Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 1, 2009
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 215 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
68
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
ShaneBNov 27, 2009
Ice Age sequels should have been left alone. This film, as well as it's predecessor, were full of tripe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
PixarloverOct 25, 2012
This film has its share of entertaining moments, but we've seen it all before. It's harmless entertainment but it shouldn't be compared to higher ranking movies. Then the movie would suck all the time because how can a recent animated movieThis film has its share of entertaining moments, but we've seen it all before. It's harmless entertainment but it shouldn't be compared to higher ranking movies. Then the movie would suck all the time because how can a recent animated movie be compared to Citizen Kane. You just can't because they're both entirely different. As long as nobody does that the movie will be fine, but just not great.

However Scrat will always be the star of the series. He's like Wile E. Coyote except with an acorn and without a "genius" mind.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
CriticVidalOct 17, 2009
This movie sucks as my ass does. I would have scored it a 3, but the characters just...ticked me off.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
5
EvanSNov 6, 2009
Ice Age 3 was okay, but not the best. I liked the first two a lot better, because I thought they had better storylines than this. I'm just not a dinosaur person. That is my opinion and I'm intitled to it. I'll get it on DVD, Ice Age 3 was okay, but not the best. I liked the first two a lot better, because I thought they had better storylines than this. I'm just not a dinosaur person. That is my opinion and I'm intitled to it. I'll get it on DVD, but I won't watch it all the time. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful
10
SeriEJul 21, 2009
The first 20 minutes or so are boring as hell, and will have you wanting to leave the theatre. However, once the gang goes underground into the dinosaur world it starts to get really interesting and funny. 3 new characters are added them The first 20 minutes or so are boring as hell, and will have you wanting to leave the theatre. However, once the gang goes underground into the dinosaur world it starts to get really interesting and funny. 3 new characters are added them being Buck (a weasel who lives in the underground dinosaur world trying to kill the biggest, baddest dinosaur Rudy) Peaches (Manny and Ellie's daughter) and the nameless squirel rat thing who plays the love of Scrat. In fact, the one thing I hated about this movie was that Scrat became incredibly boring. Oh well, it was a pretty awesome movie and I definetely recommend it to any fan of the series, kids, or even adults! Oh and by the way, you don't need to see it in 3D for it to be good. AND, I personally think it's the best of the trilogy. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
AdrianM.Jul 2, 2009
Basic plot line and heavily lacking originality, even for a children's movie. Then again some humor around scrat and sid which was enjoyable. All in all, not worth your money unless you or your kids are hardcore ice age fans.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JaysonL.Jul 30, 2009
Am i the only one thinking that it shouldn't be ice age - dawn of the dinosaurs? Dinos were before the ice age. This movie is just ridiculous.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
ChadSJul 2, 2009
[***SELF-CONTAINED SPOILER ALERT***] Sloths matter too. The sloth is so important to the wooly mammoth, he brings his pregnant wife along on a rescue mission to find Sid(John Leguizamo), the sloth with a gender-identity disorder, who was [***SELF-CONTAINED SPOILER ALERT***] Sloths matter too. The sloth is so important to the wooly mammoth, he brings his pregnant wife along on a rescue mission to find Sid(John Leguizamo), the sloth with a gender-identity disorder, who was last seen in the clutches of a mama T. rex. As it turns out, Buck(Simon Pegg), the Captain Ahab-like weasel, of all "people", makes the salient point that Manny(Ray Romano), the expectant father-to-be, is risking it all for a sloth, and an emotionally unstable one at that. After all, he's a dinosaur-napper. In response to the wooly mammoths' marital bliss, and looming inception of a calf, Sid turns to his maternal side(despite being a dude) and steals three eggs from an unguarded nest in an ice cave(which makes him the Pleistocene era equivalent of a felon), just like a barren woman at her most desperate. Women who snatch children out of baby carriages employ their own skewered cognizance of the situation in order to justify the exploit, which frees them from owning up to the crime. This seems to be the case with Sid. The sloth is no Anna Paquin(in Carroll Ballard's "Fly Away Home"); he sees what he wants to see. If Sid had a more paternalistic side, procreation via f***ing a fairer sloth would be his main concern, not raising somebody else's children(he'd also eat the eggs). During his existential crisis, the sloth talks about looking for a new herd, without any mention of finding a mate. Interestingly enough, the sloth gives an unsuspecting ram a hand job(inspired by Peter and Bobby Farrelly's "Kingpin"), which Sid claims was a case of mistaken identity, as he was merely trying to satiate his kids' thirst for fresh milk. "Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs", albeit heavily bent towards action over story, does contain the inspiring message that sloths matter, even better, that ambiguous sloths matter too. But unfortunately, the film is hopelessly patriarchial. Although Sid took the T. rex's children, she forgives him, much too easily, and even made to suffer the sloth's own parental advice on what her babies should eat. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JimmyJAug 6, 2009
Oh yeah! This plot is pure genius!!!! I'm 18 and I loved it. T his was well worth it it just sucks that i got kicked out five minutes into the movie because they realized I was the guy who was banned for throwing popcorn at the scree Oh yeah! This plot is pure genius!!!! I'm 18 and I loved it. T his was well worth it it just sucks that i got kicked out five minutes into the movie because they realized I was the guy who was banned for throwing popcorn at the scree and dancing in front of it while i was watching ORphan. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JimboH.Jul 16, 2009
Cliche, predictable, stolen... err, borrowed humor, childish writing, and frankly too much camera time on the not so likable possoms make this one difficult to watch for adults and fans of the earlier films. The 3D is good but unless this is Cliche, predictable, stolen... err, borrowed humor, childish writing, and frankly too much camera time on the not so likable possoms make this one difficult to watch for adults and fans of the earlier films. The 3D is good but unless this is your first experience with a 3D movie ever its difficult to recommend this. Children will probably like it, but I can't imagine anyone liking the very very slow humorless, actionless beginning. Case in point on the writing: "Yaba-daba-doo!" "Don't you yaba-daba-do that again!" and other groaners. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JacobLJul 12, 2009
Probably the best in the series by far; incredible visuals and probably some of the best jokes in the series such as "I thought you were a female"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jul 10, 2009
Don't believe what the critics say, This is a very enjoyable movie with totally memorable characters. The 3-D is exceptional and truly brings the story to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MateoG.Jul 6, 2009
Nice movie, it makes you laugh a lot... And I'm not a fan of animated films...Pretty Enjoyable for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Mattprime86Jul 11, 2009
See This Movie! Its not as memorable as the first film granted, but it is just as close as it can get for a threequel. Hilarious the entire way through, this is a great movie to watch alone or even better with friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joeykJul 2, 2009
A great family movie, for anyone, don't believe the critics!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoshuaP.Jul 3, 2009
Not as good as the first and second, but still enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJ.Jul 5, 2009
The first 2 films were great, but this one is just awesome, me and my friends (15-16 years old) were laughing all the way through the entire film. It's got a nice mixture of things the younger audience will like and those that like The first 2 films were great, but this one is just awesome, me and my friends (15-16 years old) were laughing all the way through the entire film. It's got a nice mixture of things the younger audience will like and those that like plenty of ruder jokes to keep the dirtier minded happy. Should please the members of the audience with an actual sense of humour. 10/10 easily for pure hilarity and great action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChrisCAug 15, 2009
It just didn't feel like a fully-fledged sequel to me. More like some kind of inane side story. Like two back-to-back episodes of a TV series. Occasionally it felt strained but it had its moments. The plot itself requires heavy It just didn't feel like a fully-fledged sequel to me. More like some kind of inane side story. Like two back-to-back episodes of a TV series. Occasionally it felt strained but it had its moments. The plot itself requires heavy suspension of disbelief and the screenplay doesn't do an amazing job of easing you into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayHOct 23, 2009
Well animated and it has an excellent pace, it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
XavierEJul 11, 2009
Very average and boring. The humor is lacking and will ONLY appeal to little kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoradTJul 10, 2009
Still great. Not as good as the first but better than the second in my opinion. The story was definately improved from the second. The animation was great and even better when seen in 3D especially the moment they enter the dinosaur world. Still great. Not as good as the first but better than the second in my opinion. The story was definately improved from the second. The animation was great and even better when seen in 3D especially the moment they enter the dinosaur world. The detail is phenomenal. The humour is still there in most of it's glory but it's wearing off a bit. Scrat just doesn't seem as funny any more. But other than that I think the movie is really good and the new character, Buck,a weasel voiced by Simon Pegg is hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TDKinDallasJul 1, 2009
Not a bad flick. I don't remember liking the first one, skipped the second one and the only reason I went to see this one was because it was a "sneak preview" that started right after the movie I had gone to see and it was in 3D. I Not a bad flick. I don't remember liking the first one, skipped the second one and the only reason I went to see this one was because it was a "sneak preview" that started right after the movie I had gone to see and it was in 3D. I recommend seeing this one in 3D as it was worth the extra couple dollars. I was very surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The story was really stupid and didn't make any sense (dinosaurs living under the ice???), but it kept me interested the entire movie, partly because of the hilarious side story with the acorn loving animal and an excellent job by Simon Pegg as Buck the weasel(I just got done watching his TV show "Spaced" so maybe I am a little partial), who I had no idea was going to be in the movie. This movie also did a wonderful job of keeping everyone in the audience interested. The theater was packed and the only things you heard besides the movie was popcorn chomping and laughter, lots of laughter. Definitely worth seeing at the theater if you were considering it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMJul 14, 2009
I am not a really big fan of Ice age,but I thought out of all three movies this one was the best if I had to pick my favorite charactor from this movie it would be Sid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MisterEpicJul 15, 2009
It looks like they removed 95% of the "Ice Age" humor. I just laughed a little bit on this 3rd movie. Scrat is now boring since he found a female squirrel. I didn't like that movie. The 2nd one is still the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StanMJul 23, 2009
Ice Age has worn out its welcome. The humor is dry, boring and if you're an adult sitting through this - you'll be thoroughly bored unless you still find humor from the 70's, 80's and 90's Saturday cartoon funny. The Ice Age has worn out its welcome. The humor is dry, boring and if you're an adult sitting through this - you'll be thoroughly bored unless you still find humor from the 70's, 80's and 90's Saturday cartoon funny. The characters, especially the opossums and the new rodent (can't remember what he was... and honestly don't care) are mind numbingly annoying and even the Saber Tooth played by Leary doesn't even seem into his character anymore. There were kids in the theater who seemed even bored by it - running around playing tag about halfway through. The 3D is the gimmick kind, IE: people pointing at the screen, etc. Pixar has definitely mastered 3D in subtle ways with their recent release of Up, Ice Age 3D - however - seems to fall in the same category as Shrek the Third or the utterly horrendous Monsters Vs. Aliens. After seeing this - I'm ready for a meteor to end this series. Final Note: The plot and how they eventually get to this dino world is absolutely ridiculous. Dumb even for a childrens film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VFJul 29, 2009
I went into the AMC expecting a shitflick (I have bad experience with sequels), but it turned out to be a high quality movie with an appreciable plot and lots of humor. The only thing that spoiled it was the hordes of little kids in the I went into the AMC expecting a shitflick (I have bad experience with sequels), but it turned out to be a high quality movie with an appreciable plot and lots of humor. The only thing that spoiled it was the hordes of little kids in the audience that refused to shut up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HyperSJul 9, 2009
Pretty much what you'd expect it to be. The novelty has long worn off, but Sid and Scrat still manage to get a few laughs and the movie is fast paced enough to hold one's attention (even if the story is rather weak). The Australian Pretty much what you'd expect it to be. The novelty has long worn off, but Sid and Scrat still manage to get a few laughs and the movie is fast paced enough to hold one's attention (even if the story is rather weak). The Australian (??) weasel is the main new character and not much to write home about... there are a few dinosaurs so that added a little spice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EnzoP.Jul 9, 2009
Ice Age Dawn of the Dinosaurs is actually a so so family film. That's because their are some dirty jokes for kids. But other then that it was alright. Unlike the first two this was a movie that would be better of renting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveHDec 5, 2009
The film is one of the greatest animated films made, with the new character Buck and lots of adult jokes in it, it really is obvious that Blue Sky put some effort on it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VictorNJul 13, 2009
It is one of the best 3D movies I've ever seen, but yet I have to admit that it has its problems. But those problems aren't enough to ruin you experience. So don't mind the critics, they're all wrong, go watch this movie It is one of the best 3D movies I've ever seen, but yet I have to admit that it has its problems. But those problems aren't enough to ruin you experience. So don't mind the critics, they're all wrong, go watch this movie first and then try to judge it. Biased reviewers all over the world helped to the overall score of this movie (50), let's show them that we know the truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful