Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 25, 2012
    75
    Handsomely animated and features a story that, while hopelessly familiar, at least seems to be part of a whole. Also, there are pirates. So there's that.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean OConnell
    Jul 12, 2012
    75
    The fourth Ice Age freshens up the 10-year-old franchise by shunning easy ­pop-culture jokes and embracing its weird side.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 11, 2012
    75
    The film keeps throwing things at you, like a colorful ape pirate (Peter Dinklage) and a fun hallucination sequence. That said, the laughs are starting to feel prehistoric.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 11, 2012
    75
    Gutt is a wonderful villain, something the franchise has lacked, and even performs an original musical number - an Ice Age first, if I'm not mistaken. Dinklage has a sinister voice, and a subtle way of expressing the character's sillier moments.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 12, 2012
    70
    In Continental Drift, the filmmakers have gone a little crazy too, but in a good way. Smack dab in the middle of things there's a big Broadway-style number involving pirates.
  6. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Jul 2, 2012
    70
    It's familiar, drawn-out shtick, and the humor lacks the subtlety of the first and best Ice Age, but there are some visually inventive high points.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 11, 2012
    63
    It is as comfortable and predictable as any Saturday morning cartoon, although with higher production values and a spiffier look.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 59
  2. Negative: 13 out of 59
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    5
    Ice Age doesn´t improve on anything. This is a series of movies that have locked themselves to be merely good enough within eachIce Age doesn´t improve on anything. This is a series of movies that have locked themselves to be merely good enough within each release, never really trying to push boundaries, and with Continental Drift this is more evident than ever. I knew completely what to expect from the beginning and by the end I got exactly that. Some few laughs with the squirrel and a whole lot of nonsense and that is it. I got to admit that I had little more faith going into this one given that more characters were going to be introduced, a whole group of pirate animals to be exact. This could have opened this Ice Age into fresher territory with more character development, but the truth is that no pirate really develops. One opportunity for example relies on the fact that the two saber tigers, Diego and the girl, were falling in love, but any tease of what the animals may be feeling is left just like that, a tease. They end up together but is hard to tell in what disposition because there relationship is developed in a matter of roughly 5 minutes. So what does Continental Drift means? It means more of the same. A new entry that once again relies on the like-able trio of Mammoth, tiger, and sloth, and off course the lonely squirrel. At is most, it is entertaining and in some parts undeniably funny, but overall this one is pretty forgettable. Full Review »
  2. Jul 13, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed the movie more than I expected. This new addition to the series was a bit better than Ice Age 3, though not quite as good as theI enjoyed the movie more than I expected. This new addition to the series was a bit better than Ice Age 3, though not quite as good as the original Ice Age, and worth watching. On the bright side, Continental Drift had parts that had me laughing, but there was a song sung by the characters during the movie that was horribly corny. The part of the teenage mammoth "Peaches" was also pretty boring and childish. But, in spite of the bad points, as a kid, I liked this movie Full Review »
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    The movie is great. Funny and refreshing just like the previous parts. Watched it with my 3 year old daughter and she loved it. The newThe movie is great. Funny and refreshing just like the previous parts. Watched it with my 3 year old daughter and she loved it. The new characters introduced in the movie like Sid's grandmother are just hilarious. Full Review »