User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 195
  2. Negative: 30 out of 195
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed the movie more than I expected. This new addition to the series was a bit better than Ice Age 3, though not quite as good as the original Ice Age, and worth watching. On the bright side, Continental Drift had parts that had me laughing, but there was a song sung by the characters during the movie that was horribly corny. The part of the teenage mammoth "Peaches" was also prettyI enjoyed the movie more than I expected. This new addition to the series was a bit better than Ice Age 3, though not quite as good as the original Ice Age, and worth watching. On the bright side, Continental Drift had parts that had me laughing, but there was a song sung by the characters during the movie that was horribly corny. The part of the teenage mammoth "Peaches" was also pretty boring and childish. But, in spite of the bad points, as a kid, I liked this movie Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2012
    8
    Ice Age is one of those franchises that even if it already has 4 movies, they are still a lot of fun to have with these characters. Each story on each movie is quite unique, and it always introduces new characters and ideas but also makes sure other characters from previous movies do no be forgotten. Where as Shrek, the third and fourth movie was lacking ideas, the Ice age franchise doesIce Age is one of those franchises that even if it already has 4 movies, they are still a lot of fun to have with these characters. Each story on each movie is quite unique, and it always introduces new characters and ideas but also makes sure other characters from previous movies do no be forgotten. Where as Shrek, the third and fourth movie was lacking ideas, the Ice age franchise does varies things quite a bit, and does not forgets his characters and how they have always been. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    While it retreads familiar ground, this film is different from others that do the same thing. You cannot expect films like these to be directed just towards kids, because why should they subconsciously make the decision that it's childish and assume there's only a certain few that means you don't get labelled as childish if you see it? This film is almost perfectly developed for both youngWhile it retreads familiar ground, this film is different from others that do the same thing. You cannot expect films like these to be directed just towards kids, because why should they subconsciously make the decision that it's childish and assume there's only a certain few that means you don't get labelled as childish if you see it? This film is almost perfectly developed for both young kids and older people - most of the characters are lovable in their own way and who seriously doesn't love Scrat? Regardless of any demographic, anybody who loves this film will have nothing against this little fella. Just when everything is going right, what's not to stop something small creating such a big disaster? I love the dialogue especially against the characters - I did like the pirates, although many of them just got on my nerves (guess that's what pirates do). And every character has their own personality that suits everyone - what's not to like? Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2012
    7
    After being dissapointed with Dawn of the Dinosaurs, I was a little un-easy when I saw this one but my opinions changed when the movie was over. Casting was extra superb and the plot was pretty good for a stero-typical over protective dad vs teenage daughter storyline. it's nice to see actual antagonists like the first one and not mother nature (Though it did play some part in the story)After being dissapointed with Dawn of the Dinosaurs, I was a little un-easy when I saw this one but my opinions changed when the movie was over. Casting was extra superb and the plot was pretty good for a stero-typical over protective dad vs teenage daughter storyline. it's nice to see actual antagonists like the first one and not mother nature (Though it did play some part in the story) like the previous two films did. This film is great if you small kids while older kids and adults will get some kick out of it. That being said it's typical Ice Age humour that you've grown to love in previous installments but don't be expecting the charm the first one brought. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Ice Age Continental Drift is a terrific animation film for children. It offers laughs, a few scares, plenty of intelligent cheesy jokes and a great 3D experience. It is unfortunate that there are so many messages about global climate change and the extinction of animals mixed in but having young people feel a sense of responsibility for the planet and all of its life cannot be a bad thingIce Age Continental Drift is a terrific animation film for children. It offers laughs, a few scares, plenty of intelligent cheesy jokes and a great 3D experience. It is unfortunate that there are so many messages about global climate change and the extinction of animals mixed in but having young people feel a sense of responsibility for the planet and all of its life cannot be a bad thing if reasonably employed. Watch Ice Age Continental Drift with the whole family folks, it is great midsummer fun. screenspotlight Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    The movie is great. Funny and refreshing just like the previous parts. Watched it with my 3 year old daughter and she loved it. The new characters introduced in the movie like Sid's grandmother are just hilarious.
  7. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    Hamma geiler FIlm !!! :DDD
  8. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    This is the best Ice Age movie I've ever seen. Not to mention, one of the greatest films ever in my opinion. And that's saying a lot seeing that I've seen a lot of awesome movies. No wonder this was a box office success...

    10/10
    Pros: Everything
    Cons: Doesn't have a number 4 on the title
  9. May 3, 2013
    7
    It's Ice Age, you either love the series or you don't. Ice Age has always been aimed at the family, it's meant to entertain the kids and hopefully not be too boring for the parents. In Continental Drifts case kids will as always love it, but adults might have some trouble being as enthusiastic as their kids are for this one. It tells a familiar story with familiar life lessons that haveIt's Ice Age, you either love the series or you don't. Ice Age has always been aimed at the family, it's meant to entertain the kids and hopefully not be too boring for the parents. In Continental Drifts case kids will as always love it, but adults might have some trouble being as enthusiastic as their kids are for this one. It tells a familiar story with familiar life lessons that have been tossed into tons of other kids movies. It manages to bring some laughs but, just like the other sequels, never manages to capture the magic that the first Ice Age had. The kind of magic that charmed adults and kids alike. In the end it's a decent and enjoyable family movie, but it's going to be one that the kids love but adults only tolerate. Expand
  10. May 11, 2014
    9
    A funny and humour filled film. This was the best ice age movie in my books. From start to finish it was an incredible journey and one I thoroughly enjoyed. This was a visual journey along with the epic story
  11. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    The new Ice Age: Continental Drift movie is a great movie, although not the best in the series. After watching Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (which is a decent movie), I was asking the same question: Can Ice Age bring a 4th movie or not? It's just like Alvin & the Chipmunks and critics doesn't want anyone to see it. But I was wrong because I usually don't trust them. Anyway, great film, IThe new Ice Age: Continental Drift movie is a great movie, although not the best in the series. After watching Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (which is a decent movie), I was asking the same question: Can Ice Age bring a 4th movie or not? It's just like Alvin & the Chipmunks and critics doesn't want anyone to see it. But I was wrong because I usually don't trust them. Anyway, great film, I hope all 3 movies of the family movie season this summer (Madagascar 3, Brave, and Ice Age 3) should be no big deal. I can't wait for Paranorman coming out before my birthday. Expand
  12. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    One of the best Ice Age movie sequelz ever seen !!! What a mindblowing graphics and itz 3d effects. The best part is i loved the part where the daughter mammoth feelz for the missing of father mammoth due to the so called "continental Drift". However the music was also scored perfectly well. As usual as in all the other parts there was this guy tat small squirell running around the globeOne of the best Ice Age movie sequelz ever seen !!! What a mindblowing graphics and itz 3d effects. The best part is i loved the part where the daughter mammoth feelz for the missing of father mammoth due to the so called "continental Drift". However the music was also scored perfectly well. As usual as in all the other parts there was this guy tat small squirell running around the globe searching for the island of chestnutz. Expand
  13. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    Got this for the kids without having seen the other Ice Age movies. The story was good, with some singing and off plot diversions which the kids enjoyed every time they appeared in the movie. Even the part where the characters sang were enjoyed. There were some references that could peak your caution for the kids. But few and far between. The animation is very good an believable for the kids.
  14. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Let me take you back to the early 2000s. The Dreamworks film Shrek was all the rage when it came out in 2001, and Pixar had its first serious competitor. With two titans of computer animation battling it out in a huge colosseum of moviegoers, it seemed like computer generated imagery (CGI) was the way of the future. As with most innovations in the history of film (like the transition fromLet me take you back to the early 2000s. The Dreamworks film Shrek was all the rage when it came out in 2001, and Pixar had its first serious competitor. With two titans of computer animation battling it out in a huge colosseum of moviegoers, it seemed like computer generated imagery (CGI) was the way of the future. As with most innovations in the history of film (like the transition from black & white to color), studios have always taken the "Innovate or duplicate?" stance. Throughout the rest of the decade, there were so many computer animated films that it was like an infestation.

    But enough about history. Let's talk about a film that has... history.

    The first Ice Age film from 2002 is known by pretty much everyone. It was a beautifully animated tale about prehistoric animals bringing a human infant back to his colony. What made this film work so well is that it had something for everyone. Adults could enjoy the familiar voice actors and timeless story while kids delightfully laugh at all the silly moments.

    Flash forward 10 years later and we have Ice Age 4. The animation is some of the best I have ever seen. The characters have such a great charm to them that even the villains look absolutely adorable. All your favorites are back: Sid, Manny, Diego, the possums, and of course the lovably mute Scrat. The jokes are still funny, the silly moments are still silly, and the touching moments are still touching. The only thing this film lacks is an original story. It's your basic "family gets separated and has to find each other" story, and please don't ask me to sing Somewhere Out There.

    The film's biggest strength, however, is the characters. They have such distinct personalities that it makes for a lot of humorous moments. Simply watching these characters argue is like watching an animated sitcom. The way they propose different solutions to their problems makes for some very creative scenes. When all of it adds up, you have a fantastic adventure filled with adorable characters and delightfully silly moments.
    Expand
  15. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    Ice Age: Continental Drift was good; but wasn't my type of movie. I think it's good for young children, since it does have it's funny spots. The introduction of new characters gives fresh air to the somewhat dry and dying series. Overall, if you're taking your family or child(ren) to see this movie; you'll have a good time. Don't go to this movie with your friends (teenagers or adults)Ice Age: Continental Drift was good; but wasn't my type of movie. I think it's good for young children, since it does have it's funny spots. The introduction of new characters gives fresh air to the somewhat dry and dying series. Overall, if you're taking your family or child(ren) to see this movie; you'll have a good time. Don't go to this movie with your friends (teenagers or adults) it's not recommended. Expand
  16. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    The best in the series.
  17. Sep 23, 2013
    8
    I found it way better than the previous one. It`s full of fun funny lines.I was surprised that they still had a decent story, cause I went into this thinking the series had nothing left to give.
  18. May 21, 2013
    8
    Half amazing movie. Granny was amazing but in some parts the movie turn a little bit boring. But was a different thing that used to do this and the pirates and the separation of the continents was a good touch.
  19. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ice Age: Continental Drift was an enjoyable movie because there was lots of action and humor. The grandma was absolutely hilarious, and I was very surprised when I learned "Precious" was real. The pirates were the main baddies throughout the movie, and the evil monkey was a great antagonist. There were character changes such as the female Saber turning good. I didn't think her punishment from the monkey was harsh enough. The little chipmunks with their gliders made me laugh so much, but I don't think the producers kept with only Sid being able to talk with the chipmunks. Peaches was annoying and too soft, and the mole should have never become friends with her again after she said she wasn't his friend. The squirrel always makes me laugh, so I wasn't surprised that it did while watching this film. I'm not sure why it has such a low rating, because it really is a great film for anyone to watch. Expand
  20. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    I think this movie is so underrated. I mean this one is the best of all 4 and it has a lot lower score. .
  21. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Ice Age: Continental Drift es una película divertida, entretenida y curiosa, en donde la trama tiene otra forma de ver el punto de vista de la creación de los continentes.
  22. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Compared to its previous films, Ice Age: Continental Drift (2012) certainly has major improvements in various aspects and as usual, their visuals are top notch.

    There are plenty of distinct characters and beautiful locations introduced in this fourth Ice Age film, which are all pleasant, such as a band of animal pirates, army of hamsters, grandmother sloth, gigantic sea monsters, sirens, saber-toothed squirrels of Scratlantis and so on.

    Overall, the concept is interesting, witty and amusing to watch as there are also plenty of historical and mythical humour!

    There are so much thoughts and efforts put into this film if you analyse it.

    Thus, this film will certainly charm you, if you allow yourself to enjoy the Ice Age adventure that is.
    Expand
  23. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Um barato! A vovó é a melhor parte do filme,já que ela constitui a maior parte humorística do filme,fazendo suas trapalhadas e artimanhas. O filme inteiro é legal. Expand
  24. Jul 31, 2015
    7
    ice age continental drift no esta lo suficiente buena pra recibir criticas positivas pero esta creada asi nomas y no se compara con la primera pelicula deberia ser mas emocionante como la primera deberian hacerlo con la 5
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 25, 2012
    75
    Handsomely animated and features a story that, while hopelessly familiar, at least seems to be part of a whole. Also, there are pirates. So there's that.
  2. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jul 13, 2012
    40
    A business-as-usual slog.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 13, 2012
    40
    Thoroughly, and disappointingly, pedestrian.