Ice Age: Continental Drift Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 213 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In Ice Age: Continental Drift, Scrat's nutty pursuit of the cursed acorn, which he's been after since the dawn of time, has world-changing consequences -- a continental cataclysm that triggers the greatest adventure of all for Manny, Diego and Sid. In the wake of these earth-shatteringIn Ice Age: Continental Drift, Scrat's nutty pursuit of the cursed acorn, which he's been after since the dawn of time, has world-changing consequences -- a continental cataclysm that triggers the greatest adventure of all for Manny, Diego and Sid. In the wake of these earth-shattering upheavals, Sid reunites with his long lost family, and the gang encounters a ragtag menagerie of new characters determined to stop them from returning home. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 25, 2012
    75
    Handsomely animated and features a story that, while hopelessly familiar, at least seems to be part of a whole. Also, there are pirates. So there's that.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 11, 2012
    75
    Gutt is a wonderful villain, something the franchise has lacked, and even performs an original musical number - an Ice Age first, if I'm not mistaken. Dinklage has a sinister voice, and a subtle way of expressing the character's sillier moments.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 11, 2012
    63
    It is as comfortable and predictable as any Saturday morning cartoon, although with higher production values and a spiffier look.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 11, 2012
    50
    Watching this film was a cheerless exercise for me. The characters are manic and idiotic, the dialogue is rat-a-tat chatter, the action is entirely at the service of the 3-D, and the movie depends on bright colors, lots of noise and a few songs in between the whiplash moments.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 12, 2012
    50
    Much of the action in Ice Age: Continental Drift takes place on an iceberg fashioned into a seagoing vessel. No one seems to be piloting the boat, which is an apt metaphor for the film.
  6. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jul 13, 2012
    40
    A business-as-usual slog.
  7. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jul 12, 2012
    12
    Caters almost exclusively to the remedial, Duplo Blocks demographic, leaving parents and guardians bored to distraction.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 61
  2. Negative: 13 out of 61
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    This is the best Ice Age movie I've ever seen. Not to mention, one of the greatest films ever in my opinion. And that's saying a lot seeingThis is the best Ice Age movie I've ever seen. Not to mention, one of the greatest films ever in my opinion. And that's saying a lot seeing that I've seen a lot of awesome movies. No wonder this was a box office success...

    10/10
    Pros: Everything
    Cons: Doesn't have a number 4 on the title
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2014
    9
    A funny and humour filled film. This was the best ice age movie in my books. From start to finish it was an incredible journey and one IA funny and humour filled film. This was the best ice age movie in my books. From start to finish it was an incredible journey and one I thoroughly enjoyed. This was a visual journey along with the epic story Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ice Age: Continental Drift was an enjoyable movie because there was lots of action and humor. The grandma was absolutely hilarious, and I was very surprised when I learned "Precious" was real. The pirates were the main baddies throughout the movie, and the evil monkey was a great antagonist. There were character changes such as the female Saber turning good. I didn't think her punishment from the monkey was harsh enough. The little chipmunks with their gliders made me laugh so much, but I don't think the producers kept with only Sid being able to talk with the chipmunks. Peaches was annoying and too soft, and the mole should have never become friends with her again after she said she wasn't his friend. The squirrel always makes me laugh, so I wasn't surprised that it did while watching this film. I'm not sure why it has such a low rating, because it really is a great film for anyone to watch. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    Ice age is my favorite animation franchise. But this one really was a kick in the face for the fans! They ruined the best thing of the movieIce age is my favorite animation franchise. But this one really was a kick in the face for the fans! They ruined the best thing of the movie the ICE AGE! Why the hell are the mammoths dancing to dub-step?!! "Peaches" character is just аwful for the sequel! My expectations were big and i was disappointed. BUT STILL i can't give a bad score to "Ice age", because no matter what it's the biggest animation franchise for the 21th century. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2015
    5
    Continental Drift does virtually nothing to improve upon flaws of its predecessors. In fact, this film only manages to make things worse,Continental Drift does virtually nothing to improve upon flaws of its predecessors. In fact, this film only manages to make things worse, throwing out any potential usage of witty humor in favor of more of the same nonstop slapstick and sight gags we've seen over and over again in the previous movies. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    Sure, there's some cool visuals, but that does not hide the dull and clichéd story. This fourth movie in the series just seems like it'sSure, there's some cool visuals, but that does not hide the dull and clichéd story. This fourth movie in the series just seems like it's forced and repeated. It's also not as funny too. In the end, it's a disappointment. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    one of the worst moviesone of the worst movies eveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.