Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 8, 2013
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 195 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
86
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
Meth-dudeMar 6, 2017
There is a good reason this movie doesn't have a good score, and that reason is simple : it's an all around bad movie. Unfunny, stupid, it doesn't make a lot of sense and the ending was ridiculous. At least the acting wasn't bad (exceptThere is a good reason this movie doesn't have a good score, and that reason is simple : it's an all around bad movie. Unfunny, stupid, it doesn't make a lot of sense and the ending was ridiculous. At least the acting wasn't bad (except McCarthy) and the movie was mildly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeApr 28, 2016
When a movie casts Melissa McCarthy, you know your movie is in trouble no matter what. Animation doesn't count and this doesn't break the rule with Identity Thief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
callumjsouthDec 13, 2014
Middle of the road in terms of comedy films. It could have been worse. Bateman and McCarthy provide a few laughs during their journey. The film's insistence on trying to make you well up with emotion over an incredibly unrealistic story isMiddle of the road in terms of comedy films. It could have been worse. Bateman and McCarthy provide a few laughs during their journey. The film's insistence on trying to make you well up with emotion over an incredibly unrealistic story is however, embarrassing. If you are a casual film fan who has a soft spot for comedies, don't hesitate to try it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Identity Thief" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

The Good: Much better than I expected and not as vulgar as I assumed it would be, the film has some genuinely funny moments. I am possibly the only reviewer on Earth who didn't like
"Identity Thief" 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

The Good: Much better than I expected and not as vulgar as I assumed it would be, the film has some genuinely funny moments. I am possibly the only reviewer on Earth who didn't like McCarthy in "Bridesmaids", but she was very good in this ... both comically and dramatically. Bateman was the same guy he always is, but it works.

The Bad: Not that you expect more, but the plot is paper thin. The police in the film might be the most clueless bunch that I have ever seen, but I guess there wouldn't be a movie if they weren't. A few gags got a tad repetitive.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Identity Thief rests on the shoulders of Melissa McCarthy. The premise is more than clever; it simply gets lost in the shuffle now and then. Still, the film is amusing and benefits from a talented cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HaithamBJul 7, 2014
Identity Thief is a drama in disguise, where in some parts it is funny, but for the most part it is entertaining and more of a heartwarming movie, despite its countless flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Viper8787Apr 18, 2014
Was really hoping that this movie was going to be good but it was a major let down. I really wanted to like it but the jokes just weren't funny. I'm not saying that I never laughed because I did but not as often as I should have for a goodWas really hoping that this movie was going to be good but it was a major let down. I really wanted to like it but the jokes just weren't funny. I'm not saying that I never laughed because I did but not as often as I should have for a good comedy movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscMar 15, 2014
Melissa McCarthy is like one of a bad ass girls i have ever seen . the humor is okay some of it i do not get but some of it . but it is a fun movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
geedupFeb 9, 2014
I couldn't get through the entire movie. Its not funny, its not original, McCarthy is not funny nor is Bateman. I think I let out a chuckle at one point, but 2 hours of this-no chance. Don't waste your time. 'Nough said
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Dec 21, 2013
Melissa McCarthy is one of the funniest females in Hollywood. After wasting her talent for 7 seasons on Gilmore Girls, she finally got her big break and hasn't slowed down since. One of her latest films is Identity Thief, which is also SethMelissa McCarthy is one of the funniest females in Hollywood. After wasting her talent for 7 seasons on Gilmore Girls, she finally got her big break and hasn't slowed down since. One of her latest films is Identity Thief, which is also Seth Gordon's follow up to the hit comedy, Horrible Bosses. Much like his last film, Identity Thief has a whole bunch of funny scenes and outrageous characters, but fails to deliver a solid story to go with it. Sandy Bigelow Patterson (Jason Bateman) is a man with a girls name, making him the prime target for a female (Melissa McCarthy) who makes a living stealing from everyone else. The laws surrounding identity theft make prosecutions very difficult and it can sometimes take years before everything is straightened out. Patterson, with his new job and home on the line, can't wait for that and decides to confront his assailant. As I said earlier there are some real funny moments in this film, but the story is sadly extremely predictable. Identity Theft is something that has never really been done in comedy before. With the right story behind it, this really could have been the next Hangover, but sadly, the Hangover it is not. As usual Bateman and McCarthy are both terrific and to my surprise, had some pretty good chemistry together. Identity Thief is not a movie that sticks with you long after it's over. It is a good way to kill a few hours and good for a few laughs, but not much else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BwillDec 17, 2013
Just an awful, unrealistic miss that has the same anti-comedic depressing concept of an Everybody Loves Raymond. The glorification of a villain as a comedic character is just not funny. You find yourself wanting to punch Melissa McCarthy inJust an awful, unrealistic miss that has the same anti-comedic depressing concept of an Everybody Loves Raymond. The glorification of a villain as a comedic character is just not funny. You find yourself wanting to punch Melissa McCarthy in the face rather than laugh at her. That's never good for comedy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeDec 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Little fun adventurous popcorn movie. It was an average movie, Melissa
MacCarthy was really good and without her it would have been unworthy
to see or mention. Jason Bateman was only a good man of the story but
Melissa controlled the movie who is actually a thief. Her impressive
acting from the movie 'The Heat' is still fresh in my eyes which made
this movie a bit curious.

Sandy is a married and hard working man but he's struggling to pay to
lead a normal life from his earnings. He did not realize someone is
behind it who stole his identity and spending his money till he was
arrested. When the law gives thumbs down and so his company, he takes
all the risk of his own and go a trip to find the thief. Like a bounty
hunter he finds his man who is actually a lady. To bring her back to
his town, that is where the real problem lies when some strange people
are on their trail for their quest.

From the Director Seth Gordon of recent blockbuster 'Horrible Bosses'
fame. He retained Jason Bateman for this comedy flick but like I said
Melissa MacCarthy steals the show. The fun was not even close like what
the 'Horrible Bosses' though somehow enjoyable. It's supposed to be a
pure fun filled movie but in the second half they began to turn it over
to character sentimental. Sometimes the emotions are very dry which had
no depth of feelings. It won't convince the audience to have a fondness
for characters but well tried. Call it an a simple time pass movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 21, 2013
The other critics may have punched Identity Thief in the nose, but I think it still has to legs to stand on. It is a pretty good movie, with some highs and lows. Melissa McCarthy is, as always, hilarious, Bateman is okay, and the other castThe other critics may have punched Identity Thief in the nose, but I think it still has to legs to stand on. It is a pretty good movie, with some highs and lows. Melissa McCarthy is, as always, hilarious, Bateman is okay, and the other cast is pretty good, too. The story and overall feel of the movie is a little bit far-fetched and nonsensical at points, but it's still a fun movie to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
unicornnzAug 27, 2013
Please, for the love of god spend your time doing something productive. The only thing stolen is my time that I will never get back. Dear god, how this bomb got greenlit is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Aug 26, 2013
Bridesmaids made Melissa McCarthy a household name and for good reason but it seems to me that no one really knows how to take advantage of her many talents. Identity Thief maroons her in a sea of bad comedy and irritatingly familiar JasonBridesmaids made Melissa McCarthy a household name and for good reason but it seems to me that no one really knows how to take advantage of her many talents. Identity Thief maroons her in a sea of bad comedy and irritatingly familiar Jason Bateman moments we have all seen a thousand times. The film follows Sandy Bigelow Patterson (Bateman) as he travels from his family to track down a women who has stolen his identity and is slowly but surely ruining his life, one dollar at a time. Ultimately its a film made for McCarthy and a film that has literally no idea what it is doing. It relies heavily on fart and genital humour (Much like Bateman's Horrible Bosses) and never even attempts to be intelligent as the film flips from bizarre raunch comedy to zany road movie to unemotional family film. It doesn't have a clue where its going, what its doing or why its two main stars are acting like they've taken a fistful of tranquillizers. McCarthy wakes up when Eric Stonestreet shows up for a hilarious 10 minute sequence that successfully fooled me into thinking the film was getting better. While funny it doesn't save a film that can't tell its beginning from its end, its just bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
M0vieAddictAug 5, 2013
McCarthy is fantastic in her role as the thief: the cutthroat attitude, bad behaviour and careless spending suits her well. Bateman isn't ruthless or even particularly funny as Sandy Patterson and thus lets the side down slightly. John ChoMcCarthy is fantastic in her role as the thief: the cutthroat attitude, bad behaviour and careless spending suits her well. Bateman isn't ruthless or even particularly funny as Sandy Patterson and thus lets the side down slightly. John Cho plays a boorish boss and the extra obstacles that the duo face are simply not needed. Identity Thief does have a few funny scenes to please the viewer Snakes and Fist-Fights to name a few and the movie really comes into its own when both leads are trying to trample each other. It's a soft, caramel conclusion. Identity Thief is satisfying...You won't be wasting time with this one but you probably won't miss much either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodAug 3, 2013
I'm a fan of both Melissa McCarthy and Jason Bateman. But the script here is so witless, the two hour comedy is limited to very few laughs, and almost admirable accomplishment given the original premise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJul 23, 2013
Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy might not make the best comedic-duo, but their movie still brings the laughs. It's vulgar, crude, and rude relying on gross out gags and slap-stick physical comedy to bring some truly hilarious moments. ItJason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy might not make the best comedic-duo, but their movie still brings the laughs. It's vulgar, crude, and rude relying on gross out gags and slap-stick physical comedy to bring some truly hilarious moments. It will make you laugh quite regularly throughout, and I don't know about you but I watch comedies to laugh. The movie does hit some dull parts when it focuses on emotional moments or serious moments involving violence from people chasing the main characters, but in the end the comedy keeps this movie up. So while it's not the most focused comedy it packs enough laugh out loud moments for me to recommend a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JmsbppJul 23, 2013
Maneja un buen tema familiar que no se debio boltear, las cosas cambiaron cuando comenzaron a amarla y los chistes no esran lo mismo las cosas fueron empeorando feo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
tolzercubedJul 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of every movie I have seen this was if not the most disappointing and terrible movie I have endured not being a childs movie.

The plot is so full of holes and the lack of any existence of common sense makes you feel like a middle schooler won the award to be director for a day.

This movie had such great potential to not only to be one of the best comedies of the year, but show identity theft to the culture, but made a big joke out of it, in the end saying to forgive criminals for anything they have done bad to you or anyone else and bring them into your family.

Identity thief rarely had a knowledge that provided a laugh for anyone over the mental age of 16.

I have never found myself so outraged at a movie before.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SimpleMethodJul 8, 2013
Such a lazy movie. Melissa Macarthy's shtick is getting infuriatingly repetitive. Jason Bateman, who is usually steller managed to bore me this time around. The director of this film is on a total downward spiral as well. He made PineappleSuch a lazy movie. Melissa Macarthy's shtick is getting infuriatingly repetitive. Jason Bateman, who is usually steller managed to bore me this time around. The director of this film is on a total downward spiral as well. He made Pineapple Express which was good, then the abysmal Sitter and now this. 2013 has been a rough year for comedy. Sigh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Rosie42112Jul 7, 2013
Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy do everything they can to spark this movie as a comedy. There are definite moments in the movie that are sure to leave you laughing while other moments are sure to leave you board. The movie starts off slowJason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy do everything they can to spark this movie as a comedy. There are definite moments in the movie that are sure to leave you laughing while other moments are sure to leave you board. The movie starts off slow and has slow moments in both the middle and the end. I had high hopes for this movie and was expecting it to be nothing but hilarious due to the previews which actually showed all the funny moments in the movie leaving no suspense once watched. However, this movie did leave me laughing throughout at certain moments and I will never forget the end when McCarthys character learns her real name... Priceless moment to say the least. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
kirstencJul 3, 2013
Wow, don't know where are the horrible reviews have come from! Was this the most hilarious, well-written movie ever? No, but it was entertaining, funny, and I love the lead actors.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
chepod8Jun 22, 2013
I really recommend to skip this movie, after I watched I was very disappointed and I left the cinema with the feeling that I really should have been doing something more important
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AReviewsJun 17, 2013
This movie is funny but not as good as I expected, it had its parts, but overall, not recommended, but still McCarthy rocks! It has "all seen before" scenes, raunchy laughs, but McCarthy saves the day this time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BrianMcCriticJun 17, 2013
A mixed bag there are some funny scenes, but not enough for a recommendation. Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy give solid performances, but the script and some of the minor characters are not strong enough.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
charmedlpJun 16, 2013
This movie is so funny! I laughed really hard, but it also has a great story. Of course, the main story is really predictable, we know just by reading the plot that the guy will not really give her to the police, but there's lot ofThis movie is so funny! I laughed really hard, but it also has a great story. Of course, the main story is really predictable, we know just by reading the plot that the guy will not really give her to the police, but there's lot of unpredictable moments in this movie which makes you entertained anyway. There's also really touching scenes with Melissa McCarty, who is really really funny! So, an excellent movie, funny, entertaining and full of suspense! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
Bruce722Jun 10, 2013
What a disappointing movie this was. Was Melissa McCarthy funny? Sure she was. But the movie was filled with nothing but annoying scenes and plot holes. If you can make it to the ending at least that part is decent but that's a really big IFWhat a disappointing movie this was. Was Melissa McCarthy funny? Sure she was. But the movie was filled with nothing but annoying scenes and plot holes. If you can make it to the ending at least that part is decent but that's a really big IF because of how absurd and borderline unwatchable this film is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobJun 6, 2013
Wasn't that bad of a movie, Certainly got more then a few laughs from my family and I. The biggest flaw I'd have to say is the pointless sub plot involving the mob-like boss who wants McCarthy's character dead. Has literally no relevance plotWasn't that bad of a movie, Certainly got more then a few laughs from my family and I. The biggest flaw I'd have to say is the pointless sub plot involving the mob-like boss who wants McCarthy's character dead. Has literally no relevance plot wise and would have easily cut a good 10-20 mins off the 2 hour (which is far too long for any comedy) run time. I think they would have been better off if they focused on the bounty hunter subplot instead because that character was rather enjoyable to watch.

I hated how it got so pointlessly sappy through out as well. It's a comedy, I don't want to feel depressed while watching it and they really should have cut down on that aspect of the film. Also, It took quite a while to really get into the movie. It's not until Bateman and McCarthy's characters meet when the film actually starts to get funny and that happens like 30 mins+ into the movie.

Honestly, It wasn't that bad. The parts of the film that were actual comedy were pretty funny and enjoyable. It's just the long run time and pointless subplots that ruined it for me.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
jamessJun 5, 2013
This movie wants SO BADLY to be this generations' Midnight Run, it hurts. The road trip, one lead character bringing the other to "justice", the bounty hunter, the killers, the scamming of expense money, of course they learn to like eachThis movie wants SO BADLY to be this generations' Midnight Run, it hurts. The road trip, one lead character bringing the other to "justice", the bounty hunter, the killers, the scamming of expense money, of course they learn to like each other by the end...it's like a checklist of the DeNiro/Grodin classic. And that movie was by no means original, itself. Take Bateman's low key, put-upon character and McCarthy's brash, vulger character, put them in situations....there's the movie. There's a few laughs, but not as many as you would think. And for a wacky comedy, McCarthy cries, what, about seven times during this? I guess they wanted that Planes, Trains and Automobiles feel to it. Nope. Just a shadow of those better films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews