn't great, either Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattC.Jul 27, 2004
It's virtually impossible to get a balanced and objective view about this film. Cynical yes, but I've no doubt that many people will have decided what they think about this film before actually watching it. Caviezel is excellent as It's virtually impossible to get a balanced and objective view about this film. Cynical yes, but I've no doubt that many people will have decided what they think about this film before actually watching it. Caviezel is excellent as Jesus and although theres very little dialogue he's an actor who can say a great deal without speech. Elsewhere, the rest of the casting/acting is rather sterile, Pilate manages to hold his ground but otherwise it's all rather uninspired. Maybe it's a fear of taking the limelight from the charachter of Jesus, maybe it's just poor direction. Speaking of which, Gibson is a rather inconsistant director; some scenes are excellent whilst others are horribly amateurish. Also, no matter how sincere his intentions may be, this film has a thick layer of Hollywood not far under the surface and as a result whatever sincerity intended is degraded somehow. Watching it on the big screen I just couldn't get involved and found myself whistling 'Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life' in my head at the end. I also found myself being irritated by the assertion that Jesus had seemingly invented high tables with chairs. Watching the film on my television set I found that I was much more able to become absorbed. This is a film that you need to watch alone for full intensity and when the connection is there it is a rewarding film, this is a good, if not a little inconsistant, take on the greatest story ever told. It's also worth noting that accusations of this films Anti-Semitism are unfounded, some Jewish priests do try and stick up for Jesus during his 'trial', this is something that is conveniently ignored by some reviewers. At the end of the day, Jesus was put to death by his own people and had this not have occured then Christianity wouldn't have existed as we know it now. Therefore, in regards to this, any intelligent person would know not to judge a religion as ancient and established as Judaism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaveSep 22, 2004
It really bothered me that, after two hours of mindless action, the movie ends by attempting to turn itself into a morality tale. What a total waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful