Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Manny, Sid and Diego return in another incredible adventure. The Ice Age is coming to an end, and the animals are delighting in their new world: a melting paradise of water parks, geysers and tar pits. But when Manny, Sid and Diego discover that the miles of melted ice will flood theirManny, Sid and Diego return in another incredible adventure. The Ice Age is coming to an end, and the animals are delighting in their new world: a melting paradise of water parks, geysers and tar pits. But when Manny, Sid and Diego discover that the miles of melted ice will flood their valley, they must warn everyone and somehow figure out a way to escape the coming deluge. (20th Century Fox) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Ice Age: The Meltdown blithely looks on the bright side of life, amassing a screen full of vultures to sing and dance ''Food Glorious Food'' and daring us not to get happy.
  2. A good-natured, gag-filled sequel.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    Should warm viewers' hearts globally.
  4. 63
    The movie is nice to look at, the colors and details are elegant, the animals engaging, the action fast-moving, but I don't think older viewers will like it as much as the kids.
  5. 50
    It's more like watching a typical animated-shorts collection - a few highlights, a lot of clinkers - than like watching an actual movie.
  6. The film is enjoyable enough, at least for young children.
  7. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    40
    A romantic subplot about a possum-raised mammoth (Queen Latifah!) tries to put the warm in global warming, but the unappealing character designs, incessant celebrity-voice chatter, and slickly inexpressive 3-D animation thwart any emotional pull.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 2 out of 75
  1. Chapuzón
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Has everything to be a blockbuster and fight for best animated pic next oscars, only Cars can be superior... but maybe it wont.
  2. HugoS.
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    I was a child again with this second-good part.
  3. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    There have been many CGI animated films and a huge wave of them started to flood Hollywood starting in 2006. The reason? When Shrek 2 madeThere have been many CGI animated films and a huge wave of them started to flood Hollywood starting in 2006. The reason? When Shrek 2 made $910 million worldwide everyone got interested in it... but what about this movie? Why am I giving it a 10/10? The movie isn't flawless as I feel it won't appeal to a lot of people, but this is a groundbreaking CGI animated film. This is the first animated movie that created actual expressive characters, it wasn't just a collection of billions of polygons but characters felt ALIVE. The film's plot is a magical retelling of Noah's Ark biblical story and will please animated movie fans and young kids. Collapse
  4. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This movie is underrated, it deserves far better than 57 or 58%, I expect a score of around 83% for this and you don't judge a movie by theThis movie is underrated, it deserves far better than 57 or 58%, I expect a score of around 83% for this and you don't judge a movie by the critics. This movie is great and I really like the colours. The environment is beautiful, like as the camera moves further away when Manny, Sid and Diego are on top of the dam, I really want to look far over there in detail. The scenes are great, the Scrat scenes are entertaining and the story is great I like the idea of it and it introduces 3 new characters a female mammoth and 2 rat-like brothers called Crash & Eddie, don't worry it's not poorly done, these characters are good. But what I do strongly criticise is with the end, something that should remain a mystery. I know this is a happy story but whether Manny and Ellie "are" or not should be kept a mystery throughout the franchise and something for them to think about, you'll know what I mean. But it doesn't make this movie bad or anything, I really like this. There is no age recommendation, whether you enjoy this or not depends on what sort of things you like and the way you are, but go watch this it's 8.5/10. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Certainly it has decent improvements in various aspects but the adventure part is not so exciting. However, the animation is beautiful and the story is definitely better so it makes up for it cause when compared to its first film, there are more details and characters are introduced in this sequel.

    Last film was about three prehistoric animals and a baby; this film is about variety of herds of prehistoric animals traveling together to migrate to a safer environment to live in with several predators in the way in addition to more fun and humor. That is a huge improvement I'd say and I really liked their character designs. Probably strange but honest, I love the underlying ecological message most, which is the survival of the fittest. And oh, Scrat appears more too!
    Expand
  6. KevinR.
    Apr 2, 2006
    7
    Fine movie for kids, but it's the same stuff you've seen before.
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    2
    Not better than the very disappointing orginal. Still, average animation, lame and unfunny characters, childish jokes, aimed at 4 year oldsNot better than the very disappointing orginal. Still, average animation, lame and unfunny characters, childish jokes, aimed at 4 year olds and toddlers, very weak and dull story line that should interest teenagers or adults. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Trailers