Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 41
  2. Negative: 15 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Feb 6, 2013
    75
    Melissa McCarthy is riveting in simply-penned moments of remorse and confession, adding tearful depth to her ace timing and formidable physical comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 7, 2013
    63
    In some ways, Identity Thief is a raunchier variation on another recent odd-couple road pic: Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen as overbearing mom and nebbish son in "The Guilt Trip."
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Feb 6, 2013
    58
    Identity Thief establishes its priorities: Expansive character business is front and center; actual character-building is in the margins, almost off the map.
  4. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Feb 5, 2013
    40
    No matter how may times Identity Thief switches tracks, nothing works — it fails as a star vehicle, a recession-era satire, a WTF white-collar-grunt revenge tale, a "Midnight Run"–style buddy flick, a gross-out laughfest and a bathetic tale of broken souls. No amount of stolen guises can fix it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 8, 2013
    40
    The result is exactly what you would expect from a concept whose odometer has been running for so long: uneven laughs, sparked largely by spurts of shock comedy but marred by a general sense of familiarity.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 8, 2013
    25
    This feels a lot like some of the recent, unwatchable Adam Sandler offerings: boorish, unfunny comedy colliding with saccharine, quasi-dramatic filler.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 7, 2013
    0
    Watch the trailer, if you must, but spare yourself the full experience: Identity Thief steals time.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 61
  2. Negative: 17 out of 61
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    The movie was very good. It was funny and the comedic delivery was spot on. I recommend seeing this movie. It is full of laughter and has a good plot behind it. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    It made me laugh a bunch and I think McCarthy did her best comedy performance I've seen. Only problem was the super white supremacist nature of the film, although I must say that I am a very sensitive person. OK! Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Nice movie rather rushed thru but I did like it. There were a lot of questionable things that are not really reality. I found the actors were good actors Collapse
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    5
    A mixed bag there are some funny scenes, but not enough for a recommendation. Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy give solid performances, but the script and some of the minor characters are not strong enough. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    This movie is funny but not as good as I expected, it had its parts, but overall, not recommended, but still McCarthy rocks! It has "all seen before" scenes, raunchy laughs, but McCarthy saves the day this time. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    3
    A poorly done comedy. With few comedic moments that haven't already been seen in the previews. I counted that I laughed a total of 3 times the entire movie. The crowd in the theater was responsive but I'm not sure how they found it funny. I honestly was checking my watch and waiting for the film to end. If you like cliche comedy movies then this is the film for you. I will say that there was nothing wrong with the acting or the filming but the writing was just bad. It just wasn't very funny. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of every movie I have seen this was if not the most disappointing and terrible movie I have endured not being a childs movie.

    The plot is so full of holes and the lack of any existence of common sense makes you feel like a middle schooler won the award to be director for a day.

    This movie had such great potential to not only to be one of the best comedies of the year, but show identity theft to the culture, but made a big joke out of it, in the end saying to forgive criminals for anything they have done bad to you or anyone else and bring them into your family.

    Identity thief rarely had a knowledge that provided a laugh for anyone over the mental age of 16.

    I have never found myself so outraged at a movie before.
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers