Ice Age: The Meltdown Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Manny, Sid and Diego return in another incredible adventure. The Ice Age is coming to an end, and the animals are delighting in their new world: a melting paradise of water parks, geysers and tar pits. But when Manny, Sid and Diego discover that the miles of melted ice will flood theirManny, Sid and Diego return in another incredible adventure. The Ice Age is coming to an end, and the animals are delighting in their new world: a melting paradise of water parks, geysers and tar pits. But when Manny, Sid and Diego discover that the miles of melted ice will flood their valley, they must warn everyone and somehow figure out a way to escape the coming deluge. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Ice Age: The Meltdown blithely looks on the bright side of life, amassing a screen full of vultures to sing and dance ''Food Glorious Food'' and daring us not to get happy.
  2. A good-natured, gag-filled sequel.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    Should warm viewers' hearts globally.
  4. 63
    The movie is nice to look at, the colors and details are elegant, the animals engaging, the action fast-moving, but I don't think older viewers will like it as much as the kids.
  5. 50
    It's more like watching a typical animated-shorts collection - a few highlights, a lot of clinkers - than like watching an actual movie.
  6. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    50
    The film is enjoyable enough, at least for young children.
  7. 40
    A romantic subplot about a possum-raised mammoth (Queen Latifah!) tries to put the warm in global warming, but the unappealing character designs, incessant celebrity-voice chatter, and slickly inexpressive 3-D animation thwart any emotional pull.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 83
  2. Negative: 3 out of 83
  1. TommyD.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    This was a great movie i'm am just a kid and i thought it was great.
  2. Gallan
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    I can recommend this movie for all ages and kind of public.
  3. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    There have been many CGI animated films and a huge wave of them started to flood Hollywood starting in 2006. The reason? When Shrek 2 madeThere have been many CGI animated films and a huge wave of them started to flood Hollywood starting in 2006. The reason? When Shrek 2 made $910 million worldwide everyone got interested in it... but what about this movie? Why am I giving it a 10/10? The movie isn't flawless as I feel it won't appeal to a lot of people, but this is a groundbreaking CGI animated film. This is the first animated movie that created actual expressive characters, it wasn't just a collection of billions of polygons but characters felt ALIVE. The film's plot is a magical retelling of Noah's Ark biblical story and will please animated movie fans and young kids. Collapse
  4. Alex
    Aug 1, 2006
    8
    i think i'm dreaming. Ice Age 2 is one of those rarities. you know the ones that i'm talking about. the sequels that are almost, if i think i'm dreaming. Ice Age 2 is one of those rarities. you know the ones that i'm talking about. the sequels that are almost, if not just as good as the original. yes, believe it or not, Ice Age 2 was almost as good as its predecessor. the humor balanced between child-friendly and keeping the older age groups entertained quite nicely, and thankfully there weren't too many re-used jokes, as seems to be the recent trend with comedy sequels these days. the two alligator-things that appeared periodically throughout the movie were kinda pointless, and really just felt like filler to keep the action moving. perhaps the best part about the movie were the scrat sequences. simply hilarious. Ellie, Crash, and Eddie were nice additions to the cast, but sometimes became a little annoying. overall, 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2010
    7
    I didn't know they released a sequel after the first movie came out. saw it in theaters in spring of 2006 and enjoyed it. its not my favoriteI didn't know they released a sequel after the first movie came out. saw it in theaters in spring of 2006 and enjoyed it. its not my favorite in the series, but since its a grossing movie of 2006, I think its perfect. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2016
    6
    Ice Age The Meltdown continues correctly with his predecessor and continue having great characters and a good animation. But it continue beingIce Age The Meltdown continues correctly with his predecessor and continue having great characters and a good animation. But it continue being not-funny enough for make the audience interested on the film totally. This film doesn't shows a great message for viewers. Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    2
    Not better than the very disappointing orginal. Still, average animation, lame and unfunny characters, childish jokes, aimed at 4 year oldsNot better than the very disappointing orginal. Still, average animation, lame and unfunny characters, childish jokes, aimed at 4 year olds and toddlers, very weak and dull story line that should interest teenagers or adults. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.