Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 41
  2. Negative: 15 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Feb 6, 2013
    75
    Melissa McCarthy is riveting in simply-penned moments of remorse and confession, adding tearful depth to her ace timing and formidable physical comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 7, 2013
    63
    In some ways, Identity Thief is a raunchier variation on another recent odd-couple road pic: Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen as overbearing mom and nebbish son in "The Guilt Trip."
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Feb 6, 2013
    58
    Identity Thief establishes its priorities: Expansive character business is front and center; actual character-building is in the margins, almost off the map.
  4. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Feb 5, 2013
    40
    No matter how may times Identity Thief switches tracks, nothing works — it fails as a star vehicle, a recession-era satire, a WTF white-collar-grunt revenge tale, a "Midnight Run"–style buddy flick, a gross-out laughfest and a bathetic tale of broken souls. No amount of stolen guises can fix it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 8, 2013
    40
    The result is exactly what you would expect from a concept whose odometer has been running for so long: uneven laughs, sparked largely by spurts of shock comedy but marred by a general sense of familiarity.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 8, 2013
    25
    This feels a lot like some of the recent, unwatchable Adam Sandler offerings: boorish, unfunny comedy colliding with saccharine, quasi-dramatic filler.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 7, 2013
    0
    Watch the trailer, if you must, but spare yourself the full experience: Identity Thief steals time.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 59
  2. Negative: 17 out of 59
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    The movie was very good. It was funny and the comedic delivery was spot on. I recommend seeing this movie. It is full of laughter and has a good plot behind it. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    It made me laugh a bunch and I think McCarthy did her best comedy performance I've seen. Only problem was the super white supremacist nature of the film, although I must say that I am a very sensitive person. OK! Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Nice movie rather rushed thru but I did like it. There were a lot of questionable things that are not really reality. I found the actors were good actors Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    5
    Wasn't that bad of a movie, Certainly got more then a few laughs from my family and I. The biggest flaw I'd have to say is the pointless sub plot involving the mob-like boss who wants McCarthy's character dead. Has literally no relevance plot wise and would have easily cut a good 10-20 mins off the 2 hour (which is far too long for any comedy) run time. I think they would have been better off if they focused on the bounty hunter subplot instead because that character was rather enjoyable to watch.

    I hated how it got so pointlessly sappy through out as well. It's a comedy, I don't want to feel depressed while watching it and they really should have cut down on that aspect of the film. Also, It took quite a while to really get into the movie. It's not until Bateman and McCarthy's characters meet when the film actually starts to get funny and that happens like 30 mins+ into the movie.

    Honestly, It wasn't that bad. The parts of the film that were actual comedy were pretty funny and enjoyable. It's just the long run time and pointless subplots that ruined it for me.
    Expand
  5. May 28, 2013
    4
    A poor comedy. The film has funny moments however there are algo more boring moments. Jason Bateman is a clowns and acts like it. Melissa McCarthy is a comedy queen even though this is not her best role. Collapse
  6. Mar 4, 2013
    3
    Identity Thief is a lazy, idiotic film that insults your intelligence on almost every level. The film is so poorly done that it doesn't even complete a scene before moving onto the next. Half the time your wondering what is happening and if the true comedy is the actual making of the film itself. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of every movie I have seen this was if not the most disappointing and terrible movie I have endured not being a childs movie.

    The plot is so full of holes and the lack of any existence of common sense makes you feel like a middle schooler won the award to be director for a day.

    This movie had such great potential to not only to be one of the best comedies of the year, but show identity theft to the culture, but made a big joke out of it, in the end saying to forgive criminals for anything they have done bad to you or anyone else and bring them into your family.

    Identity thief rarely had a knowledge that provided a laugh for anyone over the mental age of 16.

    I have never found myself so outraged at a movie before.
    Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers