User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 171
  2. Negative: 48 out of 171
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I laughed out loud though out this movie. This movie had great humour, timing and delivery. Anyone looking for fun entertainment should see it. Melissa has quickly moved to my number one favourite comedy actor. Movie is good for both sexes and most ages. If you enjoyed Bridesmaids, The Hangover, or Plaines Trains and Automobiles than this is right up you alley. Sit back and Enjoy.
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    To be certain, Identity Thief will win no major awards. What it will do is entertain you for about 90 minutes with great laughs and wonderful physical gags. Melissa McCarthy and Jason Bateman have great chemistry. The premise of the movie is quite timely, a guy has his identity stolen and must go after the girl who stole it. I was in a packed house for this movie, and there were plenty ofTo be certain, Identity Thief will win no major awards. What it will do is entertain you for about 90 minutes with great laughs and wonderful physical gags. Melissa McCarthy and Jason Bateman have great chemistry. The premise of the movie is quite timely, a guy has his identity stolen and must go after the girl who stole it. I was in a packed house for this movie, and there were plenty of laughs, some quite loud, throughout the movie. If you are on the fence and relying on scores as to whether or not to see this movie, I'd say give it a try. You should be well pleased by the end of it. Collapse
  3. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    No, this movie will not win any accolades for the script, BUT, Melissa McCarthy and Jason Bateman outshine the writing. YOU WILL LAUGH! Get your popcorn, pop and candy and ENJOY IT! Don't mind what the "critics" say.
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    The movie was very good. It was funny and the comedic delivery was spot on. I recommend seeing this movie. It is full of laughter and has a good plot behind it.
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    It made me laugh a bunch and I think McCarthy did her best comedy performance I've seen. Only problem was the super white supremacist nature of the film, although I must say that I am a very sensitive person. OK!
  6. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I'm gonna give "Identity Thief" an 8 because I know the reviews are hard, but for one jackass Rex Reed, I think he should be ashamed for himself talking about Melissa McCarthey's weight and called her "tractor-sized" and "female hippo." I'm on McCarthey's side, she down to Earth, one of most underrated actresses since her Oscar-nominated role in Bridesmaids. The reason that fans are soI'm gonna give "Identity Thief" an 8 because I know the reviews are hard, but for one jackass Rex Reed, I think he should be ashamed for himself talking about Melissa McCarthey's weight and called her "tractor-sized" and "female hippo." I'm on McCarthey's side, she down to Earth, one of most underrated actresses since her Oscar-nominated role in Bridesmaids. The reason that fans are so upset about Reed's ill-advised comment is because every movie critic has it's own opinion, but I don't trust movie critics. They're all villains here. And it's time for this bastard to give it up because Identity Thief" didn't eventually SOLD the tickets, it's what the audience want to see, a good-old-fashioned comedy. I agree with Paul Feig tweeted "Go f**k yourself" and as you know, I'm gonna see this movie whether Reed likes it or not. Expand
  7. May 28, 2013
    7
    Really don't understand the disappointment and discontent with this film. Of course a 90-min film isn't going to be a non-stop riot as a 2 and a half minute trailer would have you to believe. If you thought that, I've got a beach house on Craig's List you would be interested in. This has humor and heart and doesn't hold up to director Seth Gordon's "Horrible Bosses", but it's still anReally don't understand the disappointment and discontent with this film. Of course a 90-min film isn't going to be a non-stop riot as a 2 and a half minute trailer would have you to believe. If you thought that, I've got a beach house on Craig's List you would be interested in. This has humor and heart and doesn't hold up to director Seth Gordon's "Horrible Bosses", but it's still an entertaining road movie you want remember 2 weeks after seeing it. Certainly worth the Red Box fee. Expand
  8. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    When I walked out of Legally Blonde years ago I said Reese Witherspoon deserves an Oscar for that performance. Almost the same could be said of McCarthy here. The degree of difficulty in pulling off some of this comedic acting is very very high. The movie as a whole may not be a gem....but a half dozen scenes are so perfect and so difficult that the movie deserves a viewing. There are someWhen I walked out of Legally Blonde years ago I said Reese Witherspoon deserves an Oscar for that performance. Almost the same could be said of McCarthy here. The degree of difficulty in pulling off some of this comedic acting is very very high. The movie as a whole may not be a gem....but a half dozen scenes are so perfect and so difficult that the movie deserves a viewing. There are some brilliant comedy stretches in this movie. It is not to be missed for that reason. Watch McCarthy in the diner and elsewhere as she is totally hilarious and totally believable simultaneously. Expand
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Nice movie rather rushed thru but I did like it. There were a lot of questionable things that are not really reality. I found the actors were good actors
  10. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    Yes It's True This Movie Won't Win Any Awards But It's Funny As Hell!
  11. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    This movie is so funny! I laughed really hard, but it also has a great story. Of course, the main story is really predictable, we know just by reading the plot that the guy will not really give her to the police, but there's lot of unpredictable moments in this movie which makes you entertained anyway. There's also really touching scenes with Melissa McCarty, who is really really funny!This movie is so funny! I laughed really hard, but it also has a great story. Of course, the main story is really predictable, we know just by reading the plot that the guy will not really give her to the police, but there's lot of unpredictable moments in this movie which makes you entertained anyway. There's also really touching scenes with Melissa McCarty, who is really really funny! So, an excellent movie, funny, entertaining and full of suspense! Expand
  12. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    Wow, don't know where are the horrible reviews have come from! Was this the most hilarious, well-written movie ever? No, but it was entertaining, funny, and I love the lead actors.
  13. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy might not make the best comedic-duo, but their movie still brings the laughs. It's vulgar, crude, and rude relying on gross out gags and slap-stick physical comedy to bring some truly hilarious moments. It will make you laugh quite regularly throughout, and I don't know about you but I watch comedies to laugh. The movie does hit some dull parts when itJason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy might not make the best comedic-duo, but their movie still brings the laughs. It's vulgar, crude, and rude relying on gross out gags and slap-stick physical comedy to bring some truly hilarious moments. It will make you laugh quite regularly throughout, and I don't know about you but I watch comedies to laugh. The movie does hit some dull parts when it focuses on emotional moments or serious moments involving violence from people chasing the main characters, but in the end the comedy keeps this movie up. So while it's not the most focused comedy it packs enough laugh out loud moments for me to recommend a watch. Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    The other critics may have punched Identity Thief in the nose, but I think it still has to legs to stand on. It is a pretty good movie, with some highs and lows. Melissa McCarthy is, as always, hilarious, Bateman is okay, and the other cast is pretty good, too. The story and overall feel of the movie is a little bit far-fetched and nonsensical at points, but it's still a fun movie to watch.
  15. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    Melissa McCarthy is like one of a bad ass girls i have ever seen . the humor is okay some of it i do not get but some of it . but it is a fun movie
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 41
  2. Negative: 15 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: James White
    Mar 18, 2013
    40
    Clever premise, witless execution.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Mar 11, 2013
    40
    Melissa McCarthy’s over-the-top performance as a low-rung grifter enlivens what is otherwise a groan-worthy odd-couple comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 26, 2013
    42
    Watching Identity Thief will steal nearly two hours of your life that you’ll never get back. It takes far more than it gives.